Stormy Weather

April 6, 2011

Leaky Seal

Flowering Cherry with Telephone Pole

Flowering Cherry With Telephone Pole

Hundreds of trees like this are in bloom

Instant Road of Ice- No Tomorrow

We spent most of the day just catching up on little things like email, reading all the comments on the blog, a new watchband for my Timex and a supply of graham crackers while waiting for the repairs to be completed. Just so you don’t think all these things happened since we left home, we had made the service appointment before we left San Marcos for most of the items. We were driving into Eugene for lunch when we received a call from Country Coach letting us know that all was going well and they planned to have everything completed by quitting time. That was good news; nothing was a problem they could not handle. We celebrated with a Red Robin guacamole burger with bacon and a coke. Love that bacon; there goes the diet.

I tried to get a picture of one of the cherry trees that are in full bloom and just beautiful. I have never seen anything like them but the sun was just not in the right spot and when it was there was a telephone pole in the way to spoil the shot. Tomorrow will be another day to try again, if it does not rain. Before I knew it, it was time to pick up the motor home, which we did just time to watch the women’s basketball championships by satellite. In case you did not watch, Texas A&M won for the first time in history.

We love motor homing; our motor home is so much more comfortable than the hotel room at the RV park. Our motor home is really is just like being home, big screen TV, snacks and all. While watching the game, I plotted tomorrows trip into Washington. One of the main reasons for this trip is to see the daffodils. We have seen some daffodils here in Oregon but hope to see many more in Washington. Timing should be perfect since they have the 78th Annual Daffodil Festival and Parade this weekend in Tacoma and Puyallup. We are not planning on sticking around for the parade but hope to see the flowers.

We got off to a late start today because Country Coach wanted us to stop by before leaving as they wanted to give us some last minute instructions plus they needed to add some boiler coolant which they did not have when we picked up the coach. The people at Country Coach were really nice and treated us very well.

It was just before 11 AM when we finally got back on the road. I looked to the north and dark ominous clouds consumed the horizon, but not to worry, I had new windshield wiper blades. It wasn’t long before I got to try them out in a torrential downpour; they worked perfectly, like Moses parting the Red Sea. Okay, we also got to see if the coach leaked. About thirty years ago, our first motor home leaked like a sieve; we took it on a trip to Virginia and it was like sleeping in the rain, but not this one, we were warm, dry and comfy as down the road we traveled.

It wasn’t long until the dark and ominous was replaced with white and puffy as the bright sun played peek-a-boo with the clouds that cast various shaped shadows across the green fields. The tall trees with newly sprouting leaves reflected the rays with translucent colors of light bark browns and yellows mixed with touches of iridescent rust and pink. Colors in nature are not pure but blends of light. The trees were almost ghost like in sight with skeletal spines and see through shapes. I think the trees were hypnotizing us because we did not see the change in the sky as they cast their spell. One moment beautiful scenery, the next moment we were being pelted with hail coming down so hard and fast I feared the body paint of the motor home would be stripped away.

I began to slow immediately without touching the brakes while others flew around us like there was no tomorrow. That no tomorrow arrived quickly as three cars lost control and went off the road with one flipping a couple of times. Almost instantly red lights were flashing and sirens sounded arriving from both directions because cars on both sides of the freeway had lost control on the instant roads of ice. Then as quickly as it had appeared it was gone and the sun was once more dancing with the clouds casting shadows of various shapes across the lush green fields and rolling hills. 

Another interesting shocker was to see a gigantic blue cargo ship to my left, at least forty to fifty feet tall, cruising right along beside me. I had to look twice to make sure it was in the river. Just another day of RVing with the Royals.

Photo of the Road of Ice was taken by Donna.

95 Responses to “Stormy Weather”

  1. Chris in Olympia, WA (cbbrunner) Says:

    Hey, you could stop and see me in Olympia! LOL
    Enjoy the daffodil festival. With the weather we have had, I don’t know how good it will be this year.


