Owlet Lands On Lawn

May 11, 2011

Spotting The Landing

Pinpoint Landing

The Bookend Twins

I Got The Treat (click to Molly Feeding Her Young)

Look I Can Fly

I AM Coming Over, Watch Out!

Nice Landing Brother (Click for Molly & McGee Pillow)

Perfection This Time

Master Flying Obstacle Course

Ladder Owls (Did someone change our name)

Last night the owlets were once again very active outside the box. The highlight was when one of the owlets landed on the lawn just a short distance from where Austin and I were standing. We wanted to get a picture but in our excitement we startled the owl and missed the shot, this is my third close encounter and I have yet to be fast enough or slow enough to get a photo. I can tell you though, it was exciting.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

37 Responses to “Owlet Lands On Lawn”

  1. Bill Pritchett Says:

    Next time have Austin hold out a mouse!

  2. Bill Pritchett Says:

    Is the rabbit still around?

  3. SARose69 Says:

    Terrific new photos!! Those owlets are having a blast in the Royal Playground!

  4. mandozee Says:

    Carlos, Donna and Austin

    Oh well better luck next time as they say. You sure got some great shots.

    If you don’t want to do a third clutch book, how about a cd or dvd with the great pictures and footage. I love the one where they all showed up for breakfast, and I watched the sun come up, that was different. You could start with some footage of the sun setting, and the owlets coming in. Then all the great pictures then the footage of breakfast and the sun rising. or just a picture cd.

    Just my two cents. Mandozee

  5. Barb Says:

    As I was watching this morning, Molly brought a treat and everyone (3) wanted it. Then a bit later Mc Gee brought a treat and the littlest female ran with inside the box and had her own little private snack…… as the others were off on their own hunting trip. She just about missed the bus though because it was getting light out when she finish it and came back out, I think she thought twice about heading to the palm.
    Maginificent pictures as always. Austin your going to be a great leader for taking your friends under your wings and teaching them what
    Grandpa has taught you, your an awesome young man.

  6. YTQ Says:

    Carlos, you photography is stunning! The owlets look so healthy and seem to co-operate while you are in the yard. How thrilling for you and Austin! Of all the owl boxes, this is, was, and will be, my first love. Thanks for introducing us all to their world!

  7. Linda D. Greene Says:

    It’s too bad that they have to grow up..their antics are keeping us well entertained lately.
    Great pics Carlos!!! ldgreene123

  8. Lori Higgons Says:

    LOVE these new pics!!!! AWESOME!!!!

  9. Donna Koski Says:

    The pictures are great as well as the comments. They will be missed like the others when they leave, but I wish they had names this time. I miss identifying them and their personalities.
    But watching them is still fun, they are adorable.

    Donna Bingodabber

  10. cathair Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna,and Austin,
    Thanks so much for all you’ve done for we the people and them the owls! I’ve been getting over a serious car accident. All the joy and knowledge I received from Molly, McGee and the kids made the pain ‘fly by!”
    I live in a large disabled/senior housing project and I am going to show the DVD soon. You and Molly will soon get a whole new clutch of fans!
    Thanks again.
    Cathair

    • Sherry Kelly Says:

      Wishes for you a great recovery, from a fellow MOD! I am sure everyone will enjoy watching the DVD.

  11. Janice aka dg1018 Says:

    Great Pictures! As they say “Better luck next time” with the close up. It is amazing that they are staying so long around the owl box. Great opportunity for Austin to get some really great footage. Hope all goes well with his next project.

  12. Roy A Steacy Sr. Says:

    Very nice as we have come to expect:) While NOT the Birdman of Alcatraz……you certainly ARE the Owlman of San Marcos.

  13. Beverly Kerst Says:

    They are just so darn cute, I love all the fantastic pictures you get. I thought the 1st clutch had to be the best, most beautiful, but all three are…I hope we get barn owls in our box too. The more the merrier, they are my fav
    owl. I love Molly and McGee. Bev

  14. Judy L. (Oregon Birder) Says:

    Love the latest pictures! These owlets are such a “hoot” to watch! Thanks for sharing.

  15. MoonDrops Says:

    Oh, these photos are so fantabulous! They say much more than a thousand words. Carlos, you DO know how to capture the moment! How exciting for one to land so close to you both. Truly hope you get another opportunity to get that close up. Can hardly wait for Austin’s next project…know already it will be super cool!
    Of all the owl boxes, there is no place like “home”.
    MoonDrops

  16. Debbie Says:

    Carlos, Love the pictures. It’s so good to be able to see Molly and McGee with their cute and funny owlets. To Cute for words..

  17. Judy Sackson Says:

    The owlets and their antics are so much fun! This clutch seems to be more active–but memory is not always accurate.
    Thank you so much for sharing your stories and your photos with us. They are absolutely fab!

