New Cameras, New Patio and Insulation

June 22, 2010

IMG_0441
New Cameras, New Patio and Insulation

Austin came over yesterday afternoon and worked on his Molly DVD project. School is not out until Wednesday but he wants to get it finished, so he is here working. He said there is at least two weeks of editing to go. Donna and I have decided to delay our vacation a little longer, at least until Austin finishes he project. Never fear, we will get out of here. All the eBooks are scheduled to be completed for final review by the end of the month. The only exception is Austin’s DVD. The plan is to have them to you on or before July 9th. We will keep you updated here so check back often.

Donna and I have been using this extra time around home to get the house back in order and to clean up the yard. I thought owlets grew fast but I think weeds grow faster and are more prolific. In my spare time I have been making modifications to The Owl Box.

I first added a piece of one inch reflective foam to the back side, which is the south or sunny side of the box. This should reduce the heat build up inside the box. I removed the dowel spring board and replaced it with a solid plywood patio viewing deck. I also added two new cameras to the box, a day camera on the west or opposite end and a night vision camera above the existing day camera on the east end. The existing night vision camera was too low and got covered by two inches of gag shag. It got so gunked up that it is no longer useable. Yuk! is the best way to describe the camera when I removed it.

We got a call from San Marcos Community Foundation and they said they had received a total $8,118.32 so far. Our goal was to raise $10,000 so we are getting close. You can help by sending a Donation to San Marcos Community Foundation, be sure to write in the memo line Wildlife Conservation and Promotion otherwise it goes into their general fund and does not get counted.

San Marcos Community Foundation
City of San Marcos
1 Civic Center Drive
San Marcos, CA 92069
760.744.1050 Ext. 3116

 The Father’s Day Special was such a big hit we are going to continue it for a week. We want everyone to have a special large framed print of the owlets, Max, Pattison, Austin and Wesley for only $49.95. What a great way to remember this event. And it was an event with 14.5 million views and you were a part of it. While out at http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl be sure to check out the tote bags, note cards and T-shirts.

To order Molly The Owl eBook www.transferit.com/theowlbox

To order Molly The Owl Hardcover www.Mollytheowlbooks.com

To order Molly Merchandise http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl

To order Molly and Family Mug http://www.cafepress.com/vacadude

If interested in Austin’s Molly DVD, send him an email at austinfaure@gmail.com put in the subject line Molly DVD. He will let you know how to order when it is finished. One hundred percent will go into Austin’s college fund.

All the best

Carlos and Donna Royal

59 Responses to “New Cameras, New Patio and Insulation”

  1. Judi Zimmermann Says:

    Love your improvements to the box. Do you plan on broadcasting the 2nd clutch?


  2. We all hope that the answer is YES!!

  3. Paula Says:

    So the owl box has been renovated and is now all posh! Love it :-)

  4. FinnWV Says:

    Wonderful that you are making improvements to the Owl Box! Molly and McGee deserve it for raising such a beautiful family! And thanks to you for the updates! Always look forward to them. Hope you have a great vacation when you finally go! Thanks also to Donna, Austin, Eric, Chris, and John for their work on ebook and ecomics. Can hardly wait!

  5. Suzy Says:

    Thanks for all you and yours do!!

  6. Britney Says:

    So exciting. Love the news, anticipation….amazing even though cameras off and we’ve had an experience of a lifetime, all the MOD’s are sticking together. Facebook, Yahoo Groups, still holding strong on UStream and SPO and of course here too. Carlos and Donna, Molly, McGee and owlets have really brought people together…what a force to be reckoned with :)

  7. Dot O Says:

    Carlos, I’d like you to come here and renovate our “deck”!! LOL. I promise, ours has no gag shag buildup – just lots of very, very old wood that needs replacing. The owl box renovations look great!

    I will eagerly await the post on this blog that talks about your return from your much-needed vacation….

  8. Janeen Nickell Says:

    Thanks for the updates. I can only assume by the new cameras that there will be a sequel to the amazing Molly and McGee story. Music to MOD’s ears.
    You and Donna are appreciated by so many. I have missed you both as much as the owls. THANK YOU again.

