Vote Molly

November 2, 2010

464366381v19_480x480_Front

Vote Molly

4D5Q1198 Steller's Jay SF

Steller's Jay

Be sure to cast your vote today.

This Steller’s Jay showed up when we put out some peanuts.

I have received many comments on the name of the Northern Flicker, just remember the Northern Flicker like the barn owl is known by over 100 names depending on where you live, but they are all Northern Flickers according to my books. Northern Flickers that live in the western region are Red-shafted while those that live in the east are Yellow-shafted but both are a Northern Flicker.  Kind of like humans, white skinned, red skinned, brown skinned, black skinned and yellow skinned but all human.

Chris Adams informed me that he plans to have  holiday items available on Cafe Press by this Friday.

Austin has ordered 200 more DVDs and they should arrive next week.  www.austin4media.com  He is working on paying for year three of his College education.

All the best,

Carlos, Donna and Austin

74 Responses to “Vote Molly”

  1. vicki Says:

    As for the voting, I did write Molly the owl three times on the ballot–no joke. Actually the joke is the candidates here in Illinois. Just when you think it couldn’t get worse here, along comes an election year that won’t end. I hope California is in better shape this time around.

    I miss all the chats and seeing the owlets, M&M,Carlos, Donna & Austin. You are the best thing about this year.

    Thanks for helping me keep my sanity!

    • Mary B in StL Says:

      Just so you don’t feel like the Lone Ranger, Vicki, I wrote-in Molly for senator here in Missouri. She’s a better choice than the two printed on the ballot.

  2. francie bowers Says:

    Hi Carlos & Donna, another ‘stellar’ picture!! I am sure we all are having trouble not voting for Molly, who can resist Peace, Love, Community?? Hope you are enjoying your vacation, we think about you all the time & wonder what you’re doing!

  3. Lynne Morrow Says:

    Glad to hear from you and we are enjoying your lovely bird photos. Got our wonderful Molly Mansion and can’t wait to get it up. Ours is #8. Glad you had a good reunion and are keeping in touch with all of us. We pray for our nation on this election day and wish it were as simple and straight-forward as raising a clutch of healthy owls! I always vote for Molly and you!

  4. Cindy Says:

    Hi Donna and Carlos,

    Voted by mail and was ever-so-tempted to put in Molly’s name, but I didn’t, however it did make me smile. I have my “Vote Molly” bumper sticker on my car that Donna gave me which also makes me smile.
    Thanks for sharing the lovely jay photo.

    Happy day

    ~Anewday

  5. Bonita Lyon Says:

    Wow! Makes me want to get a new camera! I have never seen a Steller’s Jay this BLUE! The color is so vivid and beautiful. Love your photos. Think about you guys and the M and M Royal Family often. Hope you are having the time of your life. Bonnibell I look forward to reunion and travel photos!!!

  6. SARose69 Says:

    I voted early and have been wearing my “Vote Molly” button ever since I got it to raise awareness.

  7. Phyllis Benson Says:

    Beautiful bird!! Thanks for the beautiful photos. Hope you and Donna are enjoying your well deserved vacation. We miss you and Donna and the owl box! Be safe.

  8. Martha M. Gibbs Says:

    From Calliopekid – It is so great to hear from youall and love the bird pictures. I’ve never seen either of the two birds that you sent. Carlos, you and Donna are part of my family now and it’s wonderful to stay in touch. I miss seeing you everday on my computer. Enjoy your vacation – you’ve certainly earned it.

  9. Joanne Murray Says:

    Nice that you two touch base with all of us. Isn’t it amazing as to what happened with the Molly cam? Who would have thought. I do not take part in the daily chat, but I am always watching and learning and enjoying. With all the craziness in this world, watching Molly and McGee and families are a Blessing. Being a photographer, I always enjoy your photo’s. Excellent. Thank you..joanne

  10. Donna Simonson Says:

    Ah the word is out in Williams to all our fine feathered friends, “Carlos and Donna Royal are in town. Let’s go see them and get our photo taken by Molly and McGee’s photographer!” Beautiful subjects you have there. Got my voter guide ready downstairs. Always like to remember all those before us and those now who assist in providing us our freedom to vote. God Bless them and their families. We MODS all do still check everyday for updates on our wonderful friends, Carlos and Donna Royal. Enjoy those peaceful surroundings and thank you for sharing. Love, hugs and prayers owlways, “OwlLuver”, Murrieta, CA.

