The Owl Box Disconnected

December 12, 2010

Over 2,000 feet of wiring removed.

Last photo of Molly inside the box before cables disconnected

I know one lady said, “Technology, what technology? All you got to do is plug in a camera.”  Today I removed 2,100 feet of cabling, 5 -75 foot extension cords, 2 power USB to Cat -5 power boxes, and that is just the outside cabling. Inside I disconnected 3 computers, 3- 6 socket extension cords with surge protectors, wiring for three internet connections, 3 security camera power supplies, one VCR recorder, 1 security 4 camera recorder and 5 monitors.  We ended up with over 20 million hits and over 13 million unique viewers plus we were on the air 24 hours a day for 8 solid months. I also removed 3-12 foot ladders and 2 infrared spot lights. When I turned off the cameras we had 8 different cameras online for broadcast. I had purchased 15 cameras of which a third have already been trashed. Three computers also failed during the 8 months of none stop broadcasting, 2 had to be replaced and 1 was repaired.  Donna and I worked around the clock to keep the owl box up and running along with a great bunch of Moderators that never slept to keep the chat room G-rated.   I am not complaining, what I want to say is Gee, that was fun and I was a part of it. But I also want you to know that is was not just plugging in a camera. 

If you had as much fun as I did and you want to show your support you can do it in several ways.

1. You can help send a great kid to college and purchase Austin’s DVD, Molly’s Story, a documentary DVD. All the money goes into his college fund.  http://austin4media.com/ 

2. You can visit our (Carlos and Donna’s) online store   http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl  and buy something you like. Right now there is a sale going on, you can buy a large framed print of Molly and McGee for $50.  http://www.cafepress.com/Mollytheowl.493985720 

3. You can buy a book from  http://mollytheowlbooks.com/ There is the hardcover Molly the Owl, it is available, order now and get it or give for Christmas.  There are two photo books by me (Carlos Royal) neither are available for delivery yet. Molly and McGee, a photo book of the first clutch should be delivered in January. The Second Clutch photo book will not be delivered until April/May. These three books are a great way to remember and share this once in a life time experience.

4. You can purchase one of Chris Adams Fine Art Prints  http://www.rocketmancreative.com/mollytheowlfineart.html 

5. There is one more person that was such a big part of The Owl Box, Barbara Allen and I recommend everyone buy her CD of Molly Songs. Even if you recorded them you should buy them to show your support. In fact, let me put it this way, if you can only afford one item, then let it be Barbara Allen’s the Molly Song CD.

You can purchase the Molly Song CD from Barbara for only $8.00 plus Shipping and Handling.  Remember when you buy a CD, $1 goes to Mead School and $1 goes to San Marcos Community Foundation. Just send Barbara an email BARLYOWL@aol.com  and let her know how many you want. Don’t forget to send her your mailing address.

We will be rather busy until next year. We have a wedding to get ready for. The camera are off and the cabling has been removed. We can not see what’s going on inside the box.  As you can see fromt he last photo there are no eggs. 

Thanking you in advance for all your support.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

P.S. CafePress Sale ends tonight.   http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl

127 Responses to “The Owl Box Disconnected”

  1. Jeri Lynn Says:

    Thanks so much, Carlos and Donna. We appreciate everything you did to bring those beautiful birds into our homes. I have a framed print of the four owls, 3 of Austin’s DVDs, a Molly the Owl book, some mugs, and some jewelry. I am amazed and touched by your generous spirit and kindness. I love how you reached out to people, especially children in schools, to educate them about owls and nature. I wish you and yours all the best. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! ♥♥♥ Jeri Lynn

  2. Sharon Says:

    Just read the latest e-mail. I knew that was a lot of work but had no idea there was so much involved and so much equipment!!!! Does this mean there will be no more owl cams??? Sooooooo enjoyed the site. Thanks and good luck on that wedding. Congrats to your granddaughter.

  3. christine Says:

    Thanks to you and everyone for all your hard work. It was so much fun! Happy Wedding and Happy Holidays to all. And if you happen to see Molly and McGee tell them I said Hi.

  4. Joan Says:

    gosh, I am sure going to miss you .. I hope that someday you will reconsider and rehook everything up again.. sure enjoyed it..

  5. Jo Bradley Says:

    Donna and Carlos!
    It was evident that the two of you put in many hours, time and money for this amazing endeavor. You gave up 8 months of your lives to share this experience with the world. “Thank You!” does not even cover it! However, “Thank You from the bottom of my heart!” gets a bit closer. Hugz – Jo (Dennens)

  6. sue Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna and Austin,
    Well I guess this really is the end :( Thanks so much for all of the work and dedication you all put into this amazing experiance!!! Seeing the last pic of Molly in the box brought tears to my eyes!!! I have fallen in love with all of you and eash of the wonderful Owls it has been my privledge to come to know!!! Thanks again
    Sue Binghamton NY

  7. Kathy Bowman Says:

    Thank you so much for all that you have done. Have a wonderful wedding and I cannot wait to get the photo books.

    Happy Holidays as well,
    Kathy

  8. Diana Schleicher Says:

    YES! it was fun, and I am so glad I was part of it!!

  9. Nancy Says:

    Carlos and Donna, thank you so much for all your time and effort. We were all so enthralled by the wonder of it all. Most of us ‘old timers’ knew it was much more than plugging in a camera, and we appreciated it so much. You truely gave something important to the world. We could all learn from your example. Thank you again. Hope you have a beautiful Christmas and upcoming wedding! Until next time…there WILL be a next time, won’t there?? haha Wildcatwoman

  10. YTQ Says:

    Mission Control is down! KOWL is off the air , but there is love in the air, and a wedding to be done! Congratulations on a new grand-son-in-law, and Ashley. I know it will be a beautiful wedding and a happy time for everyone. Enjoy!

  11. jeninboston Says:

    Glad you hear your family’s great news. All the best!

    Thank you so much for sharing your lives and the owls with the world. It was an amazing experience and I am glad to have been a part of it. Enjoy your post-owl-box world.

