Gee, That Was Fun

January 3, 2011

“Gee, that was fun and I was a part of it.” Now you know why I would not and did not allow politics in The Owl Box Chat Room. Did I make my point?

Also, I have been making humorous satirical predictions and sharing them with family, friends and business associates for years. I saw no reason to stop. This is not The Owl Box Chat Room, this is my blog. Oh yes, and by the way, I don’t hunt, I have no stuffed animals on my walls and I am not a Republican or a Democrat. I am a registered Independent.

They say that laughter is good for the soul and can help one get over illnesses. It must work because after reading all the comments and rolling on the floor with laughter, I felt much better this morning. How about you?

It also helped that Donna created just for me, fresh homemade chicken and dumpling soup… also known by mothers around the world as homemade penicillin or matzoth balls soup. And just to make sure I was going to get well fast, I concocted my secret feel good cure for the common cold. Please don’t share this, it is a secret. One cup of hot strong tea, one large tablespoon of raw honey, stir in some heavy cream and add a dash or two of cinnamon. Repeat four or five times a day as needed.  You know how most thing taste badly when you are sick. Well, this tastes wonderful and it sooths the throat plus it will warm you up and acts like an antibiotic. Warning: This feel good cure is not approved by the FDA or the AMA. See your doctor for medical advice. I am not a doctor.

Did you keep your New Years Resolution this morning and exercise or did you forget and add an extra pad of butter to your toast? Actually, I did both.

Today is the last day you will be able to order Austin’s Signed Limited Edition DVD for $19.95. Tomorrow the price goes up and they will no longer be signed.  http://austin4media.com/

Molly and Mcgee the photo book of the first clutch should be arriving soon for me to sign. There is still time to order a copy.   http://mollytheowlbooks.com/store/books-bookmarks/molly-and-mcgee-coffee-table-photography-book.html

 

All the best as we are now into 2011

 

Carlos, Donna and Austin

96 Responses to “Gee, That Was Fun”


  1. Is M&M still in the box?

  2. beezy357 Says:

    Happy 2011 to you and Donna too. I am glad you are feeling better Carlos. My hubby is feeling better too and is working on the porch for our barn owlbox right now…he has to put a dowel rail around it also, goes on a 16′ post. Can’t wait! 3 wks. ago we were driving into our driveway and a barnowl flew down past the house toward where the owlbox will be!!

  3. Marlene Hall Says:

    Gee, Carlos, it was so good to hear from you this morning. We miss you. Sure glad your cold is better. You even “sound” better. Hi to Donna and Austin too.

    I loved the wedding pictures as well. Such a handsome couple. Thanks for sharing.

    MarOfEC

  4. Jo-Ann Giunti Says:

    My prediction was correct… You are better within a week…
    Maybe it wasn’t my prediction but Donnas chicken soup and dumplings… or the tea and honey… Anyway glad you are healthy today…. Have a wonderful New Years..
    ps… I knew you didn’t have stuffed heads on your walls…only your nose was stuffed!!!

  5. Nancy Anthony Says:

    Carlos, I am so happy to hear you are feeling better. I like your toddy recipe. In my family we also add a bit of “spirits” of choice to a similar concoction. I agree with you 100% about keeping politics, etc. out of the owl chat. And I respect the fact that this is Your blog. I look forward to reading it every day and hope someday to be able to meet you and Donna and Austin in person. I got my Master’s at San Diego State and have wonderful memories of living in San Diego. Take care, Nancy (homedaleteach)

  6. TES Says:

    Whew….you had me worried there for a while, Carlos. Laughter and chicken soup make life a whole lot better. So happy to hear you are feeling better. Any sightings of Miss Molly and her friend McGee?

  7. mary Says:

    OK after reading this post I had to go back and read the comments on the last one – Amazing! Astounding! I am glad you can laugh Carlos, and hope you keep trying to stir up trouble, it keeps us all on out toes.

    Thank you and all your family again for the most interesting Blog I have visited. Anyone who doesn’t like it can vote with their feet.

    Any McGee sightings by the way?

  8. CAequuslvr Says:

    Oh, Carlos, so glad you are feeling better. Your special, secret “cold cure” recipe sounds really good. I must try it.

