March 25th, Molly and McGee Day

March 23, 2011

Molly and McGee

 

 

Let’s not forget that this Friday is Molly & McGee Day. Let’s have a get together right here on Molly’s Box. It will be a day of celebration and you can let the world know what The Owl Box, Molly, McGee and the owlets mean or meant to you. I have already received several emails saying that watching Molly last year was one of the best years of their life. But instead of sending me those email, post how you feel, so all can see and share, not just me.

We are back from the desert. Everything worked so we will be loading up to get out of Dodge, as they say. Remember, this is the trip we had planned to take last year but Molly showed up so we cancelled. We are not complaining, The Owl Box, with Molly, McGee, the owlets and 20 million fans was a wonderful experience we will never forget. We feel Molly was a once in a lifetime story. Not that barns owl are rare, but how 20 million people from all over the world came together to watch and miracles happened as lessons in life were taught.

We had love, passion, family, drama, death, compassion, dedication, responsibility, flight and freedom. We hated to leave or to pull our eye away for fear of missing what might happen next… we were hooked, we were addicted, we lost sleep, we had the Molly Obsessive Disorder. We bought books, DVD’s, T-shirts, Mugs and Large Framed Prints. We wanted memories and we wanted to share those memories and we did.

We had very simple rules:
Be nice
Be friendly
Don’t argue
No bad words
As a child I was influence by the movie Bambi “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothing at all.”

Carlos, Donna and Austin

P.S

For books go to http://mollytheowlbooks.com/

For DVD’s go to http://austin4media.com/

For Molly Merchandise go to http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl

 

88 Responses to “March 25th, Molly and McGee Day”

  1. Carol Ann Bossemeuyer Says:

    Carlos,
    Molly McGee and thelittle feathered friends have blessed me and blessed me. My only regret was that I didn,t get to meet you all in person. I will be there. What time?

    • Carol Ann Bossemeyer Says:

      I got talking to a non-watcher tonight and she tried to correct my earblugs in my message. lol So I started in telling her all about our language. There were so many Mollyisms. Hork if you love Molly.

  2. Shirley Charlton Says:

    That was fun and I am glad that I had the priviledge to share in it! It isn’t the same watching the owl boxes this year. I enjoyed my experience with the Molly and McGee Owl Box last year and the way Carlos would come on the Cam and give us an update through each and every day. That gave us a more personal relationship with him and the Owls, Molly, McGee and the Owletes. It will be a Memory I will never forgetand will treasure the rest of my life. Thanks again Carlos, Donna and Justin! You are the BEST!!!

  3. Eleanor Dodge Says:

    Yes, it was a once in a lifetime experience! One that I will never forget. I have all my goodies and when I need a Molly and McGee fix I sit down with my coffee table book and smile and remember. And can’t forget my McGee portrait that hangs above my computer with McGee always looking down at me. It’s nice to see the other barn owls on the Ustream this year but they can’t compare to our year with Molly, McGee, the owlets and of course our Carlos, Donna and Austin . I miss you all and wish you a wonderful time in your travels. I will be forever greatful to you for taking us on an amazing adventure with a very special barn owl.
    Much Love
    Eleanor

  4. finnwv Says:

    Thanks so much Carlos, Donna, & Austin for this most unforgettable experience! One I will cherish and enjoy and remember through the beautiful books and photography you have shared. Thanks to everyone involved including Eric, Chris, and John! Special thanks to Molly & McGee and family! Looking at nature is an even more wonderful experience than it was before. You are forever in our hearts! Thank you for sharing yours!
    Ginger

  5. Maureen Says:

    Yes, it was sooo much fun and I was sooo glad to be part of it!! Getting up early to catch Carlos and his chats, staying up late to watch McGee doing nightly visits – it was all sooo unforgettable and wonderful. Carlos and his humor – it was such fun! Truly a once-in-a-lifetime thing. Thanks to all involved.

  6. Kathie Utt Says:

    Watching Molly, McGee and the owlets was one of the most memorable experiences of my life. Reading all of the interactions from MODs around the world amazed me and I truly became addicted. I will be apart of Molly & McGee day tomorrow – can’t wait. I wish you folks a great vacation!!


