McGee

January 27, 2011

McGee on Watch

 

McGee showed up last night to celebrate my birthday. Molly too, but she seems to be pre-occupied inside the box. McGee kept posing on the fledge ledge until I finally said, “Okay” and I went inside and got my camera. More than likely Molly has some eggs since all the other owl boxes in the area with tenants have eggs. We don’t know how many as the cameras are not hooked up. It will be a surprise when the owlets come out of the box.
The book Molly and McGee, The World’s Most Famous Barn Owls are being delivered so watch your mail box. We are getting reports daily of deliveries. All orders prior to last week have been mailed but remember it could take up to three weeks for your book to arrive.

 

Molly and McGee, The World's Most Famous Barn Owls

 

Molly and McGee, The Second Clutch

Carlos, Donna and Austin

96 Responses to “McGee”

  1. Julie Says:

    Happy Birthday Carlos. Thanks for sharing the handsome couple with us. Surprises are good!

  2. Ginny Howard Says:

    How majestic McGee looks! Thanks for the thrill!

  3. ibinfallbrook Says:

    That’s a great shot of not only McGee but also Molly visible thru the doorway – wonder how many eggs she’s sitting on???

  4. GeniaKnitz Says:

    Oh, love seeing the magnificent McGee on guard and his beautiful Molly lying down inside the box – wish we knew how many eggs she is brooding!

    Thanks, Carlos, at least we can imagine what is going on inside, since we have “been there” before.

    So glad you had a happy birthday.

  5. Rhonda Says:

    Happy birthday Carlos. I hope it’s happy and healthy – for everyone in your family. I sure do thank you for the wonderful experience of watching Molly and McGee and the owlets this past year. That’s something I always carry with me in my heart and head. God bless y’all and be well!

  6. francie bowers Says:

    Thanks for the update Carlos, McGee is as handsome as ever!!

  7. Jeannie Necessary Says:

    How wonderful to get a glipmse of M&M. They look like a seasoned couple. Thanks for snapping this photo. I look forward to receiving my book.

  8. Brenda Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Carlos!! Wow, 68 and still looking and feeling good, that’s fantastic. I’m also happy to hear you are over your “bug” and back to normal. Stay healthy!

    In regards to our beloved couple M&M, I must say, I do believe that Molly is indeed laying on some eggs just seeing her pretty face thru the door and McGee on watch. I so miss not watching what’s going on inside the box. It’s weird not knowing when they were laid and how many are. It just feels so strange. Just keep us posted as you have been and we’ll all be surprised as the little darlings appear before us one of these days as you capture them by taking pictures.

    Thanks for all the updates. You’re still keeping us well informed. I haven’t received my coffee table book yet (I live in O’side), but I’m sure when it gets here I’ll be extremely excited to open it up and enjoy your hard work & dedication as well as remembering our precious owlets.

    Take care and keep those blogs coming!

  9. Barbara Bolton Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Carlos. Thank you for the photo…with all the other owl boxes to watch, I still miss Molly and McGee and YOUR commentaries! I love Molly peeking out! Cheers to your “retirement”…

  10. MARIE DEMARCO Says:

    Both of them look just as sweet as ever!

    Miss them…thanks for the photo!

    Marie

  11. SARose69 Says:

    Thanks for the updates! Waiting impatiently for my book!

  12. SueinMaine Says:

    How nice of you to keep us all updated on M&M, Carlos. My best to you and your family. Glad you are feeling better, that you had a good birthday and that your “backyard family” is doing well also!! :o) What a great photo of McGee and then a lovely surprise to see Molly peeking out!! Thanks again! Sue

  13. Ellen516 Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Carlos! Are you sure you don’t want to hook up the camera and sneak a peek?
    Only kidding. You’ve done more than enough. And boy is that McGee one of the most handsome birds. I swear he knows he’s having his picture taken.

  14. Marmysmom Says:

    I just received my Molly and McGee book. I almost burst into tears looking at the photos, they are beautiful and the memories will last a long time. Thank you Carlos and Eric for the wonderful memories.

    I think it only fitting that Molly and McGee spent some of your birthday with you, they have been such a big part of your life during the last year.