  2. Rock on, Carlos & Donna! I’m loving this vicarious vacation!

  3. Joan from Colorado Says:

    always happy to hear from you.. I think that I am content to hear about all these trials and tribulations rather than being there . it’s fun to hear about them though.. please continue to keep in touch.and be safe.

  4. Sherry Kelly Says:

    So thankful that you and Donna stayed safe in the storm! Glad to know that Donna took the icy road photo and that you kept your eyes on the highway!

    Love reading all about your journey, but I may need to stop reading this at bedtime because the food-talk always makes me hungry!

    Goodnight from Oklahoma

  5. Lynne Townsend Says:

    Hello to you both–
    Love the pictures today—the cherry trees are lovely!! Will be awaiting the daffodils! Do be safe–I know each day is great and I am so happy you are finally on this journey. Will be anxious for your next post–feel like I’m traveling with you.

    Lynne(LynneMcKay)

  6. Theresa Says:

    I don’t know about everyone else, but I am loving the road trip! I feel like I am right there with them…thanks for taking me along! Can’t wait to see the daffodils!

    Theresa aka windbeneathwing

  7. Nancy Says:

    Love hearing from you both. The pictures of the cherry blossoms are beautiful. I hope you both will be safe. Have a good evening and hope to hear from you soon. Enjoy all of the pictures and stories. Nancy from Utah.

  8. Lynne Says:

    Beautiful pictures as always Carlos and Donna. When you get to Wa be sure and stop at Mt. St Helens. Beautiful place to take wonderful pictures. As you pass through on I-5 to Tacoma wave I’m just off the freeway. Hopefully this weekend we’ll have some of that sunshine for the daffodil parade. Stay safe as you continue your travels north. Lynne (bluebirdie)

  9. Jo-Ann Says:

    Your writing and description of the scenery all around you is so amazingly wonderful… I could just visualize everything you were saying/writing.. Just like when I was a kid and listened to the Lone Ranger and Tonto on the radio my imagination saw everything… Your update did the very same thing for me.. thank you!

  10. Carlynne Says:

    You are going to Washington to see Daffodils when you could have gone to our own Julian, CA (in the mountains east of San Marcos and east of San Diego) for their annual Daffodil festival? The people in Julian have been working so hard to plant them all over the community. It all started when a lady found out that she could get a quantity discount…and if you buy enough, they send free ones. They plant more and more of them every year. Daffodils naturalize so every year as others rebloom and the new ones get settled into their new homes in Julian soil…

    Well, anyway, next year plan to go to Julian for Daffodils, but leave the motorhome home since it is a day trip from San Marcos.

    • carlosroyal Says:

      We have been to julian and seen the daffodils. We love them and at one time we had over 3,000 daffodils planted next to our fence in San Marcos.

  11. Carolyn B. Tyler Says:

    Thanks so much for taking us on this trip with you. Please keep it up.

  12. Katy Says:

    How funny that when I read the blog about you leaving the RV to be worked on, all I could think about was “be careful and travel safe, Carlos and Donna”
    Thank goodness you did!!!! Weather this time of year is fickle!!!
    Love your posts and thanks.
    Catbird22 from Iowa. We are loving our Eagles!!!

    • Nancy Says:

      Katy I am loving your eagles in Iowa. Very nice!!!

      • Katy Says:

        Nancy,
        Aren’t they just wonderful? The third egg hatched at 5:30 today. I missed it!! Such wonderful parents!! Taking turns, nature just KNOWS!!

      • 1SkatrPie Says:

        Katy, I used to be a wildlife photographer and Artist-in-Schools back in the ’80’s, always loved NE Iowa, goat prairies, River, Indian Mounds, and just
        everything! Making me homesick even though I am in NW corner of WA state waiting to see the Royals drive by on I-5 and best friend still in Muscatine!

