Like, Did You Really Think We Were Going To Leave

May 17, 2011

Like, Did You Really Think We Were Going To Leave?

Let's see. Do I need a manicure or a pedicure?

I am doing my owl yoga mom, I'll be ready to leave soon.

Okay, I give up. It is day 88 and all four owlets are still showing up and Molly and McGee are still bringing them food. Could it be that since this third clutch showed up early that they are going to stay late? One thing I have noticed is that when Molly and McGee try to deet, deet, deet them away from the box, these three owlets just seem to ignore the calls, where with the first two clutches off the owlets would go.

Now you know why it is so hard to be an owl expert, owlets are just as unpredictable as children.

One more time, we will be watching. Will they return or will they go? The fun should start around eight tonight Pacific Standard Time.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

P.S. You can now watch The Owl Box live on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/mollytheowl#!/mollytheowl?sk=app_196506863720166

62 Responses to “Like, Did You Really Think We Were Going To Leave”

  1. Jim Shoemaker Says:

    Looks like they will leave on their own terms…whatever those might be. Thanks for the pictures. They have been great!

  2. Couleedam (Nora) Says:

    Carlos, many chatters gather at Willow’s (Jill’s Owlbox) and chat about the antics of Molly’s third clutch. I love your pictures, they are so beautiful!! I take lots of screenshots, but of course they don’t compare….thanks again for broadcasting this clutch – they have been so much fun!! Hugs & ♥s – couleedam

  3. Becky Says:

    I LOVE your pictures. Some of them make me laugh- well, more your captioning. Owls and children tend to make liars out of their parents. I remember the first time I was bragging about a particular thing my child would do and then would proceed to NOT do it. Oh well. We love them anyway-owlets and human kids. Thanks again, Mr.Royal for brightening up the day! It’s STILL raining here and I STILL have my furnace on.

  4. Joan from Colorado Says:

    Just like children, they want to let you know that they are not just a routine bunch..just to keep you guessing Carlos, and not take them for granted.. Maybe they are trying to establish their identities .. maybe because they never had names? or maybe they want to give you and Donna a little more time with them because you missed so much of their childhood.. that’s all of my theories.. Joan from Colorado

  5. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Just like children….yep!
    Watched on the east coast this morning and saw all 4 owlets, having a blast!!
    Love the new camera quality and view…great in flight shots! Will be there again tonight and in the morning Carlos! Thank you!!!
    PS: love the photos!

  6. Bonnibell Says:

    Stubborn little cusses. I sure enjoy watching them though. You are getting some great shot and I love the captions. Thanks again, Carlos. Bonnibell


  7. Carlos….as we say… “there’s no place like home”! Love the photos.

    Sending love from Colorado,
    CastOwLRockCoL

  8. ranyart Says:

    Carlos – Your stunning photos and owl updates are definitely a highlight of my days. Thank you.

  9. Kim gorman Says:

    That top photo is amazing, Carlos!!! I want a mousepad of that one to match the three on the kestral box from the first clutch! Great shot!!! Looks like we can almost tell the middle one is a male and the other two female? Your hospitality provides them a safe, entertaining home, Carlos. No wonder they don’t want to leave!!

    • Donna Simonson Says:

      Kim,
      I’m with you on identifying the male and the two females based on size and coloring of chest. They are so delightful in Carlos’s pics. Just can’t get enough of them!

      Owlways,
      “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA


  10. I’m enjoying the antics of this third clutch every night, but at the same time missing chatting and laughing with the gang. I’d love to know the link to the chat room some are chatting at while watching. Thanks!

    Carlos, thank you so much for allowing us to watch again. Wow, the color at night is amazing, and your photos stunning! These four owlets have been so much fun! Will they ever leave?! I wonder about that daily with my last two grown kids. LOL! Just kidding! I love them! ;)

    I also enjoyed your vacation stories, Carlos. Hubby and I, along with our then 3 year old daughter, visited Minter Gardens back in 1983. It was beautiful! We still need to go to Butchart Gardens though.

