Mount Shasta and into Oregon

April 3, 2011

Shasta River, Shasta Dam and Mount Shasta

Sundial Bridge at Turtle Bay

 

Mount Shasta

The one spot where it snowed

The trip from Lodi to Redding was a nice uneventful drive. This is a great time to be traveling by motor home as the valleys are green and the skies are blue. The area has had a lot of rain so the rivers and the streams are raging and some fields are flooded but mostly the scenery in the delta is a canvas of mixed greens, with patches of mustard weed yellow, touches of lupine blues and purples, all accented with spots of California golden poppies next to pooling water reflecting wind swept clouds moving to the rhythm of the thumping RV tires as they play the melody of the highway in tune with the expansion joints in the road. 

We had a great time in Redding as my nephew Tom Royal and his wife Linda gave us a complete tour of the area including both the Lake Shasta and Whiskeytown Dams. They took us to one spot where we could see the three Shastas at the same time; Shasta River, Shasta Lake and Mount Shasta. Wow, what a site. After the dams, it was off to Turtle Bay to see a massive sundial that also serves as a bridge across the Sacramento River. While at Turtle Bay we visited their arboretum of plants and flowers in search of a name. We had seen the most beautiful pinkish purple plant/bush/tree growing along the freeway. We wanted to see if we could find out what it was. We did; it is a Chinese Redbud. But the day did not end there. Next it was off to a wonderful Mexican dinner.

The only way they would let us, sort of pay, was to show them how to set up a Ustream account, which we did. Thanking them, we got into the car and headed back to the RV park. Now, where was that RV Park?  Have you ever gone to a friend or strangers house and then not be able to find your way out of the subdivision especially if you arrived during daylight hours and now you are leaving at night?

Not to panic I told Donna, I had saved the RV park location in the GPS but when I looked it was not there. Oops again. Okay, what do I do now? I didn’t want the embarrassment of going back to my nephew’s house and telling them I was too stupid to find my way back. Thinking quickly, I just pushed the button “Take Me Home.” No, this would not get me back to the RV Park but it would get me out of the subdivision and back to the I-5 Interstate. As we approached the Interstate, I pulled over again and only this time I searched the GPS database instead of saved locations and fortunately for us the RV Park was listed. Donna and I let out a huge sigh of relief because we had no idea how to get back. I thought, what did we do we do before GPS as I drove to the RV Park making a note to next time to be sure I save the location and check to make sure it is saved before leaving the RV park or any other location I want to return to.

Continuing our trip north we headed over the mountain pass into Oregon. The views of Mount Shasta were stunning. She was covered with fresh white snow from top to bottom giving a brilliant contrast to the blue sky, but not for long as dark clouds moved in and it began to rain and in one strange spot, snowed. Looking to our left going north we saw at least a couple hundred buzzards soaring, circling, catching the updraft currents as we crossed the summit.  I have seen buzzards before but never so many in a single place. The sky was full of them. 

My imagination took over, were they a sign, was this volcanic mountain going to erupt? Were we going to be vaporized? I felt my foot push the pedal down, I wanted to put some distance between us and nature’s version of a nuclear bomb. Soon Mount Shasta slipped from my sight and so did my thoughts of violent eruptions and destruction as we descended to the green valleys of Oregon. I did notice that my windshield wiper was not clearing the rain like it should… just another thing to add to my to-do list. It continued to rain off and on most of the day. We reached our destination right on time to a quiet little RV Resort on the Willamette River.

114 Responses to “Mount Shasta and into Oregon”

  1. Christine Peters Says:

    Thank you for the wonderful photos and description of your adventures. I’ve never been to the Pacific North West, and now have to put it on my wish list. I look forward to your posts; it makes my day!!! Have a wonderful time.

  2. debbie Says:

    thank you for the “post card”! lovely story telling.

    enjoy!!

    :D

  3. Katy Says:

    oh gosh!! I feel so lucky to “travel” with you and Donna, Carlos! We have traveled the Willamette Valley and seen the most spectacular scenery in the wonderful state of Oregon. Mt. Shasta is gorgeous this time of year. Thank you for keeping us in your travel log! Safe travels and change that blade!
    Catbird22

  4. Kim Says:

    Wow, Carlos, thanks for that!! I loved reading it, and all the while I was thinking that you are so descriptive, especially in the first paragraph. You should write a novel, no joke! Hope you continue to have a great time, and thanks for taking the time to keep us posted!