  7. Thank you Carlos for all you did and continue to do for your fans; not to mention those of Molly, McGee, and their owlets! It was an amazing experience that I hope to one day relive with you and your dedicated family. I pray the day will come that you will once again broadcast a future clutch. After all; “Gee, it was so much fun!” God bless you, Michele

  8. francie bowers Says:

    It sounds wonderful Carlos, M&M and of course the Royals started a revolution…a lovely one!!

  9. Tammy Says:

    I only watched the second clutch but it profoundly changed my life. I cried when Kellie and Jodi passed and laughed so hard when Carrie tried to fly and hit the ground. My favorite picture of all time is where Ashley was on the ground with Carrie after she fell and Ashley appeared to be telling Carrie how to get back up. I bought so much Owl items…yet I still display each proudly..and my yard sign is still in my garden. I could never say “Thank you” enough for what this has meant to me.I now have 2 Owl Boxes at my farm in the woods. Ctamgo

    • dennisotool Says:

      Thanks again Carlos and Donna and Austin for bringing Molly and McGee to us. I too only got in on the second clutch , and was sad when Kelly and Jody both didn’t make it, but learned to love both Ashley and Carrie. Carrie probably becoming my favorite little owlet was so cute and adorable. Miss them both though, and all of you. I’ve been an owl lover for many years so this truly warmed my heart. Thanks again, hope you are all well and enjoy your trip to Canada. Hope Both
      Molly and McGee are well and their new clutch is doing well also. Thanks again for this awesome experience and one I’ll cherish for the rest of my life. Love these wonderful creatures of beauty and of course all of you.Thanks for the fun and i’m glad I got to be a part of it. Much love to you and all our owls,Cathy from Iowa.


  10. Wonderful Carlos! You sure had us all spoiled lol. Miss those days of staying up late for McGees late night food drops and seeing Molly and the kids. *sigh. But yall deserve a rest and a life too! Big huggs…xx
    JanetMcD

  11. grams3cs Says:

    I’ll be here all excited over our favorite little owl family!!!! I just can’t feel the same about the other owls we can see. M&M were very special and one couple of a kind!!! Have fun with your new RV and vacation. Stay safe and take your time going, but hurry back!!!

  12. susan Says:

    All: rather than repeating what has been said already (yes, thanks!) here are a few enduring changes that the M&M Experience has brought to the language:

    Hurrying home from the grocery store before running to a meeting = fling and fly
    Stretching legs and arms one side at a time = owl yoga
    Any mechanical problem with car, computer etc = hork

    See, it’s STILL fun. sm

    • Cindy Says:

      So agree with you Susan. Add to that going deet deet deet just for the heck of it and doing the flappity flap when working out.

      Happy joyful times

      Anewday

      • Elbee Says:

        Yes and yes! Just love the Owl Box Lexicon, the paper doll Molly with the Owl Box, the paper ornaments and lots of other free goodies, not to mention the beautiful Photo book(looking forward to the Second Clutch photo book)the sterling charms and more! Paper doll Molly visited wineries in northern CA and had a ball! So many memories since we landed at the M&M site just after Kelly hatched. Thanks so much for those memories and those to come. Safe travels,We are MODs here! Elbee, Portland Oregon

  13. Twoclubs Jane Says:

    Carlos, Carlos, Carlos – You amazed the world when you brought us Molly and McGee last year. I was an armchair ustream birdwatcher and fledged to my first ever chat room when you started broadcasting. My, how far we have all come. We have shared so many special days together. We have had meet ups and made lasting friendships. You went out on a limb to let us in and oh, oh have we just gobbled it all up. It was stupendous. We can’t thank you, Donna, Austin, Chris, Eric, VacaDude, Barlycorn and the moderators enough. Whoo hoo. We Heart You.

    • Elbee Says:

      Deet,deet, deet. Now, I’ll but you back in the OWL BOX, for the sights and sounds from the OWL BOX, San Marcos, California

  14. Camperfamily (Kim) Says:

    It has brought the world together! So many of us still stay in touch! I’m meeting Pigwig soon for lunch! The friends we have made and the joy that has come from 2 owls has been something very special!!!
    Hope to see you on the road soon!!! Have a wonderful trip!!