  12. Elizabeth Sprague Says:

    A Big Thank you to you Carlos, Donna and Austin.
    It has been wonderful to have been a part of this journey. Thank you for all the hard work and expense 24/7 that you did to give us the awesome experience of falling in love with these beautiful owls. Have a wonderful time planning your granddaughter’s wedding. Enjoy the third clutch as they play in your back yard next year.
    It was ful and I was a part of it. We all fell in love with the people involved in this journey. Have a very Merry Christmas. Hugs, Spragadoo

  13. Linda Morgan Says:

    Thank you so much for allowing me to be part of this once in a lifetime event. There are no words to tell you how blessed I feel. It WAS fun and I WAS part of it!! You truly are very special people and I know that God will continue to bless you for your kind hearts and generous spirits.

  14. Ginny Howard Says:

    Most of us realized how much work you and Donna put into this adventure and you are both so appreciated. You gave us such special memories and now it is time (sniff sniff) for new adventures. So happy about the upcoming wedding!
    Love to you all,
    Ginny Howard
    Florida

  15. VeeTX Says:

    Thank you Carlos, Donna and Austin for all that you do. We’d love to see photos of the wedding – what date are they getting married? Such a handsome couple! Their kiddos will be so cute – and you and Donna will be Great Grandparents. Thanks again, we love you and this sure was fun and I’m glad I was a part of it!!!! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  16. Corkyandporky Says:

    Oh Carlos, you have outdone yourself with all the effort and expertise (I know you learned on the job) you put into making the Owl Box experience memorable. I’ll never forget the joy and amazement you inspired by inviting Molly and McGee into my life. Thank you seems so paltry. Know how much you are appreciated and respected. You’ve made an owl lover out of me!

  17. Jane Says:

    Thank you so much for all the time you put into Molly and McGee for us. I really enjoyed watching them. I sure learned more about owls then I ever thought I would. I am looking forward to both your coffee table books. I can’t get enough of the photos. I really enjoy the DVD Austin made. Still hoping when school is out that he makes one of Carrie and Ashley.
    Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
    I know the wedding will be beautiful if is in your backyard. What a beautiful yard. Maybe Molly will be watching.

  18. Ginny in NJ Says:

    Thanks for all of your efforts. We spent hours and hours enjoying watching the owls. We learned so much.
    We hope you will occasionally send us updates on what is going on with the owls.
    If you do create a coffee table book of your photos of other birds, let us know as we will buy it.
    We will miss you.

  19. SARose69 Says:

    I was one who eventually realized how much you were putting into this unique endeavor. It was the most amazing gift! Gee it was fun and I’m SO glad I was part of it! Wishing you all the best as you move on to other things in your lives. I still miss it and hope at some point you will feel like doing something like it with the kestrels, but I will always treasure the adventure we all shared. Wishing you many blessings,
    SARose69

  20. Robyn Scott Says:

    Wow, Carlos, what a labor of love. I had no idea you had that much technology going but I sure DID know you worked round the clock and then some for all of us and for our owls. You deserve the best time off and I hope the wedding goes perfectly and I will be smiling every month as I see my Molly calendar on the wall. I have also been passing Austin’s fantastic DVD to many families with children. I Love you and Donna and thank you so much.

  21. Janie Branison Says:

    Carlos, 99.5% of us know how much work it was and choke at the amount of money you have spent on equipment. We love you and Donna and appreciate you both so much. This would never have been the success it was without your personality and you having as much joy at sharing the owls with us. Anyone who hasn’t bought Austin’s CD should do it NOW. I love mine and the other things I’ve bought to remind me everyday of this wonderful experience. Thank you for the picture of our beautiful Molly.
    Love to all of you!
    Janie

  22. Steve Says:

    I am very computer savvy and know how hard this project is. Anyone who takes what you do lightly is a fool. Feel free to ask for any support you need to continue this wonderful sight. The joy we get from seeing the family develop is beyond description. We have bought almost everything that has been sold including almost 10 DVDs etc. I feel that even this is not enough support. The time and energy you spend on this project is cannot be compensated. Carlos and Donna, God Bless you for doing this for us but even more importantly for the owls. You have taught the world so much about them and I hope that people can appreciate what the owls do for nature and what we need to do to protect them.

  23. rita edwards Says:

    Thanks Carlos and Donna

    You have made millions of people happy in 2010 and given us a unique insight into the life of barn owls. Molly and McGee will always be in our hearts.
    I am guessing that you will not be putting all the wire and equipment back up, so thanks for the memories and best wishes to you. Your positive attitude has done more than you will ever know for all of us “Molly Watcher”.

    Rita (sierralight)

  24. francie bowers Says:

    Thanks for all you do Carlos & Donna. In advance, have Happy Holidays and a beautiful wedding!! Please post pictures for us!

  25. ibinfallbrook Says:

    Carlos and Donna:

    A family wedding is the perfect way to cap off the wonderful experience you shared with the world bringing Molly and McGee into our lives. Thank you. (I’m still hoping you made a schematic chart and very good notes so everything can be reconnected for another clutch!)

    ibinfallbrook

  26. Keri Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna, Austin & family,

    Thank you so much for the wonderful opportunity to have a front-row seat for one of nature’s most amazing events – a pair of wild animals raising their young and all the beauty and heartbreak that go with such an event. Most of us truly realized and greatly appreciated all the work and expense you all put into giving us this very special gift. I have Austin’s DVD and three of the mugs. I truly wish I could afford more Molly merchandise! I hope your granddaughter has a wonderful wedding in your beautiful backyard. If you choose to re-connect everything after the wedding, of course we MODs will be ecstatic. If you choose not to, we will understand and we will still be eternally grateful for the two clutches you allowed us to be a part of. “Thank you” could never, ever be enough to express just how much this experience meant to me. God bless you all…and have a very Merry Christmas!