  5. Virgene Colby-auntie_vee Says:

    Carlos, I hope you keep all of these blogs in a safe place (not like your GPS)because you could write a beautiful travel book. You are a great discriptive writer. I know the area in Redding, my husband and I lived, for 35 years, just 27 miles east on highway 44, in Shingletown. I am glad you found the name of the Redbud tree, they are beautiful this time of the year. If you ever get to Texas, they also have Redbud trees.Have a great rest of the trip and travel safe.
    Virgene

  6. Jeri Lynn in NW FL Says:

    I’m riding right along! I felt your despair at not being able to get out of the neighborhood. I love my GPS, too! Good luck, and I await the next chapter!

  7. jane van kessel Says:

    glad you are having fun on your long awaited rv adventure!! guess what carlos and donna? there are now two owls coming around my owl box and going inside to bond. they still sometimes fly away to roost somewhere else in the morning. one flew out at seven thirty this am when i was feeding the dog. i think she heard me and flew out. hope she will eventually lay eggs. i worry about the hot summers here if the eggs are laid so late. i do not have any cameras but it’s still so wonderful to have owls around! take care and have fun. janesgarden77 in sacramento

    • VSue Says:

      Hey janesgarden77,, you could always provide a Myzter Spritzer for the owl box..um…I mean for your yard and cooling. Wonderful for you to have owls coming around. One day when a home with property of my own I too will get me an owlbox!

      • jane van kessel Says:

        i will consider a Spritzer most definately!! i watched my owlbox last night and the lady owl is now staying inside 24/7 now! there will be owlets before we know it!!! i remember you from the first clutch and hope all is going well with you!

  8. Sharon Palac Says:

    I feel as if I’m traveling with you and Donna as you describe your colorful adventures. Keep the travelogue coming, and happy trails! Drive safe!

  9. Roy A Steacy Sr. Says:

    So that’s how you roll, lol. Sounds like you guys are having a ball. Nice of you to keep us updated, many of us look forward to it.

    Keep on enjoying your adventure and be safe.

    Just another MOD,

    Roy A Steacy Sr. <—In chilly Michigan

  10. TES Says:

    I so enjoyed your descriptions of the Mt. Shasta area. I used to put my three sons in the car each summer and head to Oregon to visit my mom. We always knew we were almost there when we saw Mt. Shasta. Some years it would still be covered with snow and some years only the very top was covered with snow. I miss those trips. We hear “our” barn owls, named Donna and Carlos, every night as they leave our neighbors palm tree. They aren’t Molly and McGee but it’s nice to hear their little deet – deet -deet. Thanks so much for sharing the pictures of Mt. Shasta. Have a wonderful trip and be careful when you drive!!


  11. Oh Carlos and Donna, I a so thrilled to view and read your wonderous blogs. You are so very generous in so often remembering us the MODS. I am still smiling at your GPS ,just like a man,what did Donna say? She was most probably quiet and just prayed.ehhehe.I have always wanted to go”Out west”…now I am seeing through your eyes…it is a blessing. I am so glad to have this connection of the Royals and Owles. WOW the eagles in Va and Iowa are getting a lot of press.

    Safe Journey Dear Donna and Carlos. Celebrate Life!

  12. Kathryne Says:

    Sounds like you are having the vacation of your dreams, Carlos and Donna! (Except for the awning and getting lost parts!) I have a cousin who teaches at Willamette College and loves living in that area! Have fun, and keep the photos and comments coming. Makes us feel like we are on the road with you!

  13. Lee Says:

    Happy Trails you guys!

    We are all traveling with you in spirit and
    oh, how we are enjoying your sharing..Godspeed

  14. Michaele C. Says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your sights and
    thoughts along the way on your trip. It really
    brings back memories of some of our trips up
    to visit family and friends in OR and WA.
    Keep em coming and safe travels.

  15. Heather from Maine Says:

    What a treat to check my email and find an update from you! Thank you for sharing the beauty of your journey. Travel safe.

