Field Trip Tonight 7:45 PST

May 25, 2011

When they get a large catch they always have to show it off.

Is this a handoff or an inspection?

Okay, whose got the biggest?

Just because mine is bigger you don't have to leave.

Score 10 for balance

Could you eat that inside you are making me hungry

No, I don't plan to leave any for you.

He dropped it and it is down there

We will be taking another field trip tonight to the hunting ground and see if we can’t improve our camera work. As my grandpa used to say, “Maybe the fishing will be better tonight.” Yes, we fished at night, for catfish.

We will be going on the air around 7:45 PM PST or as soon as we can get set up and connected. The fun should start around 8:05 PM PST just as the light begins to disappear. I was going to buy some marshmallows but decided I didn’t want Austin getting all the equipment sticky. Like I said, we will be having fun so join us on this field trip to the San Marcos, owl hunting grounds. Be sure to take notes as we will have a quiz tomorrow.

Put on your Molly T-shirts and let’s have some fun.

Carlos, Donna and Austin
P.S. Last night was a little chilly so you might want to put on a jacket.

35 Responses to “Field Trip Tonight 7:45 PST”

  1. Bonnibell Says:

    Last night was so much fun! I look forward to another watch! Thank you so much. Oh, and Carlos, thank you also for allowing chat. It was so great to see some old “faces”..so much love..Bonnibell

  2. Vee Miller (VeeTX) Says:

    Carlos – these photos are great!!! I missed last night’s broadcast because I lost power in last night’s storms – but I did watch the video today. I’ll be here tonight for sure! Thanks to you and Austin. You are a really fun grandpa!!!!

  3. Kilkenny Cat Says:

    Carlos, last night was magical. I loved seeing the hunting grounds up close and personal, after hearing about it for so long. And seeing the owls flying and hunting was icing on the cake pop!! thanks so much; looking forward to tonight’s show.

  4. mandozee Says:

    I’ll be there or I should say in and out unless my connection holds out mandozee

  5. knittinghiker Says:

    that was a fabulous show last night – thank you so much Carlos and Austin – now, how do I get around this sleep issue because once I see the owls hunting, I have to stay and watch…. LOL

    the pictures on today’s blog are so beautiful – I just can’t believe all the shots you’ve been able to get – what a real treat!

    knittinghiker [an eastcoaster]

  6. Sherry Kelly Says:

    Last night was so fun – and now we get a repeat! Yay!!!

  7. Barb Says:

    How exciting last night was, loved it. And now were doing it again. And I thought it was going to be a 1 time experience. I should have known better knowing Carlos Royal was behind it. Wow thanks to all the Royals and you too Austin.

  8. Lynn Vavroch Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Austin for last nights field trip. It was great fun and I can’t wait until tonight’s trip. It was really wonderful to see the owls flying in the field. Just thank you so much for letting me be a part of it!!!
    Carlos, your pictures from last night are beautiful. The one owlet looks like he has an angel wing. You are very talented, and you all are very appreciated!!!
    Lynn Vavroch

  9. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thank you for letting us be part of the adventure…it is awesome…

  10. Joanne Murray Says:

    Your camera work is excellent. Because we get up at 3:30 am, I am gone by the time the “kids” are playing. I appreciate that I can see what was going on as I was being responsible with sleeping for the next day’s work. Love those owlett’s. Hope there will be a cam going with next clutch. I am into photography, and appreciate what I see. It is cool that they are hanging around..Blessings, joanne

  11. donna Says:

    Carlos & Austin thank you so much for taking us to the hunting grounds, my daughter and I didn’t even blink, we didn’t want to miss anything. I will be there tonight, have my jacket ready and pen and paper. ha ha. Wish I could be there, it must be awesome. Thanks again to all of you!

