Some Things Never Change

March 21, 2012

The Grand Canyon Skywalk

Parking Lot Grand Canyon Caverns

Grand Canyon

Snow

There is a storm up ahead

 

Some Things Never Change

Donna and I just returned from a road trip to Kingman, Arizona where we visited the Skywalk and the Grand Canyon Caverns.

When I was a young sailor and travelling the world courtesy of the US Navy, our ship stopped in Hong Kong. Several of us went ashore seeking some good food. For those of you who spent time in the Navy some 50 years ago know what I am talking about. The food could get pretty bad after a couple of months at sea. Anyway back to the story.

Several of us, I think seven, went looking for a steak house. We hopped a ferry and crossed the Hong Kong Harbor to Kowloon, mainland China. Sure enough we found a steak house; the way we knew it was a steak house is they had a picture on their sign of a big juicy steak with two baked red tomatoes and one boiled, peeled potato. Inside we were given menus with the name of the steak house and menu items in both Chinese and English. We had come to the right place, 1001 steaks were on the menu. The menu was a book of steaks. That’s right, they had Chinese steak, English steak, Brazilian steak, California steak, New York streak, I mean they had a streak for every major country, state and city in the world. What a selection.

We each selected a different steak. I selected an Oklahoma steak being from Oklahoma, someone else selected California being from California, others selected Brazilian, French, Russian, African, Chinese and Mongolian just too see what they tasted like. Oh, did I mention that the picture on the cover of the menu was the same as the picture on the sign. When we tried to ask the waiter about the different steaks and how they were cooked and seasoned, he just looked at us with a blank stare and seemed to make some mmm -good sound. Finally we just pointed at the number beside the menu item we wanted. Remember, the book or menu contained 1001 different steaks, each numbered and priced.

It didn’t take very long for our Kowloon waiter to bring us our steaks. To our surprise, they were all the same, Oklahoma, California, Brazilian, French, Russian, African, Chinese and Mongolian. I mean, exactly the same. Every steak, looked just like the picture on the sign and the cover of the menu, two baked red tomatoes and one boiled, peeled potato. When we again tried to question the waiter he just made that same mmm-good sound and pointed to the picture. We laughed, what else you going to do?

So what does this have to do with our trip to Kingman, Arizona? Well, Donna and I wanted some good food after a long day of travel. I plugged in “Fine Dining Kingman, Arizona” into Google. The response was “You must be kidding, there is no fine dining in Kingman, Arizona.” We had to laugh. Another comment was “but Panda Express made the newspaper when they came to town.” With no help from the Internet, we decided to just drive the streets. Donna loves Mexican food and as it turned out right across the street from where we were staying was a small local Mexican restaurant.

We went in and were given menus. Our favorite choice is cheese enchiladas, rice and bean, but no where on the menu could we find cheese enchiladas, but they had chicken enchiladas. Each menu item was numbered, does that sound familiar? I scanned the menu again, no cheese enchiladas anywhere, not even as an a la Carte item. I said to Donna, I don’t see cheese enchiladas anywhere. We should asked. She then looked at the Mexican waiter whom had just walked up to take our order. “Do you have cheese enchiladas,” she asked? He shook his head up and down, implying “yes,” but we notice that he did have one of those blank looks on his face. Okay, Donna said, I will take item #13, with two cheese enchiladas. Menu item #13 was for two chicken enchiladas, rice and beans. He then looked at me. I said, I will have one cheese enchilada with rice and beans. He again nodded his head up and down as if he new exactly what we had ordered.

It wasn’t long when our Mexican waiter brought us our orders. Donna got two chicken enchiladas, rice and beans. I got one chicken enchilada, rice and beans.  I immediately remembered my experience in Kowloon. You get what’s on the menu or at least the picture. I had a good laugh in Kowloon and Donna and I had a good laugh in Kingman, Arizona.

We had a lot of fun on our road trip, we had wind, up to 50 miles per hour, we had rain, we had hail, we had sleet and we had snow. In fact, we got snowed in while in Kingman and had to spend another night.

Happy travels,

Carlos and Donna

 

 

Other Goodies  

Have you ordered your personal copies of the Molly Songs? If not be sure to check them out on iTunes.