    You are just the best. Never change.

    Love the “disclaimer”.

  9. Judy Says:

    I would always support your right to post whatever you like on your own blog. Glad you are feeling better.

  10. Kathy Copas Says:

    Hi,Carlos

    … from here in Indiana/Kentucky MOD country! Feel better soon—love hearing from you via your wonderfully witty blog. Happy New Year!

    My New Year’s exercise program? RUNNING to meet deadlines, JUMPING to conclusions, and—well—just generally PUSHING my luck!

    Love to you and Donna and owls everywhere!

    Kathy Copas

  11. Judy Says:

    A shot of good whiskey added to your tea/honey cure will help insure that you don’t much mind having a miserable cold!

  12. Kendra Linkous Says:

    It WAS fun and I WAS a part of it! Exercised last night – Zumba! No butter this morning. Glad you are feeling better. Yes, I remember ‘spirits’ in my hot tea as well. Made you forget you were sick! Any news on M & M?

  13. Ann Says:

    Your blog put SPO chat into a frenzy . OMG! It was funny and pathetic at the same time.

    Are you seeing Molly and McGee at all? There are several new barn owl cams and they are bonding VERY regularly! I must say also, that the standards for owl boxes is much higher these days! Good job for setting that bar high.

    Glad you are feeling better.

  14. christine Says:

    Happy New Year to all the Royals! I did not exercise today, but I did think about it…maybe tomorrow. Glad you are feeling better.

  15. nhptown2 Says:

    I read your predictions, and enjoyed it all. Glad I did not read the comments. I think you are a very clever writer and look forward to reading your blogs. Thank you for sharing!!! Happy New Year to all!
    Nancy

  16. Seabrz78 Says:

    ROFL What you said is what I told owl chatters. It’s your blog and I enjoy anything you write :) I was more worried about your health than your fun predictions. I am so glad that Donna’s delicious sounding soup and your secret recipe is making you feel much better. May you have a Joyous New Year.

    Sea

  17. Sharon (parrotfriend) Says:

    Glad you are feeling better. Old remedies are great and if Drs. say they don’t work who cares as long as you feel better.
    You, Donna and family have a happy, healthy, new year.

  18. Caboval Says:

    I must try “secret” recipe! LOLOL Glad you feel better!!! Cab

  19. June Schafer Says:

    Love the Blog! It’s yours Carlos——go for it!!
    Glad you are feeling better and looking forward to my copy of M&M!!
    June Schafer
    Greer, SC

  20. Darlene Watson Says:

    Hello Carlos from BC Canada,

    I really enjoyed reading both of your blogs, I find it so intersting how quickly people can get their feathers ruffled, sure dosn’t take much at times. Thank you for keeping us posted on all that you have been. Take care and a very Happy New Year to all of your family.

  21. Anne Ossentjuk Says:

    It was so much fun! I miss Molly. Thank you so much Carlos for sharing her with us and your wonderful family.
    To all the haters out there, Please, please, please…… UN…………SUB………..SCRIBE!!! We really don’t care!!!
    Anne (CrickInNeck)

    • NatureLuver Says:

      Anne,
      A part of me totally agrees….UNSUBSCRIBE…..but then again they make me laugh at how quickly and passionately they can get riled up and the stuff they dare say!! Ouch!
      I’m having FUN here, and you’re right again, I don’t really care!
      Best to you and ALL MODS
      (((((((HUGZ)))))))
      Liz Garney in League City, TX

  22. Gates 2057 Says:

    Your tea recipe sounds wonderful, in sickness or in health! And this chilly California afternoon will be a perfect time to try it. Thanks!

  23. Sharon Penfold Says:

    Carlos, you are a hoot! Really, so good to hear from you again. You are such a sweetie, and I know that everyone has missed you terribly. Loved your predictions! I want to buy gold! You really are a treasure—thanks for your cyber-friendship. (You know that we all consider ourselves your friends, don’t you?) Have a great new year—hope we have owls again! Love to you and Donna. Share1222

  24. Anne Martin Says:

    I am glad you are feeling better Carlos. I miss your joy and laughter and Donna’s mimosa tree. The Molly blog is still my first must see each morning. I hope you are feeling fit and drinking your famous cocoa soon. Your laughter has helped me to make it through; I for one am glad you continue to spread it around even with a cold! Stay sweet you two.