  16. Rosemary Says:

    I feel like I am on this journey with you… Oh what fun we are having… So thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures and dialogue along the way…. Isn’t modern technology wonderful? and you didn’t have to be embarrassed and have to ask for directions. LOL

  17. Judy Sackson Says:

    Outstanding photos!
    It’s so much fun to travel with you two, you really should publish a journal sometime–you are really great with descriptions!
    Have never been to Oregon or Washington, so now, traveling with the Royals is very special!
    Keep safe and well, and keep us all up to date!

  18. Lorraine Franzmann Says:

    Hi CArlos and Donna
    Wasnt sure you received my original reply so sending this….If you get to the coast ofOregon near or at Seaside – please stop to eat at my daughter and SIL restaurant – Normas Ocean Side Diner” probably will be the best seafood youll get and dont pass up their award winning clam chowder…lots of history in SEaside. Just mention my name to the waitress and either Darleen or Randy should be there = if not the waitress will know what to do…WE love Oregon…
    Enjoy Lorraine and Paul two of the original “owlet watchers”

  19. Cindy Says:

    Carlos and Donna, re: “I did notice that my windshield wiper was not clearing the rain like it should…”. You probably do not need to replace your wipers (the rubber is intact). I carry a small bottle of dish detergent in my glove compartment to apply to a tissue (wet with water or raindrops)and wipe the road gunk off the wipers. Voila! Clean as a whistle and streak-free for safe driving. Try it!

  20. DezSDBrats Says:

    I just love virtually traveling with the Royals! The Shasta’s are breathtaking. Thank goodness for GPS! =) Continued safe travels!


  21. Carlos and Donna, thanks for the trip “journal” entry!! I’ve never been up that way, and found this most intersting. Of course the photos help immensely. It’s fun that you keep in touch. Thanks. Marilyn (near Chicago; in rehab righ not after knee replacemnt!)

  22. Mariska23 Says:

    Thank you for sharing Carlos and Donna! Your awesome descriptions and pics make me feel like I am there. This is sure an amazing country we live and because of you two I am experiencing more and more. I am working on some pics of “my” osprey nest with babies here in FL and will share if I can get a clear one. Safe travels!

  23. Betty Barnett Says:

    Love the travel guide!! Keep the photos and descriptions coming!! Have a safe trip..

  24. VSue Says:

    Wonderful beautiful photos!
    Thank you for sharing; made me feel I was right there enjoying the scenery too.

    Very glad you were able to make it “home away from home”. Hate when that happens to me too.

    Enjoy the continuation of your travels.

    May the wind be calm upon the journey,
    and may the other drivers out there be courteous, may you continue to have wonderful journey.

  25. Joisey38 Says:

    Glad you are heaing North! Have a great time!

    Love,
    Sandy (joisey38) from New Joisey :)

  26. Cindy Says:

    Hey Carlos and Donna,

    Lovin’ your trip adventures and wonderful descriptions of nature.

    Thanks

    ~Anewday

  27. Caboval Says:

    Wow!I feel like Im right there with you!!!! What a beautiful trip you are having!!! keep up the stories Carlos we love them!!! Caboval

  28. Helen Erickson Says:

    Carlos and Donna – Love hearing about your adventure and seeing the pics I may never see. Thanks for the update.

    Helen Erickson

  29. Joan from Colorado Says:

    Dear Carlos.. wow , you are taking us on a whole new adventure.. remember that patince is a virtue.. one that it appears that you definitely will need in your travels.. also , I see that you definitely have the heart of both an artist and a poet.. lovely descriptions.. thank you .. do you remember what Roy Rogers used to sing? “Happy Trails to you ” Regards, Joan

  30. Julie Says:

    Love the photos and the creative narrative Carlos. I feel like I am right there with you. Keep the updates coming. I always look forward to reading your blog!
    I am sure M & M are holding down the fort for you in San Marcos.
    Enjoy your travels!

  31. Mary Says:

    You are a very lyrical writer. Is there anything you CAN’T do???!!!!!

  32. Lynne Townsend Says:

    Carlos and Donna,

    Another wonderful travel log!!! Saw Mt. Shasta when I was younger and have always thought it a most beautiful spot!! Love hearing your descripitions——Keep them coming!

    Lynne

  33. Cathy Glueck Says:

    What did we do before GPS? Why leave a trail of bread crumbs, of course!!! Maybe you’ll need to pick up a loaf of bread at your next stop! Love the pictures and descriptions. Wonder from the name if those Chinese Redbuds are a native species or an invasive? Will have to do some research. Thanks again for sharing with all of us!