  11. DotRot Says:

    Vote Molly!

    I’m not voting FOR Molly, but I’ll definitely vote with Molly in mind – thinking of all the things that she represents when I make my decisions.

  12. Joyce Hebert Says:

    thanks for the pictures…i am a backyard bird watcher and these are great…enjoy your time away from home and thanks again for molly

  13. Alana Silvea Says:

    Carlos, I left a message on Austin’s Facebook page coupled with an email to Donna AND posted a comment on “Molly’s” Facebook page…about another idea to complete Austin’s college fund (no responses to date). I suggested that you produce another DVD from your good-bye slideshow of the 2nd Clutch! Now, isn’t THAT A FINE IDEA??!! There are no words to tell you how much I miss Carrie and Ashley (Carrie was my favorite). It may sound silly, but there’s an “ache” in my heart. I got soooooo attached! Needless to say, I ordered quite ALOT of Molly stuff…sigh. At any rate, please consider it, okay?

  14. Alana Silvea Says:

    p.s. I forgot to ask if all the Ustream videos will be online “indefinitely”? I have placed many in my “Favorite” places to view periodically. I’m hoping they won’t disappear someday. Another question… if another clutch hatches in the Spring (hopefully Molly & McGee), will you broadcast yet again? HOPE SO!!!

  15. Nancy Harp Says:

    Thanks again for taking time to share your wonderful pictures! It is such a joy to open my e-mail, find Molly News and read the comments from so many others who have enjoyed this fantatic experience. I too voted this morning and certainly thought of Molly and the MODS.
    Harp58

  16. Theresa Atkins Says:

    I vote by mail and it was hard not to write in Molly. I have got to update my camera. I was at the Hyatt Regency in San Francisco the last 4 days for an anime convention and none of my pictures turned out very well. I was so disappointed because the interior is all garden surrounded by the rooms. When I saw it I thought what a great environment for owls. Plenty of perching opportunities for hunting.
    Anyway, so glad you had a great time. I’m planning on taking the Grand Canyon train trip out of Williams in a couple of years and then going down to Prescott to check out a mobile home park located in the Prescott National Forest for retirees as I will be retiring in 7 years. Great opportunities for birding as it has hiking trails and two small lakes.
    Take care.


  17. Carlos, beautiful shot of the Stellar’s Jay. Looks like a painting! Yes, Northern Flicker is just that, with the different varieties. Whatever, I loved your photo.

    I vote this afternoon, and I may just put in a vote for Molly someplace. I know we will all be happy when the voting is over!

  18. Elizabeth Mason Says:

    Gorgeous! Thanks so much for sending this.

  19. Nancy Says:

    Molly wins my vote!
    I bet she returns to spend the winter!
    Any citings of Carrie?

  20. Jean Davis Says:

    Love the pictures of the beautiful birds. Would make wonderful Christmas cards.
    Thank you for sharing.

  21. 1SkatrPie Says:

    Carlos, you and Donna surely realize that whether the owl cam is on or off that your MOD family loves you forever and we are so grateful you continue allowing us to share your lives through your amazing photography, love for nature, and human generosity.
    Congrats to Austin and why CAN’T we have someone like Molly for Congress? I’ll vote for the humans, but reluctantly!

  22. jacque green Says:

    Carlos and Donna, thank you for beautiful pictures of the birds. I miss you all and Molly and McGeee. I know you’re enjoying you’re vacation, well needed. See ya soon

  23. Candee Says:

    Thank you, Carlos and Donna. I am going now to vote. Hopefully we can move more toward community and peace! Love the picture. Hope all is good! Candee

  24. Carol Watt Says:

    Thank you for sharing that wonderful picture.

  25. Ricki Says:

    Thank you for your updates w/ the pictures of the beautiful birds.
    I really did write in Molly for Governor of our state because I don’t care for either candidate!!

  26. Lisa A. Burns Says:

    Oh Carlos!! What a beautiful Stellar Jay ! I am in awe. Thank you so much for sharing! We all love hearing from you and Donna.