    I just want to mention that I have an Owl themed board at Pinterest dedicated to Molly and McGee where I pin all kinds of owl related things. It’s mainly for inspiration, but there’s always links to the items. I have added several Molly products to my board. It’s at http://www.pinterest.com/idebbie. I have a limited number of invites to the site if anyone is interested. Just let me know here. You don’t need an invite however to just view boards, only if you want to set up your own boards. I don’t blog, so this is my little place on the web. :)

    Debbie in SoCal

  11. Kim Gorman Says:

    That top photo is amazing, Carlos! I want a mousepad of that one to match the three on the kestral box from the first clutch! Great shot!!! Looks like we can almost tell the middle one is a male and the other two female? Your hospitality provides them a safe, entertaining home, Carlos. No wonder they don’t want to leave!!

  12. VSue Says:

    More wonderful lovely photos!
    Carlos, you are truly an OWLsome photographer!

    It is such fun watching them and hearing their squeaks and screeches too…music to my ears I say!

    Thanks again for turning the cameras back on

  13. mandozee Says:

    I’m just going to watch till they leave or Carlos turns the camera off or the world stops spinning, mandozee

  14. Bev-MIret. Says:

    I’ll be there tonight. I check in every evening. Love to see the flying and landings.

    I visited another classroom today and shared Molly’s story as well as the web site. Thanks again for broadcasting, Carlos. We’re like the owlets, we don’t want to leave!!

  15. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos we’re all just having so much fun right along with the owletes. I wonder what Molly and McGee must be thinking about this clutch?! You and Donna have provided such a safe harbor for this family. If I were an owlete . . . I’d hang around, too!!!
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA

  16. PegRod Says:

    Call for Duty – MODs unite and write!

    Please go to The White House (USA) website and find the form to nominate Carlos Royal for a Citizens Medal, (I just got an email with the announcement and the deadline May 30th!) the nation’s second-highest civilian honor. Carlos Royal may not win, but The White House will certainly learn more about his wonderful service and positive influence on the world.

    I posted this on the Molly the Owl Facebook page, but I want more people to see it. As United States Citizens, and citizens of the world, we have many opportunities.

    This is a way to say, “Thank You” – a well-deserved recognition!

    Think of how many lives have changed positively, and all his hard work and devotion.

  17. joly2u Says:

    Carlos, your captions are a hoot. Thanks so much, gorgeous pics.


  18. I forgot to mention my owl Pinterest board is called “Owl Always Love Owls”. My boards are alphabetical, so stroll to the “O” boards. I have 90 boards and didn’t want anyone to get lost. lol! ;P

    Also, what I meant by Molly Products is the ones from here, not my own. I’m not selling anything! :)

  19. GeniaKnitz Says:

    It’s OK with me if they stay until 5 minutes before Molly and McGee start planning Clutch 4… I’m in no hurry to see these adorable clown leave!


  20. How cute is that, a “rose between two thorns” photo of the two girls and the boy in the middle. Each clutch seems to have their own way of doing things, which makes it interesting.

    Thanks for sharing!

  21. SARose69 Says:

    Yet another fabulous photo! You are so right that they defy expectations every time! I’ll be watching again tonight!

  22. OUBobcat (barb) Says:

    Carlos: Not to be redundant but that first pic takes us right back to the first clutch. Just imagining Pattison there too. Max, Austin and Wesley are back again! Thanks for having such wonderful cameras and sending them out to us. There were four here this morning to my amazement. What a hoot! So glad to be a part of this.

  23. Diane Says:

    Thanks Peggy Roberts regarding nominating Carlos as Citizen of the year for the White House. I just logged on and nominated him! Thanks again Peggy.

    • PegRod Says:

      Diane – That is great! Now I know we have two nominations so far then.

      Last year Molly fans were successful in a Write-in Vote for the Common Barn Owl which won the Audubon California’s 2010 Bird of the Year!
      http://ca.audubon.org/newsroom/101214-barnowl.php

      We are a positive powerful group in this world and can help to make it a better place.

      • Roger Says:

        Our family also nominated Carlos and Donna this evening and hope everyone who has been a part of this amazing experience will do the same. Thanks, PegRod, for the link!

  24. Eleanor Dodge Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,

    I too have been watching this 3rd clutch and enjoying their antics very much. They are much more comical than the other clutches and so spoiled by M&M feeding them long after the time they should be hunting on their own. You have made such a wonderful home for them that they may never leave you. lol

    Thanks so much for broadcasting again and I sure hope you stick around for the 4th clutch when M&M can finally get back into the box. Also the pictures are awesome!

