Molly Brings In Her Own Gopher

July 13, 2011

Molly Brings A Gopher (Screen Shot by Valerie Cummings)

Molly is in the box alone but I just saw her scratching around in the back of the box this afternoon like she wants to build a nest. Early this morning she brought in her own gopher to eat while in the box today. They build their nest out of owl pellets which they hork up inside the box. The courting stage can take 30 to 60 days and eggs usually start showing up in about 10 days once mating actually starts in earnest.  We have witness Molly and McGee bonding or attempting to bond the last two nights. We will just have to wait and see if eggs follow.

Austin started the final cut of his new movie The World’s Most Famous Barn Owls today and hopes to have it finished in a couple of weeks. He will then have to send it to Arizona for duplication. You can help him with his planning by pre-ordering you copy. That way he will know about how many to have duplicated. All the proceeds go directly into his college fund. He is hoping to sell enough to pay for half his college education, his original DVD earned him enough to pay for his first half not including room and board.  http://austin4media.com/

All the best,

Carlos, Donna and Austin

P.S. Isn’t that a great screen shot by Valerie. Thanks Valerie for sharing.

35 Responses to “Molly Brings In Her Own Gopher”


  1. Carlos, does this disprove your theory that McGee controls the number of eggs she will have by the amount of food he brings her. I thought that’s what you were saying. I was not so aware of how much McGee controls everything, but it’s an interesting observation. When I first learned this morning that she’d gone for her own food, I thought that this was somewhat contrary to what you had said the other day.

  2. vicki Says:

    Valerie’s shot is just gorgeous. The color of the sky highlights Molly so well, almost like wrapping a mauve shawl around her. What a great way to start the day, food in the pantry and sun in the sky.

  3. DWD in Atlanta Says:

    I was just watching Molly scratch around in the box and tear up some horks. I thought to myself…I think she is ready to lay an egg. LOL

    I am getting ready to visit family next week and won’t have internet. I’ll be home a few days before leaving on a 3 week China trip. Internet will be touchy there too. I know I will miss all the fun. Hope those cameras will be up a while.

    I am interested in Austin’s video, but will order when I get back, so he can add i more to his pre-order counts.

    Thank you so much for bringing Molly & McGee back to us again. We love every minute of them we can get. They are our first owl loves!!!

  4. Carol Watt Says:

    Molly brought in her own food so does that mean the honeymoon is over?

  5. GeniaKnitz Says:

    Carol, he might have given her the gopher away from the nest.

  6. GeniaKnitz Says:

    I gather she came in as dawn was breaking. In any case, she ate it with gusto this afternoon.

  7. PegRod Says:

    Carlos, thank you for setting up such awesome camera angles and picture-in-picture (PIP) so that Caboval could take such an amazing screenshot!

    Valerie, thank you so much for sharing this amazing moment in time that few got to see live, like you did! It is one for The Owl Box Archives (Smithsonian, are you listening?)

    Thank you Austin for all your hard work, creativity, and your spirit of adventure and community.

  8. Donna Says:

    Carlos, great camera angle today. I can see Molly so clear on my iPad, you are the man!!!!!! I will be ordering my DVD soon, I’m sure it’s going to be great ! Thanks again to all of you, you’ve brought a lot of happiness to many people!

  9. SARose69 Says:

    Thanks for the courting information, Carlos. There is so much to learn about these owls. I’m an eager student!

  10. Susan Belloff Says:

    Just received my beautiful book The Second Clutch: the Return of the World’s Most Famous Barn Owls! It is gorgeous! I got teary eyed looking at it and remembering…..
    I love it! Off to look at it more closely.
    Thank you for creating such a beautiful remembrance
    Susan

  11. VSue Says:

    Valerie
    That truly is an OWLsome Screen shot!

    Thank you so much Carlos, Donna and Austin too, for the continual sharing of updates and info.

    DVD will be wonderful to add to my MOD goodies collection slowly gathering as I get the “Fun Money”. Knowing it goes to help a wonderful young man achieve future goals and dreams makes it so worthwhile too.