  25. Nancy S-Velvette Says:

    Hope you feel better soon, that yummy tea recipe is a good one, which I will try sick or not.
    Healthy New Year and hope to see the Royal gang live and in person this spring!
    xoxo

  26. Kit Says:

    Carlos, you crack me up! I did not excerise today and had really great sunflower seed multi grain bread toasted with real butter. So far, it’s been a great new year! Happy New Year to your family, the owls and all the MODS! Hope we can get together again for another clutch some day.

    pensacolakit (home of the Blue Angels)

  27. DebNeedsToTweet Says:

    LMAO! Glad you are feeling better Carlos. Love to you and Donna this bright new year. ROFL when reading the New Year’s Day Predictions but never read the comments until today after I read new post. Too funny! You’re right about keeping politics off the chat…unbelievable (some of the comments posted). Enjoy your time off but please COME BACK!

  28. LoveYourDNA Says:

    Happy New Year!!

    Go for it, Carlos. Whichever way the wind blows you, this MOD will follow…

    One minor suggestion: please have some owl experts on this year so we can learn more and new things about the species!

    The best to you and yours,
    julie

  29. Sally aka MollyLoverForever Says:

    Carlos – you are the best – and it is your blog – I support you 100%! Glad to hear you’re better. As an aside, I want to say, Yeah! beezy357 – you must be tremendously excited! How wonderful!

  30. Mommybugs (Holly Tomlinson) Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    I would love to know if you are going to set-up the cameras and broadcast this year? I know you have been avoiding this subject. I pray that some your followers on this blog would keep their negative comments out of here; although I am like you laughing pretty hard because of how far they look into the situation. I enjoy watching Molly and McGee and listening to your updates. Lord Bless you and your family this year.

  31. Donna Koski Says:

    I am glad to hear you are surviving and you are getting all that wonderful care. I enjoyed all your yearly comments. I hope you will be on your feet soon. Sorry to hear some folks gave you a rough time while you were on line. There is always some comments that are not pleasing and can be accusing. Ignore. But the majority loves you, your family and all the owls. Thanks again for a wonder owl year.

  32. Jeri Lynn in NW FL Says:

    Was I supposed to add exercise this year? lol! I need it! So happy you’re feeling better! Hope the Royals have a Happy New Year!

  33. NatureLuver Says:

    Wow, homemade soup, secret recipes, and M&M in the backyard….who wouldn’t be feeling better.

    Carlos I love you dearly and I too support you 100%.

    Donna I love you too, you are such a good wife. Carlos is a lucky man and I think he knows it!

    Wishing you and the rest of the Royal family (including our Owls) a Blessed and
    Healthy 2011********

    Liz Garney, League City, TX

  34. DianaJoe Says:

    I got up this morning with every intention to do my exercises . So I sat back down in my chaise and commenced to suck my gut in and out, in and out. Does isometric excerise count? Loved the blog!

  35. Cathy Messer Says:

    Carlos, you are sooo funny, love your predictions and sense of humor. That is what we love about you and Donna!! Get Well Soon. Cathy in Spokane.

  36. Janie Branison Says:

    Donna to the rescue again! We all love you both and wish the best for you in the new year. Happy owl watching for you (and us?). I’ve tried so hard not to nag you about putting the cameras back up. It just slipped out. ;-)


  37. Nothing like chicken soup and the tea sounds wonderful! Hope that cures what ails you Carlos.

    NY’s resolution is to get back to walking. I did get in my first walk with my new knee yesterday. It was wonderful. But today, though the sun shines, the wind blows and it is cold. So I spent my afternoon in my office with the shredder.

    Take care and rest a lot.

  38. Braveheart2665 Says:

    Carlos,
    So glad you are back to feeling like your old funny self – Happy New Year & say hi to M & M. Wishing them happy canoodling & many owlets in 2011. And Gee it’s always been fun !