Music:  http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/barbara-allen/id428385724

Merchandise:  www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl

Photo of McGee by Carlos Royal   http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl.628020845

Books:  www.mollytheowlbooks.com  Movies:  www.austin4media.com

2012 Calendar   www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl

Austin’s Designs (Your purchases help him pay for his schooling)

http://www.cafepress.com/austin4media

 

 

70 Responses to “Some Things Never Change”

  1. Rosemary Dearing Says:

    Great story Carlos… and it shows you that things really don’t
    change much at all… but it sure makes for a laugh or two.

    Continue to enjoy those travels Carlos and Donna.

  2. June Schafer Says:

    What a neat trip! Makes me wish we lived closer to those spots. SC is a long way away. We are, at the moment, trying to decide where we want to go next. We might just take off up the east coast. Never been to New England so that is looking like fun. My husband was in the Navy “66-’69 so he can identify with the “yummy” food thing. He spent a lot of time in the Caribbean. Still loves to go back there. Maybe we’ll do that! Don’t you love retirement???

    • carlosroyal Says:

      We love the Caribbean too. One of our favorite places to visit. New England is great also, especially Maine. Donna and I spent time in Bath, Maine while the USS Harry E. Yarnell DLG-17 was being built. I was on the commissioning crew and am a plank owner February 1963. The ship has been decommissioned and cut up for scrap.

      • SueinMaine Says:

        Carlos and June…..I live very close to Bath, Maine. My hubby didn’t make it to retirement and so I am very happy to hear stories of those who travel to wonderful places together. I am so content to live here if I can’t travel any great distance. I never tire of the beauty here on the coast. Carlos, I did make it once to St. John in the Caribbean in 2005. It was a dream of mine to see that blue water and I am forever grateful to have gotten there and seen it and snorkeled in those waters with a special friend. It stays in my mind as a wonderful memory!

        Thanks for sharing some of your journeys with us all!!! And for taking such beautiful photos….:o)

  3. Gail Rinard Says:

    Thank you for sharing your stories.. Glad you can keep your sense of humor!.. Love the pictures and want to thank you for taking the time to send them.

    Happy traveling Carlos and Donna!

  4. Lois Hostnick Says:

    I am so happy that you two had a well deserved trip. I told my
    husband your Navy story and he laughed. He made 2 WesPac Cruises and enjoyed Hong Kong and ate well he said. He was over there in 69 & 70. I can’t believe it snowed on you. That is fun stuff. Keep traveling and have a Blessed Retirement. I love it.

  5. Judy Sackson Says:

    What beautiful photos! It sounds like you both had a well-deserved, relaxing, fun trip.
    The snow was a little unexpected, I’m sure.
    I love to hear your stories, Carlos….you enjoy all your little adventures so much, and we all enjoy them with you!

  6. Ranyart Says:

    As always, love your stories Carlos – Happy trails to you and Donna!

  7. peakspike Says:

    Delightful story and (as usual) wonderful photos! We, too, love that part of the USA and try to travel as much as possible.

    Pat W, Colorado

  8. Jo-Ann Says:

    Absolutely wonderful traveling stories… I smiled all the way through your experience…. Happy trails…. Can’t wait for the next post…

  9. Ginny Says:

    We love your posts

  10. Sally Dausch Says:

    glad you have your travels together, sounds like you had lots of fun and thank you for sharing with us, hope all is going well with you and your family. Travel free and happy :)

    Sally L Dausch

  11. mandozee Says:

    Carlos & Donna; thanks for the great photoes and the great funny story. I feel like i’m hideing on the top of your RV and living Vicariously through your posts, and since I can’t drive and don’t have much money for travel (wish I did) I travel through your pictures and your words. thanks for taking the time to keep us updated on the goings on in your life. We are family, and I am a part of it. Mandozee1888

    • PegRod Says:

      mandozee – your thoughts express just how I feel as well! Thank you for such heartfelt and true words.

  12. Donna Says:

    Love to hear about your travels Carlos and Donna, thanks for sharing with us. Great pics as always, keep them coming!!!