  9. terry Says:

    Carlos! So nice of you to improve the owl box. I hope this means there is going to be a Season 2.
    Thanks for all the time you took broadcasting the owls. It was a wonderful experience. Your photos are beautiful. Can’t wait to get one.

  10. Sandra Scott Says:

    I am so pleased that you are making an even better owl box. This has been a learning experience for all of us and one that will never be forgotten. I am anxiously awaiting my two prints that I ordered. Thanks to all of you for the gift you have given me. At 74 I have experienced a lot of life but this experience has been outstanding!

  11. Mel Penton Says:

    Oh New Cameras, does that mean we can look forward to another chapter in the owl box story? We all would love it!!!!
    Missing you and the owls, but keeping a thankful heart for all you’ve done for so many! Love, Melodie Penton

  12. Kate / Orlando Says:

    Very excited to hear about the camera additions, as well as the porch and the insulation. Thank you for understanding that we all are looking forward to more owls! Take care and good luck to Austin on his project!

  13. Owlcoholic4life Says:

    Carlos and Royal Family,

    You still rock this world in such a positive way. I so miss seeing our Owl Family, but I also so miss seeing you and Donna on live chat. You have Blessed the lives of many and words cannot express enough my gratitude for your Gift of Nature and Molly & McGee to this world.

    The additions to the Owl Box sound great. Just my FYI, I think you did an excellent job of supplying what our little owlets needed for safe fledging and what your MODS needed for viewing pleasure. Take care and one day I hope to see you Bless this world again.

    O4

  14. Carol Joy Says:

    Carlos, could you, or someone, explain the e-book to me. I’ve ordered one but how do we receive it? (Also ordered the hardback edition.) Will it come as a CD or is it sent over the internet? I look forward to receiving it.
    I check every day to see if you have updated the blog. It has been such a pleasure to follow the owls and their story, please continue to keep everyone abreast of yours, Donna’s and Austin’s activities. Hopefully you will eventually get away on that vacation you two have delayed for so long!

  15. Janet Says:

    All round wonderful news Carlos! Maybe you will do this again! If not you sure will have a 1st class everything just for your family! Unuseable camera wow! Really enjoying the Blog ere. No sight of the owls? Wonder if they are still together much?!

  16. DWD in Atlanta Says:

    I was on SPO yesterday when you poped in to do camera adjusting to the new cameras or something. I noticed the new camera in the back of the box and saw a rodent in the back right hand corner. It looked fresh….hoping Molly, McGee or one of the owlets have been hanging around there.

    Saw the post about the golden eagle. Did some research and they eat owls!!! :-0 Hope he moved on his merry way and found other grounds to hunt!!!

    Looking forward to getting the ebook & hardback, Austin’s DVD and the final ecomics. Hoping the coffee table book makes it to publishing too.

    This has been so exciting and wonderful!!! Who would have thought 6 owls would have brought so many people together and raised money for so many causes.

    Bless all of you who made this a happen. Have a great vacation and hope to see you for the next clutch!!! Who knows….you may even break more records since we will all watch from the beginning!!!

  17. Eyzrbrn Says:

    Great additions Carlos & Donna!! I am sure the yard looks beautiful. I was in pure heaven looking at your yard.

    I hope when you two fledge you have great vacation.

    And I am sure the gag shag at the camera up. Gagging just thinking about it. I hope you used a HAZMAT suit when you took it out.

    Thank you so much for everything you do. And so kewl we are close to the goal. I am sure I will be ordering some more stuff. I miss you both and the owls. HOOT HOOT

    Ok, this MOD needs to do a fly about to work. Ewwww but beats removing gag shag any day of the week.

    Hugs,
    Tina (eyzrbrn)


  18. Thank you for the new update Carlos. All yesterday I was humming the Molly song! Have visited some other barn owl sites, but nothing can compare to M&M with Carlos. Just not the same. Your improvements to the box sound very good, especially if M&M return for a summer clutch which may not be viable in high heat. I was thinking maybe a nice beach umbrella over the box. Perhaps a tarp, which is what I use for my doggie’s day kennel for shade.

    I know how bad the weeds are….we have had so much rain in NEOhio the weeds are just awful this year.