  39. Kathy Says:

    You are one of a kind Carlos! I’m sure you’ve heard that before. LOL Really happy that you are feeling better and have noted down the “cure” you suggest. My New Year’s resolution is to NOT exercise everyday, and so far I’ve been successful. Hoping to fall off the wagon soon, however.

    Love and hugs to all creatures great and small at the Royal estate.

  40. Diana B Says:

    When we were young – our pediatrician told my mother to give us whiskey, lemon and raw honey (equal parts but I am sure there were times she went heavy on the lemon) – For years I thought that was normal cough syrup -I was the only girl scout was not permitted to come back the following year because of my “medicine” – Man – I did have an Rx for it! To this day – I still use that when I have a cold – my kids grew up with it too – Doesn’t OTC cold medicine have alcohol in it :) Feel better.

  41. Patsy Butler Says:

    Yes it was fun and very glad I was part of it! Carlos glad you are feeling better love your secret concocted feel good tea, I am a tea lover and want to share a new tea wiith you, it is calle Primula tea, it is a tea flower that blooms in hot water. You can get it at Macy’s or go to PrimulaTea.com. Have a great 2011 hope to see U soom on chat. Your Owl Friend Patsy aka MomNbeth

  42. Sherry Kelly Says:

    Happy New Year Royals! I have not been on my computer for a few days as we have had lots of New Year company and activities keeping me busy. I loved getting on and catching up with this latest post. I am still missing the owl box and am looking forward to receiving my “coffee table” book! All the best, MOD Sherry Kelly, Yukon, Oklahoma

  43. Cathy Mueller (maxermum) Says:

    Happy New Year, Royals
    I don’t exercise until night time so kettlebell workout coming tonight at 7. I just have to start doing it more than 3x a week. Did start eating correctly again today. Hope your cold gets better and better and Donna doesn’t catch it. Keep in touch. Love hearing about what’s happening in the Royal household.

  44. TByrd Says:

    Carlos….it’s good to hear you’re on the mend. I have to say some of the MODs were quite upset over your blog and some even took it personally. You never cease to surprise us and I wish you continued good health and prosperity in the New Year. Here’s to looking forward to an upcoming clutch of little owlets soon. Just keep on being you cause you are such a joy with a skewed sense of humor. Deet, deet, deet. Your humble MOD, TByrd

  45. Darlene Salisbury Says:

    Hello Carlos.
    I love hearing from you. I also support you 100%. This is your blog and you have the right to say anything you want. I’ve laughed over this. It’s funny. We are truly blessed by what you’ve done for MODS all over the world. Thank you Carlos and Donna and I will also be trying your cure. It sounds wonderful and I don’t even have a cold. I’m glad you are getting better. Carlos and Donna, have a blessed and Healthy and Happy New Year. Looking forward to getting my Coffee table book from both clutches. Be well and keep in touch.
    Darlene Salisbury NW Oregon.

  46. joym13 Says:

    Happy New Year Carlos and Donna! I know have to go back and read the comments from your New Year’s Day post – they sound like they will be entertaining! I found your predicition hilarious and entertaining – keep smiling! I am glad to hear you are feeling so much better.

  47. karen l moore Says:

    carlos, carlos, carlos………….

    only you!!! you have brought so much joy and happiness and good old fashioned fun to so many people–the blogs have me laughing–thanks for that…..too bad there are always a few “sticks in the mud” who don’t appreciate a little “tongue in cheekness”–ah well, their loss…….

    may the new new year bring you and all your wonderful family lots of good health, happiness and prosperity.

    thanks for it all royals!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    k l moore

  48. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Glad you are feeling better Carlos!!!
    We just Love YOU and Donna!! Austin too!!!
    Thank you for all you do and know you bring me much happiness and joy!!
    With Love,
    Lisa

  49. Rosemary Says:

    Love hearing from you Carlos.. and like the others, I loved your predictions…

    You Royal’s are very special, and anything you do is fine with me. You gave me so much pleasure during 2011 with Molly and McGee and their family, and also sharing so much of your own family with us MODs and I hope you will grace the pages with more on the owls and Austin and Ashley
    in 2011…

    Be well Carlos… Donna is oh so good to you making that home made soup.