  15. Barb Says:

    Awesome, many, many thanks to the Royal family. What a blessing it was for me as it helped me make it thru losing my job and being without work for the first time in 43 years. It was the experience of a lifetime for me. Once I start talking M/M no one can shut me up as I lived this for many many months, therapy. Thanks also for the updates I look forward to those little bits of anything concerning M/M.Thanks for sharing a part of your and Donnas life so we could all be blessed with this once in a lfetime experience. Gee that was fun and I was part of it! Safe travels

  16. Linda Greene Says:

    Carlos, the trip to the desert did you wonders. You sound so much more upbeat!! Glad your trip went well. I won’t forget Friday!! (who could?) It was a most exhilarating year to celebrate and “Thanks for all the memories”. ldgreene123

  17. janie2 Says:

    Carlos, expressing how we all feel about Molly, McGee, and especially you, Donna, and Austin out loud is impossible with a lump in the throat. So thank you for giving us an opportunity to post it. Barbara, Eric, Kris, and John all added so much to a one in a lifetime experience. Firsts are always so special-first love, first child, and the first time watching a family of owls that we will never forget.
    Thank you for giving so much of yourself to us.

    Janie

  18. Karen Judd Says:

    Carlos and Donna and Austin, this experience has been like a breath of fresh air in a hot, stuffy , tired world! Thank you for the wonderful cool breeze. Sincerely, Karen J.

  19. Judy Helms Says:

    Carlos, I was one of the early people on your site to tell you what a great view of the cam you put up. You got a lot of flack, but you introduced a LOT of children and adults to Barn Owls and their daily lives. Thank You!

  20. SARose69 Says:

    It was an incredible year and I am so lucky that “I was part of it!” I have a houseful of tee shirts, large framed prints, tiles, and one precious book with another to come! I feel very blessed! Thanks to Carlos, Donna, Austin, and all the MODs!

  21. Rosemary Says:

    Watching Molly and McGee was indeed the highlight
    of 2010. I will never forget the fun time I had
    watching their famiy grow and thrive. For all the
    folks I met along the way, I want to say Thank You Carlos… You are the best. I think of Molly
    every day as I look at my pictures, dvd, bracelet
    and every day I go to the Blog or Owl Box and
    relive all the fun.

  22. Bonita Lyon Says:

    Without question, one of the most enjoyable, unforgettable experiences!!! Watching Molly, McGee, their families, meeting and chatting with so many good people and getting to know you Carlos, Donna and Austin was so much fun! I am so happy to have been a part of it all. I am watching Mel and Syd, but NOTHING can ever compare to Molly and McGee.. I have my M and M photo where I see it everyday. Happy Molly and McGee Day! I shall wear my Tshirt tomorrow! Happy travels and THANK YOU AGAIN!!!! It was wonderful!!!!Bonnibell

  23. mandozee Says:

    All I can say is I loved watching Molly and McGeee and the owlets. I heard about it on NBC news, and before the story was done I had the site up. I shared it with everyone I knew.

    I still have MOD (Molly Obsessive Disorder) but I also developed a new strane COD (Carlos Obsessive Disorder) because I loved your on camra chats as much as watching the owls. Your missed, even with all the other owl boxes around now we can watch.

    But it’s time to rest, travel and enjoy your golden years together. But please post a message on this Blog when the mood strikes you and maybe a picture or two. We are family and I for one would worry if you didn’t check in from time to time.

    mandozee

  24. GeniaKnitz Says:

    I will definitely be there tomorrow! I learned so much from Molly and McGee as well as from Carlos! I was obsessed for 8 months right along with you, and happy to be.
    And now that you’ve turned me into a birder, Carlos, how do I keep those darned starlings away from my suet feeders?!
    Genia

  25. Leslie Dort Says:

    I found Molly and McGee soon after losing my very ill husband. I want to thank you Carlos and Donna for this wonderful distraction while I started my healing process. I fell in love with humans and these beautiful owls who taught many of us about life and living. Thank you so very much.

  26. corkyandporky Says:

    Is there a time we’re gathering tomorrow?
    What a special (yet ordinary) pair of owls we’ve been blessed to live with. If the average lifespan of a barn owl is 3 years, M & M are beating the odds. Lucky them and lucky us.

  27. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Oh Carlos, Bambi meant a great deal to me as a Child as well !! Love the photo, and all your words!

    Molly & McGee made my 2010 too. I loved every second of the First and Second Clutch! Last year, work was very stressful, long hours and 6 day weeks the entire year. Inside The Owl Box and The Royals were on my screen the entire time. Brought me endless amounts of wonder and joy. It still does. I will always be thankful to Carlos, Donna, and Austin.