    I hope you will feel up to sharing the box again should another clutch occur. I ordered the H/C book and look forward to getting it in October. Drinking tea with my beautiful Molly Mug;)

    Keep well


  19. Thanks to all, what fun this has been looking forward to the next viewing.I have had a captive audience family and friends whenever I start telling M&M’s story and about Carlos and Donna.
    I have found an owl cookie cutter so now all my cookies I make will be of Owl’s
    Thanks again.
    God Bless you and your family.
    SusieQ2

  20. MmeButterfly Says:

    Carlos, that’s welcome news about your recent improvements, especially the insulation. Austin looked pretty uncomfortable those last few days when he stayed with Wesley during a hot spell. I wanted to go in there and fan him. A suggestion: painting the roof white or covering it with a layer of white material, at least on the south side, would provide additional cooling.

  21. Cathy Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    What a great update!!! I sure hope this means you guys will do this again for everyone. What a blessing that would be.
    You both are such kind people…love you both.
    Blessings,
    Cathy

  22. Mary Jozwiak Says:

    Good ideas about improving the owl box, Carlos. I hope you eventually get to go on your vacation. Looking forward to Austin’s DVD! Thanks for the updates!

  23. Joan Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna .. as I look back at some of the pictures that I have printed out, it almost feels like the whole owl story was a lovely fairy tale. I am anxious to see the e-book, I am so happy to see the Mollys box e-mails .. the update on the owl box was always the first thing that I looked for in the morning.. thanks for it all

  24. nancy tune Says:

    Carlos,
    So good to get an update from you. I know you and Donna are enjoying your down time at home, catching up on things that need your attention. Sounds like another viewing might be possible with all the improvements and updates to the cameras and box. I know we MODs would appreciate even a modified version of a Molly watch. I know it is very hard to go so long without a good nights sleep (not healthy either), so maybe taping the nights activities, and showing the tape during the am. Just a thought. You both have been so gracious and generous with your time, energy and resources. I LOVE your photos, you need to market them. Love and prayers to you both.
    Nancy

  25. Cat Says:

    The insulation sounds like the perfect next step toward creating an environment that’s similar to a hollow tree.

    I am hoping you will use your powers of communication to update the Cameras and Technology section some day, talking about what you’ve learned and advice about doing it right (the cameras and computer part).

  26. Lisa Sharp Says:

    I’m sure Molly is very happy with her home improvements! She has a great contractor for such things. And I’m a little excited to hear there are new cameras-gives me hope maybe next year we can watch a new batch of owlets. I sure do miss them and all their sounds.

    What is SPO? I’m drawing a blank on that one!

    Thank you for the updates and we are patiently looking forward to all the products to relive this wonderful event.

  27. Mary Says:

    The owl box renovations sound wonderful. I loved those owls and a previous writer was right. I have tried other owl and bird sites but they don’t come close to what you created. Your personality, the lovely Donna, the way you managed the entire experience was stellar! Only the Royals could have done it. I hope, if it is something you want, that in the future we will all be put back into the owl box as we heard you say so many times. Huge thank you for all you have done for so many of us.
    God Bless,
    Mary


  28. Carlos, it was such a treat to see the update today, although all of the other ones have been wonderful too. You have been such a big part of my life for months now and it’s been very hard not watching you drink your Royal Molly Mocha and chat with all of us and give us updates and so forth. What great news to hear about all the updates you have done for the owlbox and I am hoping and praying that you are going to maybe broadcast another clutch again in the future sometime, some day. I am surprised you haven’t left yet but with all the little things to do around there, AND the big things, it is probably great to have some time to yourself to do things you want to get done before you leave. I am looking forward to receiving more updates from you as time goes on, as it makes it much easier for all of the withdrowl I am having. Blessings to you and Donna and I hope you are enjoying YOUR time together now without 14.5 million people watching. Will be looking forward to the next update. Love and Hearts to you both, Suzanne (suzie58)

  29. Jan Says:

    Thank you, Donna and Carlos. You inspire everyone with your humor, positive attitude and caring for us owl.

