The Owl Chasers Tonight

May 28, 2011

The Last Owlet

Pushing and shoving for food

 

 

 

Austin and I will be out looking for the owls again tonight. We will be going to another new location and hope we have more luck. This third location is directly north of the owl box about a quarter of a mile but this field has also been recently disked to take down the weeds. We will also be trying a couple of new techniques, I will have an IR spotlight, it may look like a light but it is not. We will also be trying some different broadcasters or streamers as they are called.

Action starts anytime after 7:00 PM PST, it depends of set up time at location.

Bring marshmallows.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

24 Responses to “The Owl Chasers Tonight”


  1. I’m bringing the stuff to make the Smoores!
    This is so much fun……and I WILL be a part of it!
    Thanks Carlos and Austin!
    See you out there tonight!

    Sending love from colorado,
    CastOwLRockCoL

  2. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos and Austin,
    May the owl gods be with you both tonight. I’m amazed you haven’t had any MODS show up to share the adventure. I’d sure love to! Bless you both for sharing so much with all of us. We’ll love and treasure you both forever. By the way, that headshot of the last owlete is so good. Thank you for that one. I just wanted to touch the screen and feel the feathers.
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA

  3. Joyce Hebert Says:

    some of us are watching on sportsmansparadise online…we really enjoy the people there…say hello to us if you can…thanks…enjoying field trips…

  4. Deb Says:

    Carlos, Donna and Austin,

    Looking forward to it. I just love these field trips. They are so much fun!!!

    Excellent shot of the last owlet.

    See you tonight.

    Deb in OH

  5. Nancy Says:

    I’m here waiting with baited breath. Hope we see all te owls tonite. Thanks Carlos and Austin.

  6. Chana Meddin Says:

    Carlos, you and Austin are the Batman and Robin Superheroes of The Owl Realm! And your adventures
    crack us up, as you learn and tweek, and share your “learning curve” with us LIVE on KOWL.

  7. Bev-MIret. Says:

    Love the “adventures” you take us on! I’owll be watching.

  8. SARose69 Says:

    What a great portrait of the owl I call Squeaker!
    I’ll bring the chocolate bars for the S’mores!

  9. Carlynne Says:

    Royal family,
    Thank you for including you on these Owl Chasing adventures. They are fun and I am glad we get to be there.

    For those out there that think freshly mowed fields are not as likely to attract owls, I say – guess again. I live in a rural area east of San Diego and freshly plowed fields actually attract the predator birds like owls. The plowing brings up food for the small animals and there is not as much cover for them.

    Good hunting. Great hearing your voice again And Donna, thank you for holding down the fort while the “boys” are out hunting.

    Carlynne aka littleguys

  10. SueinMaine Says:

    My Gosh…just when I think your photos can’t possibly get any better, they do! Can’t wait for tonight…so glad you are back on. You are all sumthin’ else!!! And Donna…”Mission Control” is a VERY important position and you cover it very well!!! ;o)…xoxoxoxo

  11. DianaJoe Says:

    I cannot pull any of the live stream on neither my IPhone or IPad. Aarrgg! Guess I’ll wait till next time. Watching the feeding fields is so neat. Thanks guysz.

  12. donna Says:

    Carlos, Austin and Donna I’m with you every night at the hunting grounds, what fun! Its so nice to hear your voices again, wish I was closer I’d bring some snacks. The picture of squeaker is beautiful, you sure know what to do with a camera!! I recieved my Molly Iphone cover, Love It!! Hope you have better luck tomorrow at the field, I’ll keep my fingers crossed. Thanks again!

  13. VSue Says:

    Well, another night I had to miss OWLt on!

    Hope for video or at least a blog to read about the owlciting times I missed.

    Sure is wonderful having chatz available and I thank y’owl for everything Carlos, Donna and Austin too.

    This is such fun and I am so glad to be a part of it all.

  14. francie bowers Says:

    Sorry I can’t stay up to watch Carlos & Austin! Have a great Memorial Day Weekend!

  15. Lemayrenee Says:

    Carlos,
    I was talking to the World Bird Sanctuary people her in St. Louis about your nightly owl hunting trips. They told me something interesting, and I wanted to pass it on to you. They feel when the barn owl is flying low over the field looking for prey, once they hear something near, they send out a “sound”?? They THINK it may startle the prey for just a moment, enough to cause it to falter and that is when they go in for the kill. So if you are close enough to hear, really listen to see if you can hear this sound???? Let us know if you do hear it. It almost sounded like what porpoises do to stun fish???
    Lemayrenee

  16. Camperfamily (Kim) Says:

    Thank you for a wonderful night last night! It’s been so exciting!
    It’s raining in Temecula this morning! Crazy CA weather!

  17. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Carlos , Austin and Donna, Thanks for the field trips. Love watching and hearing you three again. I can’t believe that Elkins, WV was warmer last night than San Marcos, we were 68 and you said you were 63 degrees. lol! We, many times, are rated the coldest spot in the nation by the Weather Channel. Hope you do another field trip, better that anything on TV. You always keep coming up with something new to make it exciting and interesting to watch. Thank you so very much! Madonna

  18. Carole in Charlotte, NC Says:

    This new venue in the life of owls is wonderful! You have given us far more “hands on” experience than ever imagined! Your enthusiasm and love for the owls, photography, and video is so contagious! Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

  19. Judy Sackson Says:

    I so wanted to be there last night, and I fell asleep!
    Hope everything went well, hope you keep doing this for a while, last night was the first night I missed, I’m really enjoying the field trips (the s’mores are great, too).
    Thank you so much for including the MODs in your adventures, we all love it.
    Fantastic shot of Squeaker!
    Keep up the good work, Donna!

  20. Sarah (slewvi) Says:

    Dear Carlos, Austin and Donna,
    Once again, you are breaking new ground, and we get to be part of it! These trip are soo much fun — getting to see the coyotes, the hawks, listen to you and Austin check out equiptment, Donna providing Command Central. Thanks you so much!
    I’ll be there again tonight!

  21. encinitaskj Says:

    Thank you Carlos for adding another dimension to the life of the barn owl. I so agree with a previous comment regarding the quality of the photos! They just keep getting better and better! Absolutely exquisite photographs of these absolutely exquisite animals! I am so happy to be able to sign on again and have your owl box back in my daily life. You guys are the best!!

  22. joan Herberg Says:

    wondering if last owlet has decided to leave yet–see you at 7:45

  23. KeyMargo Says:

    I really enjoy the new night camera and microphone you have. Makes brilliant full screen viewing.

  24. Sally in Aus Says:

    Oh the sanctuary of “The Owl Box” and all it’s adventures!Thank you for continuing the journey Carlos,Donna and Austin. What a joy to see the sun come up over the Owl Box in the Royal’s yard!Then to be taken on an exciting field trip with “the boys”.That tops it off.It is a joy to experience the “sights and sounds”of San Marcos once again.


Leave a Reply