  15. Sharon Says:

    Nice to get the updates. Belated Happy Birthday and glad you are finally starting to feel better!!!
    Have a suggestion: maybe you could set up the camera in the owl box just for your viewing and post some pics sometimes? Really going to miss watching but certainly understand all the time and expense you went through to share that with all of us.

  16. Bonita Lyon Says:

    Wow!! THAT is one precious photo. Something happens to my heart when I see M and M again. Thank you so very, very, very much for sharing your wonderful photos with us. Glad McGee showed for your Birthday…”icing on the cake” so to speak. Bonnibell

  17. Ginny in NJ Says:

    Thanks for giving us updates. It is great to know that everything is going well with the owls.

  18. Jerri Suominen Wolder Says:

    Got my book last week.Beautiful!Congratulations on such beautiful photos.Love it! Thank you so much.
    Joyful Jerri in Utah

  19. Kathy Says:

    What a lovely picture! So glad McGee came by for your party. It’s wonderful to know that they are doing well. Thanks you, truly.

  20. VeeTX Says:

    McGee, you handsome devil, are you going to be a Daddy again??? Congratulations to you and Molly.

  21. Joan Says:

    wow they did come to celebrate with you.. Cutie Molly just peeking out too.. McGee is looking good .. THANK YOU FOR THE PICTURE.. it’s so good to know that the sweeties are still doing well.. I can’t emphasize enough how welcome your updates are.. Joan

  22. Annette L. Says:

    You are such nice to keep us updated on M&M! Thank you SO much! What a wonderful picture! Sweet Molly taking good care of her eggs and handsome McGee protecting his family! :) Can’t wait to sit on my back porch and see the owlets come out of our owl box! (That you have inspired us to install!) Hope that we won’t have to wait 3 years for it to be filled !

    Thank you for all you have done and all that you still do for us MODS!!

  23. Mary F Says:

    I hope you had a very happy birthday, Carlos. Enjoy your time with Donna and M & M. I am so happy they are with you.
    I got my “Molly and McGee” today in the mail and cried as i relived all the wonderful moments. I thank you from the bottom of my heart and will love you and yours forever. Thank you for the updates, too. it is good to know they are doing well.
    Mary in Encinitas,CA

  24. rosiebud Says:

    Its almost, ALMOST, better to see them come out of their box then watching them grow. Now that will truley be a surprise!!

  25. rosiebud Says:

    Oh, almost forgot to mention how cute Molly looks peeking out the door.

  26. Twoclubs Jane Says:

    Carlos, what a lovely Birthday surprise to have our Old Leggs McGee posing for your camera. And to think Molly is probably inside with the third clutch. We miss em still. Happy to know we will get updates. Thank you and God Bless you, Donna, and Austin.

  27. hummerzz Says:

    Thanks Carlos for the picture. We can only imagine…….

  28. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Oh Carlos, how precious, Mcgee with Molly peeking out. I love these two owls!!!! And I love you for sharing with us. This is the next best thing to having the cameras up. And I still have not given up on the camers being up for next yr! I’m gonna pray every night that we get to watch again someday. The owl box is still the first thing I log onto before I go to work and the last thing before I go to bed. You know they say old habits are hard to break! Honest, I have watched the other boxes, and I try to get interested but then your name and M&M’s names always come up in chat and I start thinking of them and start to get sad so I log off. I can’t help it …just how I am I guess. Thank you again for this amazing pic. Madonna

  29. Cynthia Fitzgearld Says:

    Hiya Carlos and DONNA ,HAPPY BIRTHDAY CARLOS ,glad to hear your feeling better,that bugs been going around i had it also.thanks for keeping us updated on molly and mcgee.love the picture of mcgee,and molly in box looking out.such beautiful owls they are the best.really missing them so much.i love your updates,please keep up the updates on molly and mcgee,love them,and pics.missing you and donna so much love cynthia fitzgerald


  30. I respect your decision so much so I don’t want to put any pressure on you BUT look at those little faces looking at you. It’s like they really want you to take their photo. Look at Molly peeping out saying “Here I am take my picture too!!!” So sweet.

