Austin’s Story is Now Online

May 9, 2011

Owlet Landing

The Last Owlet Waiting Alone (Home-Owl-Lone)

Is it really that far up there? I'm on a 12' ladder.

Yes, I look like my mother Molly

Austin’s Story is now online at The San Diego Union Tribune Escondido teen feathers his nest with owl movie.”

Even though all the owlets are coming back nightly, we basically have only one lone owlet that has not fully fledged yet. Home-Owl-Lone.

Also, Carolyn in Ontario Canada wanted to know the names of these owlets. We did not name them. With this clutch it was your choice to call them anything you liked plus at this stage it is really hard to tell them apart, especially since we didn’t watch them grow up. Remember, we were on vacation.  It is my understanding that one person did named three of them Pip, Pep and Pop so if you follow that convention the fourth one would be named either Pup or Pap. Like I said, your choice or as someone else suggested “Poop.”  Have fun, life is too short to be dead serious.

If you named the four owlets of the third clutch, then let us know what you named them by replying to this blog. It would be interesting to know.

It was cool and windy here today.

All the best,

Carlos, Donna and Austin

65 Responses to “Austin’s Story is Now Online”

  1. Kasey Says:

    Since they are “Royals” I was thinking of them as William, Kate, Harry and Pippa in honor of the Royal Bridal Party. Thanks again Carlos for giving us another look at Molly, McGee and their family


  2. Absolutely LOVE that arched position of the owl looking up from the ladder! Priceless photo!

  3. Regina Llop Says:

    I thought Meg, Mary, Monty and Mack would be fun names…though I don’t know which names would belong to whom! lol/1

  4. Maxine Says:

    Hello Carlos.

    I enjoy the photographs; they are very nice. Was there a small earthquake in San Marcos this morning?

    maxi23

    • carlosroyal Says:

      San Marcos is a rocking and rolling place so if there was an earthquake this morning I did not notice it. More than likely just the wind blowing the camera. It was windy here today and the camera is mounted on a high pole that moves in the breeze.

    • PegRod Says:

      As far as earthquakes go, Southern California has a constant “rocking and rolling” and shifting and growing – one gets used to the little motions and creaking and cracking you hear. There are many earthquake “fault” lines in Southern California. Part of CA is located on the side of some faults (i.e. San Andreas Fault)where the shifting Pacific Tectonic Plate meets the more stable North American Plate. You can look at constant updates on the USGS website for California or where ever you live in the world – and also learn much more! It is a free educational site to visit and explore – don’t be afraid to click and click again on images you see to get a closer view.
      http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/

  5. Lynn Dumont Says:

    I couldn’t help ot – Eenie, Meenie, Miney & Mo

  6. marie Says:

    Ringo, George, John, and Paul Royal.

  7. Moniq50 Says:

    I would name them after our little owlets that went to owlet heaven… Love the pictures Carlos.. and congratulatins Austin!! Hugz

  8. Gail Rinard Says:

    Carlos.. you have to be a very proud Grandfather..
    Austin is a fast learner and has done a great job with his DVD
    Austin: fantastic job.. I love all that you do and support you in every way I can.. I really look forward to your next “movie”..

    GREAT JOB YOU TWO…
    gail

  9. finnwv Says:

    I just call them Molly’s Four! Love those sweet faces! Love your photos! Thanks for all the fun and laughs! Congratulations to Austin! Great job! What a way to start your career! hOOt! Hearts and hugs to all!

  10. Bonnibell Says:

    No names here. I, too, love the photo of the owl looking up at the big sky…you can put so many captions to that…it says so much. That sky must look pretty big!! Congrats to Austin. Bonnibell

  11. sdsurfchick Says:

    I’m so happy for and proud of Austin. Love and best wishes to the three of you, and to everyone who still visits here.

  12. Dee Says:

    Congratulations to Austin. With a mentor like Carlos, he jsut couldn’t lose. It will be interesting to see what the future holds.

  13. Cindy Says:

    Very nice article about Austin.

    You did good Austin. You are a wonderful grandfather Carlos and of course Donna is the best as well. A blessed family.

    ~Anewday

  14. CAequuslvr Says:

    Austin, what a wonderful article and great picture of you. So glad that the DVD was such a success. Having your grandfather, Carlos, for a mentor is a real blessing. Can’t wait the next DVD of the owls’ nighttime activities.

  15. Kitty Carlyle Says:

    Horray for Austin! Great article. It should make you all proud, Austin particularly.

    I watch this clutch every night and take screen shots like mad. Some of the antics going on outside are hysterical and I am sure the household wakes up at my laughter.