  30. Kim Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna! Yes, I, too, researched the golden eagle and they vie with owls for the same food and sometimes are even owl predators. Good thing you don’t have an eagle nest! The news about the updated box with new cameras lifted my silly heart so much, in hopes it means we may have another viewing in the future. We all miss you, as you can tell, and the camaraderie of the molly fans. You made it a wonderful experience and “brought the world together” as the song says. Happy vacation when you do get to go and GOOD LUCK to Austin as he finishes his semester and the eagerly-awaited DVD. You both were so good to all of us, Austin is a lucky grandson to have you as grandparents!!

    Kim


  31. Great job loved watching M&M and being a part of of the chat room.
    Thanks

  32. Pat Harris Says:

    Yay! Maybe a second season. I am so excited!

  33. Memedee251 Says:

    Carlos, Donna & Austin, thank you so much for all you have done for barn owls. We all hope that the new cams will be live for us to view, but we also know that you deserve your privacy. Many people love you for what you have done, for the great adventure you have given the world. Thank you and enjoy your vacation!

  34. KW Says:

    You rock Carlos and Donna.. You opened your yard to the world and to our delight we watched an Owl family grow in front of our eyes…and while you were volunteering countless hours making that viewing possible you also were able to provide donations to the San Marcos Community Foundations.
    I for one thoroughly enjoyed myself watching these owls and making some really great “chat” friends along the way! Have a great vacation and when you come back and if there is a 2nd M&M clutch we look forward to another round of great fun and education. If there is no clutch we still have our M&M memories, very fond memories, and we owe it all to you and Donna!
    KW

  35. MamaCarole Says:

    It was so reassuring to see your post today Carlos. I know it has been a long Spring for both you and Donna. We have come to know and love you, along with so many of the MODS and Chatters. What a party we have had!! Thanks again so very much.

  36. Kit Says:

    looks like you’re expecting to be owlet grandparents again. congratulations!

  37. Donna Simonson Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna!

    Yes indeed we all miss both of you and so appreciate the updates and new pics. My heart and soul are blessed each time I visit here. There are not enough words to express just how much you mean to all of us Mods around the world. I feel so fortunate that I was able to be a part of this wonderful event and will be in line with all the others waiting to share more “fun” with you and yours should the future allow. Blessings to you always our dear friends in nature.
    Much love, hugs and prayers,
    OwlLuver Murrieta, CA

  38. Joanne Borle .. aka Joanne51 Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,
    Thank you for the updates on the blog. I just popped into the chat and a few comments were mentioned about great news on the blog today… so I
    had to see what the chatter was about. I my goodness… new cameras on the owl box! Hmmmmmm…
    this is tease :0) I am having difficulty not thinking this may mean there may be another opportunity to share in another wonderful experience of watching M&M raise another family of owlets. No pressure or anything :0) You still need to take a much needed vacation once Austin is finished school.
    I will keep a close eye on updates.
    Take care,
    Joanne

  39. Lisa Says:

    I also vote for another season – it would be wonderful to watch another set of owlets growing up. Even setting up for a few hours in each 24-hour period would be so welcome to all of Molly’s fans. I too have visited other bird sites but nothing matches the delightful experience of Molly and Carlos. A collage of your beautiful photographs are on my desktop and I smile whenever I see them, especially the closeup of Molly discovering the camera.

    I wish you and Donna a wonderful vacation. I hope you return to a fresh bunch of eggs!

  40. Nancy Paine Says:

    Dear Donna and Carlos, I am so glad you finally have found time to get some chores done around your place. I can tell from all your new equipment that perhaps you have decided to do this again some time. You have educated so many about the world of owls. I am so grateful to you both. I really did not know I was so much of a Mod but I do miss the owls, but also know that this is the way nature works. The best to both of you and hopefully you will get away soon. Kindest regards with owly thoughts of you both. Nancy in Connecticut

  41. Francie Yarber Says:

    Donna and Carlos
    You are so amazingly organized, efficient and industrious. What an investment you have put into your hobby and how gracious and generous you have been to share it with the world. You can see that you have many followers who love what you do. I’m very anxious to see Austin’s DVD.
    Thank you and God Bless

  42. cat perry (catsmommy) Says:

    I am so happy to see you doing upgrades, Carlos, because I am sure you will be broadcasting again.