  31. Monica Says:

    Thank you for the precious picture of M&M!! McGee looks so regal!!! A proud papa to be, I’m sure! Imagining what surprises will come out of the box in a few months…Molly and McGee sure bring a smile to my face every time I see a picture of them. Last weekend, I took my boys on a short roadtrip, and we played Barbara Allen’s CD, over and over again, re-living our experience, as well as remembering our trip to the San Marcos picnic. Good times!!!

  32. flukestail Says:

    A 3rd clutch for Molly girl!!! Bummer we’re not all online watching she & McGee & chatting w/ Carlos, but…I’m thrilled to hear the news she may be “expecting” again!

    As always, thanks for the update, Carlos!

  33. flukestail Says:

    Re-subscribing.

  34. Couleedam (Nora) Says:

    As always, your photographs amaze me. Leggs McGee always was a poser and look at Molly, so demure ;) She certainly is a good momma. I got my photobook on Friday, and I am enjoying it so very much!! Thanks for keeping us updated, even if it is “outside the box”!! Thanks again for all you do, for us.


  35. Ahhhh great picture of McGee. He looks like he is saying “not again with the pictures” and Molly looks like she is all tuckered out! Thank you for still taking pictures of these well-known, popular barn owls!!! Take care!

  36. Debbie Says:

    What a handsome couple; someone called McGee regal: a perfect description! He and Molly are pros at this now.
    Glad they joined you for your birthday.

  37. Karin Says:

    Thanks for the update Carlos. As we watch live feed from other owlbox sites we will not forget our little M&Ms. Such a stricking couple they are.

  38. Judy R Says:

    Oh.. how handsome McGee is… and beautiful Molly peeking out the door. I’m sure they have began their new family.
    Wishing you a very happy birthday and a healthy year.

  39. Rose Says:

    So happy to see McGee and peeking Molly. My BD was on Saturday and Molly & Mcgee sent me a bd present, yes, I got my Molly & Mcgee Book!
    I was soo happy I cried, wHat a wonderful book, brings back soo many happy memories. Thank You, Carlos and Donna!
    Rose

  40. DianaJoe Says:

    Thanks for the picture. Love the update.

  41. susan Says:

    thanks for posting the photo – I love the male owls, they are so pretty, and McGee is my favorite. I hope Molly’s on eggs along with the other gals.

  42. Debbie Says:

    Beautiful picture and so happy to see both Molly and McGee.

  43. Becky Konkol Says:

    Mr.Royal- Wishing you a very Happy Belated Birthday! More MOD babies? weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  44. NatureLuver Says:

    Yippee, pictures of Molly & McGee! They look wonderful. Updates are Sooooo very appreciated with your wonderful photographs. I too will be crying when I get my coffee table book. I get teared up just reading others posts about it. I’m such a sap!

    Carlos, you and Donna gave so much time to the owl box last year. I understand not peeking in on them with this third clutch. MOD may take hold again and you’ll never get out of town! LOL. Ditto to all the previous posts…..especially that M&M and you & Donna will always be tops!

    All my LOVE as always,
    Liz G. From TX

  45. Kathy Bowman Says:

    Thanks so much for the Molly and McGee fix. I love the other owls but am still most attached to Molly and McGee. Glad you have your camera and that they were into posing :-)

    Kathy

  46. Mary Says:

    Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for the update and the photos. Molly and McGee sure look relaxed with you and having you take their picture once again. Maybe they’ve missed it as much as we have. Knowing that this was/is supposed to be your year “off”, it was particularly generous of you to do that. Many of us Mods have scattered in different directions but you will always be “TOPS” in our hearts, Carlos.

  47. Linda Greene Says:

    I agree with what’s been said. McGee looks so stately!! My heart also skips a beat when sightings of M & M are shown. Thanks for keeping us updated Carlos!!

    ldgreene123

  48. encinitaskj Says:

    I got my book today!!! The photos are wonderful! I can’t wait for the second clutch too! It seems that owls are popping up everywhere! I love it!

  49. Kim in San Diego Says:

    My Molly book arrived today and it is SPECTACULAR!!
    The pictures are beautiful, the paper is awesome & the way Eric arranged it is just so right. Thank you all for a wonderful ride.

