Two VCR Tapes Played

June 18, 2010

I showed the 2 VCR videos yesterday. One was recorded on February 9th and the other must have been February 13th the day the first egg was laid. There is no sound as the camera has no mic but I found the viewing just as mesmerizing as the first time I watched it live. We will reshow these never before seen videos over the next few days and yes at night too, so everyone will get to see them.

Some wanted to know how I added the day color/sound camera without disturbing Molly. It was rather simple. I noticed that Molly would do a fly around every evening for approximately 2 minutes. I built a camera box and practiced attaching it to an owl box in my shop until I had the process down where I could do it in less than two minutes… actually less than a minute. Then I waited for her to leave. When she did I was up the ladder in a flash, attached the 4 screws, drilled the viewing hole, placed the camera in the box and left with over a minute to spare.

Donna and I continue to watch for the owlets, but they have not returned. When they fledged, they fledged. We do see Molly and McGee flying around and we can hear them teet, teet, teet, calling in the distance. They have even landed on the box a couple of times. That is exciting but mostly we just sit and stare an empty sky full of stars.

IMG_0365 Kitchen Table

Command Central

 

IMG_2786 Kitchen Table

Kitchen Table

I removed all the equipment from the kitchen table yesterday. I also removed the all the trip hazards; the internet wiring running from my office to the kitchen. We have been tripping over the wires for four months. Donna is really happy they have been move. If you remember on our last day of broadcast she tripped over one of the wires and sent a camera flying to the floor.

We have a large framed print of Molly and McGee available on http://www.cafepress.com/mollytheowl  this photo is the best photo I have taken of Molly and McGee together. It is not often they are together where one can get a photo of the two. This photo was taken when Molly and McGee came back to check on the box. We have it both titled “Molly and McGee” The World’s Most Famous Barn Owls or Untitled. The perfect picture to remember this event and that you were a part of it.

Prints are perfect for the home or office. All prints are custom manufactured using archival inks and acid-free paper. Framed prints are matted and framed in a stylish black frame with plexiglass cover. Frames include complete backing. Frame size: 19″ x 15″

We also have a Calendar 2010 (that is all that is available at this point on cafepress) Even though the year is half over the Calendar is a great way to get 12 different prints of my photos very inexpensively, about $2.50 a print. When you are finished with the calendar just trim the photos and frame them.

Our high-quality calendar is printed on thick 100 lb cover weight paper and adds impact to any room.

  • Each page measures 11″ x 8.5″
  • Measures 11″ x 17″ when hung on wall
  • Full bleed dynamic color
  • 100 lb cover weight high gloss paper, wire-o bound
  • January 2010 – December 2010, 2011 preview, US holidays marked

We are also making a large framed print available to match the photo you select for your mug or T-shirt. I think the one with the four owlets together is wonderful. No, we never got a photo of all six together.

That’s it for today. I still have lots of clean up and tidy up work to do.

P.S. Don’t for get to send Austin an email austinfaure@gmail.com if you are interested in his Molly DVD which he hopes to have finished around July 4th.  100% of the money will go to his college fund. Please put in the subject line Molly DVD.

Eric said he is still accepting pre-orders on “ Molly The Owl” hardcover. All pre-orders will be signed copies. www.mollytheowlbooks.com We have reports that people are ordering as many as 20 copies as gifts for schools, libraries, family and friends. It also makes a wonderful gift for the holidays

42 Responses to “Two VCR Tapes Played”

  1. Donna Franco Says:

    Carlos, thank you for the update. Its always so heart warming to hear from you. We all are enjoying the reruns and hope they continue for a long time, as MOD is very hard to handle without our fix of Molly.
    Please enjoy your vacation and please keep us posted on Molly and McGee.
    The world has fallen in love with Molly and with you.

  2. OwlyKats Says:

    Carlos
    Thank You for the continued updates. Nice to know that Our Owl Family has fledged. The Cycle of life continues. I am so glad you and Donna allowed us into your home. You Remind me of my Dad and I miss him so. He would have loved this adventure. Happy Fathers Day to You!!!!

  3. Ginger Says:

    I have to add, that after 4 months of seeing you and the owls all the time, it is nice to not have to go cold turkey without all of you….so thank you for the updates!!! This has been an incredible experience and only so because of the work you and Donna and others have put into it. It is GREATLY appreciated!!!

  4. Cathy Says:

    Carlos & Donna,
    ~~~ I miss you two as much as Molly, McGee and the owlets!!! ~~~

    AMAZING, is what you two are!!!