  13. lilbirdz Says:

    Carlos and Donna, I am so glad that you are doing the traveling that you love, with wonderful stories to tell. The first time my husband and I saw the Grand Canyon, we couldn’t even speak for several minutes. Imagine the First Nations people who were born and raised there – when they traveled, the rest of the world must have seemed so strange, or maybe amazing to them. When we travel now, we are just grateful for decent food. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

  14. Liela M. Maielua Says:

    How wonderful you two were able to make a short getaway. I experienced the Grand Canyon for the first time in 2005, something everyone should see in their lifetime. Keep the post coming its always good hear what you & Donna are up to.

  15. Vee Miller (VeeTX) Says:

    You and Donna are living the dream I’ve had for about 25 years – to travel around the USA in an RV and meet people, take lots of photos, eat different foods, etc. Since I’m not able to do that, I want to thank you for sharing your trips with us. I love your stories – once again I’ll say it ~ you could write a travelog. Thank you so much! Have fun, be safe and enjoy your trips!

    VeeTX (Vee Miller)

  16. tresbien Says:

    I’m giggling to myself about the 1001 steaks as I turn in for the night. Thanks for sharing your stories and adventures, Carlos. Glad you both had an enjoyable if cheese-deprived visit to Kingman! <3

  17. Breezy Says:

    Now Carlos — okay, enough of all this goofing around and calling it retirement. I think it’s about time that you sat down and wrote your memoirs. You have an amazing talent of painting pictures with your words and I’m sure many would love to read your biography. I’m just kidding (about the goofing off part) — it’s wonderful to read of your adventures and get to see your fabulous photographs. My Dad (may he rest in peace) was in the Navy during WWII and the Korean war and would have us all in stitches with his stories of going ashore and of his mishaps. I truly believe yours is indeed the greatest generation.
    Warm Regards to you and your family, including Molly of course,
    Breezy~

  18. Bonita Lyon aka bonnibell Says:

    Oh my, that was so much fun to read! I was almost mesmerized!! Sounds like you are both having a wonderful time on your travels. I agree with Breezy about writing the memoirs…Austin would love it, a real keepsake, I am sure. Best to you all and I am always so happy to read about what you’ve been up to. Thoughts are with you and our beloved Molly girl. I hope she is still around and stays around. Bonnibell

  19. Nancy Says:

    Sounds like fun! Your story reminds me of the first thing I always teach my preschool class, which is you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit. Guess that goes with menus too. Chicken enchiladas sound darn tasty (even when you pick out the chicken).

  20. drsballou Says:

    I love reading the stories of your travels. It warms my heart that after so many years together, you and Donna are so in love. I hope to have that in my marriage for a long time as well. Thank you for updating us not only on the owls, but on your lives as well. We all miss you just as much as we miss the owls, so this way of staying in contact for us MODs helps us deal with no more owl box as well as the recent loss of McGee and the 4th clutch. You are an amazing family, and although we have never met in person, I am thrilled to call you all my friends.
    -Diane

  21. Sue Orjada Says:

    I am sitting here with my coffee, reading emails, and getting ready to begin the day’s activities. LOL! This story is too funny! I can now start the day with my coffee — and a smile. Thank you!

  22. Lisa Sharp (lsharp from chatroom) Says:

    I love your stories, Carlos!

    So, did you go out on the skywalk?! I would love to do that!

  23. Liz Says:

    Thank you for sharing your adventures with us! I love receiving updates about your family. Your marriage certainly is an inspiration. Stay in touch! Liz

  24. Betts-IN Says:

    I agree with everyone else and will just echo their thoughts. Beautiful pics, as always!

  25. Rose Says:

    Thanks for staying in touch, Carlos and Donna!

  26. Vicki Says:

    How “grand” to hear about your travels. My husband and I were totally awe-struck the first time we went to the Grand Canyon. We went down to Williams and took the train ride back to it. If you haven’t tried it you should.
    Your navy story was great fun. Like everyone else above so glad to hear from you both and enjoy your photos. Just think, this was fun and because of you, we are apart of it!
    Safe travels!

    Vicki (my5kids)

  27. Pam in MO Says:

    Sounds like a lovely trip. It’s been years since I’ve been to the Grand Canyon and your picture brings back some fond memories. Thanks for sharing. God bless and enjot yourslves on your travels. And keep in touch.