    Thank you, Carlos, Donna and Austin for broadcasting the owlets and Molly & McGee for us to see, even though you aren’t there to tell us the details or actual names of the owlets.

    This clutch is hilarious and Molly & McGee are bringing in way, WAY too many treats. No wonder they don’t want to leave. Last night McGee arrived with a gopher or rat and just stood there because he was greeted by the owlets, all standing on the porch holding their very owl treats. They finally left, leaving poor McGee standing there with the treat. He looked around for a minute or two, not knowing what to do and finally flew off with the treat. Hee hee hee.

    McGee has been going back on the kestrel box and chirping up a storm at the owlets but they just stare at him. And night before last, the owlets were out front hissing and facing each other when Molly flew overhead and let out a massive screech. The owlets looked at Molly, then looked at each other, stopped hissing and just stood there staring at each other as if to say “what was that all about” in complete silence for around 3 or 4 minutes. What a hoot! LOL

    Thank you SO MUCH!

    Best to all, Kitty

    • PegRod Says:

      Kitty – it is such a pleasure to read your description of The Owl Box action, since I am unable to watch at night. Thank you so much!

  16. MoonDrops Says:

    Congrats, Austin! First step toward a rewarding career in film making. Can’t wait to say, “I remember when…” and I remember a lot…lol!! Has anyone seen Austin’s pic on FB flipping his dad? One more side of Austin we need to learn more of!
    The owlets…I call them…Deet,Deet,Deet, Gee, that was fun, No sound, Carlos and Wow!
    Once again…fantabulous photos!!
    Keep up the fantastic work, both of you!!
    MoonDrops

  17. Joan from Colorado Says:

    I only named two of them because they were the only ones that I was sure what sex they were and their names….. Carlos and Donna.. Joan from Colorado

  18. Joyce Hebert Says:

    am really enjoying the late nite comics in your back yard…read article on austin and he has accomplished a lot in his young life…has a super life ahead of him…wishing him all the best in his life…owls…me you him her

  19. Liela M. Maielua Says:

    Thanks for the pics and yes the lone owl does look much like Molly. I also read the article on Austin and was amazed at how well he has done, thanks to the push from Grandpa. You have a wonderful grandson but you already know that for sure.

  20. Napaelle Says:

    Hi,
    I just want to say thank you to you Carlos, I have enjoyed tuning in so much to your blog (vacation blog included), seeing all the owl photos (vacation photos too), experiencing the 3rd clutch and viewing videos you have captured….. I feel so lucky to have been with you since clutch one egg 4….have the mementos and memories to cherish.
    Sincerely,
    Ellie from Napa

  21. SARose69 Says:

    I’ve enjoyed the names others came up with. Poor little Home-owl-lone!


  22. This clutch is hilarious to watch, especially in the wee hours of the morning around 1:15 AM.
    They are like a real comedy team and that is why I have been referring to them as Moe, Larry, curly and Shemp from one of my all time comedy shows as a kid……well, even as a big kid, the Three Stooges. The owlets crack me up!
    Congrat goes out to Austin for his story making to the The San Diego Union Tribune. Great job Austin! You must be smiling from ear to ear Carlos!

    Sending love from Colorado,
    CastOwlRockCoL

  23. Laurie Bishop Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,

    I “named” two. One I thought looked exactly like Molly. I called “her” Mini-Molly. Another (the youngest?) looked just like McGee, so I called “him” Mini-Leggs.

    Cheers,
    Laurie

  24. Laurie Bishop Says:

    PS–I just realized that “Home Alone” is my Mini-Molly. Sure hope she graduates soon!

  25. GeniaKnitz Says:

    The fabulous four have been so funny the last couple of nights. One owlet came flying in with a small rodent I think she caught herself – she was strutting around with it. Later she still had it, and kept throwing it and pouncing on it, and throwing and pouncing. You could practically hear her shouting, hey mom, look at me!

  26. Carol Watt Says:

    Carlos thanks again for fantastic pictures. The artical of Austin and his DVD was great. He sure has a great grandpa and we all know that behind every great man – Carlos is a greater worman – Donna. What a team.

  27. Kim Gorman Says:

    Awesome article about Austin!! He’ll be able to parlay that article into job interviews and college applications for a long time, I’d think!! I love that Grandpa Carlos helped him every step of the way.. the experienced and wise owl teaching the young owlet.

    Kim

  28. Karen Says:

    Perhaps it would be a nice tribute to name these owlets after the first four Moderators to the original “chat”.