    Rosemary

  50. Healani AKA FoxyTuTu Says:

    I myself is a Independant. Grew Up Democrat family, became a Republican and decided I am tired of both of them and became an Independant or A Conservative. I am a Navy brat and Love our Military and Our Wonderful Country! Not suppose do get political but just wanted to chime in.LOL. Good Ole Chicken and Dumpling!1 I sooo loved that when my grandmother would make it back in the 50’s 60’s! oops sort of telling my age!! Oh well, its either growing older or the other alternative!! Think I like getting older MINUS the aches and pains of arthritis!!
    God Bless you and your Ohana (family) Carlos and may the new year bring you Peace, Happiness, & an abundance of New friends.

    ~Hauoli Makahiki Hou~

    ~Healani~
    AKA FoxyTuTu ( El Cajon, CA.)

  51. Cindy Says:

    Hi Carlos,
    1. Yes I exercised
    2. Nothing better than hot homemade soup when you are sick
    3. Have done the tea mixture in the past.
    It also helps to have a spouse that is sympathetic and feels sorry for you!
    Twas my birthday on 1/1 which I celebrated by going for a nice walk!

    Looking forward to 1st photo book and delighted you are signing it.

    Hope to see you and Donna at the Elephant Bar Saturday the 8th.
    Love to hear all about Hawaii, and the wedding oh and MMolly and McGee

    Happy day . . . each day is a gift.

    Anewday

  52. TOPPSY Says:

    well==NOW you are just–showing OFF!!!
    HONESTLY I didnt know you had such super creative talents on jesting so in print. FAB reading, feels as tho you are talking right now.

    ok===no reports on Molly & crew>?

    so glad you are feeling better===cant have Santa Clause of San Marcos,,,,,frowning!

  53. Lynne Townsend Says:

    Glad you are feeling better today!!!! Loved your post were a “hoot”. Take care! (Looking forward to the next clutch—“Lights, Cameras, Action”)

  54. Lori G Says:

    For 2011
    Be Nice to your Neighbors
    Life is too short
    A Happy, Healthy New Year to All

  55. VeeTX Says:

    Dear Carlos:

    I read your prognostications blog and realized it was very tongue in cheek and downright funny. I hope no one took it seriously. Thanks for all that you’ve done and all that you will do. Oh yeah, I’m still glad I’m a part of this study on humaness, society, – it is so much fun!!!!

    Happy New Year!!!

  56. Sue Conner Says:

    Great blog entry Carlos, and glad you’re on the mend. Please don’t forget to update us on the owls and can you take a look at Mel and Sydney on ustream and let us know if you think one of them might be max, patti, austin, or Wesley? They are in Oceanside which I understand is 12 miles from you. They are a young barn owl pair and the box was built by a man from Australia (thus the names mel and sydney). Please take a look. Lots of Molly lovers are showing up over there as we’re in owl withdrawal and still have MOD.

    Best wishes.

  57. Amanda (minasparrot) Says:

    I am in such desperate need of a Molly fix! I’m moving into a house on my own and I am making sure I can afford internet above everything else so that I can watch Molly!!!! <3 you gutz and have a great new year!

  58. OwlyKats Says:

    HI Carlos,
    So glad That you are feeling So Much Better. I must say that I Loved your New Years Predictions. Sure made me laugh. It was just what I needed. We lost our faithful friend of 11 yrs on Dec 18th. That was “Star” our family Dog. He wanted to be in Heaven This Christmas, bless his doggie heart. So Thanks to you I laughed till my sides hurt.
    As For My New Years Resolutions. Never make them about excersising or loosing weight cause I always fail. The One I always Follow is ” Make sure to bring happiness into someones Life Today.”
    So I can make 365 people or more Happy this year!

    Thank you Donna & Carlos
    May God Bless You both
    Kathleen S Cowlorado Springs, CO

  59. Susan Says:

    Carlos – I think your “predictions” are great fun! Thanks for sharing them with us!

