Desert Camping

February 7, 2011

View from our RV

Oasis in the desert

 

As you know I have been trying to kick a bad bug for several weeks (six) so Donna and I decided to take a little shake down cruise out to the desert and get some warmer sunshine. I was going to say “Kill two birds with one stone,” but somehow that does not sound appropriate anymore. Warm up a bit and make sure our motor home is ready for some serious traveling to Canada and other points unknown. That also reminds me that I want to clear up why we are not broadcasting.

It is not because of the any of the issues we had but because Donna and I will be doing a lot of travelling in the next few years and at our age we do not want to put it off any longer. We did last year because Molly showed up and we wanted to share the experience with others. Then we stayed around for the second clutch even though we had planned to be on the road again. Okay, now it is time to take off.  Plus, there are several other really good owl box sites everyone can watch. By the way, did you notice how camping in the desert has changed? I remember our first trip we slept in a tent. Another time we forgot the tent so we just slept under the stars.

I had some fun while playing around in the sun. I did a calculation as to how many owls could possibly be in San Marcos in 10 years assuming that a pair would become 8 in a year and their average life was 2 years (I start subtracting after two years). Now, this is not a scientific calculation, just my numbers. My progression goes like this:

2 becomes 8 (Molly and McGee are my model)
8 becomes 32
32 becomes 126
126 becomes 496
496 becomes 1,952
1,952 becomes 7,682
7,682 becomes 30,232
30,232 becomes 118,976
118,976 becomes 468,222
468,222 becomes 1,842,656

I can see the headlines in ten years, “San Marcos, City of the Owls.”  There are a lot factors that I did not take into account. I will let you have fun with the numbers and you can also write your own headlines.

All the best

Carlos, Donna and Austin

102 Responses to “Desert Camping”

  1. ChocoMare/Susan Says:

    Wishing you safe and happy travels…

  2. Gina Says:

    I’m so glad you both are now traveling and enjoying yourselves! I agree totally:)

  3. Liz Says:

    Thanks so much for keeping in touch! I hope you all have wonderful trip!

    Liz
    North Carolina

  4. Jann English Says:

    LOL Yes, I did notice how much camping in the desert has changed! We always had a tent. My mom made sure of that! Her camping idea in later years was the motor home. She was a, ahem, hoot!!

    Have a dynamite time on your travels and post pics often!

    Jann

  5. Couleedam (Nora) Says:

    Looks warm and wonderful; I hope you have a great “shake down cruise” and that you are able to shake the virus that has dealt you such a fit! I loved your owl calculations;-). I hope the rodent population doesn’t increase accordingly. Hugz to you both!

  6. Nancy Says:

    Carlos, how nice to hear from you! We used to do the camping thing, too, but as the years progressed, my idea of camping is the closest Comfort Inn. You both take care and have a great trip.

  7. DWD in Atlanta Says:

    I was wondering if you had left for your travels yet. So good to hear from you. That oasis in the desert looks wonderful!!! I hope to one day be doing just the same. We thought we would travel by RV around the country in our retirement years. We live in Atlanta and our oldest son is in Oregon. Perfect way to see the country when we plan to visit them. My hubby just turned 55 in Nov. He is on active duty right now. He will be living in a tent in the Saudi desert come Friday. Not quite the desert you are in. LOL I do hope you have a wonderful time on your trip and it helps you get better. And if you have time to put the cameras back on for a week or so, we would love to see Molly & McGee with another clutch of owlets. Just a little bit of keeping up with what’s new for her. HAPPY TRAVELS!!!

  8. VeeTX Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna:

    Thank you so much for the photos of your stop at an oasis in the desert. You are living the dream I’ve had for years of traveling across the USA in a motor home, but unfortunately fate did not comply; so, I look forward to you posting photos of your travels. Thanks to you, I’ll be able to travel vicariously through you!

    Love, Vee Miller – DFW Area, TX

  9. francie bowers Says:

    Hi Carlos & Donna…hope that desert sun is baking the “ick” out of you!! We’re glad you’re making good use of your time, thanks for the stats on the population explosion, we have 30 eggs on cams so it is just crazy…thank you for starting it all!


  10. Happy travels to you both. It was great catching you Carlos on Lucy the owl’s site yesterday.
    You are so nice to have been helping them with the IR camera issues… but, then again that is how you have always been, nice to everyone! We really do miss you both so much and someday maybe when you feel like taking a break from traveling and you finally miss us, we would love to see you back on KOWL! Miss that humor of yours.
    Safe travels!

