Carrie Can Fly

October 12, 2010

Carrie First Time Photo Posing Ledge

4D5Q0961 Last Minute Instructions

So Here Is The Secret, "Flap Your Wings."

4D5Q0976 Ashley Comes To Check On Carrie SF

Looking for Tauntz

4D5Q0981 Carrie On Fence SF

Where Do I Fly From Here

4D5Q0898 Ashley Neighbor's Tree LE SF

Fly To The Tree

4D5Q0984 Molly To Ashley SF

I Get The Treat, Sorry Carrie I Tricked You

4D5Q0986 Carrie After Fly About SF

What a wild rat chase

15% OFF SALE

Perfect Hand Off To Carrie

Carrie Misses Landing, Goes to The Ground For Second Time

4D5Q0965 Carrie and Ashley SF

Carrie and Ashley On Landing Pad

Carrie did as predicted and went to the photo posing ledge. Ashley suggested she try her wings and Carrie went to the ground. Ashley dropped down to make sure Carrie was okay and then returned to the photo posing ledge to get the treat. Carrie couldn’t believe she had been tricked and returned to the owl box. All that flying for nothing. Oh well, there is always another night.

Café Press 15% OFF SALE

Carlos, Donna and Austin

54 Responses to “Carrie Can Fly”

  1. Joyce Says:

    These excellent photos are so enhanced by your comments.

  2. Sue Says:

    That was one of the most enjoyable nights I have ever had!! Thanks-you for the opportunity to experience all of this with you!

  3. karen Plate Says:

    this is just too cool:)

  4. Sally King Says:

    Amazing photos of Carrie and Ashley once again Carlos.You said it would happen tonight and there she/he is on the posing ledge.You ARE the Owl Man and after so many hours of watching , you really have a thorough understanding and knowledge of owl behaviour.Your photos help us to see what we will never have the chance to see …owls learning to fly at night.
    Go Carrie!!!You can do it!
    Thank you for your wonderful photos. Sally in Melbourne Australia

  5. Rebecca Says:

    I love the photo on the ground and the fence beautiful I want a print of it you do amazing Carlos thank you.


  6. Wild night in the Owl Box!! Fabulous pictures, you are the best!

  7. arags Says:

    Wow! What fun it was to be in the owl box while all this unfolded before the eyes of our special family. Also exciting to have Donna join us in chat. The pictures are stunning, Carlos. The perfect captions tell the whole story.
    with a grateful heart,
    arags

  8. Marje McConaughy Says:

    Beautiful photos again.

  9. Linda Says:

    Thank you Carlos for this wonderful experience. You are the greatest. Blessings to you and your family.

  10. Marje McConaughy Says:

    Gonna miss this when it’s gone.

  11. Jean Holmes Says:

    I have been lurking for 6 weeks – don’t know how to chat…this has been the most facinating experience. Thank you so much to Carlos and Donna for all the time and effort. I’m retired, so have been able to watch day and night. My only hope is that if the owl box is lucky enough to house another clutch, and the Royals again devote their days and nights to making it possible for us to watch, I’ll somehow know from the beginning!

  12. Sandyg Says:

    Great pictures!

  13. Diana Says:

    What a fantastic night!! Little Carrie simply stunned the world!! When she fell and Ashley went after her, I said “ten to one Carlos is out there with a light and a camera!” (There were no takers on my wager) And guess what? You were! Very beautiful photos,
    Carlos Royal, you are the Man of the Year in my opinion!! And Donna gets the Woman of the Year Award! Two very fantastic people who have made a HUGE difference in a lot of others’ lives. Thank you, thank you!
    I hope you and Donna have a wonderful vacation and come home to six new eggs to worry about. This has been SO much fun, ………..well you know the rest!

  14. Chris in Olympia, WA (cbbrunner) Says:

    Actually, both of those handoffs are beautiful shots!! And love that we see that Carrie was fine on the ground, just trying to get her bearings and plan her flight back. Getting enough lift to go up high is much different than a leap off a tall perch. Thanks for the varied photos this morning.