  28. jamma louisiana Says:

    thanks so much for taking us along on your trip…seemed like a good time…canyon is beautiful…good to see it through the eyes of a camera…keep sending us the laughs and scenes…happy rving…jamma

  29. Betty Rexrode - Houston Says:

    I’ve had similar experiences in restaurants out of the country and in our country. We just have smile and go on, like you and Donna did.

    When I read you had Googled, “Fine Dining in Kingman, AZ”…..I began to laugh.

    I was in Kingman last April…..no fine dining there! A very nice mine with great turquoise, though.

  30. CAequuslvr Says:

    Carlos, what a wondeful story. Thank-you for sharing it with us. Please continue with the “travel reports”. I love visiting the USA through you and Donna. Once again, wonderful photos.

  31. aspengoldred2 Says:

    Carlos, you can tell a story like no other…feel as though I was right there with you and Donna, only better through your eyes, much more entertaining. Waiting with anticipation for your next installment. LOL Wonderful photos as usual. Wishing you Safe travels………………

  32. Moniq50 Says:

    ROFL Carlos, you can sure tell a story, and make it great fun to read. You and Donna are having some fun, and along with the weather too. At least you are both enjoying your travels and having a great time!!! Thank you for keeping us posted, always great to hear from you.. Enjoy and be safe!!!
    ((hugz))

  33. PegRod Says:

    “Join the Navy and See the World” has been true for many who have served in the armed forces.

    The military and Ustream have a history together. This sites gives some of the background, although you might want to double check with Ustream directly to confirm facts.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ustream

    “Join Ustream and See the World” applies to those of us who may not have been part of the US Armed forces or other groups, but found Ustream via Molly the Owl. Thank you Ustream, and thank you Carlos for letting us see new worlds, obtain free education and understanding of new concepts, and to make new worldwide friends.

  34. OwlKats Says:

    Dear Carlos & Donna,

    So glad you had a wonderful trip. Thank you so much for a really good laugh today. I needed it. You two always have so much fun while traveling! I took one look at your 1st picture of the Skywalk and vertigo set in. I was backing up in my chair when I realized I wasn’t standing on It. Darn my fear of heights, It does funny things to my senses.
    Oh by the way, You sent those high winds here to Colorado. It has been blowing, on and off for days.

    Love to you both.
    Kathleen Stevenson (HOOT)

  35. sandy/Racoona Says:

    Sounds like fun. And if you just recently returned, you really must have had some crazy weather…with lots of snow.; Just as we did here in San Diego. A very funny story, too. You always have a funny story to tell. Keep them coming; and keep us posted on our Miss Molly and other backyard activities at the Royal house hold. : )

  36. LoveYourDNA Says:

    Love all your stories, and being from AZ and knowing Kingman, you’re lucky to have found any decent food at all!

    Cheers!

    p.s. How’s our Molly doing? Would you post a pic of her for us again? And one of her new beau – when he arrives ; )

  37. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    How we laughed and delighted in reading your Navy/Arizona story! Isn’t it amazing that each day, no matter where you are, can bring a memory that you can enjoy and share for a lifetime! Your photos are terrific – the skywalk looks terrifying! What a variety of weather you had!. Here, near Chicago, we’re at least one month ahead of schedule weather-wise. The flowers and trees are in bloom and the grass could use cutting. Last April we had 7 inches of snow! All our birds are back and nests are being built so we’ll hope for the best. It’s wonderful to hear that you are enjoying your travels and we hope you have many fun adventures ahead. Thank you ever so much for sharing your news! Let us hear about you two, and Molly, whenever you can!
    Love to you, Holly Sue

  38. Janice Grassmeyer Says:

    Love your stories, Carlos. I have been trying to get my husband to go to the Grand Canyon for years and I especially want to go out on that new walkway…..live for the thrills, I say. I will get there at some point, it’s on my “Bucket List”. lol
    You and Donna just keep having those special moments and you keep storing up those memories for later years.
    Keep RVing and stay safe.
    dg1018

  39. teatime Says:

    Enjoyed your story and the pictures are beautiful. Happy you are both enjoying your well deserved vacations in retirement.
    Keep us posted on Molly. Thank you.

  40. SactoSylvia Says:

    Aw, the joys of a road trip! Thank you for the memory postcard!