    Sending love,
    Pam in Colorado( CastOwlRockCoL)

  11. Ingrid Says:

    So glad to get the newest blog from you. You are never far from our hearts. Happy to hear you are out on the road again and hope your health clears up in the warm desert air.
    Because of you Donna and Austin the world of owls are so much now appreciated and loved.
    Thank you and happy travels.
    Ingrid Welch

  12. OUBobcat (barb) Says:

    In 1976, we(hb and 2 daughters} took 6 weeks to cross the country in a VW Camper, slept in the desert several nights..the sounds and night sky were wonderous. The best vacation ever. Didn’t want to come home. Nine months later we added a third daughter. Who would have thought that possible? Feel better and enjoy yourselves!

  13. DianaJoe Says:

    Carlos , When are u2 going to realize that it’s not so much MnM we miss but!!!!!! We miss you and your family. I love the blog updates. I miss seeing your smiling face and that silly picture of Eienstein on your back wall. Get well soon, friend.

  14. Jeri Lynn Says:

    Have fun, get well, and I love, love, LOVE, my beautiful owl book! Thanks so much! You deserve to travel. I hope to do the same one day. JL in NW FL

  15. Maxine Says:

    Hello Carlos and Donna.

    Thanks for the update on your travels. I recently received my copy of the book, “Molly & McGee.” It’s a beautiful book.

    maxi23

  16. Patricia Sowers Says:

    Carlos & Donna…Thank you so much for keeping us updated with M&M and happenings with U&D. Please enjoy your adventures, but just keep us updated, why? well because you and Donna and Austin have educated thousands of us onto the love of barn owls. So naturally PLEASE keep us updated with your family as we will ALWAYS love you and forever appreciate you educating us to owls. We all love you and your family and will forever keep you close in our hearts. Thank you for giving us Molly & McGee and PLEASE KEEP US UPDATED WITH THEIR HAPPENINGS. I love you (tears, tears,)and thank you a billion times over. PattiinVA

  17. Linda Stauffer Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,

    Thanks for the update. I wanted to let you know I received my Molly and McGee first clutch book and love it. I read the whole book cover to cover as soon as I received it. It brought back a lot of wonderful memories. Eric did a wonderful job and I love the pictures. Hope you feel better soon and enjoy your road trips.

    Linda Stauffer
    Harrisburg, PA

  18. Bonita Lyon Says:

    I am so happy for you and your planned travels. Carlos, get yourself well!!!! Hope the desert air proved healing for you. Bonnibell

  19. Quiltdancer Says:

    Maybe the Molly Blog will become the Carlos and Donna travel Blog! So nice to hear you are feeling better and able to “hit the road”! Thank you for the owl numbers….Wow! Isn’t it amazing what a difference an owl box can make??

  20. SARose69 Says:

    Glad you are getting to travel! And that’s a LOT of OWLS!!

  21. Becky Konkol Says:

    So glad to get a new post w/lovely pictures. I’ve been wondering about you two. You didn’t comment as to whether the warmth and sun made you feel better. Hope so. I’m in s.e.Ohio where we’ve had snow, then ice, then more snow on the ice. Nice to see some sun even if it’s in a picture! How I long for the blue spring skies. (sigh)


  22. Love to you both–you are forever in our hearts.
    Many good travels and tons of pictures.

  23. Sherry Kelly Says:

    Hope you are both feeling well and enjoying some much deserved relaxation. Thanks for keeping in touch. I have checked out all the other owl/nature sights but somehow just can’t get interested in them the way I was with the Royal Owl Box. We MODs came to look on you Royals as friends (if not family) and your live updates, etc. made all the difference.

    I received my Molly & McGee book and it is truly beautiful – everything about it is first class. It is a treasured momento. Now I have ordered The Second Clutch as well as The Four Little Owlets and will look forward to receiving them in April.

    My very best wishes from Yukon, Oklahoma!

    I’ve written and published three nonfiction books. Google them! A Cat Named Zooby, Your New Baby’s Instruction Book, and, The Big Life of a Little Man: Michael Dunn Remembered

  24. Donna Koski Says:

    Don’t blame you for wanting to warm up it has been so cold up till yesterday. I my self have been frozen and down with this winter cold going around. Thank goodness its getting better. It looks very nice where you were. And I hope you get that Canada trip you guys deserve it. We will miss you while your gone. Have a great trip.

    Donna K

  25. Cindy Says:

    Hey Carlos and Donna . . . Nice to hear from you and snazzy campground. Yes “camping” certainly has changed over the years.
    Thanks for your update and have a great time.

    Happy days and peaceful nights.

