The Great Beyond

August 18, 2010

OWLcoholics_Ad_GreatBeyond1

#5 in the Owlcoholics Design Series

Chris Adams, illustrator of Molly The Owl just release design #5 of the Owlcoholics Series. Collect all five.

4D5Q9943 McGee With Gopher SF

McGee With Gopher

McGee Leaving

I talked to Eric and he said we needed about another 250 pre-orders of the coffee table book Molly and McGee to make it reasonable and feasible to print. He has priced the 128 page coffee table book at just $49.95. The book will contain 100 of my best photos of Molly, Mcgee and the owlets.  There was a lot excitement in the owl box last night. Molly left and came back with a mouse with the head on it. Then McGee came in with a gopher with the head still on it too. It must be that they know the little ones need moisture. The only moisture they get is from the food they eat.

DVD Update: All Canadian orders were shipped today. Plan to have all orders filled and shipped by Friday. Austin has recieved 1,659 orders with the money going to his college fund. It takes about one thousand DVDs to pay for one year of college. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if he could sell enough to pay for 4 years.

Carlos, Donna and Austin

26 Responses to “The Great Beyond”

  1. Becky Chisenhall Says:

    Nice, big gopher tonight! What a hunter, that McGee!

  2. Ann C Says:

    I can’t wait to get my copy of the DVD! I missed the first clutch (I’m now a MOD–really enjoying the second clutch) so I’m excited to see what I missed.

    Thank you so much for all that you do here. It’s an amazing experience.

    -Ann C

  3. leslie Says:

    Fantastic photos, as always! I just ordered a coffee table book, so you should only need 249 more. ;)

  4. Sherrie Gillette Says:

    I pre-ordered the coffee table book earlier in the summer when you first started talking about it. Did that order still count? I would like to reorder if it didnt. Thanks,

    Sherrie

  5. Carol Ann Bossemeyer Says:

    The pictures are wonderful. Great job Carlos.
    I ordered my Austin DVD today…:)

  6. Tina Says:

    Got 4 owlets framed print? Check.

    Got the DVD? Check.

    Ordered the coffee table book? Check.

    :)

  7. Betty Mitchell Says:

    Wow! Great shots Carlos! Are you sure you and Donna don’t do photography for National Geographic on the side? Always a “treat” for me to see your amazing photo’s. Thanks so much!

  8. D.S. Langguth Says:

    How magnificent is McGee. What an excellent role model for the species.

    I am sure that I was one of the first to pre-order a copy of the Coffee Table Book. I simply cannot believe that you are selling it for the incredible price of $49.95. It is just too good a deal. People, this is not an unknown. We have seen the photos by Carlos so you know what kind of quailty you will be getting. Surely I can convince 250 more people to invest in this lifetime treasure/memory. Is there someone in your life that would appreciate such a book as a gift for their birthday, Christmas or Hanukkah? With that cover of BOTH Molly & McGee–how special is that.

  9. PegRod Says:

    Chris has designed such a wonderful and varied series for Molly fans, which evokes so many memories created throughout The Owl Box experience, and by his careful design, encompasses both Clutch 1 and Clutch 2. “The Great Beyond” immediately brought tears to my eyes, although I am not sad about the way nature works (which include tears for humans). Thank you to all the creative people who don’t just think up things, but bring them to reality to share with the world with courage. I personally think that it helps other Molly Fans to conquer their fear of just “being themselves”.

    Everyday I am grateful for the “Presence” and the “Presents” from The Owl Box experience.

    Thank you Carlos, Donna, and Austin, who make all this possible for others, and who practice their Golden Rule, which happens to be very lucky for all of us!

  10. Selena Says:

    I just ordered a coffee table book too! 248 more to go – Carlos – will you be signing the cofee table books???

  11. Leslee Says:

    Has Austin chosen which college he will attend yet? I believe there is a college right there in San Marcos…isn’t there?