  29. joly2u Says:

    I call them M1, M2, etc., oldest to youngest. That distinguishes them as the 3rd clutch. I congratulate Austin, and even more you, Carlos, for being such a wonderful mentor and example. I’m inspired too, and the world can use some inspiration right now. I love this clutch. Maybe it’s the cams, but they seem so amazing. I don’t know why I don’t have sound any more, others apparently do. I have sound from other sites. Thanks, Carlos, this has been just wonderful, and makes up for the lost time.

  30. joly2u Says:

    I really think a 3rd clutch book is in order, the pics are fab and they are so entertaining.

  31. Deb Says:

    Excellent photos as usual! Your pictures are the best. I especially like the wing spans. You can see all the details of the wing. Also the owlet that is standing on the ladder looking up. It melts my heart.

    Congratulations to Austin on the article. That is awesome!!

    Love reading your blogs and seeing your photos. I’ll be watching and every once in a while see a flash here and there.

    Wonderful clouds last night during sunset and then after dark when the owlets came around. The background of the owl box was spectacular!!!

    I just call them owlet 1, 2, 3 and 4. Can’t come up with unique names for them yet. Love reading what others have named them though.

    Deb in OH

    • Jes63 Says:

      Deb in Ohio pretty much said what I was going to say.
      I just numbered them too.
      Love the clouds rolling in on that new cam.
      We have all raved about that new cam and the view of incomings at nite. Just amazing.
      Keep up the good work!
      Hope Molly lays another clutch soon. The other boxes just aren’t the same as Mollys for some reason.

  32. Linda D. Greene Says:

    Congrats to Austin!! Carlos, I’m loving this third clutch!! They are so unique, esp. being able to observe the different personalities from other owlets now. I haven’t named them, but they sure are fun to watch. Thanks again for letting us see them. ldgreene123

  33. donna Says:

    Congrats to you Austin!! I’m on vacation but have my laptop on to watch the fun at night. Love the camera set up Carlos, these owlets are so funny. Once again thank you all for all you do, you bring happiness into our lives. Take Care, from the coast of Maine

  34. Tammie Franklin Says:

    Carlos, I was hoping that you and Donna named them. I’ve been waiting for you to announce their names. It is Tradition for you to name them. None the less, I was pleased to hear that we had 4 healthy owlets and they are as beautiful as Molly and McGhee. I am waiting for the third clutch book announcement and movie… ( I am hopeful. )
    Thank you, Tammie – Sunshine41

  35. jacque green Says:

    Congrats Austin! Keep up the good work so pround of you. thanks Carlos and Donna for sharing the third clutch. I just call them Baby Owlet , there so hilarious and their personalities are so funny . Thanks again jqroo

  36. YTQ Says:

    Acey, Duecy, Tresy, Quatro were my owl names.

  37. bluemoon48 Says:

    Eenie, meanie, miney, mo.

  38. mandozee Says:

    i’ll miss then when they are gone, But there will be more soon. the circle of life. mandozee

  39. Linda Says:

    What a wonderful article! Congratulations to Austin, Carlos, Donna, Molly and McGee for guiding this young man into a self-sufficient, out-going and just downright nice adult! Here’s hoping continued success for Austin and another healthy clutch for M & M. Thanks for everything!! The Owl Box will forever be first in my heart!

  40. Jane - Russellville TN Says:

    What a wonderful article about Austin. He gives me hope for the next generation. Sure hope he makes another DVD.

    The last 2 nights I saw an owl go into the box right at dusk. The first night I thought it was Molly. After one of the owlets chased it away both nights, I decided it isn’t Molly. Any one know for sure?

    I love watching the owlets dark around the yard. This view is so wonderful. This experience just keeps getting better. Thank you so much Carlos and Donna. I do miss the updates and seeing your smiling face, but I look forward to the blog.
    Jane or Jodylover. Still miss her.

  41. PegRod Says:

    I am so happy that the excellent article about grandson Austin (the one who connected The Owl Box to Ustream) is posted online now for all to read! Thank you for posting the link here.

    I love that Carlos has invited the imaginations of all to share or create the names for the “Series of Four” owlets of the Third Clutch of Molly & McGee. What great ideas people have shared in their comments!

    “Gee this is fun, and we are a part of it!”

  42. sue Says:

    how about eenie, meenie, miney and moe! but i like the royal family name posted also. i wonder how many more clutches they might have!

