Watch San Diego NBC7 News starting 4PM

May 20, 2014

 

San Marcos Fire

San Marcos Fire

The photo I took and posted on the blog may show the start of the San Marcos fire. I sent it to NBC7 and asked them to send it to the authorities because I thought it might help in the investigation of the location and cause of the San Marcos fire. The photo was taken with my iPhone so it is date and time stamped.  NBC7 came out today and interviewed me today and said they had forwarded the photo to the authorities as I had requested. They agreed I might have just capture the start of the fire.  If they show the interview on the news it will air sometime between 4 and 7 PM tonight on the local San Diego NBC channel 7.

 

Carlos Royal P.S. Here are a few more photos to enjoy. I think the Male Western Tanager with it’s red head is one of the most beautiful birds in California. You can click on any of the photos for an enlarged view.

Squrril enjoying a meal

Squrril enjoying a meal

Western Tanager Male

Western Tanager Male

Western Tanager Male

Western Tanager Male

Western Tanager female

Western Tanager female

 

46 Responses to “Watch San Diego NBC7 News starting 4PM”


  1. Just glad you are safe and still have your home!!! The fire looked really scary on my national news.


  2. Oh, wanted to add….I have a lovely pair of Eastern Blue Birds nesting in a box in my back yard. All was quiet and peaceful till yesterday when the House Sparrow babies fledged and the parents decided it would be a good idea to pester the blue birds. Makes me very nervous and I keep watch from my kitchen window. I have many nice photos of the blue birds that I will treasure. I bought a new kind of house…a slot house and hope they may use it for a second clutch.

  3. JKW Says:

    As one of the Good Guys which you have always been, you may have saved the day (for them finding where and cause of fire because of date and time started). I thank you for both sets of pictures, I’ve shared with my daughter. I also take nature pictures and put them on my blog. However, my camera isn’t great, but it will do. You have much more variety of nature and wonderful photographs of them. Thanks again for keeping us up to date. Blessings, Janet

  4. Ginny Says:

    We are glad you are safe and that your house is OK. We have been worried about you.

  5. janie2 Says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated on your safety. I hope your picture helps catch the bad guys.

  6. carlosroyal Says:

    As far as I know all the fires are under-control. Even though had we fueled up the cars, we never had to evacuate. Donna and I are safe and back to watching the birds in our backyard. No owls, but lots of hummers, blue birds and orioles. I forgot to mention last week while in the mountains we watched a grosbreak take a bath in a mountain stream. I am not sure how rare that is but it was fun to watch.


  7. Phew! So glad to hear you and Donna are safe and your home was spared. That’s something about your photo. Hope it helps solve the case.
    Love the tanager photos. Here in upstate NY the birdsong has been heavenly lately. Orioles and catbirds have been especially tuneful.
    Thanks for the update!

  8. Joan Bonahoom Says:

    Hi Carlos,
    I know you and your wife wildlife and bird experts. I have been having black birds all over my roof and siding. They don’t look like woodpeckers but I hear these beaks and long claws on my roof early in the a.m. and sometimes in the evening. I live alone so these sounds frighten me sometimes. Do you know of anything I can do to keep them away. help please. Joan Bonahoom Mujver@yahoo.com/

    • carlosroyal Says:

      What you might try is go to a local nursury and buy a couple of plastic Owls and put them where the black birds can see them. Another trick that farmers use is to use some metalic looking streamers that move, reflect and blow in the wind. I know what you mean about the sound sometimes being frightening. We have blue birds that peck on the dining room window and it sounds just like someone knocking on the front door. What is interesting is it took me going to the front door several times before I finally figured out what has happening. And yes, early in the morning opening the door and no one was there was a bit spooky.

  9. Sharon Palac Says:

    Glad all is well and that you may have captured the culprit(s)!

  10. Christine Says:

    So nice to hear from you, and glad all is well with your neighborhood!! I sure miss the good ole’ days, and will never, ever forget your generosity!!

    • carlosroyal Says:

      I know a lot of people miss the good ole’ days but for Donna and I everyday is a good ole’ day. If you want to live a happy life, just fill it with happy days.

      • CAequuslvr Says:

        Carlos, you always have such good “homespun” advice. I am sure your fire photo will be helpful — smart of you to make the possible connection for the investigation.

      • Christine Says:

        I love your positive attitude!! It’s just that Molly & McGee was extra special due to the fact that they were a first experience for many people to observe, and get attached to!! Happy travels!!

  11. Virgie Colby Says:

    I enjoy your wildlfe pictures. Most amazng are ones of the tanagers. They are such a shy bird it is amazing you could photagraph them.

    Glad the fires are not a threat any longer.

    Virgie
    auntie_vee

  12. Lynn Says:

    Hi Carlos…so glad to hear you are safe and sound…
    I’ve been checking a few times every day to see if you
    posted anything. I always enjoy your pictures!


  13. So you might be featured on NBC again….the first time was on NBC Today show concerning Molly& McGee, that’s when I first heard about The Owl Box and became an avid MOD. Thankful that you and Donna are safe.

  14. Donna Says:

    So happy to hear you are all safe. I love the nature pictures, keep them coming! I’ve always been a bird lover and watching Molly and her family opened my eyes even more.