    I too thought of our Molly when I voted. : )

    God Bless you both, Enjoy!!

  27. MARIE DEMARCO Says:

    Great to hear from you and get email updates!

    Ditto on comment #19…lol It’s about more that Molly and the owlets….but they have really been a learning experience and I’ve loved every minute.

  28. barb Says:

    We have the Northern Flicker here in Ohio, with the yellow trim as you said.. but thank you for the Stellar Jay, that we never get to see here in the east. Wow! What an incredible blue! Carlos keep your camera handy, your photos are terrific. Happy birding to you both.

  29. Jo-Ann Says:

    Thank you so much for keeping us informed!!! The Steller Jay is just beautiful… I only get scrub Jays at my bird feeder plus all the little and medium size birds. You take absolutely beautiful pictures… thank you so very very much…

    Jo-Ann in Marin Country

  30. Vicki Says:

    Thank you for the photo of the stellar jay–a beautiful bird. Much brighter blue than the blue jays we have in here in IL.

    Please notify me of new posts via email.

    Best wishes, Vicki, IL

  31. Christine Peters Says:

    Another stunning photo. Living in the east, I have never seen one of these. We have blue jays, but not Stellar’s jays. Gorgeous! I also loved the Northern Flicker from yesterday. I do have those at my suet feeder.

    Thanks for posting; miss you so much!! It feels like a big part of my life ended when the cameras went off. I loved all your broadcasts from KOWL; it brightened my day.

    Hope you are enjoying your travels.

    Take care,
    Christine

  32. Jerri Suominen Wolder Says:

    Carlos,Donna,& Austin,
    Thank you so much for C2,my first lesson in watching baby owls grow. Never thought I would get so addicted to a website,let alone join a chat room. Social Stream added to watching the owls by meeting some very wonderful people and learning so much about Molly and her family of owlets! I have truly been blessed from finding your website with Molly. Prior to that I was in a deep depression over my medical problems and needing to do my second open heart surgery in 4 years! I shared that info with the SS chatters and instantly had a whole group of strangers become family to me and very supportive by wearing heart avatars just for me,sending emails to the hospital for me. I never would have dreamed that would happen to me and I have a wonderful group of friends to support and love me,just because of an owl named Molly and you,Carlos,Donna,Austin and Eric! Thanks for the ride and I am so happy to have been a part of it with you,yours,and the SS! Gee,wasn’t that fun and I was a part of it!!

  33. Linda Brown Says:

    Carlos/Donna – Love the updates and awesome shots of the flicker and stellar. Just had to tell you – Ashley and Carrie went with me to the polls this morning to vote ……….. via my long sleeve T from CafePress! Have a great day!!

  34. Karen in Sebring Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna! I just love your photo of the Stellar Jay, the blue is so deep and vivid! Thank you for staying in touch with the MODs, even on your vacation. I surely miss seeing you on my computer screen. Take care and have a wonderful time traveling!

  35. nhptown2 Says:

    I love the bird photos, makes me still feel connected to all the owl fans. Keep ’em coming!
    Thanks again

  36. Couleedam (Nora) Says:

    Wow, what a beautiful stellar jay….ours here our kind of washed out in color…..not nearly as vivid! You really could publish a book of all your bird photos Carlos! Glad you and Donna are enjoying your travels! Drive safely and enjoy each new adventure. Thanks for keeping in touch :-)

  37. Joan Says:

    seriously… Molly could probably do a better job than most of the other politicians… she has my vote… it makesmy day when a message comes from Mollys’ box… thanks Carlos

  38. Virgene Colby-auntie_vee Says:

    Once again, thanks for the great photos and keeping in touch. When I get an email it makes my day. Keep safe and enjoy the trip.

  39. Maryann Says:

    Thank you for the updates Carlos and Donna! I think about you often and of course Molly, McGee and their beautiful owlets (now owls). Have a great time and thanks again!!

    Vote Molly :)

  40. Linda Stauffer Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful bird with us. I never saw one before. On Halloween I went to an owl event where they had four different owls that they brought in to show and talk about. We were so excited because one was a barn owl. It was neat to see one in person. This one has an injury to its wing and can’t fly. It stays at the sanctuary. Very interesting program.