    CatinMO

  34. Shirley Charlton Says:

    Thanks for the update. It is wonderful to share your trip with you and Donna and very thoughtful of you to do that for us. Happy travelling! Shirley

  35. Elizabeth Mason Says:

    Thank you for taking us along with you. You are a wonderful writer and it is so nice to be a stowaway. I’m so happy to know what a Chinese redbud is–there is one in our neighborhood that I have admired for several years without knowing its name.

  36. dennens Says:

    So now you and Donna are up in my area of the world, pretty wonderful huh? Mt.Shasta is always amazing and troubling…I get that same feeling there. The Sundial Bridge is definitely fun and interesting. I love the Redbuds too, tried them, and never have had luck with them. Hope you’re planning to come down the coast on your way back, you still have a gift waiting here. Thanks for sharing the travels and pix, makes me wanna go on a road trip too. Be safe and have a great time! Hugz to both of you!

  37. Joyce Hebert Says:

    wow…have you ever thought about writing a book…think you would be good at it…thanks for posting this update and hope to hear from you again…two eaglets now and one more to hatch…stay safe and waiting for next post.

  38. A FAN OF M&M Says:

    Carlos, I know exactly how you feel about getting out of subdivisions and not finding addresses in the GPS! Almost quicker to still have a Thomas guide, but those GPS’s are awesome, just time consuming to enter all the data. Good thing it stores your data, but sometimes hard to find! I just chuckled at your experience. No offense, but Donna will appreciate this, my dad nor husband would ever go back to nephew’s house either to admit they were lost. It is a MAN THING. Enjoyed the photos and love to hear about your travels. Thanks so much for keeping us updated and giving a chuckle for the day~

  39. Dee Says:

    Carlos. I’m so enjoying your comments and pictures. How nice of you to do this.

    Dee

  40. SARose Says:

    Thanks for sharing these beautiful scenes!

  41. Ann Richards (Nashville) Says:

    When we bicycled 500 mi las summer (Portland, Astoria, down coast, over to Portland) we learned finally how to pronouce it: Wil-lam’-ette! Love those mountains! Send more pics!

  42. Ronni - Paphappy Says:

    Hi Carlos…so glad you are having a great vacation!!! I don’t know what kind of GPS unit you have, but in the Garmins, there is a button for ‘recently visited’ which lists all the places you’ve been. Even if you don’t save them, they are there. :)
    Love reading all about your adventures! :)
    Ronni-Paphappy

  43. Nancy Says:

    You crack me up Carlos. That’s so funny!!! Love northern California. My husband is going prospecting for gold on the rogue river in June. Lot’s of gold in that area. Keep sending us pics and stories. Love hearing from you. Nancy from Utah.

  44. Gail Loveless Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for the lovely picture post card. I brought back a lot of memories. I went house boating on Shasta Lake in the early eighties. I lived in the SF Bay Area at the time. I now live in “fly over country” Indiana and the scenery is not the same. Continue to have a safe trip and God speed.

  45. Suzanne Hannah Says:

    Carlos And Donna, Thank you so very much for sharing your trip with all of us. It is a pleasure to follow the journey through your eyes. Enjoy each day seeing new sights and meeting new people. Best to you both always keep safe and keep those updates coming.
    Your friend in Folsom, Suzanne

  46. OwlyKats Says:

    Dear Carlos & Donna,
    I have returned from My vacation in Southern CA. It truly was a wonderful time. We went out to see the Super Moon and I was thrilled to see and hear a single barn owl come from the Owl House on my brother in law’s property. What a blessing it was.
    So glad to see & read about your grand adventures. I feel like I am still on vacation.
    Thank you for letting us come along for the ride

    God Bless
    Kathleen S Cowlorado

  47. Janet Wilcox Says:

    I love this, I feel like I am riding along with you. The pictures help with that feeling too. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your vacation with me. Blessings, Janet (JanKW)

  48. CAROL HODGES Says:

    Sounds like you are having a trip to be envied.
    The West Coast (Ca. OR. WA) has some of the most
    beautiful terrain and scenery of the USA.

  49. Camperfamily (Kim) Says:

    <camperfamily eagerly awaits the next chapter…

  50. FloridaSkye Says:

    Thank you again, Carlos and Donna, for sharing your travel adventures with us!