    Enjoy your travels and be safe.
    With much Love, Lisa from NE FL

  28. Kit Says:

    Carlos, you wrote it exactly right. Molly & McGee and their kids brought much joy to many people. I am so grateful for the experience. I bought the books, mugs, etc…and love them. I will never forget Molly, McGee, The Royal family, Vacadude, Eric, Chris & all the great songs created for Molly. Your live casts with your various guests were so much fun! You & Donna have a great, safe trip. Again, Thanks so much for bringing us Molly!!

    pensacolakit

  29. Joan Says:

    Dear Carlos.. Beautiful pictures.. I will miss them. yes, last year was a year to remember forever.. My family thought that I was kind of nutty with all of my interest focused on a famiy of owls.. It was such a riveting story.. and Molly and McGee have been a joyful experience to participate in..a once in a lifetime event. all thanks to you and Donna . thank you both for your sacrifices and dedication. it sure was fun and because of you, I got to be part of it.. be safe on your trip. love to you both. Joan from Colorado

  30. Jo-Ann Says:

    I just read all the other responses and I so agree with every thing said above and I could not have expressed my thoughts any better. It was one of the best experiences in my life. I will miss you Carlos, Donna and Austin but I know you will share little bits of information as time goes on. Have a wonderful road trip, you so deserve it… thank you so much for all you have done for us. As said before, the other owl boxes are ok but just aren’t the same as Molly and McGee who are so special..

  31. Christine Peters Says:

    We also had a birth during the second clutch, our first MOD baby!! He is now 5 months old and beautiful. It’s so great that you keep us updated on Molly & McGee, who hold a special place in so many people’s hearts. They were the first, the ground breakers. If it weren’t for you, people all over the world would not have Molly Obsessive Disorder, and what a loss that would be!!! Thank you Carlos, Donna, and Austin for all your hard work. and thanks to all the many viewers who made this family fly!!

  32. Cynthia Fitzgearld Says:

    dear carlos and donna,,,,iv been blessed by molly and mcgee ,,,i miss them so much i do watch other sites, like them,but not the same.miss molly and owlets,hope your still enjoying your decantor i sent yous.you and donna are like family loved everything youve done for all of us.i cant wait to see molly again.carlos you and donna are great people ,i am so grateful of you bring all of us into your family.and sharing molly and mcgee and her babies into our lifes,you have done such a great thing for the whole world.i am so sorry to hear about the two babies,very sad.again i miss and love you and donna and thanks to me you opened the molly post office box,and im grateful you did.ok love you carlos and donna,see you friday. love cynthia from buffalo ny


  33. Midway in my therapy following knee replacement surgery, it is a lovely to find sweet Molly and McGee greeting me! They seem to be such well experienced parents, confident and natural in the wild. What a great joy, once again. They are always a welcomed presence. Thanks for sending them to me; and have some super times on the coming trips. – – Marilyn, west of Chicago

  34. Lisa Says:

    Oh,no! Friday, March 25th!!! My sister had the nerve to be born that day 50 years ago. I am throwing her a surprise party, so I must miss the get together. I don’t think she or my family would understand the hostess missing the celebration for some owls. Hope you can tape the get together? Rats, the timing!

    Thank you so much for allowing us to see the 4 healthy babies. I really struggle with “the survival of the fittest”, but we do have to bow down to Nature. Those remaining dinosaur babies truly have a face only a mother could love, and I love every clutch of them.

    If I ever get to your stomping grounds, I have to take my Mom to see Pinkie and Blue Boy. You are so privileged to have such a fine collection near by. Thanks for sharing that with us. But when I get a job, the first portrait I will buy will be Molly and McGee posing together. They really look like a happy, content married couple, in my imagination. In Christian love, Lisa

  35. Kendra Linkous Says:

    All of these posts bring a tear to my eye and a special feeling to my heart as I remember how special last year was. Thanks to Carlos, Donna, Austin and everyone else involved in making the experience one to remember. I’m so glad I was a part of it. Enjoy your vacation, Carlos & Donna, and come back to us safely. love you all MODs. Kendra from Ohio

  36. Helen Starkey Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna: No matter how many barn owls we can watch, you are correct, we got “hooked” on Molly, McGee and their offspring. We have kept our friends on the chat line, and I’m sure we all have a special place in our hearts for Molly and McGee. I still have my little paper Molly owl sitting on my piano with a set of owl salt and peppers. Oh yes, I’m a MOD alright! I really am enjoying the reports on how M and M are doing, and your beautiful photos. Thank you so much. May you enjoy your travels, God Speed.

