Roark In Flight

February 24, 2011

Roark In Flight

Roark Takes Off

 

Roark Looking for Grubs

As Donna and I continue to get ready for our travels this year, our backyard continues to be a plethora of activity. We see McGee coming and going at night, Roark comes in almost every morning for his share of grubs and then there is Caleigh, the female kestrel, looking for a mate. Our daily trips to the RV garage don’t seem to bother our family of backyard friends which also include a pair of Towhees, a pair of Mockingbirds and a couple of Scrub Jays. I don’t know if the Scrub Jays are a couple or not, but they let us know if we forget to put out the peanuts.

The photography book of the first clutch, Molly and McGee, The World’s Most Famous Barn Owls, continues to receive rave reviews from all that see it.

“Carlos, I am a fellow photographer. I just want to let you know your photo book is great, especially page 93. You have captured what’s real, not the Disneyland connection.”… Ron B.

To order your copy or give as a gift, go to mollytheowlbooks.com

If you have Molly and McGee, The World’s Most Famous Barn Owls, then you will want to order Molly and McGee, The Second Clutch to complete the experience. To order your copy or give as a gift, go to mollytheowlbooks.com

Reminder: There are only a few more days remaining to get Large Framed Prints of the Owls at 50% off. Go to CafePress.com/mollytheowl

Molly’s Story, a documentary DVD can be ordered at Austin4Media.com

I got lucky yesterday and got some great photos of Roark the Red-shouldered hawk as he searched for grubs.

Enjoy and have a great day.

Carlos Royal

49 Responses to “Roark In Flight”

  1. Marilyn Says:

    I feel so bad for Caleigh trying to find a mate.
    But I do how she feels with no one interested in her.
    I’ve been trying to find a mate my entire life and I’ve 58! But we must never give up as she is a good bird just like I am a good person. :) :) :)

  2. Joan Says:

    what gorgeous pictures.. I am wondering what kind os a bird is Roark? funny memory, when I used to live in Mich. and did a lot of gardening, I had a Robin that would sit by me and wait for me to find a grub and he would just wait for me to pass it over to him.. this went on for three years..also I had 10 pairs of Cardinals that fed at my feeder.. hope that you are feeling better now Carlos !! Joan from Colorado

  3. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos so glad to see Roark in action, hearing that McGee continues to be such a wonderful mate to his Molly, and all the goings on in yours and Donna’s yard. I’ve been “hungry” myself looking for a post from our dear friend Carlos. Would it work if we squaked like the Scrub Jays?! Beautiful photography of our nature here in So. CA! Take good care, give Donna a squeeze from all of us who miss you both so very much.
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    OwlLuver, Murrieta, CA

  4. Teri Trickey Says:

    Carlos, You didn’t just get lucky. You have a real talent and a great camera. Anyone can have a camera, but you have the eye of an artist. Amazing what you ‘ve captured on film.

  5. Ping1 (Suzanne) Says:

    After getting a bit nervous, I finally received my Molly book Monday. It was well worth the wait and Eric was kind enough to include a note card and bookmark, with an apology for the delay. You guys are wonderful! (My son is a professional photographer and was very complimentary.)

  6. vicki Says:

    As always, breathtaking!

    Sounds like you are feeling better. Can’t wait to see your travel shots. Best of wishes to Donna and all the Royals.

  7. Linda E. Zembryski Says:

    I just want to say again THANK YOU for all the news. It is pure JOY.. Enjy all your trips this year and stay healthy along the way… much love and friendship..

  8. Linda D Says:

    Breathtakingly beautiful photos, Carlos. We miss you and your cheery voice but wish you and Donna well as you prepare for your adventures! Happy, also, for the update on Molly and McGee! It’s always great to hear from you with photos and updates. My best to you and your family! Linda

  9. Twoclubs Jane Says:

    Beautiful photography of Roarke. Thank you so much, Carlos, for keeping us in your heart.

    Twoclubs Jane

  10. OwlyKats Says:

    Carlos,
    Roark Is Absolutly stunning. You have a natural gift for catching nature in action. I do hope you are feeling better; So that You and Donna can enjoy your travels. Looking forward to your next Post.
    All my love to You & Donna
    God Bless Your Travels in 2011
    Kathleen S Colorado

  11. Cathy Bezy Says:

    my goodness but those are fantastic shots Carlos. you could easily go professional! thank you so much for sharing the pictures and this blog! enjoy your travels and be safe. ^_^

    Cathy from Michigan

    • CAequuslvr Says:

      Cathy, I understand what you are saying, but I have to chuckle. Carlos is a professtional. He has one published book and another on the way. Also don’t forget about all of his photos on CafePress.

  12. Helen Starkey Says:

    What beautiful pictures, thank you so much for continuing to share with us. Good to hear that McGee makes visitations every night (and, no doubt, bringing in goodies for Molly’s pantry!). Someday hope you will catch some pictures of the owlets (hope there are some!) learning to fly. Hope your travels are much fun, safe and in good health. Helen in Arkansas

  13. Anne in KC Says:

    Thanks for the update, Carlos. You are a terrific photographer!