  50. Kitty Carlyle Says:

    Dear Carlos,

    Happy Birthday, again… I was here on your birthday, now back again. What a wonderful surprise for your birthday – the handsome McGee, posing for you again.

    Stay well and keep us posted when you can.

    Big hugs, Kitty

  51. Teri Saffren - Irthum Says:

    Thank you for the picture Carlos. McGee sure is a handsome owl and Molly saying “Happy Birthday” to you from a distance. So glad your birthday was a fun!
    tsaffirth

  52. Glenn Says:

    Happy Birthday Carlos, you are such a Great Photographer and post some wonderful photos of Molly and Mcgee. Maybe later you will hook up on of the outside cameras to see the ouwlets come out and play on the playground that you have made for them. Thank you for the Pictures and updates.

  53. Laura Hollingsworth Says:

    Thank you for the M&M picture :)

  54. Amy B. in IL Says:

    I hope you had a nice birthday Carlos! What a treat that McGee spent some time with you! Good to hear they have nested again in the box. Look forward to your updates!

  55. Judy (sunza) Says:

    Thank you, Carlos, for the gorgeous picture of good ole McGee and Molly, too. So happy that you could celebrate your birthday with them!!! Also glad you are feeling better, and thanks for taking the time to update us all!!!

  56. Sherry Kelly Says:

    Thanks so much for this great picture. What a nice birthday present for you, Carlos! I really miss those two special owls. I am anxiously waiting for my two copies of the “coffee table” book of photos. Have a great weekend everyone!

  57. PegRod Says:

    Carlos – the fun, surprises, and fabulous photography from you continues – thank you so much!

    I went back to see if I could find the first blog entry you made for this site. I think this is it!

    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/2010/03/20/hatching-observations/

    If people start here, then I think they can use the bottom guides to read them all.
    https://mollysbox.wordpress.com/blog/page/28/

    If not, I would still advise people to go to the first entry and read a new one everyday – it is worth the time it takes to page back to the start! What a joy, especially if you missed it all – and you can still comment!

  58. SactoSylvia Says:

    Happy Birthday, Carlos! May you have a wonderful year (although in my book, it would be hard to beat the last one)!

    Thanks you for the photo and update. There are other owls out there, but only Molly and McGee are occupying “The owl box:!

  59. Julie Says:

    Happy Birthday Carlos! Loved the photo of handsome McGee- and then I noticed Molly peeking out. What a great shot! Appreciate so much you keeping us informed. It made my day when I saw this photo. Thanks and have a wonderful day!

  60. donna Says:

    Oh Carlos thank you so much for the picture. Beautiful Molly, maybe siting on her eggs peeking out the door and handsome McGee siting on the perch keeping watch, it made my day! I’m so glad you had a nice birthday you deserve it. My book hasn’t come yet but I’m on the east coast where all the beautiful snow is so it might take a while. Thank You again for everything!

  61. joanne51 Says:

    Hi Carlos,

    Happy belated birthday wishes Carlos :0) Hope you and Donna had a nice celebration dinner.

    Lovely to see our handsome McGee too. I just love
    Molly and McGee. They will always have a special place in my heart…even if there are other owls to
    watch.

    Looking forward to seeing your photo book Carlos. I hope your hand isn’t too sore after all the signatures.

    Thank you for sharing your blog with us .. I love the updates.

    Take care,

    Joanne

  62. A FAN OF M&M Says:

    Happy Bday Carlos and oh what a joy to see McGee. Yes Molly looks like she is nesting. Oh I miss them so, but we have several boxes to keep us preoccupied. Look what M&M stated. The Barn Owl Population will be ample this year. Better get boxes for rats, mice and bunnies to help feed all of the owls! :o Thank you again for everything!


  63. Thank you so much for keeping us informed about
    Molly & Mcgee. I don’t blame you for not wanting to repeat what you went through for about ayear. Many thanks for the info. Please keep it coming so we are up to date on the happenings.