  12. moniq50 Says:

    Carlos, I recieived my Second Clutch book today in the mail, and I was smiling like a little girl. What beautiful pictures they are, and I love the lay out of the book. Such beautiful memories of our precious 2nd clutch. I now have Molly the Owl book, Molly and McGee book, and today the Second Clutch Owl book. I also ordered Austins DVD!! I am truly a MOD of Molly and McGee !! Thank you so much for all you do, and of course sharing Molly and McGee again for the 4th time.
    Much Hugz to the Royals

  13. Nanci Says:

    What a surprise today! …I received the 2nd Clutch Photo Book with your signature. I’ve had a tough time with my 87 year old dad in the hospital for the past 2 weeks, but I’ve been lurking when I’m home and *love* all the activity lately. I even heard you speak last night, which was the biggest treat! Carlos you and Donna need to go into broadcasting and bring Austin with you when he’s not in school. Y’all are the best!!! I’ve been following M&M and your family now since the first clutch and I’m sure hoping that McGee wants another family soon :)

    Blessings and good health,

    Nanci aka nanmarks

  14. knittinghiker Says:

    Looks like Molly and McGee are keeping everyone guessing! Just have to wait and see :)

    Got my 2nd clutch owl book – stunning, gorgeous, sweet!!!! Thanks so much for doing another book!

  15. Carrie Webster Says:

    Carlos, I received my Second Clutch Owl book today. It is positively fabulous!! I didn’t start watching Molly until the second clutch was born and have been watching ever since!! You are a gifted photographer, the shots of the owls are beautiful and at times breath taking. I have especially enjoyed listening to you narrate and follow your blog faithfully. Thank you again for this wonderful book.
    Carrie, from Rhode Island.

  16. Virgene Colby-auntie_vee Says:

    Recieved my Second Clutch book today. I have ordered Austin’s new DVD. I thank you too Valerie for sharing that great screen shot of Molly.

  17. PegRod Says:

    This gopher must have missed seeing VacaDude’s cartoon so he could take the good advice!
    http://www.vacadude.com/data/PocketGopher.pdf

    Free coloring pages and other good creations on his site.
    http://www.vacadude.com/apob_color.html

  18. mandozee Says:

    Guess she was hungry and didn’t want to wait for a dilivery. LOL Great screen shot. mandozee

  19. Nancy Sarazen Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    I received my Second Clutch Book today and it is beyond words beautiful!! You are just amazing and I love our owls so much. You have brought such joy to so many lives with your sharing of your precious Molly and McGee and all their owlettes with the world for so long. We thank you from our hearts!!

    Nancy Sarazen

  20. Brenda Says:

    Carlos, Donna & Austin: I am so enjoying being a full fledge MOD again watching M&M. It’s like old times and I find watching the owl box so relaxing and pure enjoyment! I’ve given up watching TV now that M&M are back with us. Thank you for sharing your time and all your energy keeping all of us so happy and entertained!

    I live in Oceanside, CA and I was hoping that I would of gotten my 2nd Clutch book today but it hasn’t shown up yet. I’m so anxious to see it. My hubby and I are leaving Friday morning for a 12 day cruise so I’m so hoping that the book comes in the mail tomorrow so I can see it before we leave. Hearing all the comments on how beautiful the book is, I can’t wait to see it! I have the 1st clutch book as well as Molly’s Story, Austin’s 1st DVD and I ordered his movie the first few minutes you announced it was available to pre-order. I’m so anxious to see what fine work Austin has done this time. I enjoy his first DVD tremendously, I know this one is going to outstanding!.

    You guys are the best! We are very happy MOD’s!!! Thank you, thank you…..THANK YOU!!!!!

  21. Paula Bullinger Says:

    Carlos, I hope they have clutch 4; keeping my fingers crossed.
    I just received my Second Clutch book….wow…I actually cried reliving it again. It truly was magical.
    I have several of your wonderful framed photos going up my stairs. I also have the keepsake boxes, mugz, shirts, framed tiles, and on and on.
    I was lonely and bored before I found Molly and you and all my fellow chatters. It’s good to know so many others were mesmerized, not just me!
    I’ve always enjoyed the birds in our yard and have many feeders. We don’t have owls but I will always have Molly in my heart.
    THANK YOU.
    PJgrandma

  22. Ericka Says:

    I got my Second Clutch book today and it is beautiful! I love how you put the pictures of the other birds in your yard in the book. As usual, you did a wonderful job Carlos!

