Fourth Egg “Jody” Hatches Molly Scores Perfect 4.0

August 15, 2010

Fourth Egg Hatchling is Named Jody

Jody Takes First Flight

Do I have to Wear a Helmet?

4D5Q9911 MOlly Photo Background SF

Molly In Studio for Publicity Photos

The fourth and final egg of the second clutch hatched at 3:47 PM, Saturday August 14, 2010 and was named Jody. Jody is a family name and was the name of Carlos’s oldest sister who is now deceased.  Molly once again beat the odds and scored a perfect 4-0 with all her eggs hatching.  Normally, only about 80% of Barn Owl eggs hatch in the wild. Screen shots were provided to us by Debbie from Atlanta, GA.

DVD Update: We found a page of orders that did not get shipped. All orders on that page were ordered on July 13 and 14th. So, if you placed your order on either of those days and have not received your DVD we now know why and we will be correcting that this week as soon as the new shipment of DVDs arrives.  About 1,300 of the 1,500 ordered DVDs have been shipped. Provided the new shipment arrives on time this week we should have all orders filled by the end of the week. All DVDs are being shipped First Class Mail.

23 Responses to “Fourth Egg “Jody” Hatches Molly Scores Perfect 4.0”

  1. Elyse Wright Says:

    McGee in Studio is a gorgeous, National Geographic- quality photo. Thanks for sharing, Carlos.

  2. Karen in Sebring, FL Says:

    Little Jody truely entered the world in a spectacular way. Instinct and Mother Nature is at its finest on this site! McGee’s studio photo is very simply the best Carlos has taken of Father McGee! Please include it in you coffee table book! Thank you over and over for this once-in-a-lifetime experience, Carlos, Donna and Austin.

  3. SactoSylvia Says:

    That was an incredible hatch to watch, and I’m sure I’m not the only one who enjoyed listening to you watch it with us! Thanks for the feed, great camera work, and commentary!

  4. Darlene Salisbury Says:

    I watched Jody’s hatch live. I was actually in tears as I witnessed this. I am in awe of this whole experience. Carlos, thousands of people owe you a debt of gratitude for allowing us to watch nature at its best. Thank you so much and I truly hope that you receive the blessings a thousand fold that I have through all of this. Thank you once again.

  5. Torri Cable Says:

    The captions on the pictures are just perfect! Jody was my first live hatch, and all I can say is WOW! Carlos, I loved how excited you were- what a wonderful event- thank you for sharing Royals and I am still in awe at this whole experience.

  6. Mary Fessenden Says:

    Hi Donna ! Just wanted you to know that I received the DVD yesterday. Our “owl party” is scheduled for next week so I’ll let you know how it goes. I watched it last night and loved every minute of it. Congratulations to Austin on a job well done!

    • carlosroyal Says:

      McGee’s face appears dark in this photo because of the lighting. Remember, these photos are taken from a distance of 75 to 150 feet and some times the flash does not light them up as they should. His other feathers also apear to be darker than other photos of McGee but as far as I know it is McGee.

  7. Linda B Says:

    That picture of “McGee” looks more like Molly. Isn’t McGee’s face and chest white? This owl’s face is brownish and so is the chest.

  8. Noelle Says:

    I got to see Jodi hatch live. Me and mom got to see it and thought it was awesome!!! Thanks Carlos and donna.!

  9. Tammy Smith Says:

    Jody is the only hatching I saw live. It was great! And I am probably one of the people on that list, since I didn’t receive my DVD yet.

  10. catperry aka CatsMommy Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for these videos, I worked all weekend so could not be there to see the 4th hatch, but did watch it on rerun… how FABULOUS… little Jody did a double spin, not sure which made me laugh out loud… the litte pink feet hanging out of the shell, or little jody head first in the shell end… all great and since you recorded it I was able to see. HUGS from a Canadian Fan

  11. Elaine Pontious Says:

    More great photos. Really does look like a studio-lighted shot of McGee! I think I might have to have an enlargement of that one. He stood still just long enough to let you get a really good shot.

  12. Elizabeth Says:

    Just a quick note to let you know that the handshake between the US postal service and Canada Post appears to have worked and there were no “hangups” with Canada Customs. My DVD arrived in my mailbox in Ottawa today!

    I can’t wait to watch it :-)

    Many thanks to all involved for sharing so much with us.

  13. Leslie Heller Says:

    Thanks for everything. I live in a large Disabled- Senior Citizen Housing Project. We all watch and enjoy Molly

  14. DebBloom Says:

    Awesome photos! Love the studio shot of McGee. I got Austin’s DVD. It was worth every penny. Loved it!

  15. Deb Myrick Says:

    Thanks, “Carloz” and Donna! I know the site upkeep is alot of trouble, and we APPRECIATE it!

  16. catperry aka CatsMommy Says:

    I ordered a DVD on the 19th of July, I am in Canada, have those been shipped? if so I didnt get mine yet.

  17. Julie Beith Says:

    Thanks for enhancing so many lives with your continued coverage of M&M.

  18. Lynda Weeks Says:

    Received DVD in two days. Very impressed by promptness. Have watched or “lurked” since Wesley was hatched and enjoyed every minute. Was sad when first clutch had fledged, only to have daughter text and say “Guess What?” You two are wonderful and can’t wait for the coffee table book to be shipped. If I had twitter or facebook, I would chat! My husband, who retired a year ago, built an owl box yesterday. It is beautiful, will paint and put up soon to be ready for early spring.


Leave a Reply