    ~Keri

  27. Janet Says:

    So much work, time, effort, laughs, and tears that you invested for all of the MODs. Who would’ve thought that it would turn into such an event w/so many viewers, merchandise, DVDs, etc! Definitely, the most famous owl(s). I thank you again from the bottom of my heart. I watched the 2nd Clutch and loved every minute of ALL of it–owls and humans! I want to order a 2nd Clutch book, but, gosh, the Xmas season is a hard time to spend $60 just for fun and for myself. Still debating! Thanx again to ALL of you involved in this adventure.

  28. jezbel Says:

    Thanks a million for all your hard work.
    Many blessings for the nuptials.
    Enjoy life, it’s short.
    Hope to see you all again, perhaps in the not too distant future.

  29. Janice Says:

    You and Donna are too sweet. I have followed this site for a year now. I know I have MODS but don’t want to get over it. Please enjoy the wedding and if I could to arrange a Molly and MeGee fly by I would.
    Looking forward to next years clutches.
    Thanks for all you do,
    Janice

  30. AnnInSDtoo Says:

    Thank you thank you thank you for all of your blood, sweat and tears, for sharing Molly and all of her family with the world. Occasional updates to the blog would be nice, but only if your heart tells you it’s ok. Very Merry Christmas to all of you, and thank you for making my 2010 The Year Of The Owls!

  31. Kristi Says:

    I have been blessed as we all have. It has changed my life. I look at everything differently now, not just from the owls, but from meeting you, Donna and Austin. I am planning on working with the local high school and their sanctuary they have made for ground owls. I am going into teaching science, start grad school in March. You have been part of my life and education. Thank you.

    Oh and my own birds layed eggs and one hatched, but it died this morning. Could only think of our babies. Mine is with them now.

    Thank you again

  32. EFS--Ellie--Tucson Says:

    This was a prodigious endeavor, and you must have felt under-appreciated at times. Please know how many folks out there have been enraptured by the fruits of your labor, investment, and 24/7 broadcast of Molly and family. The value of the gift you’ve given is incalculable. The heightened awareness of and appreciation for owls is one thing; the relationships struck up as we enjoyed the owls together are pearls beyond price. Enjoy your family time, and please post pictures of the wedding; can’t imagine a better spot to begin lives together. I’m hoping that your mention of “next year” implies all that wire might yet be restrung, should Molly and McGee cooperate. In any event, thank you, thank you, thank you.

  33. Couleedam (Nora) Says:

    Just a note to say “thank you”! What you, Donna and Austin have done to promote the barn owls in California is simply amazing. Around the world, people were exposed to a previously hidden world. Learning, laughing, and crying together brought many hours of experiences and friendships that still are going strong!

  34. Sam NY Says:

    Donna and Carlos—thank you so much for ALL the time, effort, cash, and love that you lavished on this project. You made the world a better place for a whole lotta people. I treasure my DVD, and my books, and I am looking forward to my two coffee table books. What an inspired 8-month event.
    I hope the family wedding is a blast for everyone. Congratulations. And thank you again.

  35. Vades Brinkley Says:

    Whew(wiping my brow)!!!! That wore me out just reading about it. Thank you sooooo much for all the time and work you did so that we all could say, “Gee that was fun and I was a part of it”. Molly looks so lonely in the box by herself. I am sure it won’t be long before she has more little owlets to keep her company. Having the Owl Box has been such a joy and a wonderful learning experience for young, old and in between. “Gee wouldn’t it be fun” if you forgot to remove a camera and we got to see Ashly’s wedding! :) Hope you show us some pictures of the wedding. I look forward to all the updated posts and hopefully inside the box with Molly and McGee in the next few months. Take care everyone. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! Vades

  36. Sandy Field (joisey38) Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna and Austin,
    You have changed my thinking about Owls and all living things. Actually you have changed my world forever. I will never be able to thank you enough for giving me the opportunity to see these beautiful owls in real time. Molly is engraved in my heart forever.
    Good luck with all of your future exciting happenings. Family is everything.
    Give us a holler once in a while if you can!
    Gee that was fun and I am so glad I was a part of it!
    Sandy from Clayton NJ

  37. Judy Sackson Says:

    Although I realized that an enormous amount of time, effort and money went into this wonderful event(I live in a computer family), I still had no idea of the equipment that you were using! I am even more impressed with you dedication to Molly and McGee and to all of MODs out here glued to our computer monitors.
    I want to thank your whole family for putting the time and effort into this experience and making it so breathtaking for all of us out here to watch.
    Gee, it WAS fun, and I WAS part of it!!
    Congratulations on the coming wedding and I hope that your holidays this year will be more special than ever! I’m sure that Molly and McGee will be watching an event in YOUR family’s life for a change!

  38. Katy Says:

    Carlos, we cannot thank you enough for what you provided us all. Molly taught the world patience, kindness, persistence and how to be a fabulous mom. You have a special place in heaven for all you did for us. Bless you and have a wonderful wedding.
    Catbird22

  39. Linda /artgirl4388 Says:

    Carlos, Donna and Austin,
    I think you know how much you all mean to us and our thank you’s can never be enough. I love looking at my over 3K screenshots (how crazy am I?) and love all my M&M treasures. We have learned so much thanks to you and have such an amazing respect for your talent and time bringing these magnificent owls to us. Your own joy when you where on was infectious and we all laughed with you when there was no sound, deet, deet, deeting and all the other funny things that happened. You introduced us to wonderful people, spent time explaining everything and made us see and understand the amazing world of wild birds. How lucky we have been and please know you are loved by all of us. Happy days ahead and hoping the wedding is all you and your family hope for and that you all have a healthy, happy and spectacular New Year.
    I am so glad I was a part of this. Love, Linda/artgirl

  40. Tricia Says:

    Thanks so much, Carlos and Donna and all involved, for this great Molly & McGee experience!!

    I’ve been watching since February and have never seen anything like it, and I learned so much. I’m so glad I happened upon this. You worked so hard and definitely deserve a break now. And, what a beautiful picture of Molly to end with!

    Maybe, we’ll see you and Molly next year. If not, take care and God bless.