    • Katy Says:

      1skatrpie,
      we live in central Iowa and LOVE how beautiful the northeast corner of Iowa is!! Decorah is another beautiful area that just takes your breath away. I just laughed with one of the eagles brought a huge stick/branch today, to add to the nest as if to say “LOOK!! It was on sale! I bet it will look just fabulous right over here by the camera..oops, I keep bumping it…oops sorry, just duck your head!”
      THe other eagle flew away and the “bargain hunter” kept playing with it, bumping it, biting it till it just “fit in” with the other ‘furniture”!!

  13. Vee Miller (VeeTX) Says:

    Whew! I’m so glad you added that Donna took the photo of the ice on the road and it wasn’t you trying to handle that big rig and take photos too!

    I’m really enjoying your vacation! Stay safe and keep the rubber on the road!

  14. Marie Says:

    Wow! What a trip you are having. Just want you to know I am enjoying it, too. Keep up the great journaling!

  15. Caboval Says:

    Wow! Amazing adventure you guys!!! Keep the stories coming!!! I love to “ride” along with you!!!!
    Miss you!!! Caboval

  16. Linda Smith Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna :)

    I am so enjoying reading all of the blogs. I truly feel like I am riding right along on the road with you both! I can just picture the entire trip as you write about it. The pictures are just beautiful. Continue on your journey and have a safe trip!!
    Linda Smith
    Lubbock,Texas

  17. Martha (calliopekid) Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,
    It sounds like youall have had quite an adventure so far. But as usual youall don’t let those unexpected things take away your joy. Question:
    was anyone hurt in the accidents?
    I didn’t know youall were going to Washington State. My brother and his wife are spending the summer at Chief Joseph Dam in Bridgeport, Wash. (I think). They are going to be the rv hosts for the summer months. I not sure exactly what that means but if youall are going near there I’ll give you their names and location.
    May God continue to bless you and keep you safe.
    Martha (calliopekid)

  18. Colleen Ireland Says:

    Carlos I am happy to see you and Donna are well on your way to your much needed RV trip. If you are headed for Victoria, British Columbia, the cherry blossoms are well in bloom there also, I think the daffodils are finished now, but tulips and other various flowers are in full bloom also. I am glad to hear that you are enjoying your vacation (well deserved, if I must say). Keep on RVing….and have fun. Glad you are keeping us posted on your trip. Your writings of your trip are very descriptive, you are quite the “writer”. Well done. ENJOY!!!

  19. Janet Wilcox Says:

    I would love to have seen the ship cruising along side. That must have been an eerie experience. This is so much fun being right along with you, except for the ice and hail :) Blessings, JanKW

  20. Kenneth Patchen/ AntPatch Says:

    You two are a hoot, for sure. You must have been fun to have as parents. It sounds like a grand trip. I hope you told the cops you were gone and they are watching your home. Thanks for letting us know Coach was OK. I was worried. It is April. Our Second clutch books should be coming soon. I miss the owls. Very much. But, I’m glad they have more privacy now too. Hork. Opps. Bye.

  21. Anne Martin Says:

    Beautiful picture of the cherry tree!! Thank you. Glad you two are safe!!!I’m glad you are back in your neat, dry RV—have fun you two!!

  22. Kim Torkelson Says:

    What a wonderful trip we all are having. The pictures are beautiful as usual. Glad you got through that slippery spot safely and yes glad Donna was taking the picture. You will have to put all your postings in travel log. Thanks again for this great trip, Love when the Molly and McGee e-mail comes. Safe traveling!! KimMn


  23. Thanks so much for sharing your adventures, you are living the dream! Take care and safe travels!

  24. Denise Thies Says:

    Wow! I’m having so much fun on your vacation! I look forward every night to read the adventures of the day! So glad you’re taking your time and enjoying all the sights along the way and that the little problems with the motorhome are able to be worked out. We took that trip in ’95 and we saw some of the most beautiful scenery ever. Hopefully the storm today will be the last for you and that clear, blue skies are forecast for the remainder of your trip.

