Live From The Hunting Fields Tonight

May 24, 2011

McGee The Hunter by Chris Adams

Looking for the prey

We are going to try something completely new and different tonight. Austin and I are going to be broadcasting live from the hunting grounds of these owls. That right, we are going to go to an open field not too far from the owl box and set up a camera and see if we can show you them actually hunting live. We will be using natural lighting so there will be a very short window of opportunity. We estimate we will have about 30 minutes or less before it gets too dark to see the owls. We also have to have some luck and guess the right field where they will be hunting tonight.

Please let your family and friends know they can see this live event The Hunting Fields on Ustream.tv http://www.ustream.tv/theowlbox  . Like I said, this will be live and nature so there is no guarantees but we think we have a good chance of showing you some barn owls hunting for that first treat of the night. Don’t worry you won’t see any blood and guts, we will be too far away for that but we do hope you show you owls in their natural environment hunting and pouncing on their prey. You will be watching wild owls not trained owls or pet owl. You will be watching Nature brought to you by The Owl Box on Ustream.tv.

Time 7:45 PST http://www.ustream.tv/theowlbox

Chat and Social Stream will be on.

If you want say Carlos’ favorite saying, “Gee, that was fun and I was part of it.” Join us tonight.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

64 Responses to “Live From The Hunting Fields Tonight”


  1. Oh cool Carlos! I will have a front row seat for sure and will pass the word. Hope it works out! How exciting it will be…HOOT…HOOT!

    Sending love from Colorado,
    CastOwLRockCoL

  2. Twoclubs Jane Says:

    I’ll be there with rings on my fingers but I will take the bells off my toes! Whoo Hoo!! Another first from The Owl Box and our Wizard of Owls, Carlos The King.

    Hearts and (((Hugs))) twoclubs jane

  3. SARose69 Says:

    Gee this sounds fabulously fun and I can hardly wait to be part of it! See you tonight!
    Blessings!

  4. Janice Barreras Says:

    I can hardly wait! What an opportunity to see another piece of the owls life straight from Carlos and Austin!! So much enjoyment brought to all of us by your family and the stars “the owls”.

  5. mandozee Says:

    I’ll be watching. great pics carlos. mandozee i’ll leave my bells at home too. LOL

  6. PegRod Says:

    I love that you put the illustration of McGee by Chris Adams along with your own Royal photograph! It just shows how precious the Molly the Owl book and the Molly & McGee books of photography are – each precious in their own way. And Austin’s DVD is just awesome, too! Can’t waid to see his new video ventures as well as your video experiment tonight!

    What makes the Molly the Owl experience so incredible is all the hard work, love and talent put into each and every creative element (from both owls and humans), and the fact that it is an amazing Multi-media kaleidoscopic event!

    As far as the end of the world (for every end there is a new beginning), I do think we have entered a new level of humanity and creation – a sort of heaven on earth for those lucky enough to be able to say, “Gee this is fun, and I am a part of it!”.

    • Twoclubs Jane Says:

      PegRod, I always look forward to reading what you say with such thoughtfulness and eloquence. You are truly one of my Owl Box inspirations and I feel so happy when we share our thin kong!! I say amen to what you wrote.(((Hugs))) Twoclubs

  7. mandozee Says:

    I hope it will be recorded so we can share it with others in the future? mandozee

  8. Maxine Says:

    I’m looking forward to tonight’s live viewing of the young adults owls learning to hunt. Thank you for sharing this live event with us.

    maxi23


  9. That will be interesting I hope! Good luck with the owls cooperating for the camera. I would say don’t let the mosquitos carry you off, but I wonder if you even have them in CA!

  10. Tammie Franklin Says:

    Hi Carlos! I’ve been meaning to ask you… How is Tauntz? Is that handsome wabbit still under the owl box living large? What a funny bunny he is!!! Would you kindly answer on the blog? So, excited to see you and Austin tonight on the owl hunt…. Many Thanks, Tammie ~ Sunshine41

  11. Jeri Lynn Says:

    This sounds exciting! Yea Carlos and Austin! Can’t wait!

  12. NJELLICA62 Says:

    Awesome Carlos…will be attending!!!

  13. VSue Says:

    I will most certainly be joining in the watching
    Seeing the owls surely makes my heart sing

  14. Diane Says:

    OOOOHHHHHHHHH!!! I am so excited about tonight! I hope everything goes great for you and Austin and finding the right field. A very big “thank you” from the bottom of my heart!
    Diane from Montana

  15. Jo-Ann Says:

    How exciting….

    Hope I can watch it taped… I won’t be home tonight… hope/wish I could see it… darn….

  16. Joyce Hebert Says:

    this will be truly amazing…i am usually up til midnight so i hope something happens…good luck and hope it works…i am hooked all over again with these owls…

  17. Healani AKA FoxyTuTu Says:

    Awesome! Not sure I will b able to watch…depends on if my babt grandson ALLOWS me to!!! LOL. He seems to run the show around here! Hmmmmn.