    ~Anewday

  26. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos, What a beautiful setting for RV camping in the sunshine! Hope the warmth and relaxation will get rid of your “bug” for good – and you can head out for more adventures. I know it was the best decision for you and Donna to take these years for yourself to make your retirement wishes a reality and see all of the special places you can visit. I’ll be forever grateful for the fabulous experience with Molly and McGee and the owlets. Luckily, others have followed your great example and we have sweet owl families to follow this year. Those are some incredible calculations! Please continue to keep in touch with your super pictures and words – you are missed so much!
    Love to you, Donna and Austin! Holly Sue

  27. vicki Says:

    Oooooo warmth! Here in Northern Illinois that is such a wonderful daydream. I’m sure the desert will be a balm for what ails you. You, Donna and Austin are the best. Enjoy your travels. I’ll just keep shoveling along until something akin to warmth comes our way–like anything above freezing will do for now. Stay away from Canada at least until May–too cold for now–we don’t call winter storms Alberta clippers for nothing, brrrr! Rest, heal!!!!


  28. Carlos, that is not a camp ground, but a country club! I hope the warm dry weather will cure whatever is ailing you. Your owl calculation is rather frightening! Hope the mice, wats, possums, bunnies and produce enough treats for so many barn owls.

    I have been dropping in on Sidney and Mel. I am in awe of the HD video for their feed.

  29. NatureLuver Says:

    Hello Donna and Carlos,
    So good to see and hear from you. Carlos, I did not get rid of that crud until my third round of antibiotics. I’m keeping my fingers crossed since we are still in the flu season.
    On a more happy note, the desert looks warm and lovely as does Donna. Also love the calculation of barn owls. Man, that’s a lot of owl box’s needed. I too miss you guys on KOWL, And Molly & McGee. Can’t wait to get my coffee table books.
    Thanks for the update, have fun and safe travels!
    Love Liz
    league City, TX

  30. LoveYourDNA Says:

    Warm and Sunny Wishes to you and Donna!!

    Happy Trails, too :)

  31. SueinMaine Says:

    Good for you two to be living your dream!! I lost my hubby at the age of 49 and I can tell you that we need to grab the wonderful things while we can. It is heartwarming to see such a great couple having so much fun in life. Thanks for sharing last year with us and I truly hope your health is back to being the best….:o) Sue

  32. mary & gary Says:

    Thanks for ‘owl’ the memories. You have inspired a lot of folks to do things that were not on their radar, like putting up bird boxes of all kinds. My owl box is still waiting, I think, but I have a hummingbird right out my front door that I may not of noticed. She is sitting on two eggs and hubby wants to get a camera!
    Many pleasant travels to you both, I wish you nothing but happy travels, and thanks for helping Lucy & Ricky

  33. Morganminpin Says:

    Great to hear from you. I loved your calculations of the owl population (I’m a statistician). I received my coffee table book and read it in one sitting, it is beautiful, the publishers did an amazing job getting your photos into book form. I also purchased a copy for my brother in Charleston, SC and one for Beautiful Chef because her birthday is the same as my brother’s and her son has my brother’s first name. Is Austin on the road with you, or back in school? And is Ashley back at the U of H? We all really appreciated the wedding pictures, Ashley made a lovely bride (although if she had opted for an evening wedding, Molly might have volunteered to be her Maid of Honor). Have a wonderful trip!

  34. sue Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,

    Looks like you guys are having a great time!! As I sit here staring at several feet of snow your pics bring me warmth!!! Even though we will not see Molly and McGee it is great that you guys keep us informed of your lifes journeys, Love all of the updates!!!
    Thanks again for all the great times,
    Sue
    Binghamton, NY

  35. Rosemary Says:

    Thanks Carlos.. and you and Donna continue to have a great camping trip. Looks beautiful there,
    so I hope all that sunshine helps heal your ills
    Carlos. I so appreciate hearing from you and seeing your photos. I received my Coffee Table
    book last week, and it is marvelous..Such fine
    pictures and the quality of the book is first rate. Looking forward to the Second clutch book
    when it comes out..
    Love your calculations Carlos.Your as funny as
    ever, and I miss your smiling face each morning, and no other owls will ever be as special as Molly and McGee and their families.

    Safe travels Royal family.

  36. Ruth O'Neil Says:

    I am glad to see Carlos and Donna enjoy “roughing it!”

  37. GeniaKnitz Says:

    SO good to hear from you, Carlos! I assume Donna dragged you kicking and screaming to the doctor to be sure there were no issues deeper than a really bad cold?

    I’m loving all the other owl sites; it seems the love of little owlets doesn’t go away, just lies dormant for awhile. Not the same as M&M, but still wonderful.

    And there are now dozens of birds in our backyard that weren’t there before you “infected” me with bird love. Including a wonderful, gorgeous flicker pair who are SUCH clowns.