  37. Rita in DC Says:

    Carlos, a question:

    How recent is that outstanding photo of M&M—days, weeks, or months old?

    I’ll try to stop by and say “deet” tomorrow.

    –Rita in DC, AKA bluenoter in Chat

  38. Sherrie Pearl Says:

    Dear Carlos & Donna,

    When I found Molly, McGee & Family on March 29th, 2010 it was truly one of the best experiences that I could have. Last year was a special time with the happy and the sad times in the owl box. This experience has opened the door to many friendships. There are many other owl boxes out there, Molly & McGee will always be in my heart. I miss your live chats. Thank you Carlos, Donna & Austin for bringing us M & M and putting your lives on hold. Thank you Eric,Chris and John. I am so happy to say “Gee Wasn’t That Fun and I Was Part Of It” Safe travels and thank you so much for all that you have and will continue to do.

    Love always
    Sherrie ( Sher67 )

  39. Naomi Says:

    Hello Carlos and Donna,

    Have a fabulous trip. Our weather here in Vancouver has warmed up over the past number of days and the cherry blossoms are starting to show in abundance all over our fair city.

    Blessings,

    Naomi

  40. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thanks for the post…will remember last year with fond memories… i forgot to do a lot and a lot of worries went by the way side…have a blessed trip and send the pictures out to all of us

  41. Sherry Says:

    Wow…Molly and McGee day is also my birthday! What a great day!

  42. AnnSavage Says:

    Molly and McGee are still the cutest owls on earth!

  43. KITTY aka TOPPSY Says:

    well well, cOWLos,,,,its all been said over and over by so many before me, so super=ditto, and deet deet deet and HUGE HORKS for you.M & M have caused some people to join in, who were NOT computer pros or NOT animal/bird lovers or NOT into chatting==its just amazing how many were once a lurker, and could not stop themselves from chatting and learning each time they watched. My CAT watched too! He got very very upset if the machine was not on, or I had not turned on M & M yet. It was a pleasure to meet you at the picnic, and other chatters too.
    THANKS 1 zillion DEETS for a great experience online.

  44. SactoSylvia Says:

    Carlos – thank you again for the update, and for the Molly and McGee experience. I joined early in the first clutch, and I feel lucky that I got to watch the phenomenon unfold… the growing viewer numbers, the on-line community, the classroom visits, the songs and cartoons and books. And of course, the owlets! I remember fondly getting up each morning and immediately turning on the computer with the hope that I would catch one of your morning visits. I’ve had the chance to meet a few other MODs in person and to get to know many more on-line; I’m still in touch with many of them today. Carlos, many thanks to you and Donna for providing the playground and encouraging us to play!

    A little history for those who were wondering about the origins of Molly and McGee day…

    http://www.nctimes.com/news/local/san-marcos/article_b1ffab77-dd6c-54a6-aed9-4568e93fe372.html

  45. joly2u Says:

    Carlos, I can’t figure out what it is, but there is something special about M&M and their offspring, something that touches me deeply in a unique way. Perhaps there are many ingredients, I’m not sure…cameras, angles, people? The others are all wonderful, but something here just gets me. I miss it, so don’t forget us. It still happens, every time you turn the cams on. You and Donna have a great time, you’ve earned it. Think the 12 will go with you this time?

  46. joly2u Says:

    p.s. Before you go, another screen shot of the world’s most famous owls and owlets?

  47. joly2u Says:

    SOUND, CARLOS!

  48. steve Says:

    Carlos there was not 20 million fans. 20 million is the Cumulative times that everyone came to the website to watch Molly.

  49. FloridaSkye Says:

    Happy Molly and McGee Day, everyone! Best wishes to Carlos and Donna and family and thank you once again for sharing this wonderful experience with all us MODs. Safe travels! deet..deet..deet

  50. owloverbo Says:

    Happy M&M day to all. This has been a highlight of my 50+ years. thanks to all of the friends I have shared time with.
    Travely safely and return to us with loads of pictures!
    Bo

  51. K8Orlando/Owlo Says:

    The greatest joy is a joy we share with others. Molly and her family brought us together and I will always be thankful that the Royals chose to share them with us!