    So glad you are back with us and keeping us amused with our little owlets. Looking forward to more months of enjoyment. Just know you are appreciated and loved by all us MODZ.

  25. AnnSavage Says:

    I’ve missed the food drops, but clearly they are being WELL fed! The little chubbies! :)
    AnnSavage

  26. Kitty Carlyle Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,

    This is an amazing clutch. The only thing missing are your wonderful broadcasts every day. :-) We miss you!

    When I watch these owlets, I can see why they don’t want to leave. Molly & McGee are bringing so much food and such big treats, the owlets often can’t even eat them so they stash them inside the box, then come right back out and beg for more, even though they are stuffed to the gills. Hahaha!

    I noticed something, though. McGee deets, too. He will fly to the kestrel box and sit back there and call. He sometimes does this before he brings the treat but sometimes he brings the treat then will fly back to the kestrel box and start calling. His deet is slightly different than Molly’s or at least that’s the way it sounds to me.

    I know I have posted about this before so forgive me if this is a repeat. One night two of the owlets were out, one on the fledge ledge and one on the posing ledge, both sitting there hissing away when Molly flew overhead and let out a loud screech and flew away. Both owlets stopped hissing, looked at Molly, then looked at each other and stayed in that position, completely quiet for almost 5 minutes, just staring at each other. It was hilarious. I think Molly was telling them to knock it off. LOL!

    Hugs to all, Kitty

    • 1SkatrPie Says:

      They sound like they are getting hoarse to me!
      But defy any expectations we dare have of them, that’s for sure! Yes, Carlos, we do miss KOWL, songs, picnics, Perhaps THAT’s what they
      are waiting for? Their own anthem?

      • PegRod Says:

        Oh, yes, 1SkatrPie! We need a new Molly song from Barbara Allen – for Clutch Three! I am crossing my fingers and toes right now. And Kitty, thank you so much for your wonderful descriptions!

  27. Lori Says:

    Carlos, your pictures are as beautiful as ever. Thank you so much!

  28. Vee Miller (VeeTX) Says:

    Well, it’s 8:58 PM PDT and all four owlets are back at the owl box and playground, calling for food. This clutch has some very different screeches. Almost like a chortling! Never heard it before on owls. Interesting.

    Is this day 89? They just love you Carlos!

  29. Katy Says:

    After just now watching two owlets get a treat, I have to wonder if this is standard operating procedure, just not in our sight. This time they didn’t leave so M&M just are feeding them here instead of somewhere else? Just a thought!?

  30. VSue Says:

    Screech screech here we are to again teach
    You all that we do our own thing
    We will leave when we are ready
    And for you we sing
    Our screech screech song
    If you think we will leave right now you may be wrong
    For now we sing our Screech Screech song…

    9:42 pm Tuesday May 17, Full Moon..
    And here at the owlbox two owlets remain
    No clutch be the same!

  31. tracy Says:

    i follow molly’s twitter page and i had no idea they had a 3rd clutch. WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN???? last i heard, back in October… Carrie flew away and the owl cam shut down. someone please enlighten me

  32. VSue Says:

    10:00 pm and still they are
    Two owlets shining bright
    Like a star
    Each in their own right

    Such joy they bring
    as they sing
    Their screech screech song
    Watching them and their siblings
    Molly and McGee too
    There can be no wrong
    For such joy they bring
    To me and to you

    <3 to y'owl

  33. VSue Says:

    Looking into the owlbox we be
    We owls be free
    this we know
    But still here we are
    Have yet to stray too far
    So here we are for your show

    Screech screech we sing our song…
    Into the night so long
    Waiting for that rodentia treat
    Waiting we are with firmly planted feet
    Upon the owlbox where we like to meet

    Screech screech sing we
    Bringing such joy to the community
    For the sight of we;
    The Owlets of Molly and McGee

    :) LOL

    • PegRod Says:

      Keep them coming VSue! I am enjoying reading your creations and reports! Many thanks to you ((huggz))