  51. Janice aka dg1018 Says:

    Carlos, I really do believe you could do a Travel Log series. I loved your discriptions of your travel and the pictures are beautiful as always.
    I felt like I was right there with you and Donna. So happy you two are finally on your trip.

    Keep up the great adventure series—-we MOD’s are learning a lot from it and you are the best advertisement for taking a vacation that I have come across. May your fun never end.

    Safe Travels Carlos and Donna

  52. Jes63 Says:

    Am loving the trip letters. Lets me become an arm chair traveler.
    Have fun and keep us up to date!
    Jes63 (Jeslyn)

  53. Jo-Ann Says:

    I have had nightmares waking up in a cold sweat because I could not find where I parked my car!!!! I had searched and searched and searched.. to no avail…. So I can certainly understand your dilemma trying to find your RV park in real life.

    Donna, make sure you write down the name of the RV Parks you will be staying in… And then make Carlos ask for directions!!!

    Your note was so much fun to read. I haven’t been to Shasta for many years now. We loved vacations, houseboats, waterskiing in that beautiful area. Did you get to go to the Caverns at Shasta? They are quite beautiful… Have a wonderful journey and love that you keep us informed… Happy trails….

  54. beverly kerst Says:

    Hello Carlos & Donna, I love your updates. It looks beautiful out there!
    Had to laugh because we got lost in St. Louis, Missouri about 6 wks. ago (we are from rural NE Pa.) We went to SW Missouri to pick up our B&G Macaw…well we would still be lost if our son had not given us his brand new GPS! Bought our own now, they are great!! Bev aka bezee357

  55. sunshine97 (Deb) Says:

    Oh Carlos I am so happy you and Donna are having a great vacation and thank you so much for sending us the beautiful pics…kinda like we are with you seeing the wonderous country.

    Love you both
    Sunshine97deb

  56. Vee Miller (VeeTX) Says:

    Thank you for the photos and the travelogue! You and Donna could write a book on your travels, along with the great photography!!! There are so many of us who are not able to travel and we thank you for “taking us along for the ride.” Our wishes are that you two have a wonderful vacation touring in your “Owl Box on Wheels!” We love you gutz!!!!

    Vee Miller (VeeTX)

  57. Marcia Says:

    Thank you for sharing your trip with us. Love your pictures. You are such a great story teller.

    We have been watching the Bald Eagles in Iowa. One Eaglet hatched yesterday and another this morning, one to go!

    MOD, Marcia

  58. PegRod Says:

    All the above comments express so well the thoughts and feelings I share!

    A year ago, on April 3, 2010, Carlos posted on the blog the following photo of the cover of the Molly the Owl ebook with an imbedded link to Chris “Rocketman” Adams’ website and the video trailer for the ebook (this was before Eric Blehm later took a giant leap of faith and established the Molly the Owl Books publishing company) – I can watch that trailer again and again, and still not get tired of the gorgeous and magical artwork and that wonderful melody! Thank you Chris the Rocketman!
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/04/03/ebookillustratorrocketman/

    We don’t need a map or a GPS to travel through time and space to revisit Molly’s World, thanks to Carlos and his marvelous blog (and of course WordPress, Ustream, YouTube, Google, and the wonders of the internet)!

  59. Pat M Says:

    Hi Donna and Carlos
    Thank you again for another wonderful adventure, Don’t look now but I am on the RV roof with Molly, McGee and all those little off springs. Keep on moving I love it.
    Pat

  60. mandozee Says:

    better get that windshield wiper fixed. great views I can almost see them. mandozee

  61. Bonnibell Says:

    Thanks for the great postcard and chronicles of your stop in Shasta. I love reading them and your “postcards” are wonderful. Continued safe travels. Bonnibell

  62. Theresa Says:

    You’ll soon be entering Washington state, my home, to which my father referred to as “God’s country!! Welcome Carlos & Donna!