  41. Christine Peters Says:

    Thanks so much for all your time and efforts. I hope the wedding is wonderful; Ashley will be a beautiful bride, that’s for sure. She is lovely. God Bless to your family, and we do appreciate what you have done for everyone. Hope to see a wedding photo or 2 on the blog!! And congrats to Ashley and Spencer.


  42. Wow! Sure is a lot of stuff! Thank you so much for all the time and expense you went to. Miss you and Donna at Ebar! I hope you’ll be back next year.
    I love the picture of Molly she is such a cute Owl! I hope you’ll share some pictures of the wedding!

  43. catsmommy Says:

    words can never do justice to how much I feel right now… and how thankful I am to have been a part of such a wonderful event.

    GOD bless you, Carlos and Donna, and your family forever.

    I will miss you and keep watching and listening for Owl Sign.

  44. Jane Says:

    Carlos, Donna, and Austin,

    Thank you the extraordinary journey you gave to all us. We have truly laughed and cried together here. And mostly, we have experienced a joining of friendships from “a far” that has been unbelievable.

    I never chatted before this year and it has been remarkable. The MODS have taught me so many things about the computer and opened up this new world to me.

    So, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy Happy Wedding. Please keep us updated from time to time. We wish you only health and happiness.

  45. flukestail Says:

    Even if Molly never lays another clutch, she has made this box in the backyard of the Royals her home. And I’m good with that. Hoping for more, missing it all…but I’m ok because she has made the owl box her home. Happy Holidays, Molly girl.
    Happy Holidays, Carlos & Donna. Happy Holidays, MODS. And best wishes, bride & groom. Wishing you all a happy and healthy New Year. I shall remember you all with love…and gratitude.

  46. Cheryl Says:

    Thank you for everything you all have done. I enjoyed watching the owls every day and will miss seeing you guys so much. Hope to see you again in the future!

  47. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thank you are easy words to say…but a million thanks says it all…hope you don’t pack it all away but use it again sometimes…hope your holiday is full of peace and love.

  48. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Carlos,

    Thank you for keeping us updated.
    I purchased my M & M cup today. Will pre order Clutch #2 next week.

    Save all those wires…..still hoping for Clutch #3.

    Thank you Donna, Carlos, and Austin for an amazing year. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all. May God Bless you and keep you!

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart our Wizard of Owls!!!!! Good luck with the wedding,…and I will be hoping…

    With Love, A Friend Forever, from NE Florida,
    Lisa

  49. Deb, Salem MA Says:

    Carlos and Donna, thanks again for all that fun, and we were part of it! O/c, we’d all love to do it again, but we (most of us) realize that there was an awful lot of work, sacrifice, and dedication involved.

    If it never happens again (say it ain’t soooo!), I will cherish the memories, and appreciate the knowledge, always. And miss our owls, both of you, the MOD’s, Austin, Vaca, Barbara, the entire cast – but I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

    Best to you and yours –

  50. sfsueny Says:

    Dear Royal Family – please don’t let the few folks who expressed negativity or complained about any aspect of this incredible experience color your own feelings about what took place here. There are so many more of us who completely understood and supported the enormity of this project – who appreciated every inch of cabling and every minute of computer use…we grew to love and understand a part of nature that we didn’t even realize existed. We grew to love our Chat Room and applaud the enormous value of the Moderators. And we don’t have enough words to thank you for your time and efforts. Having done plenty of shopping to support the Owl Box – I have now donated to the incredible Valley Wildlife Center in California – who rescues and rehabs injured wild birds and animals. You have opened my eyes to a larger natural world & the Barn Owl is never far from my heart. Health and happiness to you in 2011. Always with my appreciation. Susan

  51. Holly Sue Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna and Austin,
    I’m exhausted just reading the list of equipment you had to deal with to bring all of us this fabulous owl experience! Gee, it was FUN – and I have the t-shirt(s) mugs, tiles and pictures to prove it! Your devotion and dedication are more appreciated than words can ever express. My prayers and best wishes are with you for a beautiful wedding, the Merriest Christmas and the happiest of New Years!
    With love to you, Holly Sue

  52. Paul McConaughy (@minutrition) Says:

    While you are taking your system apart I just want to express my appreciation. Your owl box was a wonderful experience and best of all it set a quality standard that may never be matched. I’ve looked around at other sites and must say your quality is so much better than any other site I am spoiled forever. Thanks for making it happen.

  53. Diane Erdely Says:

    Thanks you all for all that you did..It was an enormous committment of trime and energy, and we all appreciate all that you did. Have a wonderful holiday, and a beautiful wedding. Keep in touch.

  54. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Carlos and Donna, I’m saddened about the wires coming down…but so happy about the wedding! Thank you so much for all the pleasure you have given so many.I don’t think you realize the impact you have had on all of M&M’s fans. I’m not a chatter, just a lurker but was with the second clutch everyday. You, Donna and Austin made this sight so much fun. I feel like I’ve known the Royals forever. I feel honored to be able to say that. I thank God I found this site. Please keep us posted on Molly and Mcgee,and if you find it in your heart to share the 3rd clutch with us….we would greatly appreciate it. So…all Molly and Mcgee fans…lets show our support for this great family and site!!! Love you Royal family, will keep you in my thoughts and prayers, Madonna

  55. Elaine/eggdrop Says:

    Carlos, Donna, Austin
    Thank you all for this wonderful, unforgettable experience. I appreciate the time and effort you put into allowing us to share the lives of these owls. I will miss you all.

    Have a very Merry Christmas!
    Elaine/eggdrop

  56. Barb Haeg Says:

    Carlos and Donna, you are great people with kind hearts! You put your hearts and souls into a wonderful adventure and I and so many others love you for it. Happy Holidays to you and your family and may the weather co-operate so the wedding of your grand-daughter will be perfect.
    Barb in MN

  57. Kathy Weed Says:

    Thank you so much for everything. You are a very special person to have put in so much time, energy and money into sharing Molly, McGee and their family with the world. I think you and your family are truly wonderful and generous people. While snuggled in my warm 4 owlet hoodie I will be wrapping some great Cafe Press items and books for my family; thanks for making my Christmas shopping so easy! I consider it a privilege and an honor to have been a part of this and will never, ever forget all of the joyful and tearful events and I will remain hopeful for seeing clutch#3. As so many have already written, there are not enough words to express how much you and this experience have meant to so many. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all.