    Know you are thought of and wished safe travels by your many fans around the world. Hugs to you both.
    Denise T.

  25. njomo Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna. I would like to welcome you to the great state of Washington. I live in Seattle. I’m sure there will be some daffodils for you to see, though we had quite a hailstorm this afternoon. We’re promised sunshine and a balmy 55 degrees for tomorrow.

    If you’re passing through Seattle I can wave as you go by! I hope you continue to have an enjoyable, as well as interesting trip.

    “njomo” in the owlbox chatroom.

  26. BJ Says:

    What a day you had. Adventures in Royal Travel….I am so glad you are an experienced Motor Home driver and can handle the road…no matter what it brings. Donna’s photo of the ice gave a good picture of what you were dealing with. So nice to have a well made coach to be taking you on this trip.
    Love reading about your adventure….thank you. BJ

  27. Mary Jozwiak Says:

    Glad you didn’t get involved in those accidents Carlos and Donna. I’m enjoying hearing about your trip. Beautiful cherry blossoms! Thank you!

  28. LvOwls Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna! Everyday I look forward to enjoying your trip along with you. Sounds like you are having a great time and am so happy for you. The blossoming cherry trees are so pretty, can’t wait until our tree blooms once it gets warm here in Michigan. Be safe on those snowy and icy roads. Love daffodils and hope you see many on your trip. Looking forward to seeing pics on the rest of your trip. Have fun!

  29. Nancy Says:

    Welcome to spring in the Northwest! Today was snow, rain, thunder and sunshine all in a short period of time. As you come through Seattle look east and wave I’ll be waving back over here in Kirkland. Enjoy the flowers and hope you get to the tulip festival in Mt. Vernon it is truly awesome. Drive safely!

  30. Leslie Reed Says:

    Carlos, you really have ‘invited us along with you’. Your descriptions of your adventures, so far, are so vivid it’s like riding in that passenger seat with Donna!
    May you have a safe and wonder-filled journey.

  31. Mary F Says:

    Carlos you are a master with words, please write a book about your travels. I am so enjoying your updates, keep on keeping on…

  32. shu curtis Says:

    How about a book of Photos and words, both so wonderful, of your travels. Continue to enjoy your trip. It is like being with you! Shu

  33. Sarah Jane Says:

    I was driving down the freeway here in Oregon about the same time you were, I think. I said to my granddaughter: “You know you’re in Oregon when you can’t see the road for the hard rain, and then when you can see it, it’s white from the hail, and then a mile later, everything has completely stopped and it’s sunny again.” She’s 6, so she thought this was cool. The truth is, it’s the truth!

  34. SactoSylvia Says:

    Oh my what an adventure – thank you for sharing it with us so eloquently!

  35. mandozee Says:

    all I can say is wow, if you ever do write a book, i’ll buy a copy. You have a way with words. I felt like I was right in the RV looking out the windows. Be safe. Mandozee.

  36. Jenny Says:

    I am so enjoying this trip!!!
    Just drive safely!!

  37. FloridaSkye Says:

    Carlos, I am so glad you are a safe driver. Thank you for today’s photos and play-by-play. I am looking forward to hearing about more of your adventures.

  38. Lynne Morrow Says:

    Guess you are penning your next book as you travel along. It is lots of fun–you sure live life the way it is intended, with joy! Thanks for sharing so much of your life with us. If you ever motor east, we have an incredible spot here..RV park at Pere Marquette State Park seven miles up the road. You can view our Molly Mansion high on our hill overlooking the confluence of the Mississippi and Illinois Rivers, see the live cam of eagles nesting at the park, our five purple martin houses, two bat houses….and so much more. We are located on the biggest flyway in the country where all the birds migrate north and south…you’d love it and we’d love to have you!! We’ll add to your memories…just 30 minutes NW of St. Louis. Come see us. You are welcome anytime!! Mike and Lynne Morrow

  39. Lisa Says:

    Gee this was fun and I was a part of it!! I am so thrilled to be apart of your adventures. The photos are so gorgeous as always! It reminds me of when I got my first 33 ft long fifth wheel and I felt like I was in an I Love Lucy episode! I also am so very glad that you are both safe as ice is so dangerous. I continue to pray for both your safety on the road and look forward to reading about more of your wonderful adventures. I am going through some rough times but this really brings so much joy to me, thank you so very much for sharing your trip with us! God Bless!