    My vote is for Molly,

    Linda Stauffer
    Harrisburg, PA

  41. Becky Konkol Says:

    Hi Mr. Royal,

    I am really enjoying your newest bird pictures from your travels. You are just an excellent photographer. Hope you all are having a great time.

    Sincerely a m.o.d.-
    Becky Konkol

  42. owloverbo Says:

    Carlos & Donna
    What a wonderful gift you still give to us. Love the Jay.
    Thanks for keeping in touch. I feel lost without my daily owl fix but I went out to buy gourds for a holiday display and looked down and saw a baby barn owl face looking back. That gourd came home with me.
    Thanks

  43. Sue Nahalka Says:

    Gorgeous bird pics. I guess I will have to make a trip out west to see some, and take my peanuts with me! I have so enjoyed your sites! How close are you to that jay, I am wondering.

  44. Linda Young Says:

    Hi Traveling Royals,
    Thanks so much for staying in touch with your MOD family – photos are gorgeous. Glad you’re having a great time.
    We miss you and are so happy you are able to do what you love.

    Artgirl4388

  45. Torre Says:

    what a great vacation – getting to see lots of birds!! beautiful Jay – haven’t seen one of those! We saw our first Juncos of the season here in Maryland – winter must not be far behind….

    By the way Donna – I took a sock knitting class today – learning toe-up socks – pretty fun and new skills!

    Take care and safe travels!

  46. Beth Jones Says:

    Absolutely Gorgeous!

    When you open a website to sell your photos, Carlos, let us know.

    I VOTED although I didn’t get to write Molly in – I wanted certain candidates to lose and it required me to vote against them with a viable candidate. Although Molly would probably do better than some of the best choices out there!

  47. Linda (hummerzz) Says:

    Beautiful picture! Thanks for sharing as we all love birds (but none more than Molly’s family)!

  48. Madonna Varchetto-Bonner Says:

    Hi Carlos, Donna and Austin; Miss you and our owl family!!! Hope you are having a great time with the reunion and trip. Please let us know how M&M and the owlets are. And please broadcast the next clutch. I can’t wait!!!

  49. Amy B. in IL Says:

    Hi Carlos, Donna & Austin! Hope you had a FUNtastic reunion! What a beautiful photo of the Steller’s Jay! Thanks for sharing!

    Have a great week!

    Amy

  50. Susan Belloff Says:

    Thank you for posting the picture of the stellar jay. I didn’t know a bird of such a bright blue even existed in the US. We have blue jays here in northern NY which I have always thought were beautiful but their coloring in no way compares to that of the stellar jay.
    I am just so glad the election is over. I was so sick of the tv ads and the phone calls I wanted to throw the tv and phone out the window! I hope Molly won! :)
    Susan

  51. Mary Says:

    Thanks for the update, Carlos and Donna. I remember my first trip west and being amazed by the intense color of the Stellar Jay. Over the years, I’ve developed a deep affection for blue jays here in the east, and have noticed their personalities seem to differ from region to region, but they are all very intelligent. We have a large family of jays in our neighborhood who absolutely love dry cat food! They will gather outside and make the ‘squeaky gate’ call for a cat food delivery. Just like Ashley and Carrie, the siblings tussle over the spoils. Thank-you for sharing more of you professional quality photos with us.

    Also, I hope it ok to use your blog to remind everyone that Vacadude (John Atkinson) has his latest fabric design entered in a spoonflower contest online. He has done so much for all of us, and is so talented, please everyone take a moment to check out his terrific entry and vote. http://www.spoonflower.com/contests. Scroll through the pages and find his entry, ‘Forest Critters’ by Vavadude, and click to highlight it. A frame will appear around the edge of the entry. You must then go to the end of all of the entries and press the black and white box at the bottom of the page that says, ‘Vote’ to have your choice count. You can sign in, but according to the spoonflower team, you do not have to sign in to vote. Only one vote per i.p. address. You can see Vacadude’s other incredible owlet designs too. The contest ends Wed. 11/3

    Carlos and Donna, you’re always in our thoughts!