  52. Cinda B (SPO Owl Box) Says:

    Happy Molly & McGee Day! It’s also owl Austin’s first birthday. The Molly & McGee experience was my personal highlight of 2010. I’ve always loved owls, but it opened a whole new world for me. Thank you Carlos, for being the spark that ignited the fire. Safe travels to you and Donna!

  53. hookedonowls Says:

    I found Molly and Magee last year during their second clutch. I had been watching the Hornby Eagles and after their little eaglet died I was devastated. Was like one of my own pets died. Then I found Molly, Magee, Asheley and Carrie. What a hoot! I was very disappointed to hear that they would not be broadcast this year but have found another owl family to enjoy. I still check in on Molly and her family though as they will always have a place in my heart.

    Thank you Carlos for sharing your experiences with the world and putting so much work into it. It was truly a wonderful time!

    I will continue to check in to see how my favorite owls are doing!

    Happy Molly and Magee day!

  54. Betty Mitchell Says:

    Happy Molly & McGee Day! So much fun, entertaining, educational, captivating, better than any television show. Once in a lifetime experience. Thank you for allowing us to share in your lives, as well as the owls. You know we love you and will be forever grateful. Happy Trails!

  55. Connie, red and yellow tulips Says:

    Greetings from Wisconsin. Always like owls. Was watching the Today Show about a year ago and they had a segment on Molly. Went directly to the site and have been here ever since. Can’t say what the attracticn to stay has been, late nights sitting and staring at the computer, falling asleep in the chair and missing a delivery, hatchings, horkings,screeching, eating rodents,but then those little skinny things turned into such cute little fuzz balls and then in no time I was waiting for them to come outside and fly. Wesley has been my favorite. With baited breath waiting for them to fledge. I loved Kyle Karrot and the owl songs. The owls were and still are a big part of my life. The chatroom that came with it has been wonderful. Recipes,computer help, and tons of info on the owls. What has become a life’s experience I will never forget. During my husband’s sudden illness and passing away, the owl chatroom has been a great comfort. Such loving support from friends that I have never met in person. “This was fun and I was a part of it!”

    • KITTY aka TOPPSY Says:

      WHAT A VERY MOVING tribute! I am sorry about your husband, and I’m thrilled that we all were able to lightly make you smile during that time of sorrow. CHIN UP!

  56. donna Says:

    Happy M&M day, it brings tears, miss them so much. I have books,a M&M clock,tee shirts, stickers, of course Austins, DVD many things that put a smile on my face. I started watching from the start, lost alot of sleep but it was fun and I was part of it!!! Carlos I will never forget, it was a wonderful experience. I check in on the other sites but as many have said it just not the same at least I’m not losing anymore sleep! I hope you and Donna have a great time traveling you deserve it!!!!

  57. Elbee Says:

    We are so grateful for this real life experience that you have shared. Now,a window to nature has been opened in a way never seen before. How we adore these Barn Owls! Sincere best wishes to you Carlos and all involved wth this project. Elbee, Portland, Oregon

  58. Phyllis Says:

    I just wanted to say that watching and Molly, McGee and the owlets was a priceless experience for me. The website was sent to me by a parent of a student in my classroom after my precious kiddy of 17 years passed away. Watching the owlets from the egg stage until they fledged certainly helped ease the pain of my loss. It also made me happy that one of the owlets was named Max which was also the name of my kiddy. It was divine intervention that brought the owl box to me. My husband and I have watched both clutches and really hate not being able to see the 3rd clutch. Thanks to Carlos and Donna for bringing such a wonderful experience to our lives that we otherwise not have seen:)

  59. Janie Branison Says:

    Someone mentioned Carrie and coffeeee. Here is the link to the video. Turn up your sound and get ready to laugh.

    Janie

    • KITTY aka TOPPSY Says:

      fantabulous—-seeeing that again,,,,,,,oh how I screamed laughter, and passed it onto so many friends. OH gosh this was a very very good job, whomever did it originally.

      thanks OWLdles….

      • Elbee Says:

        I believe that credit goes to CAR and The Daily Hork! Muchisamas gracias! We found magic in these owls and the magic of each new day with hatching and all the antics of the owlets. We can find Carrie in the coffee shop on the corner! I have seen her there!And Ashley-well she is at the Chocolate shop! Many thanks again to the Royals and all others for their generosity and love shared through this window into nature! Much love, Elbee-Portland Oregon

    • the listener Says:

      Those were fun times for sure!