  41. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Molly and McGee
    Third Clutch

    March 23, 2011 – March 25th, Molly and McGee Day

    Last year, this time, fans were anticipating the arrival of a new day in history – Molly and McGee Day – proclaimed by the Mayor of San Marcos officially for March 25th! Carlos just wanted to remind fans a couple a days ahead of time, to have time to reflect on this and he asked fans to post comments on Molly’s Blog.

    This post begins with a contemplative photo of Molly and McGee on a “porchabout” or standing guard on the porch, Molly facing south and McGee facing east – correct me if I am wrong (and is that called catercorner?). I imagine that this pair most likely were photographed in a quiet moment, having already done their evening Molly Yoga moves adn stretches, a McGee Ruffle Shuffle, and the duo were contemplating the dinner menu and who would go hunting first!

    Carlos begins with a call for action!:

    “Let’s not forget that this Friday is Molly & McGee Day. Let’s have a get together right here on Molly’s Box. It will be a day of celebration and you can let the world know what The Owl Box, Molly, McGee and the owlets mean or meant to you. I have already received several emails saying that watching Molly last year was one of the best years of their life. But instead of sending me those email, post how you feel, so all can see and share, not just me.”

    “We are back from the desert. Everything worked so we will be loading up to get out of Dodge, as they say. Remember, this is the trip we had planned to take last year but Molly showed up so we cancelled. We are not complaining, The Owl Box, with Molly, McGee, the owlets and 20 million fans was a wonderful experience we will never forget. We feel Molly was a once in a lifetime story. Not that barns owl are rare, but how 20 million people from all over the world came together to watch and miracles happened as lessons in life were taught.”

    Click on the link above to read more of what Carlos shared.

    March 25th – Molly and McGee Day – Let’s Celebrate!

  42. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Just love your updates Carlos & Donna. Wonderful pictures!! Thank you!!

    Molly & McGee Day!!! Hooray!!

  43. janie2 Says:

    It makes me so happy to read about your travels and the fun you have. You have given all of us so many happy days at the owl box and now you deserve the trips that you enjoy. Thanks for the pictures and funny stories. Keep em comin”.

    Janie

  44. PegRod Says:

    VacaBlog Update
    “Burrowing in Vacaville”

    John “VacaDude” Atkinson has some interesting memories about burrowing owls and golf in his most recent post.
    http://vacadude.wordpress.com/

    You can also see the McGee Montage on this site with a tribute commentary, as well as the McGee Rainbow Bridge cartoon.


  45. Thanks for the nice chuckle! It reminded me of when I ask waiters if there is dairy in an item on the menu.
    We are wondering why you picked March for a trip to Kingman. Isn’t CA a little more reliably pleasant at this time of the year?
    Keeping you and Molly in my thoughts,
    Roz from Tacoma

  46. PegRod Says:

    Chula Vista
    Ustream Owl Box
    Update

    The owlets are growing fast, and I think today is the first day that Mama Dale stayed out of the box during the day – I might be mistaken since I don’t follow other boxes like I did Molly and McGee 24/7 during the First Clutch!

    Moderator LvOwls gives some facts just now in live chat to confirm Dale’s first day out:
    9:27 LvOwls: How old are the Heroes today? Ellie is 34 days, Clark is 32 days and Dee is 28 days old
    9:28 LvOwls: Just the Factz Fling & Fly Report™ Total 5: Wrangler Roy nabbed 3 rabbits, 1 bird and 1 long-tailed rodent. Dale is spending her first day out of the box roosting in a nearby tree with Roy.

    EmmieJan has some nice shots, including a “Cuddle Huddle”.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/emmie-jan/show/with/6862245840

  47. Liz Rennick Says:

    Your story made me laugh so hard! My husband is in the Navy, currently deployed on the USS Carl Vinson. Things have NOT changed from the bad food after a few months at sea and the pointing to food on foreign menus and hoping for the best. Also my parents live in Kingman, so when I read what you put in Google I was already laughing out loud even before the response, which had me ROFLOL. Oh dear, glad you could have fun anyway. I will continue to giggle about this throughout the day :-)

  48. Vikster Says:

    Carlos and Donna: You make my heart swell with love for you. Thank you for sharing the world through your eyes and spirit.

    Happy trails!