  40. Deb Says:

    Carlos, Love hearing about you and Donna’s adventures. You crack me up. Your humor is priceless. Good attitude. Thanks for the pictures. Cherry blossoms trees are beautiful. Have never seen one in person so this is the next best thing. Thanks for the update and looking forward to hearing from you and Donna again soon. Safe travels to you both.

    Deb in OH

  41. Eileen "Teatime" Says:

    Your road trip via email is just wonderful.
    Thank you for sharing. Take care.

  42. Sally aka MollyLoverForever Says:

    !!! I told my hubby (aka Owl-In-Law) I was taking a virtual tour with the Royals. It’s SO wonderful. I’m loving it! Both of my brothers and a number of friends live in Oregon, and relatives and friends in Washington, so have seen some of this before – BUT – your pictures, and Donna’s, are just great – beautiful. Did Donna chime in on this blog entry? Just curious. There was some really descriptive prose in this one. Thanks for “taking us along.”

  43. joly2u Says:

    I am convinced you are a bit of a genius. Not for slowing down for the ice, that is common sense (as rare as hen’s teeth these days). It’s your descriptions. Carlos, you are an astounding writer. A real Renaissance man, can master many things. I am grateful to “know” you and get to enjoy the fruits. Donna’s no slouch either, obviously.

  44. joly2u Says:

    p.s. Carlos, do you know anyone that can help Owliver & Owlivia with their cameras? They need help and don’t have it.

  45. emeraldcher Says:

    What excitement and all in ONE day!
    Have fun!

  46. Sue Couch Says:

    Am loving the trip! You’re traveling in some of my favorite country. Our daffodils have already bloomed (in Nashville), so it will be fun to see more. There’s nothing like yellow in the springtime! Enjoy the journey.

  47. Judy Ambrose Says:

    Once again, I’m stopped in my tracks to read your blog post. Your photos are great Carlos, and your stories are unmatched. You should write a book. I know I would buy it. These short posts are so enjoyable.

    I love cherry blossoms so the pictures are appreciated since I’m stuck up here in Buffalo, NY.

    Enjoy all of your adventures and PLEASE, keep in touch. Say “HI” to Donna for me.

  48. Monica Says:

    I am so jealous of you both being in Oregon.. One of my favorite states, and my girlfriend lives there in Sweet Home… You have been going to all the places I went to when I visit.. I feel like I am with you on this ride.. Enjoy your trip, be safe.. Happy trails to you both.
    Hugz

  49. bettyboop32 Says:

    thank you, thank you. i so look forward to the accounts of your trip!!

  50. Tammie Franklin Says:

    WOW! Carlos and Donna – I hope you both are safe and wish you Happy and Safe Travels moving forward during your trip. Wow-seeing the weather change soo suddenly, that has got to be neat! Thank you for continuing to share with us Molly & McGhee and your sights as you travel.

    Take Care, Tammie chat: Sunshine41

  51. Christy in West Virginia Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    Since you enjoy traveling so much, you should make plans at some point to be in Washindton, DC for the cherry blossoms – it is truly spectacular – hundreds of trees planted in the tidal basin along the river bloom towards the end of March each year. It is breathtaking! I live about three hours west of DC, and have spent many happy times there, for both work and pleasure. So many things to do, and much of it is free – most all the museums, etc. You both would love the botanical gardens on the National Mall,near the end where the capitol building sits. It is a beautiful city, not to be missed. Safe travel!
    Christy