  58. Pam Richards Says:

    Carlos and Donna, I have come to view you and your family and the owls as a part of my family. Please have a wonderful and beautiful wedding. You and your family are in my prayers. I also hope and wish you all a very blessed Christmas. Thank you seems so not enough for what you have shared with us. I know you have given up 8 months of your life to bring us Molly & McGee.I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t wonder what Molly and Mc Gee are doing. If I never get a chance to see them again, its alright for they are forever in my heart just as you and Donna are. God Bless, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and here’s hoping to see you,Donna and of course Molly & Mc Gee again. Gee! That was fun and I was a part of it. Thanks again.

  59. Sharon Penfold Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    There is no way to express my gratitude to you. The amount of work required for you to broadcast the owl box is just monumental—the pleasure it brought to so many, many people is immesurable!
    You have also become loved by so many. That is a strangely wonderful part of this experience. Please take to heart the love and joy of this moment. Please, come back to us again in the spring. That is selfish of me, but this is an experience without parallel! Have a wonderful Christmas, and a wonderful wedding.

  60. NiteOwl Says:

    Carlos & Donna, Three cheers to you! And congratulations on your grandson’s upcoming wedding! I want to personnaly Thank You both for all your time, money and hours of hard labor to bring us such a wonderful site and journey of these beautiful owls Molly and McGee. Please don’t ever think for one moment that you were’nt appreciated….because its just not so! We all love and adore you and yes we were part of it and yes we sure did have fun….Loads of love from my house to yours! May God Bless YOu!

  61. Cinda B Says:

    Thank you for explaining to us all that went into this amazing gift you gave all of us! I had part of an idea, but WOW! Thank you just seems so inadequate. I hope the wedding is one of another joyous and beautiful events to occur in the Royal backyard, and that you all have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Godspeed on all your journeys, wherever they take you! I hope you know the difference you have made in the lives of all those unique viewers and hits.

  62. Ann Richards (Nashville) Says:

    To the Royals: You made magic and invited all to share it–thank you so much for your many hours of dedication to this wonderful journey you provided for us. This was definitely a journey which will go down in the history books of mankind, nature, and photography. As you run into Mods down the road, you will hear personally their stories of gratitude, wonder, excitement, sadness, but mostly their connection to something fun and how they were a part of it because of you.

  63. KW Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    Yes Gee this was FUN. We so enjoyed the Owls and the friends we made as we spent countless hours watching our babies grow! Thank you for all that you did to make this enjoyable. We knew you invested a great deal for our enjoyment and for that we truly grateful. I love everything I purchased and Happy to know that my purchases went to a good cause. You and Donna deserve your home and life back in order. I do hope you keep us updated on the blog if Molly does have a 3rd clutch, but I guess now the only way you will know is if you go listen near the box since you have no more cameras. Congrats on the upcoming wedding. Again thank you for making this a wonderful experience! Happy Holidays,
    Katey Wise

    • Katy Says:

      I can see Vacadude’s next drawing of Carlos in his Owl PJ’s with a stethoscope leaning up to the pole on the owl box listening to the owlet’s “goings on” inside!!! LOL!!

  64. Karen Says:

    I want to give a HEARTFELT THANKS for sharing the wonderful experience of watching MOLLY and McGEE as they raised their offspring to maturity. I have laughed, cried and almost fallen asleep as I got to be a part of this once-in-a-lifetime chance to see nature at it’s best. I just hope that at some future date Carlos and Donna will give us all another chance to share in such a wonderful experience. You certainly have touched so many lives, and hopefully helped others understand the value found in all creatures. We are very lucky to be able to share our existence with such marvelous animals such as Molly, McGee and their babies. Wishing you the best.

  65. Kit Says:

    Thanks to the Royal family for bringing Molly & McGee & owlets for all of us to enjoy. It was a great effort on your part but it made many so people happy and brought an awareness of barn owls and nature in general. I am happy to know we have these beautiful creatures right in our backyards and we have you and your family to thank for it, Carlos. You all did us a great service and I was glad to be a part of it.

    Congratulations, Best Wishes and Happy Holidays to you all!

  66. Kit Says:

    btw, tell M & M we will miss them!

  67. Maureeb Says:

    I am in awe. The experience that you gave me, my family and my students will certainly never be equaled. I do have to admit that I am a bit sad that we won’t be privileged to share the wonder in the spring, but I am grateful for having experienced it at all. Thank you ever so much. I wish nothing but the best for you and your family, Mr. and Mrs. Royal. Have a joyous holiday season and years to come. Thank you!

  68. Treva Roberts Says:

    A picture is worth a thousand words, Carlos. Thank you again for your selfless efforts to bring our world the amazing lives of two ordinary Barn Owls that turned out to be not so ordinary after all. Merry Christmas and best wishes for the new year to you, Donna and Austin. Did you get permission from Molly & McGee for the wedding in their backyard? LOL

  69. Nancy Cesario Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    We can’t thank you enough for the wonderful experience of watching these beautiful creatures. Yes I am glad I was part of the experience.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family.


  70. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You so inspired me that I am placing a Peregrine falcon breeding box on the roof of our hospital with cameras and website. (We really do not have Barn owls where I live – lots of Barred owls and they only live alone in woods -whooo cooks for you, whooo cooks for you all!)Until we get a breeding pair I am just placing other peoples photos of birds of prey on the photo section of the website. I have permission to use one or two barn owls photos. I did not place any Molly and Magee photos since I did not have permission to use them for this. (You did give permission for a blog post but not for the website. If you ever get caught up and have time to read this let me now if it’s OK to use a photo of Molly and Magee on the above website. (Have to go through Google)May you have a perfect day for Ashley’s wedding.
    Again thanks for all the fun!
    Lemayrenee

  71. Kathie Utt Says:

    Whoever wrote “just plug in a camera” must not have had their coffee yet. In looking at the other sights where owls are being photographed there is no “personalization” which is what you brought to us all. We’ve developed a sense of closeness with Molly, McGee & all of the owlets that I don’t think anyone would have thought possible. Kudos to you Carols & Donna!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!