  23. Liz Says:

    My second clutch photo book arrived yesterday and I cried when I opened it. Molly and McGee are just so special and the photo book takes my breath away. Carlos, your photos are spectacular and everyone who had a part in putting the book together did a fantastic job. I will treasure both of the books along with Molly The Owl and all my other M&M momentos. It has been an unbelievable journey since I found Molly and McGee a few days before Max hatched. Gee, it’s been fun and I have been part of it! Now I have preordered Austin’s movie and look forward to that. The fun just doesn’t end!
    Thanks for all you do for the MODs who love Molly and McGee!

  24. Glenn Says:

    Carlos, I received the second clutch books today. They are beautiful photos by a great photographer. Now I can’t wait to get Austins DVD movie. I love the outside camera view you do with split screen so we can see whats going on outside of the box with other birds, sunsets and nature. Thank you Carlos, Donna, Austin and Eric for putting second clutch book together.

  25. Sherry Kelly Says:

    I received my Second Clutch book here in Oklahoma this afternoon. It is beautiful. I was surprised to see it here so soon – all the way from your garage!

  26. Carol Stanley Says:

    My Second Clutch book arrived this morning in Colorado. I just love it. The photography is outstanding and the memories abound. I love the whole thing. Now can’t wait for the next DVD.

  27. Christy in West Virginia Says:

    When I arrived home last evening my second clutch book was there on my porch. It’s stunning!
    I found Molly and McGee just before the owlets in the second clutch started hatching, and watched super mom Molly and McGee raise them. That was almost a year ago.Now I have a wonderful remembrance of the experience. Thank you, Carlos, for your beautiful pictures.

  28. Treva Roberts Says:

    Thanks Val for a great screen shot, last night everyone was talking about Molly getting her own take-out. Now we have the evidence.

  29. SARose69 Says:

    http://www.neatorama.com/2011/07/12/owl-imprint-on-window/
    Owl Imprint on Window
    Do you ever find a bird image on your windows? Me, neither, but I don’t have any big picture windows. This eerie image of an owl was left when the bird crashed into Sally Arnold’s window in Kendal, Cumbria, UK.

    I don’t think this was a barn owl but it was interesting. Do barn owls have powder down?

  30. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Molly & McGee
    Second Clutch

    July 14, 2010 – A Mod’s Journal is Available
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/a-mods-journal-is-available/

    July 14, 2010 – First Molly’s Story DVD Shipped
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/first-mollys-story-dvd-shipped/

  31. CAequuslvr Says:

    I received my Second Clutch book. Just so wonderful–I had to touch each page which brought back all the memories.

    Valerie, thanks for sharing the beautiful pic of Molly.

    Looks like another clutch may be in our future.

  32. Theresa Atkins Says:

    Received my book Tuesday. It was a bit hard to go thru the memorial page of course but I smiled all the way thru the rest of the book. I still like to watch the “Carrie needs coffee” video on UTube. Cracks me up everytime I watch it.

  33. Janice Grassmeyer Says:

    Just received my Second Clutch book today, Thur. July 14, here in hot sweltering Nebraska. What a treat to page through and see all the great pictures. Sure brought back many fond memories of Ashley and Carrie….good times. You did a great job on selecting the pictures and the story line was excellent. I am excited to have both books, they will be treasured.
    dg1018

  34. Sherrie Says:

    Oh Carlos, the new book is owlsome! After falling in love with the first clutch I tried not to get as attached to Ashley and Carrie…. But, gee, I loved them too! Thank you so much for all the joy you have given so many (especially me). The photos of M&M are beautiful! I ordered Austin’s new CD and am looking forward to that as well. You must be so proud of him. All my best to you, Donna, Austin, M&M and family. Fondly, Sherrie

  35. A FAN OF M&M Says:

    Carlos, I got my book today! I love it! Such great memories. I loved seeing some quotes from MODS, like SKATR. How awesome is that. She definitely depict in words what we all felt at that very tender but sad moment. The photography was gorgeous. Eric did a great job as well. A++++++++++
    This has been such a great experience and the memories will live on in both of these books. Thanks for all that you do! I am very much hoping we have a C4 for late summer, but appreciate any time we get a view into M&M’s world.


Leave a Reply