  52. Bonnibell Says:

    What an adventure! Glad you are staying dry this time. Love the photos as usual. The cherry blossoms are just beautiful! I used to keep a travel journal when we were younger and it is so much fun to read years later…you can forget so much. Look forward to the next postcard. Continued safe travels. Bonnibell


  53. Sure glad that DONNA took the “road of ice” photo!!! Otherwise, scary!! :) We have the huge “daffodil glade” at the Morton Arboretum, which is quite a draw in a few weeks. One time we artists could paint and display there onsite, and it had rained the night before, and we were sloshing around in the mud!! Oh fun. Watch it with those bacon burgers, Carlos!!! Sure sounds good though! – Marilyn, near Chicago

  54. DianaJoe Says:

    Carlos and Donna, Did you notice the lady sitting right behind you? Your stories and descriptions of the road are so great I felt like I was with you 2. Keep them coming. I was a big fan of Charles Kurlwalt and his “On the Road” series.

  55. lisa tye, columbia,sc Says:

    I love reading about your travels! (As I sit here working…heh heh). Our trees are in bloom here also…so pretty. We had really bad storms two nights ago and blossoms were flying around everywhere!

  56. Carol Watt Says:

    Donna I am so glad you didn’t let Carlos take the picture of the ice on road. He could of said Donna hold the wheel while I take a picture. People just don’t get it do they slow down be safe. Carlos is a safe driver. The flowering tree with the telephone pole just gives us a more appreciative value of nature without our input. The tree is still beautiful. Enjoy the daffodils. Mt Vernon has fields of them as well and tulips a little later on. We saw some last weekend when visting our son who is in the Navy at Whidby Island. Now that you have all things well with your motor home you can sing “On the Road Again” God Bless

  57. francie bowers Says:

    Wow, what an adventure!! I am sure dealing with the ice was no fun at all…it’s what we hate most about winter! Sounds like you and Donna are enjoying your trip, be sure to eat lots and enjoy the flowers, we love hearing from you!! Spring is very slow coming to the East as it is in the Northwest…be careful and have fun!!

  58. Kathy Carpenter Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    I love your blog! Carlos – your descriptions of nature make me feel like I am right there with you…Thank you for continuing to let us be a part of your life…I have never followed a blog before Molly…and I know it is crazy…but I truly feel like a part of the Royal family! So thank you for that….your friend in Arizona
    Kathy

  59. Barbara Bolton Says:

    Carlos & Donna,
    Thank you for sharing your travel experiences…I am one of those people who actually love to read those long christmas letters people send out…I enjoy hearing about others’ experiences. Keep them coming! It’s almost like we’re traveling with you!

  60. Judi Covey Says:

    I am really enjoying taking this trip with you! Keep the blogs and pictures coming. You are a very good writer – makes us feel like we really are there with you.

  61. PegRod Says:

    I am so grateful, like everyone above, for this opportunity to “travel” with Carlos and Donna through their eyes, the eyes of artists and photographers and poetic writers!

    “Leaky Seal” may sound like a mundane photograph, but to me it is artistically pleasing, as well as recording the detail of the event that an insurance agency might request. I was just looking at the composition and admiring the balance of substance and forms. I love all your photos!

    Thank you Carlos and Donna – the world is so much more beautiful, fun and adventureful as you recount the details through your artist minds and eyes!

  62. pensacolakit Says:

    So much fun to read about your travels and beautiful picss. Bacon and a road trip, sounds great! Thanks for the stories…love them!

  63. Michaele C. Says:

    Another couple of days worth of your blogs
    and the feeling that we are all riding along
    and sharing in your adventures, (bacon and all)
    is such fun. Thank you for allowing us to
    “hitch a ride” and for your marvelous descriptive
    blogging.

  64. Judy L. Says:

    Glad you are seeing the Willamette Valley in all of its shades of weather. If you had driven north on Hwy 99E out of Harrisburg, you would have followed the trail of the daffodils into Albany, OR. They have been planted along the west side of the hwy & are currently blooming!