  43. Irene Says:

    Dear Carlos: (and Donna)
    I was so excited to purchase the four owlete framed photo today! It will be a truly wonderful reminder of this tremendous journey you took us all on with M&M and Max, Pattison, Austin and Wesley.
    It was one of most sensational events I’ve been included in in my 60 years. You are a blessing to us all and everyone (I think) wants you for a Dad, husband or Grandfather! ;) What a tremendous personality you have and such a generous nature and wonderous spirit. Thank you for sharing it all with us. You took my chronic pain out of my mind for two whole months with your talks and with your owl box. It also took me through tests for gall bladder surgery. God bless you and your loved ones.

  44. LeRoy Says:

    Again, words cannot describe our gratitude for your ongoing dedication to this event. It has brightened more lives than you will ever know. Thank you so much to the entire Royal Company that spent so much time, effort, and resources for our viewing pleasure.

  45. Mary Weber Says:

    Loved your update on your improvements to the Owl Box and other activities.

    I wondered whether drilling a few holes up along the roof air space would help with circulation but still keep out rain.

    Love the new fledge deck!


  46. Hi Donna, Carlos and Austin,

    I just love reading all the comments. Takes me back to the good ole days….wasn’t that just a couple weeks ago???

    Carlos, your owl box home improvements look great. For sure M & M will want to come back, just don’t increase the rent! LOL

    I echowl all the prior comments….miss you, appreciate you, will continue to check in with much anticipation!!

    All my Love and God Bless!

    Liz from League City, TX

  47. Nancy Says:

    After getting the Royal treatment for months, one can only hope and pray that you will broadcast the next clutch. Great improvements on the owlbox! Thank you so much for all you and Donna have done to educate us in the world of barnowls.

  48. Kerstin Says:

    Carlos-from a homeschool perspective-having watched the box with my kids every day for ‘school’ Is there any way you might be able to install a little thermometer or temperature reading somehow for INSIDE the box? That became a constant question from my two. We could check the weather outside the box, but they wanted to be able to know what it was inside. Just curious if that might even be possible.

  49. Kerstin Says:

    Oh, and one more thing: Were you able to actually obtain any full owl pellets from the area? That was another question. They’re now fascinated with owls. Ha.

  50. Amy Culbert Says:

    Love the owl box upgrades. Are you turning it into a time share now? I hope this means that you’re ready for a second go round if Molly comes back! I can only hope.
    I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the entire owl experience. It was such a huge part of my life for a long time. Eggs to fledge. perfect story
    I just got my Vacadude Mug. It’s the best. Coffee tastes even better in it. It’s the cutest thing! LOVE it
    Amy


  51. Amy, I just got my Vacadude mug too. It is adorable and now I have a problem which mug to use LOLOLOL. Molly mug or Vaca’s mug.

  52. Sandi in Seattle Says:

    Carlos, I don’t know how to contact you directly and ask permission to use one of your photos as my Facebook avatar… it’s one of Wesley showing the last plume of down fuzz on top of his head… and it always brings a smile when I see it. Could you please let me know if it’s okay? Thanks.

  53. Susan / Suey Pit Says:

    Wonderful changes to help the next batch of owlets! I wonder if that solid plywood viewing deck (by the door?) should be carpeted in something the owlets claws can grip a bit into? (outdoor carpet or ?). Anyway….you have been wonderful and truly hope you get a good vacay away soon! You provided us all with joy and some wildlife education. Thank you!

  54. kris Says:

    Hi,
    I like your post. Your blog is fantastic. thanks for sharing,..
    :)
    cheers,..

  55. jackie theisen Says:

    Hi Carlos, So happy to have recent update’s. also, did not receive the e-cookbook i ordered. Thank you so much for all you and family have done. so happy there are more owl’s coming. miss all of the owls very much. Take care and God Bless all of your family.

  56. Jill Davis Says:

    I hope I am doing this the right way… I don’t know if I ordered the Molly e-book or not, I do know I ordered the hard copy. I have ordered a lot of Molly stuff (it is all so great!) plus I have an awful case of MOD, so I can’t remember. Sorry.

    I have to add – This has been the most incredible experience I have been a part of. Your family is the best! Thank you for allowing me to say, “Gee, this was fun and I was part of it!”

    Thank you so much,
    Jill Davis
    1203 14th ST
    Alamogordo, NM 88310


Leave a Reply