  49. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Molly and McGee
    Molly and McGee Day San Marcos, CA

    March 25, 2011 – Today is Molly and McGee Day
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/today-is-molly-and-mcgee-day/

    When this posting from last year, and Carlos’ call for comments, resulted in 381 comments, fans might have thought we had surpassed all previous records for the blog. Just look at the current year, and you will see that 681 comments from hundreds of fans in the Molly world community shared their thoughts, many who had not shared comments previously.

    The photographs from inside the box, which Carlos and Donna shared last year with his post, are lovely and a video link is provided. Reading all the comments from last year will be the way I will honor Molly and McGee Day. Oh, and since it is Sunday and Story Time writing day, you can be sure that some mention will take place during VacaChat – next show is Thursday night at 6 pm Molly time and Zorro will have double duty with Poetry Time and Story Time make up!.

    I am so lucky to have a Molly t-shirt and an Owl Box charm bracelet which I got for Christmas, and you can be sure I will be wearing those, too! Ruthrings and Casey made Dudley memorials out of round stones with feathers and twigs glued to them for the first Molly Watchers’ picnic. I will hold that in my hand and imagine while the cool stone turns warm with memories. Anyone can go for a walk outside and pick up a round stone and do the same, and you just might glance up at the clouds and see one shaped like McGee!

    Oh, so charming, our Molly and McGee and Carlos and Donna families …. “who brought the world together through modern technology”!

  50. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Molly and McGee
    Wordpress and Photos

    March 26, 2011 – Molly and McGee Day Makes WordPress.com’s Top 100 List
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/molly-and-mcgee-day-makes-wordpress-coms-top-100-list/

    Carlos begins with great photographs, including the most famous one taken by Donna Royal, a video, and a post which includes another record statistic! He says, “How big a deal is that? There are 18.67 million sites on wordpress.com, there were 567,739 post yesterday. When I checked Molly’s Box ranked # 57 which put Molly’s Box Blog not just the top 1% but in the top .01% yesterday. Molly Fans, you made it happen again with 10,183 Views and 388 comments.”

    That sounds great and one year later the statistics would climb to new heights!

    Also this time last year Carlos was in line at an Apple Store to purchase a new iPad! Many Molly Watchers now use iPads and iPhones and other mobile devices to watch Ustream and all the great nature channels it broadcasts live! Technology made a massive shift towards increased access and communication since the Owl Box was first turned on for a live broadcast on Ustream on February 14, 2010. Ustream has helped boost the economy and purchases of new computers, along with a fun and free way to see just how you might use your computers for more than just e-mail! “Email, a television set, a CD? What’s that?” will be the question you hear from the younger generation, believe it or not!

    The more things change …. the more things change at a faster rate in the computer world!

  51. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Molly and McGee
    Commemorative Cartoon
    by VacaDude

    March 26, 2011 – You Never Forget Your First Love
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/you-never-forget-your-first-love/

    This commemorative cartoon was drawn especially for Molly and McGee Day by John “VacaDude” Atkinson, our very own “Laughing Outside the Box” cartoonist. Of course with laughter, also will come some tears, when you look at this again, in light of McGee’s skyward journey to heaven. Like Carlos, John “VacaDude” is also a wonderful writer, and he shares his heartfelt memories in an accompanying post, including the fact that March 20, 2010 was the monumental day when he first looked at the live broadcast of The Owl Box of San Marcos, CA, on his computer – he never left!

    VacaDude is also the creator of the only rock n’ roll song written so far. “The Owl Box Rockz” and the animated owl video are G-rated rock! Many fans can listen to that song over and over, while dancing around either seated at the computer or all over the house, and never get tired of it, since the words ring true! Free lyrics pdf download is found here.
    http://www.vacadude.com/apob_obr.html

    Molly and McGee, we salute you on your special day. “Gee this is fun, and we are a part of it!”