  15. YTQ Says:

    Super Sleuth on the job! Good goin’, Carlos. Hope they catch the creeps and put ’em in a used owl box!

  16. connie911@aol.com Says:

    Here is a time-lapse I took –

    Fan from the Molly Box days :)

  17. erindort Says:

    Thanks, Carlos!
    Between 4 and 7 PM your time, is between 7 and 9 PM EST (right?)
    Anyway for those not in the San Diego area, this link is a live stream for the channel 7 news; I’ll be tuning in!

    http://www.nbcsandiego.com/news/local/NBC-7-News-Live-Stream-Mobile-209691771.html


  18. Happy to get this post and be reassured that you are safe! That little squirrel in your photo has the same type of table that I feed “my” squirrels on! I have 10 tree stumps surrounding one of my oak trees and put seeds on them every morning. Often there will be a squirrel on each one. As you know squirrels are selfish little critters. It’s every squirrel for themselves! So spreading them out this way they can all eat together with fewer fights! :)

  19. genwidow Says:

    Carlos,

    Saw the piece this evening, good picture. Hope something comes out of it. Our prayers are with you and Donna and all the residents of San Marcos. We are so proud of Austin’s accomplishments, many congrats to him and to you for having an awesome grand-son. He’s done very well. A bunch of are still meeting as a Molly group at the San Marcos Elephant Bar on the third Saturday of each month. We’ve been going since the beginning. We miss you guys, though. Would be nice to see you guys again. Stay safe. God Bless You and the family.

    Joyce Brownlee and Mike Harris Rancho San Diego (El Cajon, CA)

  20. Ginger (Owlbert/FinnWV) Says:

    Thanks for sharing Carlos! Just saw the clip on the news! Great camera work as always! Love your pictures! Praying for rain for you and good to hear all of our owl friends in So. California are safe! God bless you all!

  21. OhioCheryle/ OC Says:

    Very nice article Carlos, thank you for sharing it. I am so happy to hear the fires are out and you and Donna are safe.

  22. Jo-Ann Says:

    Thank you for letting us know what is happening… My thought have been on San Marcos a lot these past days… And yes, the Western Tanager is a very beautiful bird. Glad you are safe..

  23. Laurie Bishop Says:

    Very glad you are safe. I am glad that no one was killed, but sad that so much was burned.

    On a happier note, your photos are great as usual. Glad about all of the bird activity in your yard!

  24. Judy Sackson Says:

    Hope your photo of the fire is helpful. Timing can mean a lot!
    The photos of tanagers are awesome, they are truly beautiful
    birds. Hope you can keep the nature photos coming,,,they make my day!

  25. holly sue Says:

    Dear Carlos,
    Your photos have given us all a view of the fires that would be so frightening to experience! I thank God that you and Donna and your home were spared any harm. You will remain in my prayers as always. The Tanager and squirrel photos are splendid. It is just wonderful to have you sharing on the blog again after so long. You are always missed a great deal!
    With Love to you and Donna,
    Holly Sue

  26. Sue Z Lynn Says:

    I was able to read the article, keep taking those pictures they are always beautiful but sometimes they are rather important it seems. I hope this finds you and Donna well.

    Susan Cohn Memphis


  27. We were on vacation and prayed the entire time that you and your property would be saved. God is good!! We pray for Molly and Magee’s offspring that they were spared as well. Love to you and Donna and family.

    Terry and Jeff Shroyer Port Orange, FL

  28. Monkie Says:

    Thanks for the updates Carlos…Love the pictures, and once again you made it on the news. LOL…Glad everything is going well with you and your family…Hope you and your family have a safe and happy holiday weekend !! Enjoy!!

  29. June Schafer Says:

    Wow! Cool shot Carlos. Hope it helps pin point how it started.

    • Mareoooo Says:

      Carlos, you are quite the celebrity! It is wonderful to read your posts, again, after all this time has gone by – you are missed and adored! Give our love to Donna, too, please!


  30. Carlos, A preservationist friend of mine is working to preserve barns in Missouri. He sent me this article about efforts to bring back the barn owl population there. I thought you might be interested. Here is the link. http://www.vandalialeader.com/?p=14507 You could also check the Vandalia Leader for July 23, 2014. Hope all is well with all of you!
    Roz in Tacoma

    • CAequuslvr Says:

      Rosalyn — What a wonderful, hopeful story. Thanks for sharing.

    • erindort Says:

      Roz!
      Great article. I hope to hear of more projects like this one. Also, I had no idea banding owlets was feasible; I though it would be too disturbing for the mother owl. So glad to learn differently. Thanks for the link.

  31. joly2u Says:

    Hopefully I’m setting my new email address for the blog. Hi, everybody.

  32. erindort Says:

    Donna and Carlos, a late Merry Christmas to you. I hope you are doing well, and enjoying the Holidays.

    Hello, Molly friendz!
    Much joy to every one of you as you all celebrate each of your Holidays!

    And a Happy New Year to all.

    • CAequuslvr Says:

      Oh no, I forgot about using the Molly blog to wish everybody a Happy Holiday and Wonderful New Year!

      Take Care & Be Well.

      CAequuslvr

  33. janie2 Says:

    The happiest of New Years to Carlos and Donna and all of the Owl lovers.


Leave a Reply