  12. Jeri Lynn in NW FL Says:

    Yippee! :)

  13. NatureLuver Says:

    Wow, kool pics of two owlets with treats. I could do without seeing the blood though and I’m a nurse. Makes it real if you know what I mean. If that was Molly with her wings out she is beautiful. Just awesome pics.
    I caught the end of last nights broadcast in the hunting grounds. I will try to tune in tonight but I’m on call. You guys are so wonderful Carlos to share this adventure with us. That’s what makes you so special…..always sharing with others.
    Austin you are one lucky guy to have such a great Grandfather.

    Best of luck with tonights broadcast. Be safe!
    Deet Deet Deet
    Liz Garney, TX

  14. Jo-Ann Says:

    I’ll wear my ear muffs also with my jacket..


  15. The last photo with white wing is GORGEOUS! My kissy-owl apron will have to substitute for a t-shirt! Love it!

  16. Leslee Says:

    Don’t give up, Carlos and Austin…the second show is always the worst one…next time it will be fantastic…the first one was great…
    Carlos, you are the most patient person I’ve ever heard. The love between you and Austin is wonderful. I hope you do many more “shows” this summer…Imagine the possibilities…!!!!!

  17. PegRod Says:

    Reminder of an Opportunity – The Presidential Citizens Medal

    With all the excitement that surrounds the adventures in learning around The Owl Box of San Marcos, California, I want to remind Molly Watchers that The White House has asked for nominations to be made on their website for The Presidential Citizens Medal to recognize Americans who have “performed exemplary deeds of service for their country or fellow citizens”. Many Molly the Owl fans have nominated Carlos Royal.
    http://www.whitehouse.gov/citizensmedal

    The form is simple to fill out – but the deadline is May 30th 11:59 EST.

    5 days left to complete the online form!

  18. Joan from Colorado Says:

    Dear Carlos .. what a fabulous picture of the two owls, each with their own treat.. you must have been very patient to capture this.. wow!! Joan

  19. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos, Austin and Donna,
    Another wonderful moment in our Molly saga handcrafted by the three of you, our owls and all our MOD friends. It was thrilling to experience and yes! . . . I saw those beautiful wings in flight in the hunting grounds. Bravo Austin and Carlos with Donna taking us back to the owlbox with such great finesse. You created a campfire atmosphere with all of us being together yet again to have another”gee that was fun and I was a part of it”.
    Take a bow our wonderful friends, you are the very best an owl and MODS can have!
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA

  20. VSue Says:

    how OWLsome!

    I will be peeking in as I can sneaky peak for sure!

    And again Carlos
    OWLsome photos!

    <3 to everyone!

  21. BJ Says:

    Sad that i had to work this evening but I plan to get on and watch videos if you made one this evening of the hunting grounds.
    You are a blast….enjoying all life has to offer. It is inspirational.

  22. joly2u Says:

    Carlos, that last pic, of M4 with the wing out, is gorgeous, wow! The field trips are really worthwhile, what a great idea. I am impressed with Austin’s ability to track them through the cam. The laptop mike seemed better than the other one. Thanks for doing so much, it’s great fun but much more than that too.

  23. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Love the photos, this is a blast.
    Thank you!!!!

  24. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane
    Clutch 1 (Molly the Owl, the book, the true story)

    May 25, 2010 – Venturing Out
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/venturing-out-3/

    May 26, 2010 – Successful Hunting
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/successful-hunting/

    May 26, 2010 – Wesley’s Debut
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/wesleys-debut/

    MODs are grateful that the long and winding internet connections lead the Owl Box Watchers to Molly & McGee’s front door in the Royal Gardens of San Marcos, California, “Home, Sweet Home” ((hugs and hearts))

  25. PegRod Says:

    Field Trips – Carlos and Austin’s Video Experiments and Adventures with Wild Common Barn Owls in the Hunting Fields of San Marcos, California

    May 25, 2011 – 8:12 pm
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14963073

    May 25, 2011 – Mobile Record
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14963373

    May 24, 2011 – 7:47 pm
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14941852

    May 24, 2011 – 8:25 pm
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14941944

    Carlos Royal demonstrates to Molly Watchers how learning and living can be so much fun, with his “No Fears”, “Hard Work, and “Keep Trying” attitude, and not worrying about waiting for “perfection” to share experiences with others. The door is left open for anyone around the world to have a chance to mindfully and heartfully participate in the adventures and learning (within the safe structure of the Chat Room Rules). For many participants, this has sparked new creative growth within.