  60. Nancy Harp Says:

    What a wonderful experience getting to know Carlos, Donna and Autin while watching the world famous Owls, Molly and McGee. This site was forwarded to me by a good friend while I was sitting with my leg up recovering from and knee repair and broken ankle! I am so very glad I was able to be a part of all of this fun and looking forward to receiving the Second Clutch book. Happiness is wearing my Molly Sweatshirt!

  61. jeanne lese Says:

    If I had a wish, it would be to know what Carrie is doing out on her own. Many of us identified with her — certainly I did — and we’d love to know what happened after she fledged.

    I happen to love the other owl boxes. The more, the better. And because of the owls, I’ve discovered the eagle cams and more. The idea that I can see an eagle sitting on an egg enriches my world.

  62. Ricki Says:

    M & M were a once in a lifetime experience and thanks to Carlos and Donna we were allowed to watch and learn about owls. I treasure all my mementos and when I look at them I can’t help but smile.

  63. LoveYourDNA Says:

    Yes! Naysayers, stay away!!!

  64. Barb Haeg Says:

    A million thanks to you Carlos, Donna and Austin for the most heart warming, exciting, funny, and compelling adventure that opened up a whole new life experience for me and so many others! And it has grown so much bigger with all the new sites offering not only owls, but Eagles, Humming birds, and so much more. Have a wonderful trip, and I hope to see you on the web again some day. Blessings to you dear friends.

  65. Charlotte Constantino Says:

    Molly & McGee has been a life saver in more ways than one. A friend at work showed me them and i could not stop.. helped relax you in checking on them hour by hour and hearing & seeing Carlos was another belessing…i missed the 1st cluch but got the whole view of the 2nd cluch… and i was hooked… knowing now that those babies are out there having there own babies that is just wonderful. You can’s say enough to Carlos, Donna & Auston in giving us a gift that everyone got to love. Knowing now you can see other new little ones surving and grow is fantastic. Thanks to Carlos, Donna & Austin in giving us this gift.

  66. mj Says:

    First I want to thank Carlos and Donna and everyone else who helped get this wonderful website out to all of us to see. I never dreamed I would watch Barn Owls, I was sure wrong about that. It was wonderful to spend my days and watch and smile, and laugh, and worry about Molly, McGee and the kids. Memories of this time will always hold a place in my heart. Thank you.

  67. Barlycorn Says:

    Ahh, ’twas a wonderful time for sure was it not? My favorite candid moment (still) was Molly checking out the cam with that beautiful face up close and personal. I loved all the owlets and McGee, but Molly will always be my girl. And, so there was a barn owl…

  68. Sarah (slewvi) Says:

    One of my favorite experiences was watching Wesley swallow the big rat. It was very stiff, and she worked on it for quite a while, at least 1/2 and hour according from the time I started taking screen shots. when she finally got it down she looked so demur. Then she hiccupped. Too funny. Another time was the last day she and Austin were in the box together and she had been chewing on a very dry rat carcass. then she put it down and lay down on top of it and went to sleep. After a while, austin started trying to get to the rat carcass but she was on top of it. He finally woke her up.

    In the second clutch, I loved the moon, jupiter, Molly shot. I was most moved the evening after the hawk episode in the morning. Molly came out as soon as it was twilight and stood on the porch, scanning the sky. She looked so vulnerable and so brave. I realized that Molly was really alone with the responsibility for her life and the owlets’ and there was no backup, no 911 she could call, saying “someone is after me and my babies.” I really appreciated her bravery in this dangerous world. She is truly quite an owl!
    Maybe we will get to see Molly and McGee next year. I haave appreciated the glimpses this year so much! Thank you for such joy.

    • Elbee Says:

      Yes, deet, deet, deet to this! With that, I will go meet Carrie in the coffee shop…I just know she is there! And, next time I fly into San Diego I will look to the sky for the owls! Safe and very happy travels to you, Carlos and Donna. Elbee-Portland Oregon

  69. paula greene Says:

    The two main things that stick out to me was the scare of Wesleys faceplant! She was there so long we were all concerned for her. Then her brother/sister pushed at her and she woke up! She looked like a beached whale!
    Then of course the video of Carrie Needs Coffee!
    There are a zillon others including all the new words we have learnz! Polez, Boltz, Webz, Glowz.
    I am watching the other owls and the closest to M&M are Mel and Syd. But still miss the carlos chats and everyone yelling at the computer saying “Carlos Sound!” hilarious! I cant go to my computer now without having to have a owl or eagle site up. Love you all and hope we can continue the fun!