  52. Diana Briscoe Says:

    Dear Carlos & Donna, That is a hilarious story! Oh how I love reading your stories. Don’t stop! I feel like I’m right there with you. So many things in life are so ridiculous we have to laugh! Like, what do you do? Anyway, so glad to hear from you again. Enjoy everyday that you have each other. God Bless & keep you both. I still think of McGee.
    Love,
    Dianapb

  53. PegRod Says:

    The Owl Box Rockz
    Lyrics, music, and animated video by VacaDude

    Some people will never click on links, and I just reread the lyrics, which are also a lyrical poem in honor of Molly and McGee and the Owl Box Experience thanks to Carlos, so I am copying them here for you to enjoy! Thank you John “VacaDude” Atkinson for capturing the mood and the experience of so many MODs who watched on Ustream 24/7 during the First and Second Clutches!

    THE OWL BOX ROCKZ!
    It’s 8 o’clock.
    It’s getting dark.
    In front of my computer I park.
    Wait patiently
    for Leggs McGee.
    What kind of rodent on the menu will be?
    That’s Molly there–
    a-looking fair,
    eating something that is covered with hair.
    The owlets too.
    It’s quite a zoo.
    I wouldn’t miss it–man, I’m telling you!

    (Chorus)
    No time for working.
    No time for fun.
    No time for any of my chores to get done.

    No time for Idol.
    Survivor too.
    I’ve got some crazy owl watching to do.
    No CSI on the video box.
    Not even Oprah cuz the owl box ROCKS!
    Yeah, the owl box rocks!
    (End Chorus)

    McGee has arrived.
    I hear them cry.
    Just another case of Fling & Fly.
    Was it squirrel,
    or was it rat?
    I’ll spend three hours just debating that.
    The owlets horking–
    pellets galore,
    and then a faceplant on the owl box floor.
    Some tasty gophers,
    some rabbits too.
    These little guyz won’t even bother to chew!

    (Chorus)
    No time for working.
    No time for fun.
    No time for any of my chores to get done.

    No time for cooking.
    No time to eat.
    I’m leaving everything incomplete.
    But Polez, Tauntz, Dudley and Mockz–
    They all can tell you that the owl box ROCKS!
    Yeah, the owl box rocks!
    (End Chorus)

    Oh no! Not RINGO!!!
    (Camera Outtage Interlude):
    The camera’s dark,
    Carlos is resetting.
    I’m made aware
    of the life I’m forgetting.
    The dirty dishes
    stacked up to the ceiling,
    My girlfriend left
    saying something ’bout feelings.
    Some unpaid bills
    addressed to occupant.
    Oh my gosh–
    we’ve got a new president?

    …cobwebs in the shower…
    …they’ve turned off my power…
    Now the image is reloading–
    my brain is exploding
    my heart beating faster…
    my heart beating faster…
    Now the camera’s
    back up in the box,
    and life is awesome cuz the owl box ROCKS!!!
    Yeah the owl box rocks!
    (End Interlude)

    They’re back again–
    another clutch.
    I guess I won’t miss my girlfriend much.
    We’ve got some new friends,
    and ones we knows.
    Two little horkers and a spider named Glowz.
    Another three months
    where nothing gets done.
    But I can say “Gee, wasn’t this fun?”
    And I was part of it.
    Man don’t you love it?
    And I was part of it.
    We all were part of it

  54. Gail Rinard Says:

    Thanks PegRod.. I just LOVE that song and the video is priceless.. We all cheer when Vaca puts it on during his VacaChats which is a wonderful hour with Vacadude.. the man with so many talents. I have met so many wonderful people in the Chat rooms and while viewing M&M With Carlos’ wonderful comments and explanation.
    If anyone had told me 2 years ago that I could fall in love with 2 owls and their owelets, I would have said they were crazy. But two years of happiness, hope, joy and sorrow have shown me more than words can express. Thanks so much to Carlos, Donna, Austin and of course Vacadude. What a wonderful experience this has been and hopefully will continue in the future..

  55. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Molly and McGee
    Third Clutch

    March 27, 2011 – Memories
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/memories/

    In this post from last year, you will find a photograph of an amazing “Certified MOD for Life” tote bag shared by Molly Watcher NatureLuver (TX. I believe the kaleidoscope of colorful signatures overflowing the surface are names of people she met at the Walnut Grove Molly Watchers Picnic! If you read this, Liz, maybe you could post a story of just how you were able to get so many! Talk about Memories! Behind each name is a unique story. Remember, “Everybody has a Story!”