  60. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Carlos, glad you are feeling better. Glad Donna is taking good care of you!!! Love your blog, sorry some take things so seriously. Life is too short…we have to live love and laugh. You, Donna and Austin have added so much to our lives this past year, we thank you. Now what about M&M, any news? Love to the Royal family, Madonna

  61. Mary Jozwiak Says:

    Glad you are better Carlos! Im glad also that you have a sense of humor, whatever your politics may be. I saw some of the comments and I thought- “Gee, he’s not taking his own advice on politics and see what happens!” One thing I’ve discovered as I stumble through life is that some people have NO sense of humor AT ALL! This proves it.

  62. Carol Watt Says:

    You are a 100% right Carlos. I enjoyed your predictions. I bet Donna’s homemade chicken soup is wonderful and best of all made with bushles of love. I will check out your secret concoction next time I am ill. Thankyou Carlos and Donna. Until next time.

  63. Judy Ringgenberg Says:

    I tried your tea.. very delicious ! I have a nasty cold, too. The tea was very comforting.
    I enjoyed your musings.. thought they were humorous and fun to read through.

    Can’t wait to see if M & M start a new show for us.
    And.. thank you and Donna very much for all you do.

    Judy

  64. SactoSylvia Says:

    Whew! I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    My strong black tea is brewing as I type.

    Now about those electric cars…. ;)

  65. catsmommy Says:

    So happy to hear you are getting better. Chicken soup and dumplings… mother’s cure for everything. Well done Donna.

    not to be pushy… BUT to be pushy…. any ideas re cameras and owls?????

  66. Joan Watson Says:

    You rock Carlos! Hopefully this will set the nay-sayers straight. For all you (and Donna and Austin) have done to be called “stupid” and other names is totally uncalled for – may those who did it ask for forgiveness. Feel better quickly!!!!

  67. sbelloff@twcny.rr.com Says:

    HaHa!! Loved today’s blog especially the part about how you felt better after rolling around on the floor and laughing at yesterday’s comments. I didn’t read the ones that came after I commented..some of the ones before my comment made me wish I hadn’t read the first 100! Whew! As I said I am not a political person (also registered as Independent)so I couldn’t really understand why some of the people who commented on your blog were so upset. But since their comments made you laugh and feel better, I guess their remarks served a purpose! :)
    I did do my exercises…all 10 minutes. HaHa! I am starting out slowly and adding a few more each day. When I turned 60 I somehow managed to acquire a protruding stomach which I want gone before my daughter’s wedding this summer. But since I also have back trouble I am afraid to do the exercises I used to do when younger. AHHHHHHHHHHH! Getting old…now that is something to complain about!! :)
    Glad you are feeling better! Today’s blog made me feel better! :)
    Susan

  68. lbishop@onebox.com Says:

    Dear Carlos,

    My Grandpa used to take a big shot of whiskey for a cold. Only time he had whiskey. :) Give it a “shot.” Ha.

    Hey, now, I was betting that you wouldn’t support a woman who shot bear and ate moose. Although a polar bear would keep her freezer full for a long time. (grin). But please, I’m inflated enough. I’m starting a serious new year diet and I’d better stick to it!

    Glad you’re kicking the nose icicles,

    Laurie

  69. Kitty Carlyle Says:

    Hahaha, Carlos! The only thing I am registered as is a MOD. :-) That chicken dumpling soup sounds really good about now. I guess I am going to have to make some real soon, just because I love it and it’s been way too long. The hot tea with honey sounds like a good idea, too, especially in this freezing cold weather.

    I am so glad you are feeling a little better. That means you are on your way to recovery!

    Keep up the good medicine and hugs to all.

    Kitty

  70. PhilJustPhil Says:

    Considering how popular your blog is, I don’t think your “secret” cure is secret any longer.
    As for New Years resolutions, I always make a resolution not to make any resolutions. Made it, broke it and got it over with instantly.

  71. Eleanor Dodge Says:

    Carlos, I love your reply to the comments that were left on your previous blog. These people certainly do not know you and Donna or they would not post such ricuculous statements. I’m glad you are feeling better and hope the rest of the year is a healthy one. I don’t need to ask you about Molly and McGee as you already know we are dying to know what they are up to.
    Happy New Year to you and Donna and your family.
    Take care of yourself and get some rest before the third clutch arrives. (LOL)
    Much Love
    Eleanor

  72. Lisa Sharp Says:

    Carlos, I am glad you are feeling better! That secret recipe sounds wonderful. I will try it next time I get a cold.