  34. VSue Says:

    Oh my!
    The full moon in the sky
    Hidden by the clouds floating by
    Close to 11 pm it be
    there be owlets of now three
    A place at the owlbox we like to be

  35. VSue Says:

    11 pm now
    on the 17th of May
    Don’t ask me how
    they know right where to be
    Now there are four owlets to be!
    Back at the owlbox they be!
    What a lovely sight to see
    Such joy they do bring
    They make my heart sing

  36. PhilJustPhil Says:

    Is it possible that they are sticking around because of overcrowding/no vacancy at The Palmz? Or do they just REALLY, REALLY, REALLY like Carlos and Donna? (pardon my caps) 5/18 12:20pm and all 4 are still home.

    • PegRod Says:

      PhilJustPhil – maybe we need to give the owlets a computer so they can nominate Carlos Royal for The Presidential Citizens Medal! But hurry, because the deadline is May 30th!

      Like President Carter’s Habitat for Humanity, The Owl Box has inspired volunteers around the world to build one Owl Box at a time for homeless wild common barn owls (and of course we humans get many educational and free benefits!)
      http://www.whitehouse.gov/citizensmedal

  37. PhilJustPhil Says:

    correction: 12:20 am


  38. 12:50am here in SoCal and I’m watching all four of them just sitting there screeching and watching, hoping for more treats. Fun!! :)

  39. joly2u Says:

    The two youngest were wild around 4:20, for quite a while. Later I could hear rain, maybe it had started to sprinkle and they weren’t used to it.

  40. joly2u Says:

    I saw one drop his food this time, he was so excited, and didn’t see very many deliveries. Maybe I missed them.

  41. PegRod Says:

    Memory Lane

    May 18, 2010 – Come Out, Come Out
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/05/18/come-out-come-out/

    More fabulous photos of Clutch One!

  42. didinp Says:

    Obviously M&M knew you had the cameras off for this clutch and needed their “air time” HAHA

    Congrates to Eric for Molly The Owl national medal from Nautilus Book Awards !

  43. PegRod Says:

    Carlos Royal put a Flag Counter on this WordPress site, but all this happened midway during the Molly the Owl experience, so the statistics are not complete. Most people don’t see it. Here is the link.
    http://s01.flagcounter.com/more/RaSW

    Notice that viewers from over 91 countries have seen this site! But, also 93% are from the United States, and all 50 states and many US territories, followed by Canada, Japan, the UK, Australia, New Zealand and so on ….!

    Austin also put a Flag Counter on his Owl Box 1 page, again late in the Molly the Owl experience during Clutch Two.
    http://theowlbox1.com/Molly/OwlBox1.html

    Notice on Austin’s as well as the WordPress Flag Counter that new viewers are checking in all the time!
    http://s04.flagcounter.com/more/y7m

    The education, the enjoyment, and connecting the world, one viewer at a time!
    Vote Molly, Vote Carlos!

  44. kit Says:

    While watching them last night, I came up with a theory. Maybe Molly is keeping them home as long as possible so she doesn’t have to double clutch again! LOL! Molly has raised 10 owlets in 1 year, maybe the lady just needs a break! Anyhoo, Thanks for bringing us the owls, it’s been fun watching them sport around again!

  45. Chris in Olympia, WA (cbbrunner) Says:

    Carlos, This is the newest post I can view at the blog. I can’t find here the last one I got an email for: Owlets Have It Too Good At The Royal’s.

  46. VSue Says:

    Chris in Olympia, WA (cbbrunner) Says:

    May 18, 2011 at 11:19 am
    Carlos, This is the newest post I can view at the blog. I can’t find here the last one I got an email for: Owlets Have It Too Good At The Royal’s.

    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/blog/

    Here it is (I think)

  47. VSue Says:

    9 pm here and there be an owl in the owlbox and two outside screeching merrily…
    Oh how so very happy
    they do make me

  48. VSue Says:

    Now there are four!
    Four owls galore
    What wonderful sounds
    as they make their rounds
    From the owlbox to fledge ledge
    and around again they do fly
    Not to cry
    I do pledge
    When finally they fly away
    As to why they still stay
    I have no idea why
    But for each moment they stay
    I shall surely enjoy


Leave a Reply