  63. Laura Hollingsworth Says:

    Love the updates :)

  64. joym13 Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your trip, I feel like I’m getting to tag along in the RV :)

  65. Jan Halstead Says:

    We so appreciate your time and effort in sending us beautiful pictures and stories as you take us along on your well deserved vacation. It means the world to us that the two of you take us along. I would never be able to see this in my life time without you sharing it. Here in Indiana we have Redbud trees growing wild along side Flowering Dogwoods at the edges of the woods in our gentle rolling hills. Spring is very beautiful here so I know you loved what you discovered on your journey. Jan in Indiana

  66. kit Says:

    Carlos, you should have a travel show…you shoot beautiful photographs and your narrative is descriptive and funny. It’s nice to see places we may never see in person. Thanks for the updates!

    pensacolakit

  67. Bugmom Says:

    I love your updates, Carlos. Makes me want to be there. Thank you. And bless you and Donna.

  68. rita e Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna
    Love the RV adventures – hope you will keep informing us of your trip and sending the beautiful pictures. Mt Shasta area is so stunning. I don’t know if you drink wine but Oregon has some fabulous Pinot Noirs. Happy Hunting!

  69. Twoclubs Jane Says:

    Whoo Hoo, You are on the road again and all is well. What lovely pictures and such poetic descriptions. Sigh, wish I was in the back seat with y’owl. Smile. And your RV Park Story – hoot hoot. Very funny. (((hugs))) twoclubs jane

  70. dizzyts Says:

    Not only are you a great photographer, but you are a wonderful writer as well. I love the descriptions of the countryside. Thanks for including in your adventure Carlos and Donna
    Susan Clark aka dizzyts

  71. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    I feel like I’m on vacation also…something I have not done in 17 yrs!!! Thank you. Love the pics. Can not wait til tomorrow to see where “we” have been. lol! Glad you two are having a great time. Stay safe and warm wishes to you both, Madonna

  72. Betty Rexrode Says:

    We all love your trip updates.

    Wish you could send some rain our way….TX is in a major drought, right now.

    I think you saw hundreds of Turkey Vultures soaring, while driving north. We have both Turkey and Black Vultures in our state. It’s fun to watch them soar. Vultures do not build nests, but lay their eggs in a sheltered spot; cliff ledge, cave, or buliding. Flocks often roost together at night. We have hundreds who soar at dusk around 7-story cooperate buildings on the west side of Houston. They also roost on these building ledges. People come to watch them.

    Be safe……

  73. Betty Rexrode Says:

    Oops…….meant to say….corporate!

  74. BonnieKay Says:

    Beautiful. Thank you again. We are looking at motor homes for a trip around the US and Canada in a few years when we retire. I am already learning wit your post. Bonnie

  75. BugGirl Says:

    Carlos, that’s some beautiful and interesting country you’ve been going through! As to your congregation of buzzards (actually turkey vultures, I presume), they were indeed a sign — a sign of spring! They were migrating north. But they don’t fly there in a straight line; they soar in those huge circles, with each circle being a little farther north (or south in the fall) than the last. If you had been still rather than moving, you would have seen the whole mass of them drifting northward. The big groups are typical. I once happened to be in the area where one of those groups set down for the night on their way south in the fall. What an amazing sight!

    I hope your trip brings you many more of the amazing sights nature has to offer!

    BugGirl

    • BugGirl Says:

      Scooped! I see Betty Rexrode also wrote about the vultures! Her post wasn’t there yet when I started typing mine.

      BugGirl

  76. Jerri Weed Says:

    Great Photos Carlos. Hubby KS and I stayed in a little Town called Weed, CA and had a Close-up of Mount Shasta. Pretty Cool and Nifty to stay in town called Weed since KSBORN is married to a Weed.

    Can’t wait to see More Adventure Photos. Oh, KS and Hubby KS didn’t have a GPS but did Pretty Good without one. LOL

    KSBORN

  77. Sarah Jane Says:

    Carlos and Donna: I am really loving the blog of your trip north! I feel especially at home as I read what you write as I am a Calif/Oregon girl and familiar with the places you are visiting (embarrassing moment: I lost my bathing suit top one time while water skiing on Whiskeytown Lake).

    Keep up the writing and we will keep up the reading! Thanks.

  78. Elizabeth Sprague Says:

    Welcome to Oregon. This is where I live. This is a beautiful time of year. When I first camr to this state it was in July, 1962. Everything was dry and brown. I was so disapointed.

    I am enjoying you shares of your trip and the pictures. I’v seen several motor homes in grocery store parking lots. Makes me wish I could hit the road too.