    I think you are wonderful to share your thoughts, your humor and your family with us. Thank you for that! And many blessings to you, Donna and the rest of your family (including the wildlife in your backyard!) in 2011.
    lsharp

  73. jacque green Says:

    thank you so much, I’ve got you’re cold. Ha Ha ! I still like all information you give us. I’am going to try that TEA. YOU have nice day. Jacque

  74. PegRod Says:

    Yes, Carlos, thank you so much for all you do for us and your continued blog posts, sense of humor and brilliant photographs!

    Glad you are feeling better – In our family we all got that same unidentified “bug” and associated “wham bam of symptoms” which my Dad (who died in the 80’s) used to call “The Okefenokee Rot”! My Mom recently told me that the phrase came from a cartoon series Daddy loved called “Pogo”. A Pogo quote (creator Walt Kelly) that became well-known is “We have met the enemy and he is us!”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pogo_(comic_strip)

    We are all recovering – but time and laughter seem to be the best medicine!

  75. Tammy Smith Says:

    None of you get it at all. It was *Carlos* who brought politics into this. We were just responding to what he said. If I had a blog that was supposed to be about owls, I would leave politics out of it. It says “Molly’s Box”. It doesn’t say anything about politics. Btw, when a lot of people in chat talked about their fundamentalist Christian beliefs, I stayed quiet because I didn’t want people to fight over religion, even though I don’t like fundamentalism in religion. So, all of you are laughing at us? I’m not laughing. I guess liberals aren’t welcome here.

    • Janie Branison Says:

      Tammy, we don’t have a problem with Liberals, but DO have a problem with people who say bad things about Carlos. He is the heart and soul of Molly’s box.

      aka janie2

    • Becky Evans Says:

      Okay Tammy, you’ve made your point.

      • beakerlips Says:

        You are so right. It says Molly’s box. That’s what I signed up for. I, for one, do not need any lessons about dicussing politics with others on a chat involving owls. That’s an argument waiting to happen and anybody with half a brain knows that. What bothers me the most is that the rules are upheld for some and used against others. The most disturbing part was when a chatter got banned for discussing the rescue of the chilean minors. ALL chat was to pertain to OWLS only! When did owls become more important than human life? Everyone discussed sports, food, home life,etc. but human life was to be ignored! Or, everything for the wee eyes. LOL – when did the wee eyes buy any computer to watch or the products being sold? As I recall, there was a broadcast promoted on the M & M site and the host showed video of practice shooting at human life form. Disgusting, but my post on this blog was deleted for stating the truth about a site that was promoted on the M & M site. Funny, how that site was promoted but no one was allowed to talk about any other animals or the other sites.

      • Michelle Says:

        And there she goes again…….Everyone is welcome here, but if you are rude to the blogs owner, prepare for the consequences. I think Carlos made his point, but you just can’t let it go. And this blog isn’t strictly about owls, have you missed the posts about their travels, his granddaughters wedding, etc? Did those bother you? Your panties are in a bunch because you didn’t agree with what he wrote politics-wise. Get over it. Have you left for Canada yet?

  76. Sue Couch Says:

    So glad you’re feeling better, Carlos! I’m a great
    believer of chicken soup, the “secret” drink you mentioned and laughter as the best medicine. They seem to work when nothing else does. Also I’m taking elderberry extract with a little water as an immune booster (recommended by Dr. Oz and the lady at the health food store). Glad you offered your predictions in such a humorous way. We are all entitled to our opinions, although there are those who don’t believe so! I hope they won’t proliferate in this new year! Best wishes for a full recovery.


  77. Carlos and Donna – sooooo happy that you stay in touch through the blog. I am painting owls and loving it. Get really well Carlos, and watch for that next clutch. What a joy this past one was, and what a rich layer you added to my life and others’.

  78. owloverbo Says:

    So glad you are feeling better, off to try the tea.
    So glad to hear from you.