  15. Carol Watt Says:

    Carlos you Donna were on top of it as usual. Fantastic pictures and what a moment in owl time. Thankyou just dosn’t convey how the heart feels. God bless.

  16. Maggie Says:

    Thanks so much…these are wonderful!!

  17. Gail Loveless Says:

    I just love receiving these. I look forward to them. Thank you Carlos and Donna.

  18. Amelia J Miller Says:

    As a backyard birder I have to admit I extemely jealous of your backyard birding. I am so thankful to both of you for sharing this wonderful experience. Wonderful pictures

  19. Amelia J Miller Says:

    I will truly miss this experience, hopefully Molly and McGee will always be there for 2 of you to enjoy forever. My favorite to get excited is the Cardinal. Both have a nice day

  20. Elizabeth Mason Says:

    Wonderful pictures and comments! Thanks so much.

  21. Phyllis Says:

    You got the hand-off shot! Woo-hoo!!

  22. caboval Says:

    I always enjoy checking on your blog the next day! Last night possibly was the best night ever! The chat went wild and I think we forgot to breathe when we watched as Carrie missed her landing! This was the most exciting night ever!!! Fantastic photos that tell the story!!! Thank you soo much Carlos!!! Oh cant forget the sound that Mcgee made when the cat was in the area! Spectacular!!!!!! Hugs Caboval

  23. D.S. Langguth Says:

    Thanks again for the great photos–the one of them on the ground especially–how cute are they?
    Love the captions, too. :)

  24. Sue Toppi Says:

    awesome photos! they are adorable owlets and love the captions! thank you

  25. Chililfinger Says:

    Carlos and Donna,

    A favorite quote, that your generous efforts here have made more clear, and more dear.

    Henry Beston: (excerpt from ‘The Outermost House’)

    “We need another and a wiser and perhaps a more mystical concept of animals. Remote from universal nature, and living by complicated artifice, man in civilization surveys the creature through the glass of his knowledge and sees thereby a feather magnified and the whole image in distortion. We patronize them for their incompleteness, for their tragic fate of having taken form so far below ourselves. And therein we err, and greatly err. For the animal shall not be measured by man. In a world older and more complete than ours they move finished and complete, gifted with extensions of the senses we have lost or never attained, living by voices we shall never hear. They are not brethren, they are not underlings; they are other nations caught with ourselves in the net of life and time, fellow prisoners of the splendour and travail of the earth.”

  26. Francie Yarber Says:

    I absolutely love these captioned pictures and your interpretations

  27. SANDY ZAPPIA Says:

    Please subscribe me to the BLOG. These are such fantastic pix and captions…I love it!

  28. SANDY ZAPPIA Says:

    Subscribe me please.

  29. Ellen Says:

    Thanks for being there with these wonderful photos while I am sleeping. You make sure that I don’t miss these moments that are so engaging. Carlos, you and your family are the best and please, enjoy your well deserved vacation although I have to say that I am sincerely going to miss all this.

    makerel

  30. Holly Sue Says:

    Thrilling photographs, exciting memories! Now that the two owlets are coming out of the owl box it would be so great if a photograph of Ashley and Carrie would be available on a framed tile to go with the others in my collection. I’m sure many people would also enjoy items with the owlets photos. Thank you so much for this precious experience!

    Holly Sue

  31. ItsAllAboutMeToo Says:

    As always, I LOVE the photo’s & witty captions! I was surprised to see the owlets on the lawn. Did the 1st group ever hang out on the ground/lawn? Adorable……I wonder if they found their wabbit!
    Thanks so much to Carlos, Donna, & Austin for sharing this awesome experiance with us!!!

  32. Michele Says:

    Please subscribe me to the blog updates via email. Thanks!

  33. lynn hafter Says:

    Would like all further updates via email.
    Thank You,
    Lynn

  34. owloverbo Says:

    I will never see or hear an owl and fail to remember 2010 My year of the owl and meeting a group of wonderful people world wide.
    Thank you so much

  35. Jerri Suominen Wolder Says:

    No photos came through! Please send again.