  70. Irene Hercules Says:

    Watching M&M was so much fun to learn about Barn Owls. They are such beautiful birds when they mature. Otherwise they are like spoiled children who “want it all.” I learned that this was nature, and no matter how we grieved, the death of the chicks unable to mature made it nature and not a toy. Perhaps the parents can only ensure four chicks will survive out of 6. I miss the “sshht, sssht! I’m hungry.”

  71. LvOwls Says:

    A year ago, I didn’t even know what a barn owl was until I met Molly and McGee and became hooked from that day forward. Now, I sit here surrounded by beautiful large prints of Molly, McGee and all their owlets. I look at them each and every day wondering how they are doing. I feel happy to think that at least the first clutch may have started their own families. Some of my fondest memories of the owlets are that they each had their own unique personalities and made us smile and laugh. Wesley stole my heart and will always be rememberly fondly. One moment that I shall never forget with the 2nd clutch was when Ashley and Carrie wanted the same treat on the porch and were on top of each other with the mouse in between them. Their wings were spread out so much that it was hard to tell who was who and they didn’t know what to do. Finally, Ashley got up with the mouse and went in the box, then Carrie quickly followed her. There are just so many moments in both clutches that I will always treasure. Carlos, you always made us feel like family, and I still wish I could camp out in your backyard and watch Molly and McGee. Thanks to you, Donna and Austin for making 2010 the one year I shall never forget. You opened up a whole new world to not only the love of barn owls, but the new friendships we have made through your wonderful site.

  72. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Have been enjoying everyones words today….this
    Molly and McGee Fun Friday…..oh thank you Carlos!!!!

    Through the 1st and 2nd Clutches, while at home…my 2 pups would jump straight up in the air when I heard Carlos’s voice….because I would RUN to my den to get to the my computer!!! A crazy, comedy routine and I am not kidding! I’d be laughing and giggling the entire time…always surprised at just how fast I can move when I want to! LOL!! I purchased a lap top at the end of Clutch #2 to remedy that madness. : )

    Though I love all the Owlets….our little Wessy was my very favorite. It brings tears to my eyes to remember Max feeding baby Wes. What a joy 2010 was! How I love hearing your voice Carlos….and when you were finished filling us in,…you would always say,
    ” ..and now, I’ll put you back inside The Owl Box,..with sights and sounds, from San Marcos, California.”

    We sure do miss you Carlos….

    With Greatest Love to Donna, Austin, Carlos, Molly, McGee, Tauntz, and the Gang….as I drink out of my Vacadude 1st Clutch Cup, with all my pictures on the wall, tiles too….I say, Thank You!!!!!
    Clutch #4?

    A Gal can hope!!

  73. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    PS: Barley’s perfect, wonderful music still blesses
    me!! Love it so!!!

  74. debbie butler Says:

    Hi, I just finished reading all the comments and have tears in my eyes and LOL.. I think everything has been said but i miss the whole family at KOWL in San Marcos. I hope you Carlos and Donna enjoy your travels as much as I have enjoyed your daily dose of fun and I was a part of it.. Love Debbie

  75. Planetmom Says:

    I wasn’t around the computer yesterday so wanting to post my comments anyway. What an awesome, once in a life time learning experience. I think you Carlos and Donna for all your time and effort that it took to make this happen. I am sorry I never got to meet you in person. I had planned on it but then my husband had chest pain the week before and thought maybe not the best time to leave home. I will always remember this experience. Carlos and Donna you have a great trip and will be looking for more pictures.

    Carol

  76. Stana Short-McLeod Says:

    I can never express how much I enjoyed being a part of the Royal family for 3 clutches. I laughed and cried. It was a wonderful experience. So many people loved Molly and Mcgee and their off-spring! What an opportunity!!!! My heart broke when I heard about McGee, but thru those tears I remember all the wonderful hrs. of watching their lives. Who ever would have thought that one could love owls that much? Thanks to the Royals for all of their dedication to Molly and McGee and to the mods. We will be forever grateful!!!!! <3 Stana Short-McLeod


Leave a Reply