  72. Linda Greene Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna, As you read the replies, I hope u can see how much u two are loved by your Royal subjects. What an awesome experience you have given to us; unique in so many ways, yet with a commonality enjoyed by all. Your generosity and dedication is truly appreciated. I hope your next adventure is as exciting and fulfilling as I hope this one has been. I will hold you both, Austin, Molly & McGee, and the owlets in my heart forever. ldgreene123, Henderson Harbor, NY

  73. Jeannie Necessary Says:

    THANK you for all the hard work,time & energy that you & Donna have expended. I really appreciated all that was done. I have purchased mugs,bookmarks, DVD, Barbara Allens CD, both clutch tabletop books, bags. I really miss watching the owls. My grandchildren have really gotten interested in nature since the owl box was online.

    Merry Christmas to all.

    Jeannie in Texas

  74. susan Says:

    Thank you for OWL you have done to make this a remarkable event for so many people. Happy wedding planning.

  75. Monica Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for all you have done. It was great to see one more picture of our girl Molly. Happy Wedding Day to your Grandaughte.
    A Very Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year to the Royal family, and to Molly, McGee, Max, Pattison, Austin, Wesley, Ashley, and Carrie. <3 <3

  76. Laurel Burden Says:

    What a year! Thanks to all your family for this wonderful experience. It was truly unique.

    Sounds like is going to be a very exciting Holiday time for the Royals and I wish everyone a Happy New Year.


  77. OMG!! This is so sad! But I celebrate the lives of that little family and send a great big “Thank You!” to the Royals for one of the most delightful, wonderful, and awesome experiences of my life!!! Hoping against hope that you will want to do it again in the future!!

    Blessings and joy to you all at this time of celebration of our Savior’s birth.

  78. Sue Couch Says:

    I knew it took more than “just plugging in a camera”, but had no idea about just how much cable, how many cameras, computers, etc. you had to coordinate. Wow! Makes me appreciate the experience even more and realize how privileged we all were to be included both in the lives of the owl box, but in your lives as well. I feel like you and the owls are all part of my extended family…definitely the highlight of my year. Thanks for the Molly photo…brought tears to my eyes. She is so beautiful! At least I can still see her, McGee, Carrie and Ashley when I look at at the tiles I bought, plus my computer wallpaper of Molly and McGee is a daily presence that always makes me smile. I am awed by the fabulous gifts you have given us all, and they are especially meaningful this time of year.

    What an exciting time for you all as Ashley prepares for and enters a new chapter in her life. I’m sure it will be a joyous time.

    I’d love to see the owls again, but can totally understand that you, Donna and Austin have other things to do with your lives. It would, though, be wonderful if you could share some news about Molly and McGee (and if a third clutch happens) on your blog.

    Best wishes and Merry Christmas!

  79. jacque green Says:

    OMG I’ll miss all you. I want to thank you from bottom of my heart. I’am so glad i was parted of it and what fun. thanks for Molly last picture she beautiful. Merry Xmas , New Year, Happy Wedding DAY love all of you.

  80. Deb Says:

    Carlos, thank you for all of your hard work. I lurked for most of the second clutch and I am so thankful for someone sending me the link and for you giving me the opportunity to see the little owl family. I do hope you do it again, but if you do not, I certainly understand as it was labor intensive for you. Again, much heartfelt thanks. Deb

  81. Glenn Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    It was a was wonderful time with all of you and The Owl Box. It looks like you are calling it quits. I hope i’m wrong and you decide to hook back up later. I think you were the number 1 site of the year 2010. Carlos, please do it again in 2011 the whole world is waiting watching to see what you do. Thank you all for what you have done for all of us.

    • Katy Says:

      I am sure the family said, “Carlos, the wires have to go! We have company coming for the wedding!!” We indeed are fortunate to have benefitted from your amazing generosity and the example you have set has made the rest of us better people. Thank you again.

  82. Diane Says:

    I can’t begin to put into words how much I enjoyed watching the owls this year! You have put millions of smiles on lots of faces everyday. Thank you from the bottom of my heart! I am sad it has to end–but they say all good things come to an end! I do hope you and Donna keep us informed of the goings on in Molly & McGee’s life and also in yours!!! Thank you so much!! I feel like I’m losing a friend!!! Diane Trout from Whitefish, Montana

  83. Betty Rexrode Says:

    “All you got to do is plug in a camera.” Stupid comments like that give our gender a bad reputation.

    Thanks for the last two photos….over 2,000 ft of wiring and sweet Molly in her box. She is beautiful.

    I love Austin’s DVD, the Molly The Owl book and all the other things I’ve bought from the online store. The three large framed photos are gorgeous. I’ve placed my orders for the two coffee table books and can’t wait till they arrive.

    Also, I downloaded Barbara Allen’s songs and then sent her a check so she could send me her CD. It should arrive any day.

    This has been a great shared experience, thanks to the Royal family. We all owe you.

    I wish the bride and groom much happiness in their upcoming life together.

    And I wish Donna, Carlos and Austin a Merry Chrisitmas and a great New Year.

    Thanks for the memories.