  65. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Amazing ice/snow…oh my the blossoms are gorgious!!! Love hearing from you Carlos and Donna !!!!
    Stay safe lucky travelors! : )

  66. Joyce Hebert Says:

    wow…let’s go rving…what a day you all had…glad all went well…trees are beautiful..

  67. Barbara Wells Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    Loving hearing and seeing all about your adventures. If you like flowers try to stop in the Skagit Valley in northwest Washington. The area is off of the Interstate 5 at Mount Vernon. April is the Tulip Festival. You get to drive on roads between fields of tulips. It is just amazing, and you can’t take a bad photo no matter what. They have a web site – http://www.visitskagitvalley.com if you are interested.

  68. Ricki Says:

    Your descriptive words are wonderful!!

  69. Healani AKA FoxyTuTu Says:

    Well Looks like Cold and rain coming our way so you aren’t missing much at home. Its in the 80’s & 90’s one week then rain and cold the next. Seems thats how it has been the past few months. Safe travels and stay warm and dry!!!

  70. MnMwatchnSantee Says:

    Carlos & Donna:
    thank you once again for sharing your day. Carlos–you are a gifted write. I love reading what you write; your descriptions are wonderful. I’m so glad your RV is all tuned-up & running well. I have to tell you how much you & Donna remind me of my (young) parents. You two are very down to earth, kind, and simple folks. I know if the four of you ever meet, you’ll get along just fine. Thanks for putting a smile on my face this afternoon. The weather here in Santee is a bit windy, overcast at times and cool. Be safe & have fun.

    Peace,
    Genny

  71. cturner Says:

    Nice to hear that you and Donna are having fun and are safe. I love Rving. My husband and I just recently purchased a 2011 travel trailer and we love it. I would love to see what your new motorhome looks like! :) Be safe and have fun!!!

  72. Pat Johnson Says:

    Hi Donna & Carlos

    We are enjoying your travel log. Be sure and check out the tulips in quaint little towns like La Conner. The link below describes where to see the blooms.

    http://www.tulips.com/bloommap.cfm

  73. Joan Spidell Says:

    Enjoy reading about your adventures! I grew up in Washington with relatives in Oregon and Northern Calif so know well the route you are taking. Enjoy the flowers in Puyallup the town with the funny sounding name where we went for the State Fair. Do hope your weather improves and the idiot drivers slow down.
    Happy Travels, Joan

  74. Jane Bossart Says:

    Hello Carlos and Donna,

    I love reading your posts! You really have a way with words and of course the photos are great!

    Thanks for taking me along on your trip!

    jane

  75. OwlyKats Says:

    I am So glad to know that You and Donna are safe.
    I am sure enjoying your trip! Thanks for bringing us along. I lool forward to your posts.
    Have a wonderful time at the Dafodil festival. I enjoyed The Tulip Festival a few years With My Mom and Daughter. It was In Holland, Mighigan At De Zwaan “The Swan” Windmill. Truly a wonderful Trip.
    Take Care
    Travel mercies for you both
    Kathleen S Colorado

  76. Paula Says:

    I really look forward to opening your wonderful and very descriptive emails. I love opening a new one and hearing all about your adventures!
    Thanks for all the great pictures and. I must say, I feel like I’m seeing it too. Thanks and you both have a wonderful time on your adventure.

  77. Sunlighten56 Says:

    Carlos, Not only are you an amazing broadcast announcer and photographer, it turns out you’re a talented writer and a poet too! We have really enjoyed everything you and Donna have posted during your travels! I wonder if you two take time out of your day to compose the “travelog” because you certainly know how to bring us along with you through your well-chosen words and your wonderful photos. Thank-You for including us.