  79. PegRod Says:

    Congratulations on 84 countries now having visited this site! Oman is the latest! I love the Flag Counter that you put on your front page of this WordPress site, Carlos, Donna and Austin!

    http://s01.flagcounter.com/more/RaSW

    • PegRod Says:

      PS – The United States’ State Department recognizes 194 independent countries around the world. Sooooooo ….. With the next Owl Box broadcast, maybe we can reach that goal! I would predict that computer manufacturers and internet providers would love to put computers and service in every country!

  80. Linda /artgirl4388 Says:

    Wow, Carlos and Donna, you sure know how to take care of each other. Carlos buys an owl box for Donna and Donna makes tea for Carlos’ cold. That’s fair! Hope you will be better very soon and I love the blog. You are too funny.Hope you’re checking out the other owl boxes – inquiring minds want to know if any are “our” babies.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR AND MANY MORE, Love, Linda/artgirl

  81. didinp Says:

    Happy New Year Carlos and Donna

    I hope you are feeling better soon !

    Loved your 2011 predictions but . . . what about the Owls?

    I will keep the faith that you will be up hooking up the camera real soon. The world (and the MOD) need Molly.

    All the Best

    Di

  82. Sarah (slewvi) Says:

    Dear Carlos.
    Your and Donna are such wonderful people. I thank you for all you give to us.
    In re: new years resolutions
    1)in the vacachat story, Wesley and Carrie think it is new year’s “revolutions” and they are spinning round and round to make theirs.
    2) my new year’s resolution is to spend more time laughing. Your blog, and many people from the owlbox chat help me do that. So i thank you.

    I also want to say thank you for the wedding pictures. The cake is the most beautiful wedding cake i ever saw. and Ashley and Spencer are a very good looking couple. may they have many years of happiness. And may you and Donna have many more joyful and healthy years together. The blog about your aniversary–with the song, was so funny.
    I wish you and Donna the happiest of New Year’s and look forward to more Owl Box news or predictions or whatever you choose to write about.
    Many Blessings,
    Sarah

  83. Monica Says:

    Another great update Carlos.. Great to hear you are feeling better Carlos. Nothing better than home made soup, and a secret feel good cure :) This blog really makes my day, as i check every morning when I get up. Thanks for all you do and please say hello to Molly and McGee, sure do miss them.
    Hugz to you and your family

  84. charb Says:

    Was talking to Molly and McGee today-… We met in the Palm Tree bar next door to Carlos’ place.
    Seems McGee just loves Sarah, and Molly thinks Barak is “real Cute”. They are planning on lobbying boh of them for “gopher grounds”, and told me they need all of us to support them. They do not like us spatting about something as petty as politics when they are so concerned with Austin’s scandalous alliance with that flirty flier just across the hill from their place. Her family has no manners and will steal a fat mouse away from Austin’s sibling owlettes without so much as a hork. Molly and McGee were in complete agreement that we all probably needed a good peck on the fingertips that are hitting the keyboards. They are anxious for spring to come so they can resume their family life. They want you all to know there is room in the box and on the roost for all of us. They even miss Spider man! But most of all, they miss all of the MODs!!

  85. Jo-Ann Says:

    Wow, McGee just told me…he just heard Sarah got stuffed at the Moose Lodge!!!! Oh my!!!!

    (This is not political, just in jest!!!!!)

  86. Donna Simonson Says:

    Carlos your blog needs to be syndicated with a salary to boot! You are perfect at delivering humor and reality just as it is needed. Happy New Year to you are dear friend. We all hope you will be coming to us “live” on KOWL in the near future. It can’t be soon enough for all your fans and Molly’s MODS.

    We love ya man!

    “OwlLuver” Murrieta, CA

  87. Lisa Says:

    I realized years ago the only surefire way to avoid breaking New Year’s resolutions is not to make them in the first place! No pain, no pain…that’s my motto. Happy New Year, Carlos & Donna!

  88. Sandy Says:

    I know there will be another clutch…just patiently waiting for my owls to come back!!!

  89. Colleen Poor Says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, Carlos! Laughter is the best medicine of all and I did get the giggles when reading your predictions. Hope you continue to improve and feel like your self again (no stuffy nose, etc.) Thanks for your blog and hope 2011 is a good year for you and the rest of the family.

    P.S. How’s Molly? Still peeking out of the box?


Leave a Reply