  79. joly2u Says:

    Thank you, friend, for the great description and your kindness in remembering us strangers. When you get into upper Oregon you’ll begin noticing a peculiar odor. Actually, a heavenly one, as the area smells the best of any place I’ve ever been, evergreens making the air fresh and fragrant.

  80. PattiinVA Says:

    Thank You Carlos and Donna for the photos and beautiful description of your vacation. You should work for National Geographic, thats how good you are with photos and words. Take csre of those wipers. God Bless and safe travels to you both.

  81. Darlene Salisbury Says:

    Hello Carlos and Donna,
    Welcome welcome welcome to Oregon. I’m in the Willamette Valley.Albany to be exact. Any chance you might be going this way. I would consider it an honor to meet you and Donna if you are heading this way. I really enjoy reading your blogs. Like I’ve said before it’s like hearing from family.I’m glad your trip is good.Please keep posting and writing. Thank you again from the bottom of my heart for the owls. We are watching Mel & Sydney who have six owlets healthy and thriving on SPO. I have made such wonderful friends all because of Molly,McGee you and Donna.
    God bless you both and have a great trip. If you’re going by Albany I would be beyond excited to get to meet you.
    Love you guys.
    Darlene Salisbury in Albany,Oregon located in the Willamette Valley between Salem and Eugene.

  82. BJ Says:

    So your journey to Canada begins. Your journal like way of writing is so enjoyable to read as you bring us right into your adventure with your descriptive wording and style. The photos are wonderful too. We took a motor home trip up through northern California and into Oregon almost twenty years ago…my husband grew up in Oregon has three sisters (and their families)living there. It was such a beautiful ride. Coming home the ocean views were amazing and the narrow coastal roads a little scary to navigate with the big motor but all in all it was a memorable trip. Happy Travels to you both. God Bless.
    BJ

  83. Trisha (from UK) Says:

    Thanks Carlos for those wonderful photos and your colourful prose, I felt I was almost there with you instead of being “across the pond”! It’s really kind of you to share your journey with us especially for “lurkers” like me who will probably never get the chance to travel to the west coast of USA. I follow your blog whenever I can, and like all the others, am so grateful we could share the experience of watching beautiful Molly, handsome McGee and their beguiling clutches. I am also watching Mel & Sydney and their family of six, great to watch but there’s only one Molly & McGee!
    Enjoy your travels and make the most of each day – you and Donna deserve it.
    All the very best to you both
    Trish

  84. Liz Says:

    Thank you for taking us along with you!

  85. vicki Says:

    Wow, what magnificent views. Just be careful of the GPS. My husband and I were in the southern part of Illinois (near Carbondale/U of I campus) and were making our way through a vineyard (this is Illinois wine country) to the main road (we thought) using our GPS (most direct route). Just as the road went to dirt a sign on a pole told us that GPS is not accurate in this area (no kidding). We had to backtrack and opt for a different, longer but paved route. Happy RVing and relax and enjoy!

  86. Nancy Greene Says:

    The vultures are our first sign in SW Oregon that spring is really here. They are returning from points south. That is why you saw so many at once.

    Nancy

  87. Judy Ambrose Says:

    Thanks for posting your adventures. I feel like I’m hearing from a good friend and very much look forward to being updated from time to time. Take care and be safe!!

  88. YTQ Says:

    Welcome to Oregon! I live near the Willamette River, in a little town called Dallas. Oregon is a wonderful vacation spot, especially in Augst. It usually quits raining by then! Have a great trip.

  89. Kathleen Says:

    It has been about 30 years since I had the pleasure of visiting Mt. Shasta. Thank you Carlos and Donna for bringing back such memories to me. It is also such fun partaking in your adventures. Thank you and Blessing to you both in your travels. Be safe! \(͡๏̬͡๏)/

  90. Sherry Kelly Says:

    I loved the photos. My favorite is the one about the “One spot it snowed”. Hey, we needed a picture of the buzzards, but I guess you were in too big of a hurry to get out of the area before the mountain erupted!

  91. Jan Thompson Says:

    Welcome to Oregon, the land of overwhelming beauty and really large mud puddles (especially this spring!) If you need a guide for Portland, just let me know. I’d be delighted to show you Oregon sites/sights to include in the wonderful travel log you are sharing with us. Enjoy your journey!

    pdxorjan

  92. Diane Says:

    Thank you so much for letting us go on this trip with you!!!! Love it! and the pictures are great!
    Diane from Montana

  93. selena Says:

    I feel like I’m watching the Travel Channel, only better!!
    Can’t wait for the next episode!!