    I really loved seeing the cherry trees. They reminded me of beautiful SE Pa. where huge cherry trees line many of the surburban streets outside of Philadelphia. During the brief time that I lived there, I would love to stand under a thick canopy of spring blossoms when the winds would blow, and let thousands of the soft, pink petals rain down upon me. They would fully cover my hair, my face, my shoulders, and my feet. The delicate smell was intoxicating and it felt absolutely magical. Speaking of magical… On your trip through Oregon, were you ever anywhere close to Crater Lake National Park? It’s at the top of my bucket list for sure. Not only is Crater Lake a unique caldera lake, I was surprised to learn that it’s also the deepest (1,949 feet) lake in the US and the second deepest lake in all of North America. They say the deep azure blue color of the water is due to it’s extreme depth and purity. An average of 533 inches of snow a year. I don’t think there are too many places like it in our country. So glad you and Donna are finally getting the vacation you dreamed about. Happy trails and stay safe.

  78. Elizabeth Sprague Says:

    Beautiful pictures Donna and Carlos. The areas that got the hail had up to 2 inches accumulate.
    There were a lot of traffic problems. So glad you are a safe driver. We are having crazy spring weather here in the pacific northwest.Had some sun and no rain today. ~Elizabeth Oregon

  79. Liela M. Maielua Says:

    So glad you both are enjoying your trip so far, I live in Bend, Or and know what you are experiencing with the quick change of weather I am so ready for the real spring to arrive.

  80. Darlene Salisbury Says:

    Carlos and Donna.
    What a joy to read your blog. Enjoy your trip. You would have driven right by Albany I think. Did you wave hello when you went by? (just kidding).
    Continue to enjoy your journey.
    Donna, great picture.

  81. Lisa Says:

    Carlos & Donna,
    I am really enjoying your travelogue! My sister lives in Eugene, and I have not heard her mention the Raptor Center. I will have to ask if she has been there and make sure to visit it when and if we drive up to see her. How great that your trip will coincide with the blossoming trees! They look gorgeous. Carry on and keep reporting!
    Lisa

  82. Dinah (RuralGrit) Says:

    What an adventure! Birds and trees and snow! You may know this fellow photographer. But just in case:

    http://www.komar.org/faq/travel/hummingbirds/nest/

    Absolutely astonishing hi-def pics of hummingbird nest in Colorado. If you’ve not seen his work, you should spend a little down-time with the photos. Travel safe–and keep on sending us updates!

  83. Jeanette Harlow Says:

    I am enjoying your trip! Keep writing!

  84. donna Says:

    Carlos, love reading about your adventures, sounds like you and Donna are having a great time. I’m glad you’re a careful driver and hope those people are okay. I’ll be waiting for more of your travel updates. Be safe and enjoy!!!!

  85. Helen Says:

    Even with the telephone pole in the middle of the picture, the cherry tree is beautiful!!!

  86. Julie Says:

    I was hoping you’d document your trip here and just checked today after several weeks. I enjoyed reading this very much and look forward to more real life adventure. The rolling house is my fantasy trip. Travel safely Happy Wanderers.

  87. Kathy Martinez Says:

    What an awesome adventure , please keep us psoted !!!!

  88. A FAN OF M&M Says:

    Carlos and Donna on your way back, if you have the route set up to go back down CA on the Coast, San Luis Obispo County is absolutely gorgeous right now. The rain has made our rolling hills very green and we have lots of wild flowers blooming as well as the huge population of barn owls, GH owls, red tail hawks, many other beautiful creatures. Great wine country, beautiful oceans, and voted Happiest Place in the world. As always love your updates on your trip. What a fun time for you both~

  89. PegRod Says:

    FYI – John “VacaDude” Atkinson gave his viewers a little lesson in how to use PhotoShop to remove an unwanted telephone pole from in front of a beautiful cherry tree (in a photo, that is!) in last week’s VacaChat. Ustream “horked” and the show is in two pieces (Those were the days my friend….).
    Fast Forward to 19:00 – Content Aware Fill demo in Photoshop CS5 with Carlos Royal’s photo as an example:
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14024756
    Continue here:
    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/14025252

    We, in the Molly Family, are always learning new things!


Leave a Reply