  64. Susan Belloff Says:

    Carlos,
    Sorry this birthday greeting is belated, but I have not had my computer on for 2 days so I didn’t see your birthday posting til just a few minutes ago. Hope you got to do something fun. My husband and I went to see the musical Cats last night. It was terrific. The dancing was soooo good.
    Did you see the Coopers hawk flying around in the Library of Congress? I immediately thought of all the excitement the one caused at the Owl Box!
    Love the picture of McGee showing off his stuff and Molly peeking out of the box. Thanks for posting it.
    Susan

  65. Marilyn Dorr Says:

    Nice to see a new picture when I check the Blog! I was going to comment that I got my book today and had been enjoying it, then checked the blog and lo and behold a NEW picture of McGee and Molly!
    Happy Birthday, too. And thanks for keeping us informed of your adventures.

  66. jackie theisen Says:

    Awesome pic of McGee & Molly in door, make’s me miss them so much. how can you stand not knowing what’s going on in the box? or how many egg’s there might be. you could give update’s & not have cam’s on like before , would want you to for you & Donna & not feel like you had too for us. we’d understand & as there are so many now to watch no one should mind.something to think about. & a late Birthday wish & what a gift seeing M&M. Take Care Carlos & Donna

  67. Anne Martin Says:

    Thank you for the great picture Carlos; Molly and McGee are still so dear to me. I got my Molly photo book; all I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!! You and Eric gave us all a very beautiful keepsake. Thank you so very much for all the work you put into it, and thank you for signing it; that makes it extra special! Happy birthday Carlos!!!!!!

  68. Eleanor Dodge Says:

    Carlos thank you so much for the picture of my beloved McGee. He is looking as majestic as he always does. Such beautiful owls.
    HUGZ
    Eleanor

  69. Ruth Says:

    I look foward to your photo updates! Thank you for sharing them with us. Take care.

  70. Robin/Bigsis Says:

    It wouldn’t have been a birthday Carlos without McGee and Molly! xoxox

  71. Deborah Moore Says:

    I have been watching the other owl boxes and Molly & McGee are the best looking couple of them all !! Thanks for the photo. I received my book yesterday (in Florida). Fabulous photos!

  72. BonnieKay Says:

    Got home from a really hard days work to find my book was here. What a joy. Put the smile right back on my face. It is every bit as wonderful as I thought it would be. what memories.
    Happy Birthday Carlos.
    Thank You for the M&M update. Bonnie

  73. DianaJoe Says:

    Erich was interviewed on 97.1 in St. Louis Mo. I admire him so much.

  74. Monica Says:

    Thank you so much for keeping us updated and for the picture of our handsome McGee, and beautiful Molly peeking out.. So happy they both made it for your birthday and to help celebrate. Glad you had a great time. Hope to see you around the “owl” boxes..
    Hugz
    moniq50

  75. Kendra Linkous Says:

    Oh, look at Molly’s cute little face peeking out. How sweet she is! And what a beautiful picture of our handsome McGee!

  76. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thank you so much for the wonderful picture…hope you will have a surprise in the spring…good health to you and donna, austin too.

  77. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Oh Happy Happy Birthday Carlos!!!

    You can sooooo see our Molly is sitting on her eggs!! Third Clutch is here!!
    McGee looks beautiful!!
    Thank you so much for sharing!!!

    Love, Lisa from NE FL

  78. Carolyn Embry Says:

    Thanks, Carlos, for taking that photo and for sharing it with all the M & M devotees.

    My book arrived a couple of days ago. It’s lovely –beautiful photography, along with some wonderful quotes and poetry! Kudos to all involved in the production!

  79. angela Says:

    i love how molly is peeking out from her corner- she definitely appears to be on eggs- looks like a bumper crop of owls in CA this year !! maybe the barn owl can pull of CA bird of the year 2011!! :D of course molly will always the first winner <3 cant wait to get my book gonna splurge and by it for my birthday :D cant resist after hearing all the wonderful comments :D

  80. Maryann Says:

    I can see Molly peeking out…thank you Carlos for the update. Oh and happy belated birthday wishes! Wishing you many years of health and happiness. Can’t wait to see the pictures of the owlettes (hint hint) :) Is it possible that the owls in the other owlboxes are some of Molly’s offspring? Just a thought.

    njblue

  81. Camperfamily (Kim) Says:

    Carlos,

    ‘Nature’ continues to amaze me!!! What a striking picture of McGee and Molly!

    How can we ever thank you for all you have brought us and continue to share with us!