    Have wonderful travels and don’t forget to keep in touch. We don’t forget you and Donna and Austin, or our wonderful M&M, who started it all.

  38. christine Says:

    You might want to hold off on that trip to Canada. Too cold, too white! Your desert destination looks wonderful…wish we were there with you.

  39. maryjozwi Says:

    Please enjoy your travels! It looks so warm and sunny where you are! Wish I was there instead of snowy and cold Buffalo, NY! One good thing is that the days are getting longer!

  40. Judy Sackson Says:

    So glad to hear that you have gone to the desert to recuperate! A lot of MODs are watching the other owl boxes now (I check in on 4) but it is just not the same. So glad you turned us all on to owls, though.
    Hope your travels are good ones, and it is wonderful that you keep us all up to date on the Royal family–you all have become very inportant to us!
    Hope M&M are doing well and that there will be several little owlets around there in the near future. Keep us posted!

  41. PegRod Says:

    Carlos, thank you once again for the photos of those heavenly blue skies and wonderful blog entry – you are a “Bluebird of Happiness” for many of your fans! Thoughts of our beloved Royal Family are always near and we are glad that you and Donna are enjoying your days in the sun and on the road (smile).

    Story Time with Zorro and VacaDude almost always include the real-life characters of “Carlos” and “Donna”, such as this past week’s!

    http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/12492226

    Hmmmm – love those owl population calculations, Carlos! It made me imagine what would happen if you had broadcast the 3rd clutch and more! If we base the numbers on your recordings for Clutch 1 and 2, just Inside the Box, there are 803 to watch!:

    http://www.ustream.tv/discovery/recorded/all?order=least-recent&q=carlosroyal

    So for each Clutch, we can roughly estimate 400 recordings (no one else will ever have the fantastic archive on Ustream that you carefully created and maintain):

    Hmmmm – A DVD Collection of Royal Owl Box Videos could fill a room at the Smithsonian in less than a year!

    And Outside the Box – OB2 – 229 recordings –
    http://www.ustream.tv/discovery/recorded/all?filter=all&order=least-recent&q=donnaroyal

    I personally believe that The Smithsonian Institution (USA) needs to give proper recognition to Molly the Owl, and create a permanent exhibit! Those who agree, please write to the Smithsonian. Molly Fans made their votes and voices count last year to raise the Common Barn Owl (aka Molly) to win Audubon California’s Bird of the Year for 2010! I’m not sure who to write to, but if enough people write, who knows what might happen! http://www.si.edu/

    Always grateful.

    • CAequuslvr Says:

      PrgRod– What an excellent idea. The Smithsonian will need to add more mail clerks to handle the onslaught of letters from Common Barn Owl aficionados.

      ALso thanks for the archived links.

      Your comments are always wonderful.

      • Mary Says:

        PegRod, An excellent idea! Also, it is only fitting that Audubon California should create an award for the Royals for their enormous effort towards education and wildlife preservation in the state. How many people state-wise, nationally, and internationally have become more aware of the dangers of poisons on owls (and all wildlife) because of the Royals? And how many new owlboxes have gone up in California since last year all because of Carlos and Donna? They’ve helped to increase the barn owl population exponentially. They’ve taught by example, gotten our children interested in wildlife, and raised funds for their local wildlife organization. It makes no sense that they have yet to be formally recognized by Audubon. We should also write them.

  42. TOPPSY Says:

    lucky you 2–getting to travel and enjoy warmth and life in usa etc.
    sure enough are alot of owlboxes==but never will be one as special as our first one===the cOWLos box===M&M were the best.

    thanks for the times we all had

  43. Breezy Says:

    Greetings to you both from snow covered, freezing, roof caving in, ice covered Massachusetts! Boy oh boy do those blue skies look gorgeous. It’s wonderful to get your updates and kind of you to think of us as we will always have a place in our hearts for the Royals and M&M and family.
    Carlos, I hope you have kicked that bug that you had and that you and Donna enjoy good health ahead for the rest of your travels.
    I have received my first clutch coffee table book and it is outstanding! I will treasure it forever along with all the lovely memories.
    Happy Trails to you,
    ~Breezy

  44. Ruth Says:

    It was good to hear from you and see that you are having a good time. Be safe and enjoy the warm weather. After last week’s blizzard….I’m jealous. Keep safe.

  45. Nancy Anthony Says:

    Glad to know you are getting “dried out” in the desert. My husband and I are counting the days until he can retire. Our trailer is all ready to go. I think most of us MODS will agree that one thing we miss is listening to your voice. There are lots of baby owlets hatching now, but I do miss your comforting words. Take care and have fun. Nancy Anthony

  46. Torriob Says:

    Have a wonderful time you two- you deserve it. I wish you warm winds at your back- and NO car troubles!