  52. CatSmommy Says:

    wow… beautiful image. You really need to to a book about birds, they are your muse, Carlos.

    hope you’re having a super time. I think of M&M everyday… and miss seeing your smile on camera, Carlos, and seeing Donna in the background, making sure all is going correctly.

    stay safe and healthy
    Luv uGuts

  53. Sue Steinke Says:

    Thank you for so much for keeping in tough. I look forward to your posts. The photos are beautiful and I enjoy hearing about your travels. Hope you both are having a great time … you deserve it! I keep visualizing the two of you in your RV with owls surrounding it :)

    I went to a raptor demonstration at Wild Birds Unlimited (Michigan) last month and saw a Harris Hawk, Red Tailed Hawk, Eurasian Eagle Owl and a Kestrel. It was awesome to see these beautiful birds at arms length. I see now why you both love the Kestrel so much.

    God’s speed for a safe and enjoyable trip.

  54. Judy Collier Says:

    Your pictures are AWESOME … thank you ever so much for sharing them with everyone. I could not believe the colors and the definition in the picture of the Northern Flicker. We have flickers in Florida but they are faded next to that one and the Stellar Jay was stunning. I have never seen one, so that was really a treat. You definitely are multi-talented and we are all missing you.

  55. floridaheat Says:

    Beautiful bird Carlos. Never have seen one. Wonder if they live in FL. My vote for Molly sign was up in yard and wore 2 vote for Molly buttons to the office of elections (voted early) and explained Molly to several people (think 5 or 6) Gave out her business cards–It was so fun. With all the tension in this election, everyone at the election office laughed and loved the story of Molly!! I have cleaned and packed the banner away for the next election! Happy trails to you.


  56. Hey Carlos & Donna,
    Enjoying the updates and your beautiful nature photography. Hope the trip is fun and relaxing.
    I came across a Stellar’s Jay once in Oregon and could not get over how beautiful its color was. Definitely a bird you never forget if you see one. Great photo.
    Safe travels!

  57. Julie Says:

    Carlos,

    Your pictures are as always: STUNNING!

    More Happy Trails…..

  58. Joy H from Largo, FL Says:

    What a beautiful bird!!!
    Thanks for the awesome photos, so glad you two are enjoying some well deserved time together!
    Will be watching for more updates!
    Take care and enjoy your travels!

  59. Linda E. Zembryski Says:

    thanks for every bit of JOY the Owls have brought and to you and the clan as well.

  60. Linda E. Zembryski Says:

    hope this worked to get e-mail updates from Carlos.

  61. john&christine Says:

    hello from nh

  62. john&christine Says:

    hi from nh please keep us updated on future developments on the owl box ..

  63. shale Says:

    Thanks for the updates on M&M and the other birds.

  64. Jeanne Mortensen Says:

    Beautiful pictures!!!


  65. Hi, Carlos. Thanks so much to you, Donna, Eric, & Austin for everything.
    So glad you are now getting to travel and have some time for yourselves.
    What a great gift you’ve given all of us!
    Love,
    Gloria Whitfield
    gcw35@poetworld.net

  66. Tammy Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for sharing Molly, McGee and the owlets, it sure was a lot of fun and now I have MOD, and love it.

    Wishing you safe travels…enjoy!!

  67. TINA GLASGOW Says:

    I SO ENJOY YOUR BLOG CARLOS! PLEASE NOTIFY ME OF ALL YOUR BLOG UPDATES VIA MY EMAIL. THANK YOU SO, SO MUCH!

  68. Peggy B. Says:

    I really enjoyed seeing the photos of Molly and McGee. Thank you!

  69. Gail Burns Says:

    What a pretty bird!

  70. Darlene Lasker Says:

    I wish updates on Molly and McGee. Thank You for sharing this wonderful event and all that came of it. I hope you & Donna realize how very special you are. You must know, everyone feels the same as I do.

    With Lots of Love,
    Darlene – Plantlady

  71. jessica Says:

    As long as you are willing, we are here to watch

  72. Rose Evans Says:

    Update Please

  73. Elizabeth Schmid Says:

    Thank you so much for allowing me & many others to watch Molly & McGee over the past 8 months & their 2 owlet families.


Leave a Reply