    Enjoy the beautiful day! I’m going out to sit by the pool! It’s 75’ here!!

  82. ItsAllAboutMeToo Says:

    Oh My God!!! Doesn’t is drive you crazy wondering how many eggs Molly has and when they will be hatching??? I am so curious!! Please let us know when you start to hear the little owlets!! I know you deserve a rest from all this, and thank goodness there are now other owl sites we can go to for viewing, but it’s not the same as M&M!! Thanks for this lovely photo of McGee (& Molly peeking out of the house)….Please continue to keep us in the loop!!


  83. Just thought it may interest all you owl watchers that California Dreamer who has a website with blutterflies, betas and other things, was just showing Carlos’ book live, flipping through the pages and telling all about it. She is so excited about it and wanted to share. She is very lucky, as she already got her book. Just as info. Thanks and regards

  84. Anne Ossentjuk Says:

    That McGee is still a poser! Always loved how he would wait for you Carlos to take his pic.
    I received my beau-ti-ful book today. What a keepsake. I will treasure it and my time at the “Royal” owlbox. Thank you so much.
    CrickInNeck

  85. Charlene Stanfield Says:

    Thank you so much for the photo of McGee and Molly peeking out at him. Love your photos of which I received my copy of your photo book yesterday the 27th. Love it! I only live about 20 miles away from Carlsbad in Escondido so I quess I am one of the lucky ones.

    Let us know if and when you hear little ones in the owl box. Maybe we can quess how many there are.

    Best wishes to you, Donna and all.

    Charlene

  86. Lori Says:

    Thanks Carlos for showing this picture. I’ve missed seeing them. Been watching the other owls, but it just isn’t the same…

  87. Alana Says:

    Thanks so much for the periodic photos of M&M! Please reconsider setting up the cameras again…pleeeeeease…pleeeeeease! Did I say please?? @:-) Oh well…I tried…sigh…

  88. PegRod Says:

    Just a note for new Owl Box Watchers. Eric Blehm and his wife Lorien Warner established Molly the Owl books because of the demand from Molly Friends and Fans! Go to their site to read more about it and you will see her name there! They state, “Our mission statement is also our motto: to create “Inspiring Adventures For Kids Of All Ages.”

    http://mollytheowlbooks.com/index.php

    They also have free Curriculum Guides for Teachers and are developing more materials:

    http://mollytheowlbooks.com/education/

  89. Leslie Reed Says:

    Happy birthday, Carlos! Just wandered by to see if there was anything new. So excited to see M & M. What a beautiful couple they are! Will be lurking around to get updates. Thanks for keeping the on-going saga of Molly & McGee alive!

  90. jess Says:

    I just got my coffee table book and it is beautiful!!!
    Looking thru the pictures gives me both goosebumps and watery eyes.
    I am so glad you did this!

  91. Liela M. Maielua Says:

    Thanks so much for the picture of McGee its so good to know they are both still around and hopefully you will see some young ones in the next few months.

  92. Sue Says:

    What a treat to see M&M again. Thanks for taking the time to take the photo andsharing. Hope you’ll send more photos if some little owlets come out.

  93. Jackie Says:

    Carlos, – I just received my Molly and McGee book. It is absolutely beautiful, fun, and such a wonderful reminder of this great experience you shared with us. Thank you ALL – Carlos, Donna, Austin, Eric – for this gorgeous book!

  94. YTQ Says:

    I received my Molly Book today, and it is more than I had hoped for. Thank you so very much for this tangible reminder of a very Magical Moment in Time., a never-to-be-forgotten experience. Thank you Grandmother Royal for being so special that Carlos wanted to share Molly with you, and ultimately, the whole world. The spin-off of The Owl Box is, of course, more owls to watch, but none will ever compare to Molly and McGee, our very first glimpse of Barn Owls and their owlets in the wild, and our first love. My heart is full, my eyes are even fuller and are running over. I will never forget.

  95. Sandy Says:

    Great shot! keep ’em coming! (yup, i bet she has eggs!)

  96. ruby ramey Says:

    i am trying to reach Jerri Suominen of Miami, Fla. If this is you please contact me at applife2945@yahoo.com
    Ruby Ramey


Leave a Reply