  14. Jo-Ann Says:

    Absolutely beautiful pictures… Thank you so much for all the updates… I love all the creatures in your wonderful yard.
    So gorgeous…

  15. CAequuslvr Says:

    More super photos. Thanks for sharing. Glad to hear your preparations for the trip are progressing.

    Just wanted to again say to anyone that I have an additional copy of “Molly & McGee” photo book that I would like to give/send to anyone (or anyone you know) who was unable to afford to purchase it for themselves.
    Please contact me by clicking on “Reply” under this post. Is Jacques Green out there? I saw your post a couple of blogs ago.

  16. Judy Sackson Says:

    Carlos,your photos are absolutely remarkable. Everyone is so right, it’s not just a good camera, you have the eye for it.
    I have never before been particularly interested in birds, but you have changed all that permanently! I watch 5 owl boxes now, and always look forward to your marvelous photos of the birds in you backyard, and on your travels.
    Please keep them coming!
    So glad to hear that you’re feeling better….and keeping us up on McGee!

  17. SARose69 Says:

    I always love your updates! Roark is gorgeous!

  18. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos – Such stunning photographs of Roark! You deserve every bit of praise for your incredible captures on film – you are indeed an artist! I hope that you are feeling much better now. It must be lovely to have all the feathered friends in your yard – wonderful to hear that Molly and McGee are well and busy with a new family! We have terrific owls and owlets to watch, but M&M remain my dearest!
    I am glad that RV prep is going well – it should be fun to get away and see new sights. Please keep in touch! Love to you both! Holly Sue

  19. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Seriously Carlos!!! Your photos of Roark give me chills !!! Fantastic!! Thank you so much for sharing and giving us an update of your back yard.
    Greetings to you Carlos, Donna, and Austin!!!

  20. Candy Says:

    Thanks Carlos for always taking the time to show us such beautiful photography. Don’t ever stop. I look forward to it when I see it in my inbox.

  21. Diane Erdely Says:

    Great photos, Carlos. Hope you are feeling better!

  22. Janice Says:

    As always, Carlos, you get the most wonderful shots and to think, all you have to do is walk out your own back door where nature surounds you.
    Hope you are on the mend now and packing for those trips. Come see the Sandhill Cranes on the Platte River here in Nebraska and we will get together for some Mocha Cawfee Talk.
    Keep snapping those photos and sharing, sure do miss hearing your voice—have to listen to old videos for that.
    Hope you and Donna have an Excellent Adventure!
    dg1018 in Nebraska

  23. Kit Says:

    Beautiful Roark photographs! Jays sure do love their peanuts. Sounds like McGee is taking care of a nesting Molly…he’s a great dad and provider…Thanks for the updates!

  24. June Schafer Says:

    Simply gorgeous!! I especially like the first one.

  25. NatureLuver Says:

    WOW! Awesome pics of Roark. You the man! Which camera did you get these pics with?
    Loving my Molly & McGee book!
    Miss you and Donna. All my love and keep the updates coming.

    Liz Garney, League City, TX

  26. Ericka Says:

    Carlos,

    First of all I want to thank you for continueing to send us pictures from your backyard. They are beautiful and fun to see. I still miss the owl box and hoping that someday it will be back. Maybe next year….
    Anyway, I also want to tell you how absolutely gorgeous the Molly and McGee coffee table book is. It exceeded all my expectations! The photos are absolutely wonderful. I am enjoying it and can’t wait to get the one of the second clutch. Again, thank you Carlos for all you have done for us and I hope you have many happy vacations you can tell us all about.

    Ericka Hanson

  27. Ginny Runyan Says:

    Awesome shots – better than I’ve ever seen!

  28. Lori Says:

    Beautiful pictures Carlos. Thank you for sharing. I hope your feeling better and Donna is doing well too. Take care.

  29. Bonita Lyon Says:

    Thanks for sharing the great photos! You must enjoy your yard so much. Glad you’re feeling better, Carlos! Bonnibell

  30. Cindy Says:

    Hey Carlos and Donna . . .Nice to hear from you.

    We have a ton of crows on our property here in Fallbrook! Actually they have a big variety of “songs” which I didn’t realize. We stopped feeding the little birds because the crows and hawks were enjoying them.
    We also have a roadrunner who visits every day. Today he arrived with a mouse in his beak which he enjoyed on our patio table.
    It is fun to watch them.

    So, happy day to you and Donna and thanks for sharing the cool pics.

    ~Cindy
    Anewday

  31. Kim Says:

    Carlos, thank you for continuing to bless us with your photography talents. What gorgeous pictures of Roark! Please enjoy your trip, including the anticipatory planning and packing. Hope you have regained your energy. We know your smile has never left you :). May God bless your journeys.