  18. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos,
    Thank you for sharing the marvelous photographs – what lively owls! They must be so much fun to watch in your yard! Perhaps you’ll get another nearby landing soon when your camera is handy. You bring joy to so many with your pictures and stories – what a blessing!
    Love to all of you, Holly Sue

  19. Bonnibell Says:

    I can imagine what a thrill that was to have an owlet so close. Enjoy. Bonnibell

  20. A FAN OF M&M Says:

    You are so lucky to get a non camera glimpse of the owls. I have them (Barn Owls) all over my yard, I hear them take off in the trees and squeal, and I have seen one in the late at night in the road taking off with a rat, but I have yet to actually see my neighbor owls. You give me hope. Unfortunately I do see road kill, but the is nature and man clashing and an barn owls is no match to a Mac Truck. Thanks for everything Carlos. Love the photos!

  21. OUBobcat (barb) Says:

    Molly and McGee seem to be much less in a hurry training this bunch. Although this bunch seems to mimic the first, the boy may be the baby of the group but his three sisters do give him challenges. Saw Molly in the early morning yesterday fly to the box and check it out. So we shall see what happens next. So glad you have been able to capture them. And again thanks for ustreaming them for us. Hope you get that closeup on the ground picture.

  22. Theresa Says:

    I love these pictures. You and donna are so lucky to have this in your yard. I think there must be alot of love and trust with these birds to feel so comfortable around you. They bless you with photo shots! Their way of thanking you.

    Theresa aka windbeneathwing

  23. Kim Gorman Says:

    GREAT pictures as always, Carlos! So cool to know Austin is still enjoying the owlets, too!!

  24. Barb Polo Says:

    Although we haven’t watched them from birth, I have to say that there is something so special about the Royal owls; they draw you right into their lives and antics. It has been such a great pleasure to watch them interact with each other and Molly and McGee. If you read the chat on SPO you will see that everyone who has come back from the other sites are in total agreement that this is the “IT” in owl boxes. I want to thank you for all your wonderful pictures and giving us the gift of your backyard both day and night. I hope you and Donna will enjoy your next trip and let us know how you are doing. Congratulations on the book being chosen as a finalist in the contest.

    Austin: great article in the papaer, just watch your money because there are not so nice people out there; also good luck to you and your friends with your new venture. Love ya all to bits, Barb

  25. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos and Austin,
    A close encounter just must be about the most exciting thing I can think of outside the owlbox! Wow I’m so envious and yet happy for you both as you both have earned that experience 20,000,000 times over! My heart sings everytime I see an email alert from the blog and then the pictures owlways bring about a symphony of heartstrings!And yet here’s another, “thank you, Carlos, Donna and Austin”.
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    OwlLuver, Murrieta, CA

  26. donna Says:

    Carlos, these pictures are the best, beautiful! What an experience having these beautiful birds in your backyard, awesome! Thank you all so much for sharing Molly & McGee’s owlets with us, it has been such a joy. I hope it doesn’t end for a long time. This clutch has been so much fun and interesting to watch, it seems like they don’t want to leave, thats okay with us! Thanks again & Take Care

  27. Jo-Ann Says:

    Yep!!! Great pictures
    .. As always!! thank you again and again for all You, Donna and Austin have done for us..

  28. BJ Says:

    Really hoping you get the close up shot when the owls are near….they have become so playful and happy in the Royal Garden…who wouldn’t be?
    We get so excited when we have a fly by in our yard….I can only imagine how spectacular your evenings are with all these owls flying around. You deserve this! Such good stewards of your beautiful home.

  29. Deb Says:

    Spectacular pictures. Your photos are absolutely amazing!! Also, the captions are brilliant. I was up yesterday morning around 6:30 on the east coast and I saw camera flashes and knew you were taking pictures. I know you aren’t doing a ‘Third Clutch’ photo book but these photos deserve to be displayed. Maybe a framed print, tile, etc. possibly??

    I have enjoyed these guys so so much. You have no idea. They help me to get ready for work in the mornings.

    Always look forward to hearing from you. I get so excited when I see I have an email from Molly’s Box.

    Congrats on the Molly Book award recognition.

    Take care.

    Deb in OH

  30. Liz Says:

    No owls can compare to the Royal owls or the Royal family! Thanks again for all the pleasure you bring.

    Liz
    NC

  31. Cynthia Fitzgearld Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,i love watching the owls in the morning.makes me feel good watching.I love your site if you had chat on would be lots there,your site only site that is pleasent to watch,Iv checked out others.I will always love Yours. Im guessing its because the very first..Dont get me wrong love watching others,but molly my favorite,always will be.miss all,tell Donna i said hi,,,love ya Cynthia xoxo

  32. Cynthia Fitzgearld Says:

    Dear Carlos,its me again i forgot to mention, your site was always very FUN to watch miss so much the chat,,,love yas Cynthia

  33. kit Says:

    I will never get tired of seeing pictures of the owls or hearing stories about them. Thanks, Carlos!

  34. Sherry Kelly Says:

    Once again, thank you!!!

  35. francie bowers Says:

    Thanks for the beautiful pics Carlos, they sure are having a Royal time! so lucky you saw one on the lawn, we are all envious!


Leave a Reply

