Ashley Steps Out 4 Times

September 28, 2010

Molly Watches As Ashley Steps Out of Box

Day 52 was the big day(actually night)  for “NO FEAR” Ashley as she stepped out of the box 4 times 10:44Pm, 11:05 PM, 1:10 AM and 1:50 AM.  Max, oldest in the first clutch did not come out of the box until day 56 so just as we thought Ashley is much more advanced at this stage with only two in the box instead of four. The fun now starts as she will leave the box nightly and learn to fly by pouncing from box to fledge ledge and back and forth. All the action happens at night so tune in anytime after dark www.ustream.tv/theowlbox  Screenshot was provided by Robert Frank

Way to go Ashley. Barbara Allen released her latest Molly Song “Wesley’s Lesson,” which of course is about learning to fly. The song can be downloaded from http://mollytheowlbooks.com/ 

The Fine Art Print “The Magic Feather,” is on sale Rocketman Creative

GET10FREE_Banner_125x125

Take $10 Off orders of $60 or more

CafePress Sale TAKE $10 OFF orders of $60 or more.  Great time to buy T-shirts, Keepshake Boxes, Mug and Prints.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

49 Responses to “Ashley Steps Out 4 Times”

  1. Cindy Says:

    What a day, what a day :0)

  2. Katy Says:

    Love it and so many thanks, Carlos.
    Catbird22

  3. Sandra Everest Says:

    Ash reminded me of a child with a new toy, flapping and carrying on! It was a “hoot” to watch! Love the new song too – really enjoy them all.

    The picture is great, and as always, many thanks for all your efforts.

  4. TN216 Says:

    Would like to receive blog updates.

  5. Gwen Says:

    Hi, I’ve enjoyed all this so much, I will miss it after 20 October! I am from Melbourne Australia (Divomad on chat)

  6. Tammy Smith Says:

    Maintenance is going on with U Stream again.:(

  7. Charlie Says:

    Haven’t been able to see the owl box in days! ‘undergoing scheduled maintenance’ Who do I notify??

    Wonderful job Carlos, Donna & Austin! Thank-u!

  8. Janice Grassmeyer Says:

    Wish I could have stayed up to watch all the action last night but just had to sleep.

    Question…I ordered the new song, Wesley’s Lesson and paid for it with paypal and I expected there to be a link sent to my e-mail so I could download it….not there…is there a delay? Or am I looking in the wrong place?

    Would ask for help in chat room but can’t get on ustream.

  9. Jeri Says:

    It was an exciting night! I loved Ashley’s crouching owlet routine!
    Thanks Carlos and Donna! Austin too!

    owlbseeinu

  10. VSue Says:

    I was able to see Ashley the second time she (or he) stepped out and was so excited! I had been working all day, got home late and missed seeing them owlets all day! It seems they have grown so much in just the one day!

    This is such wonderful fun and I am so glad to be a part of this!
    Many thanks to you all Donna, Carlos and Austin, and fellow MODS and chatterz too

  11. Debbie G Says:

    I KNEW Ashley would be out last night… !
    Way to go girl! And you can tell Carrie (or is it Cary?) will be right behind. If Ashley leaves her some room on the porch, I bet Carrie (cary) comes out tonight.
    Thanks so much Carlos: you are Awesome!

  12. Jane Young Says:

    Please notify me by email of follow-up comments and site updates.

  13. MillielovesMolly Says:

    This has been one of the best experiences I’ve ever had; not only watching these beautiful owls, but sharing it with MODs from all over. Amazing! I’ll never forget this, thanks to everyone who made it happen.

  14. D.S. Langguth Says:

    One step for owlets everywhere, one giant leap for Ashley. Kudos for another milestone.
    Always fun. Thanks for the memories. :)

  15. 1Skatr Says:

    Holy Hork, what a night!

  16. Elizabeth or ET27 Says:

    I stayed up until almost 1:30 a.m. EDT and apparently only missed the first step out by a few minutes. Darn! I’m so happy that someone was able to do a screen capture for us & it’s so nice to see Molly watching the momentous occasion.

    I can see my sleep schedule becoming disturbed for the remainder of the time Ashley & Carrie are around the box!

  17. Elizabeth or ET27 Says:

    P.S. because I’ve been keeping a pop-out window open, I haven’t been impacted by any problems with ustream yesterday or today. I did, of course, have problems last week!

  18. Jana Ayers Says:

    Please send OwlBox updates to me. I’ve really enjoyed this & don’t want to miss anything … especially after 10/20/10. Thank-you!


  19. Wow!!!How Exciting for all of us….. Ashley stepped out of the box… The fun really begins now as we wait for Carrie to join her on the playground. Thank you Carlos and Donna for this wonderful experience !!!!
    LuvMolly

  20. Tammy Smith Says:

    Watched Ashley’s coming out of the box video earlier. Wonder who was on top of the box at the end, Molly or McGee?

  21. Superdadu Says:

    “The fun now starts as she will leave the box nightly and learn to fly by pouncing from box to fledge ledge and back and forth.” This behavior was emphasized in the movie, Guardians of Ga”Hoole, and they called it branching. It is so fun to be able to watch Ashley and Carrie getting ready to leave…thanks for much.