  47. Anne Martin Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna, Thank you for sharing with us; you are family and how wonderful to know that you are resting in a beautiful, warm place! Have fun; you both certainly deserve it! How special to see you Carlos at Lucy’s site last night; we mobbed you because we adore you! Thank you for all you have done for the owl world and for our world.

  48. Barb Polo Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    I’m so happy that you are enjoying your trip to the sun. Here in the east if it isn’t frozen, it’s wet and chilly; even came south and still can’t get warm. :) Love my M & M photo book, brings bach so many great memories. I’ve checked on the other owl boxes occasionally but they just aren’t the same as your wonderful backyard, what’s missing is you and Donna. :( Neil and I always marveled at your dedication and charm in educating people all over the world about the wonders of nature and barn owls in particular. We miss you but are happy that you are pursuing your dreams of traveling this great country and our neighbors to the north. Stay healthy and happy and remember you are loved and missed by all of us. God Bless. Barb

  49. Chuck Kinsey (Surfzen Says:

    I love the way you play with the numbers, Carlos….try this one.
    Facts In 2011 we will have or had already 1-1-11, 1-11-11, 11-1-11, 11-11-11 Lots of elevens. In fact right now, Carlos, add the last two numbers in the year you were born to the age that you will be on your next birthday and guess what? 111, mine is 1940 so I take 40 and add it to my next age at my birthday which will be 71 and lo and behold…111. how do it know. ha ha It works for everyone from toddler to oldster.
    Party on Garth!

  50. donna Says:

    Carlos, I’m happy to get your update, I was a little worried. There are alot of owl boxes out there, none can compare to M&M in my world. I miss all of you soooo much like many people from all over. My coffee table book is beautiful, I cried and laughed through all of it. It looks like a nice place you and Donna are staying at, hope you feel better soon!! I was still hoping for you to broadcast another clutch of Molly’s but I don’t blame you I would like to travel too. Please keep us updated on your travels and M&M, we do miss you terribly. Thank You So Much

  51. Monica Says:

    Carlos, you and Donna have a great time on your trip..Thanks for keeping up updated on your trip.. Love the pictures of the desert, some place i wish i could be right now since we got our 20 inches of snow. Have fun traveling, enjoy and be safe. See you around the owl box’s :)
    Hugz

  52. Joanne Borle Says:

    Hi Donna, Carlos and Austin,

    So glad you are enjoying yourselves.
    Desert camping …. hmmm .. where was this camp site located .. it looks beautiful. I would love to know in case my hubby and I travel from Canada to California some time in the future :0)
    Carlos I love it that you have been playing with calculations for the number of owls in San Marcos in 10 years time as this makes me think you will always be a MOD like the rest of us.
    Hope you enjoy your travels to Canada.
    Take care.
    Joanne

  53. Janie Says:

    As others have said, the other owl boxes are nice, but they don’t have Donna, Carlos, and Austin. We missed all of you so much!!

  54. catsmommy Says:

    I am so happy for you both, although I am a bit green around the ears… wish I could do that… not yet anyway. Have a BALL enjoy every moment.
    Let me know if you are coming through Alberta, we’d love to show you some of our sights.
    HUGS from CatsMommy

  55. karingK Says:

    We never had views like that anywhere we camped!! enjoy your travels … be safe … take good care of yourself … feel better soon … looking forward to updates!! sending prayers and hugs, k

  56. Liela M. Maielua Says:

    Glad to see you & Donna are getting some R&R, enjoy it while you can age has a way of creeping up on us. No owls can ever be as special & unique as M&M, they are #1 thanks again for all the wonderful moments shared.

  57. Jo-Ann Says:

    ♪♫•*¸¸♥¸¸.•♫♪ Happy Trails to you.. ♪♫•*•.¸♥¸¸.•♫♪

    As many others have said before me, the other owl boxes are nice, but they don’t have Donna, Carlos, and Austin.

    Have a wonderful time!!!! Miss you!!!!!!!

  58. Ronni - Paphappy Says:

    Carlos,

    Where is that camp ground? I’m in a RV park in TN and we have 5 inches of fresh snow and it’s 31 degrees and dropping!!!! I envy you the Palm trees!

    Have a great time! Don’t you just love RV-ing?!