  94. PegRod Says:

    I just love reading everyone’s comments, too! The community of Molly fans are so lovable (hugz).

    On April 4, 2010, Carlos posted the next cartoon by John “VacaDude” in Molly’s Blog in celebration of Easter (which this year is closer to the end of the month!) The cartoon series of “Laughing Outside the Box” was established in our minds as a way of understanding the owls with some humor.
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/423/

  95. CAequuslvr Says:

    Carlos, thank you so much for the wonderful travelogue. You are a great storyteller & the photos are fabulous. Funny, funny about getting lost. Typical man, though, won’t ask for directions (chuckle).
    Drive safely. Can’t wait for the next installment.

  96. Roz L-M Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,
    Just a warning- you are going to need those wipers working top performance in Tacoma/Seattle area. It is getting wetter and cooler; those highs in the 50s have turned into highs in the 40s. Friday may be your best bet for a tad of sun. Enjoy your journeys!
    Roz in Tacoma

  97. Sandy Says:

    funny story…no one likes to ask for directions, (especially guys?!) thank goodness for GPS devices.Have a good trip.
    p.s. the weather in San Marcos has been beautiful(Saturday was a little drizzle, though)

  98. Susan Belloff Says:

    Loved reading your last two entries…the awning and the GPS stories made me laugh. You write well…I felt like you were telling us the story on U-stream.
    Also loved the pics and descriptions. Maybe someday I will get to visit some of these places. :)

  99. SueinMaine Says:

    Hi Carlos…not only are your photos amazing, but you write beautifully!!! Thanks for taking us with you….Sue…:o)

  100. Kevin Says:

    Carlos & Donna was the RV resort you stayed at called the River Bend RV Resort. My wife’s aunt and uncle own the RV resort.

  101. LoveYourDNA Says:

    Hello Travelers!

    we may not have Molly & McGee just now, but living vicariously through your journey is really nice!

    stay safe!
    julie

  102. TOPPSY Says:

    travel channel? Heck my thought was this was a National Geographic special,,,,,,,,we get moods and emotions as if it were live.
    Thank you for sharing, your talents are seemingly endless as we saw over and over in the OWL BOX in San Marcos.

  103. Robin/Bigsis Says:

    ((Carlos and Donna))
    I love reading about your traveling adventures! I am in Pittsburgh,PA but my daughter went to grad school in Eugene….then to Salem and Portland and is now residing in Bend,Oregon. The scenery and natural beauty of the area is awe inspiring. I love the waterfalls and Crater Lake takes your breath away! Thanks for bringing us along with you on your “escapades” p~~

  104. donna Says:

    Love reading your blog Carlos, you make me laugh! Keep them coming and the beautiful pictures too.

  105. Nancy Paine Says:

    Carlos, This diary of your trip exceeds all expectations of what most would do. It must be wonderful for you and Donna to know that so very many of your devoted “owl” friends are loving these very vivid descriptions. Keep on writing and Happy Trails” to both of you.

  106. Marcia Morrison Says:

    Dear Carlos, You are traveling through one of my favorite parts of the world! Making me homesick for the west coast (I live in Salem, MA these days). I’m so glad you and Donna are out & about and enjoying life. Even with all the RV “glitches” it’s a fine thing to be on the road!

  107. Fairygram Says:

    You guys are the best… and lives do intertwine! Today after reading about your ‘ventures’ I was doing my regular stumbleupon website just before bed – what pops up? A picture of the Mount Shasta Dam under constructions back in the thirties. I saved the address in a “safe” place and now cannot find it – but I still have the picture on my desktop. Would love to send it to you but not via the website. Get in touch and will be glad to send as an attachment if you like. Stay safe now; some of us can feel the unease of these ‘little things’ that will happen on roadtrips and recognize the ping AND the joy of it being “little.”

  108. Morganminpin Says:

    Carlos and Donna,

    The “new” batch of owlets are darling – how proud Molly and McGee must be to have added 12 beautiful owls to San Diego County. I wonder if they will do a second clutch again this year?

    I really enjoyed your vacation blog and photos – thanks so much for posting them.

    Morgan


Leave a Reply