    God Bless………

  84. elsa lichman Says:

    and a partridge in a pear tree! la la, happy xmas and wedding, new year! we appreciate all that, as we look back on the joy you brought to us. love, elsalynda

  85. Jan Halstead Says:

    Merry Christmas to all of you and best wishes for the wedding. Any one following this for any length of time had to know the details and extent of some of the necessary equipment to run 24/7 for the Owl Box. You shared that with us from time to time when things broke down and had to be upgraded and replaced at your own expense. We benefited from every sacrifice you made. We shouldn’t be surprised, but in awe and in deep gratitude. Oh, how we love you and the owls and miss you all. Please keep us posted on Molly events when time allows. We know you two are busy. IF you do decide to let us see a future clutch we would love it, even if it is limited time wise or something. My home is full of Molly things so the separation is cushioned some what but I still get on my computer and want to go straight to the owl box. Thanks for all you gave us in 2010. God’s blessings for you in 2011. Jan in Indiana

  86. Jann English Says:

    Does this mean the cams are down for good? Or just a respite until after the wedding? I know you will not be able to resist posting wedding pics!!! Was that last picture taken over the weekend?

    Jann

  87. Linda Scroggin Says:

    My house is full of Molly items, love all of it, will never forget and look forward to the next clutch.

  88. Jean Davis Says:

    Thanks for all your Family’s work and hope you have a wonderful wedding. Does pulling all the cables mean this is the end of viewing the next clutch?

  89. Francie Yarber Says:

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you Donna, Carlos, and Austin and thank you for the inventory of effort and materials involved to share Molly and Family with the rest of us. So often the behind the scenes stuff is the most critical and costly and those of us who never attempted such an endeavor would have no idea. Best wishes for all of the upcoming events in your lives and hopefully the time will come again when we can watch nature in your backyard because the Royals make it more enjoyable than just watching nature. Thank you

  90. Diana B Says:

    Thank you for all you did – it was fun – and I was happy I was part of it – I have the DVD, Jewelry ordered photo books, kids books, mugs, cards, coasters, prints – well – you have turned me into an owl collector – just not any owl though – only Molly and crew.
    Happy Holiday’s and extend best wishes to your granddaughter. your back yard is a lovely place to have a wedding.

  91. Ellen Says:

    Gee, that was fun and I can’t thank you for allowing me to be part of this journey. Carlos, you and your family are so special for giving all of us who participated such an education. I will cherish all the memories made here and look forward to meeting up again. I wish you and your family all the best for a happy and healthy New Year and am looking forward to new adventures with Molly and McGee.

  92. CAequuslvr Says:

    I could not say it any better than those many people who have said it all so wonderfully and eloquently to express their appreciation.

    I also agree that a wedding under the watch of M&M is the perfect way to end this incredibly magical year.

    With the most sincere regards.

  93. Ericka Says:

    I had no idea it took as much to do this. We are all so grateful to what you have done for us and the experiences we have had through your broadcast. I learned so much I never would have found out before. I am wondering though if this means you are done for good, or just until the spring? Whichever it is I am so grateful to you for all you have done.
    Happy Holidays to Carlos, Donna and your family

    • Tammy Smith Says:

      I’m confused too. Does this mean it’s over for good, or just until Spring? If it’s for good, there will be others doing owl cams. I’ll just look for those. I love barn owls now!:)

  94. Blanche Fedor Says:

    Makes me sad to think these wires will not get put up again and that might be the last picture we see of Molly.
    On another note-I ordered the book Wesley the Owl by Stacey O’Brien on Amazon and got it in the mail today. The picture on the book set the tears flowing-it looks like our fluffy owlet posed for the cover. Can’t wait to read it.

  95. Sherrie Says:

    Gee it was fun and I am SO glad I was part of it! Thank you, thank you, for everything you so generously gave us. It’s been a joy to know Molly and her family, you, Donna, and Austin. And thanks to the MOD’s for all their work as well. I will never forget all of you. Best of luck with the wedding! Wishing you all a Merry Christmas and Happy, Healthy, Owly New Year! Warmly, Sherrie

  96. LadyLaura1 Says:

    2010 Bird of the Year was the Write in Votes for the BARN OWL.. Public Announcement to be made tomorrow..

    YES BARN OWLS ROCK!!!!!!

  97. GeniaKnitz Says:

    WE DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Molly and McGee and their families ROCK!!!
    As do Carlos, Donna, and Austin.

    We who have had the privilege of becoming MODs will be strutting for a LOOOONG time!

    We love the Royal Family and the Royal Owls.

  98. Bigsis/Robin Says:

    Definately a labor of love! I can’t wait to receive my clutch1 and clutch2 books. Have a beautiful wedding Ashley…I cannot wait to see your pictures. Woohoo on barn owl making bird of the year-I am sure that it was a landslide ;)

  99. Tweetypie Says:

    Dearest Royals,

    There are not enough words to express the thanks my family feels for being able to be a part of something so special and so heart warming.

    We got up every morning to Molly(and all)and went to sleep each night with this cyber family too.

    This has reminded us that there are still a lot of people who care about what really matters in life, life itself, the beings in it, and each other.

    PRICELESS!!!!!

    THNAK YOU THANK YOU

  100. flukestail Says:

    WOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    The barn owl won! Molly won! We won!
    Now I lay me down to sleep,
    My excitement at winning just cannot keep,
    The barn owl won as Bird of the Year,
    To Molly & MODS…CHEER, CHEER, CHEER!!!

    What a way to end 2010!

    WOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  101. flukestail Says:

    WOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    The barn owl won! Molly won! We won!
    Now I lay me down to sleep,
    My excitement at winning just cannot keep,
    The barn owl won as Bird of the Year,
    To Molly & MODS…CHEER, CHEER, CHEER!!!

    What a way to end 2010!

    WOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  102. Mary Jozwiak Says:

    Thank you so much for everything you’ve done for us Carlos and Donna and Austin. You put so much time and effort into Showing us Molly and her family. I just want you to know that even if you are never going to broadcast again it will always be an amazing experience to me and many others! You’ve made great memories for so many! I hope you have a wonderful and blessed holiday season and enjoy good health and fun travels in the New Year!

  103. Kim Says:

    Carlos and Donna, thank you again. That front row seat was truly amazing. And you both helped make it even more amazing with the love and dedication you put into this year-long event. Our gratitude is overflowing. Now, go have a wonderful wedding! May your generosity only be topped by your joy.