    Hugs,
    Ronni-Paphappy

  59. Virgene Colby-auntie_vee Says:

    Always great to get a new blog from you. Have great travels and let us hear from you on occasion. Recieved my coffee table book. It is wonderful and does bring back many great memories.
    I am enjoying the other owls and thank you for inspiring others to put up boxes. Of course some of the cams were up before and their owls are back.
    Take care of each other and enjoy your lives.
    Virgene

  60. ItsAllAboutMeToo Says:

    Carlos – I hope you are feeling 100% better very soon! Because of you, Donna, and Austin, I have learned so much about these awesome birds, called barn owls. I have also learned about ustream, which is just a hoot & I (and many others, too) now venture onto other owl sites on utube. You and your family have brought a lot of joy and happiness to many of us. I wish you all the best and happy trails to you!! Please keep posting on the blog, as it is fun to all keep in touch.

  61. cherry daniel Says:

    those numbers look good to me!!!

  62. MnMwatchnSantee Says:

    Carlos & Donna: thank you once again for sharing your story & updates w/ us. Donna, you look like a million $ in the picture. Carlos, I’m so glad you headed out to get some sunshine & kick this bug. I really do understand how you’ve felt; I’m pretty sure I had the same thing you had. It’s taken me a few weeks to get over the bug, & I still don’t feel 100% yet. I’ve learned @ 48 that I have to just take it a little slower & I’ll get there. Wishing you many miles & days of happy traveling. You two are so amazing!

    Blessings,
    Genny, aka MnMwatchnSantee

  63. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos and Donna,

    We love hearing from you in your travels. Molly’s Blog allows us to all remain united as MODS. I think of you and Molly and McGee and the owletes so very often. It is a peaceful place to return to and remember . . .
    Love, hugs and prayers owlways,
    “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA

  64. Roz L-M Says:

    We love our coffee table book! It is stunning!Also, we donated one of our six copies of the Molly and McGee children’s book to the Tahoma Audubon auction and it did very well in the bidding.
    We wish you both good health and fascinating travels!
    Your Tacoma friends- Roz and Roger

  65. PhilJustPhil Says:

    Happy trails to you two. Lets hope the rodentia and tauntletz populations keep up with the owl population explosion. Got to keep all those pantries stocked

  66. Blanche Fedor Says:

    What a beautiful sight!!! Hope you get over you “bug”-I’ve been fighting mine for 2 week now.
    Just looking at that picture makes me feel better as I’m sitting here in NC and it’s only 37 out.
    Wow-we will be overrun with owls with all the owl boxes going up. I have M&M as my wallpaper on the computer and every time I look at them I think I have never seen such beautiful birds.
    Have you ever read the book Wesley the Owl by Stacy O’brien? What a love story between a bird and human.

  67. Twoclubs Jane Says:

    Whooo Hoooo You two are having fun. I am so happy for you both and I particularly loved seeing the pretty picture of Donna basking in the sun. Hope you do feel better now that you are on vaca.

    Takes my breath away to think of all those owls flying overhead in San Marcos. Audubon Society beware. LOL. Love. Hugs. Hearts.

  68. Camperfamily (Kim) Says:

    Looks like Plam Springs, maybe…??? So glad your out and about. Hope your feeling better soon!
    Yes, there are other wonderful owl sites out now and its fun to watch and learn!
    But, like most have said we miss seeing you! Your smile is the best!
    Take care and we hope to see you on the road this summer!!!

  69. Elaine Says:

    Thank you for every gift you gave us in 2010! You’re so right – now it is time to enjoy yourselves. I love my autographed book, and have many wonderful memories of Molly and her brood. More importantly, my whole family has a far greater appreciation for all birds of prey, thanks to you. Blessings and safe travels.

    Elaine & Family


  70. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by hikescamps, opentrailshike. opentrailshike said: Desert Camping « Molly's Box http://dlvr.it/G4kds […]

  71. Toni Arko Says:

    Thank you so much for everything you have done. Glad to see that you are enjoying the desert. My version of the saying is “feed two birds with one seed”. Enjoy your well-deserved travel adventures.
    Pennycane aka Toni Arko

  72. Treva Roberts Says:

    Good for you both, we still miss you’all and you will always have a special place in our hearts. Your legacy lives on through the awareness of Barn Owl daily challenges for survival that was addressed through the nesting of Molly & McGee. Thank you for this special gift. Look forward to your updates and wish I were with you (Okla.,weather forecast is for an additional
    6″-9″ of snow starting this evening).
    Happy Trails to You

  73. Jan Halstead Says:

    That is such a beautiful place to rest up and relax. Thanks for sharing.