    • Sherry Kelly Says:

      We have a 6 month old great grandson who we keep during the day and when he is here everything centers around him! Yes, even the owls have to wait. Aren’t grandbabies fun?!!

  18. DianaJoe Says:

    How owl citing. No matter how many times I try to type owl citing spellcheck keeps changing it to owl citing. Oh well! How owl citing

  19. VeeTX Says:

    I’ll be there and it will be exciting!!! Thanks Carlos and Austin. This will be fun, but please be careful out there in the dark!

  20. TByrd Says:

    Wow Carlos….can’t wait. I’ll be next to Pam in Colorado in a front row seat. See you tonight. You are the best. Always have something new and exciting for us MODs.

    One of your big fans

    TByrd

  21. PegRod Says:

    Tonight the owls will be hunting what our former Molly Chatroom Moderator ChocoMare referred to as “Rodentia”. She has provided a new scientific link to a list of rodent species, which are similar to those found in Southern California.
    http://www.nsrl.ttu.edu/tmot1/ordroden.htm

  22. Ericka Says:

    This is why so many people like to watch your owl box. You don’t get this kind of stuff with the other ones. They are great to just watch the owls, but you don’t get all the extra stuff.

  23. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    I will be there…good luck !
    Love this Carlos, Donna, and Austin….
    To much fun! Gee, I’m so glad I am a part of it

  24. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos, Austin and Donna,
    I am so excited about the trip to the hunting field tonight! How great that you are treating us to such a unique experience! Thank you so much for the beautiful photos each day – what a grand family of owls we have! Austin – I enjoyed your bike broadcast, but it does look risky (Moms worry a lot), and the new t-shirts are awesome. Keep up the fine work! It will be great to hear your voices and I’ll be wearing my “Gee, this is fun” shirt for the occasion!
    My love to all of you! Holly Sue

  25. MoonDrops Says:

    Oh, we’re going on a field trip…er, I mean a trip to the field! How exciting will THAT be! Another first! WOW! What will you think of next, Carlos and/or Austin? And sharing it with us MODS is just so supreme…thank you! Like the others, I will be front and center. There’s no place like “home” for the most unique experiences and experiments. Good luck tonight!! Fingers crossed! Next Carlos will have us up in a tree watching an owl during the day…lol!!
    MoonDrops

  26. Deb Says:

    How cool!! I can’t wait. It’ll be about 10:45 PM on the east coast for me but I’ll make sure I’m up to see this.

    You, Donna and Austin always make this such a wonderful web site….fun and exciting.

    See you all tonight.

    Deb in OH

  27. francie bowers Says:

    Wow Carlos, you never fail to come up with new and exciting ways to keep us interested! what a great idea….thanks so much. Hello to Austin too!

  28. Barbara Says:

    Thank you! Thank you!! for everything! can’t wait to chat~wonder how long before overflow or slo-mode? LOL See everyone tonight!!
    Tarheelmom

  29. debbie Says:

    ooooooh…cool!!

    will keep my fingers crossed for you and austin. totally awesome idea. footage like that would rock for austin’s dvd project.

  30. Robin Balko Says:

    Carlos…that sound’s Great.Wish I couls stay up that late,but,I live on the east coast and will have to be up at 5am to work.I hope you tape it and post it on your site!! Great Idea!!

  31. arags Says:

    “May the Force be with you” and Austin and the owls in the hunting fields tonight. We promise to be ever so quiet, so as to not scare off the prey. Praying for lotsza rodentia units too. Looking forward to saying “Howdy” to all my owl pals in chat. Thanks ooodles.

  32. Donna Simonson Says:

    I’m there with ya! Let’s have no leaks out to the rodentia please. :)
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA

  33. FloridaSkye Says:

    Great news! I’ll be there.

  34. didinp Says:

    All I can say is please do not wear your Gopher Costume out there tonight LOL

  35. Camperfamily (Kim) Says:

    I sent an email to pigwig and pzoooooo!!
    Hope they can join us!
    See you in the chat!
    THANK you Carlos:)

  36. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane

    “Gee That Was Fun, And I Was a Part of It!” memories of our Molly Motto!
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/free-goodies-will-return/

    Fast Forward to Clutch Three: Return of the RV

  37. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Carlos , what a special treat for my birthday today! Will be with ya from West Virginia. Many thanks, Madonna

  38. Theresa Says:

    I can’t wait! I hope they show off for us! Thank you Carlos for doing this for us. You da best!

    Theresa aka windbeneathwing

  39. Rebecca Evans Says:

    I’m giddy with excitement…this will be so much fun!

  40. donna Says:

    I’ll be watching too Carlos, can’t wait! Thank you all again & again. Love from the east coast!