    Kim and Dave Gorman

  104. Ruth White Says:

    Happy Holidays to everyone! Happy Wedding Royals! Molly won! It’s been a wonderful experience!

  105. Lori G Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    There is line from a song by “Train”:

    “When words – Keep you from feeling good – Use them as firewood – And let’em burn”

    I truly hope you realize the majority of MODS; SS MODS & I’ll bet Chat MODS, are behind you 100%. You invited us into Your Home, shared wonders with us beyond what we ever imagined could be, and we are Truly Grateful. Our MOD Family continues to share, laugh, cry and love. This experience has been Life Changing & if it weren’t for “Molly Royal”, none of it would be possible.

    It was, Indeed, a Priviledge & A Gift in so many ways. Thank You So Much. Enjoy your Family & your Retirement. Forever Thanks, Take Care & God Bless. Farewell!

  106. Donna Koski Says:

    So sorry to see the end of Molly,Mcgee and all the other Barn Owls. They were such a wonderful addition to the year of 2010 and will really be missed especially by the handicapp. It was a wonderful ride and really appreciated as I know how hard all of you worked and how much it must have cost. I am so Happy that the Barn Owl got bird of the year, well deserved thanks to you. God Bless on all your future endevaors, You and your family and friends will all be missed.

  107. Dottie Cobb Kissell Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna and Austin…I live in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, and to view the daily happenings of Molly and Magee’s kids over the past year, I felt so fortunate to be able to learn so much about owls from the two of you. It was truly a pleasure to witness the lives of owls through your technology. Kudos to the both of you (and Austin) for taking your time and effort of sharing such magnificent data, realizing it was a tremendous effort on your part creating such a viewing possible to all, not once, but twice. Thank you again from the bottom of my heart for your going beyond the call of duty, you were totally so generous ! I will certainly have my beautiful memories. Wishing you and your Family, and all aboard MOD’s Rocking Holidays and a Blessed 2011 ! Merry Christmas…Dottie Cobb Kissell

  108. Alyse Says:

    Just want to say that we all so much recognize and appreciate all the time, effort, and expense you put into broadcasting the owls! Thank you so, so much.

    Unfortunately all good things must come to an end. Everyone realizes and appreciates the fact that you and your wife do have a life(!), and must move on. Best wishes to the two of you and all your family.

    Ending on a positive note – as of today we now have another pair of owls to watch in San Marcos, Owlivia and Owliver. This will help the MODS needing an owl fix, but may lead to a new disorder – OOD, oh no!

    Thanks again, Carlos, for all you have done! Was a wonderful experience, really.

  109. Monie Thompson Says:

    Carlos, Donna, and Austin,

    Thank you so much for mountain of hours you gave to all of us to share this wonderful life of Molly, Magee and the owlets. No words can express how much we lived and loved the owls during all the time you gave selflessly so we could all watch and share in your upclose view of this beautiful part of nature. It would not have been possible without your efforts, time, care and love. It was an unforgettable experience that we will never forget. Merry Christmas to you and your family and we will always treasure the gift you gave us of Molly, Magee and their family.

  110. Tracey Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna & Austin,
    Thank you so much for all you have done to bring the amazing Molly & McGee family to all of our homes. All that equipment must have been such a challenge to put up and to take down! It was SO much fun and I’m very grateful to have had the opportunity to see the owls in their natural life. Though I’ll miss watching Molly the memories will last a lifetime. Love the DVD Austin! Best wishes for Ashley’s wedding plans and love the idea that Molly could do a fly by! Happy Holidays!

  111. Dottie Cobb Kissell Says:

    @Katy: Google Owliver and Owlivia owl box, san Marcos…sites will appear. Hope it works for you. It did for me. Good Luck.

    • Katy Says:

      Thanks!! My Ustream App on the ipad doesn’t find it so I will do the google! Appreciate your help so much!!

    • Dottie Cobb Kissell Says:

      @Katy: You are quite welcome. :)

      • Alyse Says:

        Ustream feed of O&O can also be viewed at Sportsman’s Paradise Online website. On homepage click ‘live wildlife webcams’ and then click ‘live owl nest box cam’. Top window shows slideshow of Molly and McGee, bottom window is live (just recently) of Owlivia and Owliver.

        Both O&O have been spending some day time hours in the box – comforting to see owls again. Night cam not hooked up yet but the sound is on, so at least we can hear the owls when they’re in the box at night – especially comforting for those of us that miss Carrie’s non-stop demands for food!

  112. Susanralph Says:

    Oh so happy I was part of it. Oh so sad so see all the cables down. finis. I can NEVER thank you enough. Molly and what she stands for will always be in my heart

  113. Lisa Says:

    Carlos & Donna,
    I wasn’t around as much for the second clutch…at least not as an active commenter or chatter…but my appreciation for all of your efforts is boundless. You have provided an experience that I and my kids will never forget. We cherish our signed Molly the Owl books and I wear my McGee necklace daily. Have a wonderful Christmas and a well-deserved rest from all of the madness of the past year.

  114. Angela S Says:

    Well, at least you got to assist Austin in his goal of attending college. I’m sure he will appreciate that for the rest of his life.

  115. Liz Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    We spent many hours watching the first clutch, and tuned in once in awhile to the second. We loved Molly’s family, your family, and the community that sprang up among her fans. A highlight for us was having the unexpected opportunity to attend the picnic last spring, all the way from Oregon and meet you, Austin and other mods. Thank you so much for all your hard work and sacrifices. We love our mugs, book and DVD and will treasure them always. Our congratulations to the bride and groom, and our warm wishes to your entire family.

    Ron and Liz (LizOregon)
    Ashland, OR and on-the-road in our RV

  116. VeeTX Says:

    I just saw the news about the heavy rains in Southern California and I hope this does not affect the wedding!!!! Let’s all MODS east of San Marcos blow real hard at the same time – at 7:45 PM Central time – and blow this big front back out to sea!!!! We’re anxious for this wedding to be perfect and are looking forward for some photos to be posted!!!!


Leave a Reply