  22. Susan Belloff Says:

    Thank you for posting this. Being an east coast person who has to get up at 5:30 for work, I missed it live. I thought I had a few more nights before she wouild step out and I might be able to catch he doing so this weekend. But I just played the recording and was talking to Ashley when she stepped out just as I would have if I had seen it live!
    Thanks for all the info on the blog each day!
    Susan

  23. Jerri Weed Says:

    Carlos Great Job.

    Oh, OB2 off Air

  24. mtoesmom Says:

    Carlos, & Donna,
    You are both amazing people for being so unselfish in giving up so much of your time to do this for us, not just once but twice!!
    TY so very much!!
    Cheryl

  25. Michelle Heinrich Says:

    …Tuesday, 9/28/10, STILL NO USTREAM ACCESS!!! It’s 7:15 cst…and I’m peeved! Thank goodness for the blog updates & pics!!!
    Bobbieaz

  26. Paul (@minutrition) McConaughy Says:

    Gonna miss all these owls. Have a good vacation Royal family.

  27. Nikki Humphrey Says:

    Devoted lurker since February 25th.

  28. debisneg Says:

    What an exciting time! Thank you Carlos, Donna and Austin for everything you’ve provided giving us all a glimpse into the world of wild barn owls and the keepsakes and memories to hold on to.

    Have a great time at the picnic with fellow owlers, enjoy all the memories of school with peers at the reunion and finally, relax and enjoy that long awaited vacation you so deserve, aloha!!

    Question Carlos…I’m confused with the different landing spots the owls use. Could the “porch”, “posing ledge” etc. be identified so everyone is on the same page? Thank you!

  29. celeste mark Says:

    been watching the 1st clutch & now 2nd clutch.. Love this wonderful site..!!

  30. Katy Says:

    Ustream troubles continue. Ob 2 is fine but ob1 starts then stops and says “movie cannot be found”
    Missing my chat friends but appreciate the photos so very much, Carlos.
    Love the owlets,
    Catbird22

  31. Shirley Dougherty Says:

    Hi Carlos, Donna & Austin,

    Love this site – will miss you all. Have a great and much deserved reunion/vacation.

    Look forward to the updates and to seeing you all again for the next clutch.

  32. karen plate Says:

    I knew she would be home:) Yeh Ashley! Everyone have a great day.

  33. Merrily Says:

    I have been watching the 2nd clutch from the beginning with the clutch of four eggs. What a wonderful job Carlos has done in capturing these beautiful pictures of Molly & Company. It will be sad to have the site close Oct 20th. It’s been a treasure watching our little owlets Ashley & Carrie grow up, and now, ready to fledge. I’ll be back next Spring to hopefully see a new clutch of owlets.

    From your Minnesota Molly Watcher, Carlos & Donna, Thank you so much for sharing!

  34. Carol Fosco Says:

    Wonderful photos! I am so relieved Ashley is back home!

  35. Virgene Colby Says:

    So happy Ashley is back. It made my day.

  36. Kathleen Craig Says:

    Thank you Carlos for all you have done.

  37. Holly Tomlinson Says:

    Thank you for everything that you have done for Molly and letting the world learn about barn owls, how they raise their young. Keep up the great work. I hope to see you broadcast in the spring.

  38. FloridaSkye Says:

    What an exciting week! And I was part of it.

  39. Hazel Turner Says:

    This has been such a wonderful journey through 2 clutches of owlettes. Carlos and Donna i want to thank you with all my heart for the experience you have shared with all of us MOD”S.
    Have a wonderful reunion and trip to hawaii and wherever you go. Be safe and know that we love you and wish you the best. Hazel Turner aka Yakimaowl

  40. mbrook Says:

    love the blog!

  41. Pam Roth Says:

    Love Molly, McGee, all the babies and can’t thank Donna, Carols and Austin for time, interest and effort involved in sharing. Thanks.

  42. Jannae DeSiena Says:

    Carlos & Donna ~

    Thank you both once again for sharing these precious owls with us…the time you devoted will never be forgotten. I will carry these memories with me the rest of my life. It’s the little things that matter most and, in this case, the little creatures of our world. You are the best!

    Is there a way I can be informed if Molly & McGee show up with another clutch possibility?

    Sincere thanks!
    Jannae (owl_see)
    San Marcos, CA

  43. heather j. mac cannell Says:

    i have been trying for the longest time to be able to get emails sent to me but so far have been unsuccessful.

  44. heather j. mac cannell Says:

    please

  45. Janice Barreras Says:

    What a joy it has been to watch Molly and McGee raise their families. Thanks to the Royal family for giving endless hours to this project, allowing us into their home and lives, and for affording all of us the privilege of observing owls in such a new and endearing fashion. I am definitely a MOD and will go through severe withdrawal on October 20th (smile).

    One of many lurkers, jlazreal

  46. Cindy Ray Says:

    Coming to the picnic (1).

  47. Marlene Hall Says:

    What a fantastic trip this has been!!! Thank you, Carlos and Donna. I know you put your life on hold for us, so have a great reunion and vacation. You certainly deserve it.
    For myself, I’m sad, but happy for the owlets. They’re getting on with their life as nature dictates. Of course, I’ll alway be thinking about and wondering about both clutches; how they’re doing and if they started their own families. Gee, wasn’t this fun and I was a part of it.

  48. Marlene Hall Says:

    Sorry I forgot to tell you my screen name.
    Marlene Hall is MarOfEC


Leave a Reply