  41. joly2u Says:

    Carlos, what time will you begin, and how long do you estimate???????????

  42. Sherry Kelly Says:

    I’ll be watching from Oklahoma!

  43. kit Says:

    Can’t wait! Thanks!

  44. Roz L-M Says:

    Carlos and AUstin, What a great show tonight. I loved seeing the owls hunt at night! You guys are always thinking, expanding our experiences!
    XO Roz of Tacoma

  45. Deb Lay Says:

    Carols and Austin.. that was so much fun, Thanks you for all you do. Wooo I hear some hissing owls, Better go watch and treasure very last moment.

  46. Torre Says:

    That was fantastic Carlos and Austin!! Loved seeing the owls flying through the field! Thanks so much!!

  47. Jennifer O'Hara Says:

    Carlos & Austin,

    That was so cool! I loved the “live hunt!” Thank you so much. As always, you are on the cutting edge of this stuff. You remain the “Royal” Best-of-the-Best! I hope you’ll try again tomorrow night. I’ll be here waiting! Thanks again.

    Jennifer O’Hara
    jennifero2000@yahoo.com


  48. AWESOME APPLAUSE to Carlos and Austin..Oh I am so pleased that I saw this very,very rare view of our beloved owls. You are so gracious an filled with Joy. Blessings to you all.

    Please get out the vote for www. wect for Norfolk Botanical Gardens and Wildlife Center of Va.These non profits are involvedwith caring for teh 3 eaglets whose Mommy was killed last month by an airplane. Like the owls they were too low when aplane was landing. The voting closes at midnight May 25,2001.So far both centers may be in line to win over $200,000.00 but are losing ground.
    http://www.chasecommunityofgiving is the site you must open, sign in as a facebook account and check “like”. ONE vote for each non -profit,there are 100 non-profits and both rehab.centers are very much in need. Thanks again.

  49. Kim Torkelson Says:

    Thank you so much Carlos and Austin for sharing the hunt with all of us. Bet if the field wasn’t mowed we would have seen more. Oh well. It still was fun.
    Thanks a million. Loved hearing your voice, sure miss you guys. KimMn

  50. Memedee251 Says:

    You are simply the most generous people it has ever been my pleasure to meet, in cyber space or in 3D. Thank you so much for tonight! Thank you!

  51. Deb Says:

    Carlos, Austin and Donna,

    Thank you so much for the view of the hunting grounds tonight. It was a wonderful experience to see this live.

    Austin did an awesome job on the camera. Way to go!!!

    Thanks again to all of you for making this the best site on Ustream. You always come up with such fantastic ideas to make it fun and even more exciting.

    We all love this owl family so much and they are and always will be number one with me.

    Deb in OH

  52. Lucy Sanders Says:

    Carlos,

    Once again, thnak you sooo much for letting us into your owl life!!! That was wonderful and to have SS & chat on, too…what a great treat! You all are awesome and will never be forgotten for all you have done. I really needed this tonite so I am very grateful.

    Thank you & take care,
    Lucy (silent MOD from Troy, Ohio)

  53. Karen in Virginia Says:

    The conservationists in your community that had the vision to preserve the hunting grounds can now see, through your expedition last night, that these wonderful birds are finding the habitat life supporting. And the rodentia too of course, with the exception of the ones that become treats.
    Thank you for all you do to support these awesome creatures!! And your photos are amazing!

  54. Katy Says:

    Carlos and Austin
    THANK YOU for giving us the most amazing experience! I have never seen owls hunt for absolute real and feel like last night I got to see nature’s most amazing action. Your cameras make us feel like we are able to see in the dark. This was on the top of my list of Best Thing Ever!!!
    Bless you for extending our Owl knowledge. I am glad that I have been “a part of this!”
    Catbird22

  55. Sandy Says:

    Great idea this was. We will have to do it again. Carlos, you and Austin did a great job of catching these owls in flight for the hunt. Donna, you as well on the owl box. Thanks for the entertainment once again.

  56. Glenn Says:

    I love your broadcast from the hunting grounds. Lets do it again. Thank you Carlos Donna and Austin.

  57. PegRod Says:

    So happy that Carlos Royal and Austin Faure were able to record this experiment in filming and hunting the owl hunters!

    Live chat, too! MODs are thrilled to hear that the chat room is open today, too! And that it is not necessary to sign in to see the chat – that makes it more accessible to the viewers around the world – Thank you!
    http://www.ustream.tv/theowlbox

    So great to see our dear Moderator ChocoMare back with this headline!
    “ChocoMare-1 for RodentiaNet – Field agents Carlos & Austin Royal took RNN cameras deep into the fields of San Marcos to film the elusive Molly & McGee + owlets. Film at 11!”

    May 24, 2011 – Fields of San Marcos – Video
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14941944

    Tune in tonight for more excitement!


Leave a Reply