    “Gee this is fun, and we are a part of it!”

    • PegRod Says:

      Oh, here is the first link of the May 25th Carlos and Austin’s video adventures.

      May 25, 2011 – 7:42 pm
      http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14962638

      This recording includes spotting a kestrel, hawks, Cooper’s hawk, a black phoebe and although I didn’t see it, they saw a coyote mom and pup. Owl Box watchers often hear the coyotes calling in the wee hours of dawn and at night.

      Also included is an explanation of their “in the field” location, set up of vehicles, tables, cables, video and battery equipment.

      With a chill in the evening air, Carlos also mentions his famous Molly Mug Cafe Mocha (recipe is found in the Molly Watchers e-Cookbook on page 31 with a great photo of Carlos!).
      http://mollytheowlbooks.com/store/books-bookmarks/molly-watchers-e-cookbook.html

  26. Puggz Says:

    …love the field trips and the photos,
    you guys (+ Donna’s updates) just keep getting better and better.
    Live “TV” is so much fun!

    I just ordered the award winning book to add to my DVD, photo book, e-book and cook book collection, looking forward to it.

  27. PegRod Says:

    San Diego Rodents may want to take a second look at the advice offered in the “Laughing Outside the Box” 2011 cartoon by John “VacaDude” Atkinson entitled “Rodentia Exodus”
    http://www.vacadude.com/data/PocketGopher.pdf

  28. OoltewahTN Says:

    I hope to get to see the Owls in the Field tonight. Now if only these tornadoes will go away and let me keep power so I can get into the chat!

    I love your captions, Carlos. So cute – keep ’em comin’.

  29. joly2u Says:

    M4 banqueted last night. Mostly alone, but another owlet came briefly early am and again right before morning exit. Feed was off earlier in the night, so I don’t know what happened during that time. So much food, even M4 finally got quiet during eating, starting with the 3rd feed. He had a 4th too, and maybe more. The 1st one I saw was humongous.

  30. Susan Belloff Says:

    I watched the posted video today..I think it was from the 26th…of the field trip. I love watching them whether I see an owl or not! I loved the bluebirds and was especially interested in the coyote. I had never seen one in the “wild”. Coyotes actually do slink, don’t they? Austin is a great camera person…he keeps right with his subject. I was impressed. Thanks for all your creativity…so much fun to be able to share in your and Austin’s adventures.
    Susan
    PS I watched the first field trip live as it was being broadcast and laughed right out loud when you told about the field being mowed that day…:)

  31. Trisha Says:

    Hi Carlos, I watched in amazment last night as the two owlettes were still there! One even hung out inside the box for a bit. I like how that one has a very different high pitched sreech, so I can tell it apart from the others.

    I also noticed Groupon has a $25 for $50 worth of stuff at Cafe Press. :-) Made me think of your goodies that I own… two mugs and a book!

    Thanks as always for sharing!

    Lajollaseal

  32. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane

    May 28, 2011 – Chris Adams Fine Art Prints
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/05/28/limited-edition-fine-art-prints/

    May 28, 2011 – They’re Growing Up
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/05/28/theyre-growing-up/

    More great photos and memories from Molly & McGee’s First Clutch!

  33. Melissa Says:

    The photos you take and the captions you give your photos make me smile and often make me laugh out loud. I never would have thought an Owl and her family (both human and bird) would have such a giant impact on me. Thanks for sharing Molly, McGee, the Owlets, and yourselves with the world!


Leave a Reply