    Kim Gorman

  32. Sharry Says:

    We do miss you so, but thankfully you continue to share the updates on our owls along with these beautiful glimpses of your backyard visitors. Wishing you both the best of fun travels and good health to enjoy. Thank you, Sharry

  33. Bev Unger Says:

    Dear Carlos – Thank you so much for continuing to send out your updates and photos. They are always received here with great delight. I just wish somehow you could send out audios as well – I still miss the sound of your voice over KOWL.

    Your post reminded me I have not yet thanked you for the Molly and McGee book which I received at least two weeks ago. The photographs are just beautiful and I will never tire of looking at our owls. Eric and Molly the Owl Books did a fabulous job with the layout and prose. It’s pure perfection.

    I’m following all the action at this year’s owl boxes (and Phoebe, too) but the Royal and Molly and Mcgee families will always hold a special place in my heart.

    I thank you for the sacrifices you and Donna made last year and I wish you and your family, and espcially Austin, nothing but the best of futures. After being diagnosed with cancer 19 years ago and going through ups and downs with my health since then, I learned that you need to find out what makes you happy and then do it. So enjoy your retirement and do whatever it is that makes you happy. And if some day broadcasting again on UStream makes you happy, I hope to be around to watch and listen. Thank you so much for everything you’ve done. Gee, it was fun and I was part of it.

    With love from “beunge” in Philadelphia, PA

  34. Sherry Kelly Says:

    You are so right…they are great photos! Thanks for sharing them with us and for keeping us updated on all the birds we have come to love. I have two copies of the Molly and McGee book and it is super well done. I have also ordered my copy of the Second Clutch so that I will have the set! All the best to all you Royals!

  35. Angowleyez Says:

    Always a pleasure Carlos. Thank you.

  36. GeniaKnitz Says:

    Gorgeous shots of Roarke, Carlos!

    We had a woodpecker visit in our backyard for the first time today. Thanks to the birdfeeders we would never have put up if it weren’t for the Royal Owl Box!

    We and the birds thank you.

    Genia

  37. BJ Says:

    It is really special to hear from you and Donna through the blog…you all are very special people. I hope your travels are interesting and fun and that you drop a line now and again on the blog. Your photographs are wonderful…thank you for sharing them with us. My family enjoys three large prints that hang above our big screen in the family room…Molly, McGee and the first clutch hold a very special place in my heart as do you, Donna and Austin for making it possible for us to experience M & M. Thank you. Love, BJ

  38. joly2u Says:

    Wow! So beautiful, thank you for allowing us to see your beautiful photography, and thank you for putting “McGee Reflecting Light” out as a print. Why isn’t Roark a mate for Caleigh?

  39. joly2u Says:

    P.S. Is the rabbit still around?

  40. Marilee Godsil Says:

    Thank you, Carlos and Donna from the depths of my heart. This beautiful, loving and educational journey continues to bless me and so many others. I have many challenges in my life. This community of caring people has been a comfort.
    Your photography, Carlos, has been stunning. My gratitude and love to you,Donna, Austin, Chris and Vaccadude. My life is enriched beyond words. And, I will go on.

  41. Betty Mitchell Says:

    Thanks for continuing to share Carlos. I, for one, so look forward to your updates and fantastic photos. We are all truely blessed to have you include all of us in your lives.

  42. grams3cs Says:

    Great to hear from you again. I’ve been watching the Oceanside owls, but nothing will ever compare to the love and attachment I have for M&M and the kidz!!They are very special and so are you, Donna, and Austin. Hope your travels this year go well. Have fun, you two, you deserve all the relaxtion you can get. Thank you again for a really special 2010.

  43. donna Says:

    Carlos, beautiful pictures! I was happy for the update, we know your busy, but we miss you so please keep the updates and the pictures coming. So glad you’re feeling better and getting ready for your travels. Thank you Carlos, Donna, Austin and all for everything, we really miss you!!! Love from the east coast

  44. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thanks for the photo he is a pretty bird…hope the rv gets filled up soon so you and donna can hit the road, so to speak, i brought the book to a pharmacy where i worked and my old boss could not get over how beautiful the pictures were…thank again for putting it gother…happy riding

  45. Janice Kaltenbach Says:

    Wow, Carlos!! Those photos are great!! I think you have a new career. Your travels should provide you many opportunities to get wonderful shots like these. Blessings to you and Donna. Happy trails to you…

  46. Barb Polo Says:

    Every post from you is an experience, Roark is beautiful, sorry handsome….I wonder if he knows how good you make him look. :) I’m sure all those trips to the RV garage are keeping the two of you busy while you’re waiting for Spring to arrive.
    Be blessed and safe in your travels and love to all the “Royals”.
    PS: tell Molly & McGee they are missed too.
    Barb

  47. Margery M Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna!
    I miss you both and I am so happy to hear you are getting ready for your travels. I’m surprised to hear that Caleigh is still looking for a mate. Do kestrals mate for life or will she have to shop like this every year?

  48. Joy H from Largo, FL Says:

    Beautiful photos Carlos!!!
    Thank you so much for the Molly updates too!
    Best wishes to you and your family always.


Leave a Reply