    I’m just wondering what lucky college will have Austin as a student…he’s a great young man and lucky to have Carlos and Donna as his grandparents.

    Best of luck to everyone.

  12. Elizabeth or ET27 Says:

    Absolutely superb photos as usual, Carlos. Loved hearing you describe what goes into getting one of these :)

  13. Rosemary Dearing Says:

    Love the picture of McGee with the gopher.

    McGee is one beautiful bird, and Carlos, you
    capture him when he in them most perfect moment.

  14. Tammy Smith Says:

    I got my DVD yesterday. My mouth dropped open when I saw Molly & Austin swallowing rabbits whole. Especially Austin. How could an owl who is not even fully grown do that? Wow.

  15. Kris Says:

    We love our DVD of Molly’s story. Would you consider making a CD of the owlets peeping? It is such a sweet sound. I was listening the other night to the owlets peeping and chirping and trilling with the sound of the crickets in the background. So sweet. If you have some good audio recordings of the owlets, could you string together some repeat sequences and produce a CD of 15 to 30 minutes in length? That would be a wonderful gift and keepsake.

  16. Grace Cangialosi Says:

    PLEASE, SOMEONE, TELL ME HOW TO GET THE REPLACEMENT FOR MY DEFECTIVE DVD! I’ve sent two messages with my address, haven’t heard anything back. I don’t know where else to post this request. I’ve tried this twice and the chat stream at least once. I don’t know if Carlos or Austin read these comments, but someone who is reading must know how to get messages to them. If so, would you please forward this one?! I’m reluctant to post my address here, but I will once again:
    Grace Cangialosi
    315 Welsh Run Rd.
    Ruckersville, VA 22968

    Thanks, Grace

  17. Mary Boudrie Says:

    Carlos, I hope you read this comment. I was just looking at some of the videos on youtube and the video of Molly eating the rabbit whole is labeled: “Austin eats rabbit whole.” I thought you might want to get this corrected.

    Thanks for all the wonderful things you and Donna and Austin are doing for us all. I did receive my DVD and love it very much. I know I will enjoy it for many years to come and think of Austin and all the hard work he put into it. Thanks a million, Austin.

  18. Mike Biasin Says:

    Carlos and family, you guys have done a wonderful thing letting the world have a chance to look in on Molly and McGee and the owlets. As I said before, being legally blind, I don’t get to see nature up close like this, and I’d venture to say that most people don’t get opportunities like this every day. My favorite Molly song is the one by the kids, but they are all great. You should take all the songs, put them on a CD, enclose maybe 5-10 of your favorite photos and create a nice soundtrack CD with photos in the cover. I’d buy it for sure. Good luck on the coffee table book. I hope you get 5000 orders. God bless you guys and may Molly and McGee and their family be on our computer screens for a long time to come!

    Mike Biasin,
    Wells Maine.

  19. Mary Boudrie Says:

    Calos, please disregard the first paragraph of my previous message. Sometimes my brain just does not work properly and now I am so embarrassed. I have been so focused on this new clutch that I truly forgot that there was an Austin in the first clutch. Thanks.

  20. Margaret Says:

    Carlos & Donna, Thanks so much for all of this. I’ve been here since the first clutch and can’t tear myself away! :)

  21. Jan Says:

    Thank you, Carlos, Donna & Austin! We love Molly, McGee & their families! Thank you for all that you do so that the world can laugh, cry & simply enjoy the Royal life of these owls!

  22. Crystal Says:

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful experience with us Carlos, Donna and Austin!

  23. Paige Says:

    Just subscribing to the blog.

    Thanks!

  24. CALIFORNIA_DREAMER Says:

    thanks

  25. Phil Davis Says:

    Hi Carlos:

    If you want to use the correct ornithological term … instead of “squaking” for food, the term is “food begging” !!!

    Also, FYI. with the new Ustream format, I can only popout one box, not two for OB1 and OB2.

    Thanks for all that you do …

    Phil Davis
    Davidsonville, MD


Leave a Reply