    Just wanted to let you know that during my recent hospitalization for heart surgery, I passed out over 100 Molly cards to everyone I had contact with there. I have been so supported by SS MODS during this time. They have sent emails daily,flowers and one who lived near me came to visit me often during the 11 days I was in ICU! God bless you Carlos,Donna and Austin for bringing all of us together and giving us such happiness. Joyful Jerri on SS

  36. Rebecca Cole Says:

    So amazing; these owls; these photos. Can’t tell you how much I appreciate all that has come from one box of owls.

  37. Kathy Says:

    What an amazing night of sights and sounds from the Owlbox! Thank you Donna for updating us on the “McGee and the Cat” story. I am writing to ask if it is possible to include one of the beautiful photos from last night as a photograph option on the cafepress site. The pictures are wonderful.

    Kind regards,

    kestra14

  38. Amy Says:

    The pictures from last night are amazing. Thank you for allowing us to be part of this experience.

  39. catperry aka CatsMommy Says:

    TY carlos, love the girls on the ground.

  40. Joan Sullivan Says:

    This is all so great! Thanks!

  41. Diane Says:

    I love what you offered us. Grand Job!

    Thank you,

    Diane

  42. Rebecca Says:

    Please subscribe me to this blog via email thank you

  43. Kathy Says:

    Great pictures Carlos! Thanks for sharing!

  44. Lynn Dumont Says:

    As things are quickly drawing to a close, thank you so much, Carlos and Donna for sharing the past 9 months with us and giving us so much warmth and love. My health has drastically failed in the past year and Molly and families have helped me get through (while draining my pocketbook LOL). Please, dear friends, do consider broadcasting a spring clutch if you would. In the meantime, enjoy your ‘down time’ and be good to each other. Much love and gratitude.

  45. Ruth Wright Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    I often sit in awe as I watch the owl box. There are no words to describe what I feel as I watch the wonder of God’s creation. I thank God for both of you and of course, Austin. You have been a blessing to many people.
    Hugs to both of you and to Austin
    Ruth

  46. aintlifegrand Says:

    Please add my name to the list for up dates. Thanks!

  47. Diana Feit Says:

    N/E GEORGIA M.O.D. lunch –SATURDAY @ O’Charley’s in front of Mall of Georgia-Buford. RSVP by Friday to

    fayej1@bellsouth.net

    from a note to the chat by Choco

  48. Jackie Says:

    As always Carlos GREAT pics!!!
    Thank you Carlos and Donna for sharing such a wonderful experience!!

  49. Laurel Burden Says:

    Thanks, once again, for a wonderful adventure. Hope you have a great series of “vacations”, you both have earned some time off!

  50. Bobbi Says:

    As always, beautiful pictures! Thank you again for letting us see Ashley and Carrie grow up. It will be sad for all of us on Thursday, October 21st, but these memories will live on.

  51. June Schafer Says:

    Hi Donna & Carlos,
    WOW! Who would have thought that Barn Owls could turn so many lives up side down—–yours most especially! Donna, I hope you don’t regret asking for that owl house in the first place:) It has been an amazing ride. A friend sent me the SPO site during the first clutch, so I watched them fledge. Then on a crazy whim in early July I clicked on the OB site just to see what was there and there sat Molly! Needless to say, I haven’t missed many days since! What a joy it has been. I hope you will not let the WWs and the nay sayers ruin this for you. Think of the millions of us who knew that M&M knew what they were doing all along! Thank you seems so inadequate but I do thank you so very much for putting your life on hold and sharing with us. After all, “This was fun and I was a part of it”!
    Have a blast at your reunion and great fun and safe travels!
    With much love and thanks,
    June Schafer
    Greer, SC

  52. Cindy Ray Says:

    HI Carlos,
    I’ve wondered all along if the pole conducts heat enough to significantly affect the temperature in the box. Cold, too, but that may be less of an issue.


Leave a Reply