  43. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna and Austin,
    What a wonderful article about Austin! You must all be so proud of his accomplishments and ambitions for the future. Now college choice is ahead and I’m sure he’ll find a way to combine all of his interests in both art and business. How lucky to have such an amazing teacher in the family as a grandfather! The owlet name suggestions are a stitch – I’m just happy they are all healthy and flying! Once again, the photos are amazing and thank you so much for sharing the precious owls with us – when I’m here I feel like I’m home again!
    Love to all of you, Holly Sue

  44. Tresbien Says:

    When I took this screencap of the last three in the box, they had such different poses and expressions that I named them Sleepy, Smiles and Curious!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/30690443@N06/5707815956/in/photostream

    • Tresbien Says:

      Just read the article about Austin and am smiling while thinking of all he accomplished both with the DVD and picnic. Great work Austin!

  45. Chris in Olympia, WA (cbbrunner) Says:

    The free enterprise system at work. People wanted the DVD and Austin provided it! Don’t know why folks complain about this sort of thing. All the best to Austin. No matter what he does, this experience will have taught him many useful lessons and skills.

  46. Carolyn Dancey Says:

    Hi Carlos,

    First let me apologize. I thought it was you that named them Pip, Pep and Pop.That’s why I kept asking you for the fourth name. It must have been one of the Molly fans. Sorry about that.
    Anyway I like that you asked Molly fans to suggest their own names for the owlets.
    Since we can’t identify one from the other, I agree with the three people suggested Eenie, Meenie, Miney,and Moe.

  47. Laurie Finkle Says:

    I named them after the fab four also – John, Paul, George and Ringo – but I like the Royal names of Wills, Kate, Harry & Pippa very much!! Carlos & Donna, I have SO enjoyed watching the third clutch at night and thank you so much for having them on for us again. What I love the most is the sound of their squawking back & forth to each other . . . those screeches, and the clicking of Molly & McGee in the distance are so soothing to me & reminiscent of watching the other two clutches last year. It’s been a joy to experience it again and I keep it on as background sound even if I’m watching t.v. or doing something else. Ten beautiful babies that Molly & Leggs have brought up so far . . . how wonderful!! A million thanks for sharing them with us!!


  48. WELL, seems it should be PIP
    PEP
    POP
    and

    DUD
    So glad they are all doing well tho, and is the RV just going to collect dust now? Whens the next trip?

  49. kit Says:

    Congrats to Austin!

  50. joly2u Says:

    Names: how about Pooh, Tigger, Eyeore and Owl?

  51. Katy Says:

    Did anyone else see “Wesley #3” chase off another owl this morning May 11?
    The other owl seemed almost confused before flying off!
    Catbird 22

  52. Doris Caco Says:

    I absolutely love having your cam up all day even without the eaglets. The bird sounds are wonderful and add so much delight to my day hearing them sing. It brings the outdoors into my house. My hubby even asked where are those bird sounds coming from in that room. I said all the way from California. You could leave it up all year long as far as I an concerned….Doris

    • PegRod Says:

      Doris – thank you for sharing – I love that you pointed out the beautiful music of the bird songs and sounds from the Royal Gardens in San Marcos, California – sweet and soothing, with an occasional bark from the dogs next door and a few helicopters and jets flying above! In the early morning, as the world around awakes, you can hear the roosters, some coyotes, the doves, crows and mockingbirds and many other beautiful sparrows, songbirds and hawks.


  53. PegRod, Doris, and all – I agree. The background sounds of nature on this Royal box site are fabulous. I leave it on sometimes too, just for the soothing effect.

  54. Kathy in N.H. Says:

    Hi Carlos & Donna,
    It’s been an absolutely wonderful & uplifting experience to be a part of your back yard project of watching nature unfold beautiful owlets of Molly & McGee. I had written a Thank You before but I want to Thank You again for sharing so unselfishly your time & efforts in making this a great experience not only to us in the USA, but to everyone around the world! You are two very special people. And a Thanks & Congratulations to Austin! He’s a very talented young man. I’m sure you’re very proud of him.

    I’ve been watching almost every day since I saw Max breaking out of her shell. So I feel, like all the other MOD’S, a closeness to all the owlets and I would like to give my suggestions for the 3rd Clutch contest names. Carly, Donna, Royal & Owlie.

    This group really seems more active and they do love your beautiful back yard! All of Molly & McGee’s owlets seem to have their own personalities but this youngest one seems like another Wesley – flying to a beat of a different drummer. It seems to have all the qualities of all it’s brothers & sisters now & before. If and when you do decide on any names could you let us know?! I would love to hear them!

    Gee this was fun – and I was a part of it!:)
    You can’t imagine how much you have lifted alot of people’s spirits!! Kathy


Leave a Reply