    Carlos shares a travel photo he took of an “RV Oasis in the Desert” as he fills fans in about an upcoming Royal Retirement Adventure. There is a white bird gliding over the water – what do you think it is? I can’t tell, but would guess a snowy egret = do they live in the desert???? Too far away from the Pacific ocean to be a seagull, I think.

    Scroll down for some iPad screenshots from the Royal Amusement Hall of Mirrors and Technology! Even when some MODs thought the fun was over, lots of surprises awaited around the corner! The past is history, the future is a mystery, the present is the Present (Gift)!

  56. PegRod Says:

    Owl Box Update
    Ustream
    Chula Vista, CA

    As we await word on how Molly is doing, one can imagine that Molly and McGee’s progeny is procreating now, and might have owlet families like those of the other owl boxes, such as the Chula Vista or Oceanside, CA ones! Chula Vista link here.
    http://www.ustream.tv/owlchannel

    The three owets of Chula Vista, Ellie, Clark and Dee, might be humming the tune, “I’ve been working on a Wabbit, all the live long day”, as they are sharing the remains of night treats this morning. Weather for the area, including San Marcos, should be picture perfect today! What many people notice when they begin to watch barn owl boxes, is just how kind and sharing owlets can be (although an occasional ruffle skuffle might occur). Teamwork seems to be the norm for our “un”common barn owls! After a good meal, they preen, stretch and settle into a warm cuddle huddle, and then in a somnolescent state cells begin dividing again so that they wake up one size larger – I bet Dale is glad not to have to buy new clothes every two days for these rapidly growing youngin’s!

    Roy the Wabbit Wranger continues his quest for the world record, continuing on to his next goal of 200 wabbitz! As you can imagine, horks are all over the gagshag-covered owl box floor now, evidence of a well-fed family! This link takes you to a host Lenz Cleaning event – watch the camera owlets – so revealing!

    Behind the Scenez: OCG cleans the lenz March 28th 9 am

    Molly and McGee’s legacy continues, even while watching other boxes!

    • Gail Rinard Says:

      Hi PegRod,

      I often wonder how Molly’s doing.. Guess she is probably a grandmother many times over. Wonder if she knows her children or if she sees them while out “hunting” ..I have the Vaca’ ceramic mug of MOlly,family and Friends.. Think we could get Vaca to make a new design, Molly as a grandmother with her grown up owlets and baby grand owlets.. yes,the legacy continues. Would be fun if we could get a reunion of all Molly and McGee’s family!!.. They will always be my first love and my heart belongs to them.. Thanks to Carlos, Donna, Austin and Vaca for making this so much fun and I was proud to be part of it.. I always enjoy your comments PegRod and want to thank you for them.. They cheer me up tremendously

      • PegRod Says:

        Hi Gail! Your comments cheer me up as well and stimulate my brain cellz! lol

        What a great idea! I also imagine Molly as a grandmother and in another year to be great-grandmother! Pass that suggestion on to VacaDude and maybe Chris “rocketman” Adams for some Mother’s Day new designs!

        As Molly Watchers we learned the lesson well that observation reveals the nuances of nature and that each individual barn owl family is unique! Many previously held generalized beliefs about barn owl behavior were shown to be not true. So, the idea that the barn owls don’t relate outside the immediate nuclear family once they find a mate is not necessarily true, it just has not been observed yet!

  57. Lisa Long Says:

    Really enjoy and have missed your stories. So glad you are sharing your travels with us. I hope you will continue to update us about Molly and her beaux. Miss Molly, McGee, and the baybees so.

    Your hit or miss dining reminds me: Forget about ordering DECAFFEINATED anything anywhere! Ha! I managed to wean myself off caffeine, but I get bug eyed and spastic nearly every time I order decaffeinated drinks dining out. I think the servers grab the closest carafe to pour, or maybe the caffeine and decaffeinated carafes get mixed up as the day goes on, I don’t know. I asked a (surly) waitress once if she was serving decaffeinate iced tea, and she let me know: “It is what it is.”

  58. Deb Says:

    Carlos and Donna,

    Thank you for sharing your story. So funny. Wonderful photos!!! That is a place I have never been as I have never been that far west. So love seeing your photography. I look forward to hearing more of your adventures and pictures.

    Thanks again for sharing.

    Deb in OH


Leave a Reply