  74. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thanks for the pictures…hope you have fun in the sun and shake that bug soon…happy camping to both of you…got my book and it is awesome…thank for the hardwork…

  75. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    LOL Carlos!!!! Love your photos.
    Hi Donna! So enjoy your updates.
    With Love from NE Florida,
    Lisa

  76. Glenn Says:

    Happy trails to both you two! I thank Hmmmm for posted the utreamtv discovery recorded videos. They are all packed in one link and easy to watch that way. We miss Molly and Mcgee as they were and are still the King and Queen of all Barn owls. Wish you had someone at home to take a picture of M and M to post from time to time when you are traveling. Beautiful pictures in the desert there. Have Fun!!

  77. Nancy Trescott Says:

    HI DONNA,CARLOS & AUSTIN HAVE A WONDERFUL VACAION AND ENJOY EVERY MINUTE OF IT. TAKING A YEAR OUT OF YOUR LIVES TO BRING US MOLLY & MCGEE IS SOMETHING I WILL NEVER FORGET. I AM 71 AND A WIDOW, AND ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED MOLLY’S BABIES. YOU BROUGHT A LOT OF PEOPLE TOGETHER THROUGHOUT THE WORLD WITH MOLLY & MCGEE.
    I WILL MISS THEM BUT I AM NOW WATCHING THE OTHER WEBSITES AND KEEPING TRACK OF ALL THE NEW BABIES
    THAT WILL HATCH. THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS BOTH OF YOU AND YOUR GRANDSON. NANCY

  78. Robin Balko Says:

    Everytime I watch the other owl boxes I think of molly and Mcgee!! Carlos you r a natural broadcaster,you had the cameras perfect in the box,and gave us live updates..We Miss you guys.Have a great trip.Keep the pics coming,we love it!Robin

  79. Nancy Says:

    You lucky guys. Wish I was there too. It looks so pretty and WARM there. Have a super time!! Look forward to hearing from you again.

  80. Ricki Says:

    Hope the warmer desert air is helping you recover.
    I know there are other owl sites, but I am just not interested!! Nothing can compare to all the joy you brought to us and so I look at 2010 as a once in a lifetime wonderful experience with all my mementos to bring a smile to my face.

  81. Eleanor Dodge Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,
    So good to hear from you and know that you finally got away if even for a short while. Since I am orginally from Canada I must tell you that you are going to have a wonderful time when you finally get there. Beautiful country and very friendly people.
    And yes we do have quite a few owls to watch but nothing will take the place of our Molly and McGee. You gave us a once in a lifetime experience and for that I am grateful. And thanks to your recent post we know that they are there in the box and producing more little owlets. We will just have to pull on our memories, look at our beautiful coffee table book or watch our DVD to relive it over again.
    Thanks again for everything you have given us and I’m hoping that you both have wonderful trips in the days to come.
    Much love
    Eleanor

  82. Dianne Morris Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna – Glad you are keeping us up to date on your well-deserved and overdue travels. Don’t come up to Canada yet though unless you like the cold and snow ;) Have a wonderful time no matter where you travel.

    Warm thoughts,
    Dianne

  83. Kevin Says:

    Thank you Carlos ,Donna and Austin for everything you have done for us. Carlos what would be really neat is if once in a while you could do a live broadcast for an hour or so and update us on the owl box and what ever else you would like to tell us. You could send out a message on the blog telling us when you would be having the live broadcast. We all would love to keep in touch with you ,Donna and Austin. You became a part of our family and I and I’m sure everyone else would love to see a live broadcast once in a while. Hope to see you soon on a live broadcast. Take car and have fun on you vacations. Kevin

  84. Kevin Says:

    Thank you Carlos ,Donna and Austin for everything you have done for us. Carlos what would be really neat is if once in a while you could do a live broadcast for an hour or so and update us on the owl box and what ever else you would like to tell us. You could send out a message on the blog telling us when you would be having the live broadcast. We all would love to keep in touch with you ,Donna and Austin. You became a part of our family and I and I’m sure everyone else would love to see a live broadcast once in a while. Hope to see you soon on a live broadcast. Take care and have fun on you vacations. Kevin

  85. milleraj@gra.midco.net Says:

    Glad to see you both of you enjoying yourselves, well deserved. Take some pictures of unique critters/birds/flowers and post along the way. Now I know what bug you were fighting. I now have it, and it is a nasty, nasty cold. So on the way to Canada bring some of those warm temps with you. Take care both of you. AJ

  86. Jennifer O'Hara Says:

    Happy Camping and desert dancing. I miss you, in spite of the other boxes and beautiful owls. You were the first and the best. I hope you don’t get tired of me/us saying “Thank you” because I will be thankful to you for the rest of my life for this past year. Gee that was fun, and I was part of it. All the best, you two. Have TOO MUCH FUN! ♥♥♥

    Jennifer O’Hara, Sacramento, CA

  87. Alana Says:

    Hi Carlos! I thought you should know that there are people on the Mel & Sydney Social Stream that believe the “Carlos Royal” (with your photo or someone that looks alot like you) is not you at all. He’s been accused on the stream as impersonating you (name&photo), but says that he’s never claimed he was you. Something fishy is going on. I’m writing this on your blog because I don’t know how else to notify you.

  88. Mary Says:

    Carlos, We are sending you lots of warm wishes and positive energy in hopes that you will finally shake what’s left of that bug. The lasting lung thing seems to be a part of it. My son had it linger for a couple of months and he is still a teen. Deep tissue massage and gentle pounding on the back helped.

    Your coffee table book is magnificant!! You should be extremely proud as your work will be treasured and admired by many for years to come! I also had tears come to my eyes reading it: yes, because it brought back such warm wonderful memories, and also, because the USPS did a number on it before dropping it on my doorstep. I really do believe they have possibly hired errant primates to work the mailrooms in select cities now. Lol. Do you remember those luggage commercials years ago? Same idea where I currently live, having moved to this state about a year ago. Anyway, we miss hearing your mellifluous voice and your latest commentary. Thanks for the updates and the photos. Reading all of the many sentimental comments, I couldn’t help wondering if Austin wouldn’t be interesting in doing a Mini-DVD from the second clutch over his spring holidays to put him over the top with his college expenses goal. We wish him well and hope you will keep us up on how he is doing.

  89. Susanralph Says:

    The coffee table book is beautiful. God speed, God bless, God bless Molly and Mcgee, God bless America! (hi MODS)

  90. owloverbo Says:

    My headline when San Marcos becomes the city of owls…”all started because Donna Royal wanted and owl box and her wonderful husband build one and then they shared it with the world”
    Thank you C&D.
    happy and safe travels

  91. Kit Merritt Says:

    Dear Royals,

    We Thank You for giving us the gift of Molly & McGee and the owlets. It was a great experience and has enlightened us on the lives of nocturnal wildlife. We received Carlos’ Molly & McGee photograph book and it brought back many, many memories of late night owl watching! The photographs are beautiful as are your photos of the desert.

    Thanks!

  92. Carole Says:

    Carlos, seems you were the first with this flu! It is all over the central coast now and takes a long while to get back to normal! Even with flu shots, didn’t stop this one! Doctors rx/ing antibiotics or anti-bacterial meds as well as prednisone! Hoping you have arrived back to your normal energetic self, by now!
    Enjoy the desert air! We are all thinking “owls” aren’t we?

  93. Ginny in NJ Says:

    We love the coffee table book. Thanks so much. We are looking forward to receiving the 2nd clutch one.
    Last summer on hot days you had the sprinkler running. If the owls are there this summer are you going to have someone turn it on? I thought that was an excellent way you had to keep the owlets cooler.
    Enjoy your travels. I am your age and we agree now is the time to travel.

  94. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to Carlos and Donna!!! Hope you have a wonderful day. Are you still in the desert? What is the temp there this time of year? Just watched Bea and Jay fledge on Phoebe Allen’s web site. Been watching it for several yrs now. Love the Hummers. But really fell in love with M&M and Ashley and Carrie. Bea and Jay were the funiest hummer chicks I’ve watched, gald they fledged and are ok but will miss them. I can’t tell you how I miss M&M, I loved your broadcast, and when Donna came on…what a blessing. Enjoy your travels, please keep us up to date on the 3rd clutch we all love you guys sooooo much…and miss you even more. Madonna

  95. Tracy Says:

    I guess we all got a little attached to Molly and McGee (just a little ;)) but you’re right Carlos, there are a lot of other owls to watch. We hoped to see them on the cameras again but I’m sure we all understand that you guys do have a life besides the owls and I am happy to hear your enjoying it and hope you have safe travels. Any update on M&M will always be appreciated though as there are lots of MOD’s out there now! lol
    Enjoy your retirement – All the best.

  96. Jan Sessions Says:

    Dear Carlos, thank you for updates on you and Donna. Please consider posting on FB occasionally to let us know that you are feeling better. Love and prayers for good health soon.
    Jan

  97. Celeste Mark Says:

    Dear Carlos & Family,
    We so loved having the update and having a “Family Reunion” with all our friends while on The Owl Box site, as well as seeing the wonderful Couple with their new clutch for this new year 2011.. I just wanted to know on your Video in November you mentioned a “communication” between McGee and Carrie by any chance did you record that event?? if so please could you put it on the site? Also the new video with Molly Knows best Was great!! Please keep us updated when you can!! Have fun and love you gutz.. Gee that was fun and I was part of it… Thanks so much


Leave a Reply