    Blessings,
    Cathy

  5. Becky Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna…Thank you for keeping all of us in the loop as to what is happening in Mollyland! Not seeing them everyday has left a big hole in my life. It has helped so much that SPO has left the chat room up so we can continue to talk! I have met many new friends! I plan on going to the get together at Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle next Saturday!! Thank you again for all both of you have done!

  6. Michelle Says:

    Where and at what time do we go to view the VCR recordings?

    Thank you for the update!

  7. Marla Spellenberg Says:

    Thank you for running these VCR tapes! Great to see the beginning of our journey!

  8. James Hill Says:

    Thanks, Carlos and Donna, for the continued updates and for everything you’ve done. The past few months have been the most enjoyable experience. I’ve always been a PBS Nature type of person, sitting for hours watching one compelling nature documentary after another, but nothing can quite compare to the wonderful experience watching Molly’s Owl Box in Sunny San Marcos has been. The multiple camera angles, the night viewing from outside the box, it’s all been top notch. Everything from the chat to the live interviews (and, of course, viewing the wonderful photos) has been most enjoyable. I certainly hope wildlife educators take a few tips from the way you handled the setup of the cameras. I believe you have made the single, static and silent nest camera an obsolete idea.

    Enjoy your well deserved vacation!

    Many thanks, again, from all of us regulars over in the Sportsman’s Paradise Online chat room. We’ll keep a light on for you. :)

  9. Amy Culbert Says:

    Oh MY Carlos, What a wonderful informative post this was. I’ve so missed hearing you but when you mentioned the “teet, teet, teet”, I HEARD you! It was great and it’s fantastic that you’re thinking about all of us…wondering what is going on.
    How odd that the last day of movie-making is the last day of the owls being around. Very bittersweet. You have no idea how you’ve affected so many lives, including mine. I’m a completely different person because of this event and I am so proud and honored to have been a “part of it”…and boy howdy GEE was it FUN..
    thank you from the bottom of my heart!!!
    Peace
    Amy

  10. Amy Culbert Says:

    That kitchen table is WAY too clean! how sad it is

  11. Torre Says:

    Thanks for the update! I bet it’s wonderful to hear the calls of Molly and McGee ar night! I bet Donna is glad to get the clutter reduced but it does give her a good “payback” for knitting prjscf clutter : )

    torre (a fellow knitter)

  12. Joan Says:

    Carlos.. I guess it funny to want to hear more about Molly and Mcgee but it is so comforting to hear about them.. thank you..for keeping in touch.. Maybe the owlets will come home for Fathers day to see mcGee.. are Molly and Mcgee still living in the Palm tree… Happy Fathers day to you.. it sure was fun and I miss it..

  13. Janet Says:

    Well your back to normal again as it should be but I have to tell you when I saw the table empty I felt Oh no! I sure hope you will keep in touch I guess we all got pretty attached to two great people. You sure gave it your all and it was all 1st class Carlos! Im so glad I was part of it too. Keep in touch! Oh and intresting facts like this are super.
    JanetMcD

  14. Mary Ann Says:

    Carlos and Donna… as easy as it was to clean out the house of various electronic equipment, it will be impossible to clean out the wonderful memories and heartfelt love that have affected the entire world of Molly and McGee lovers. Thank you both for such a wonderful experience. It has changed many lives for the better.

  15. Betty Mitchell Says:

    Dear Carlos,
    Thanks so much for the updates and for showing the tapes. It’s like getting to do it all over again. I know Donna is happy to have her house back but it sure was sad to see that beautiful dining room table empty! I thought you were loading up the RV and heading out on a new adventure? Do you think you would ever do this again or was this enough for one lifetime? Miss you, Donna, and the owlets. I have a feeling you are a little lost, as well. I hope the owlets will return for a visit. It’s kind of like losing a beloved pet. You are always looking and wondering where it went and what happened to it. Have a great weekend!

  16. Karen Bodding Says:

    Hi Carlos,

    I had a question but couldn’t figure out how to get into the chat room. So here is my question.

    Could you hear the owlets calling to be feed from your house or porch in the evening? Because the box was mic’d, it sounded so loud to us.

    I miss seeing the owls and hearing your updates everyday. Thank you for giving us such a beautiful view of nature.

    Best regards,

    K. Bodding

  17. Dot O Says:

    Carlos, thanks for the update.. sort of sad/happy all mixed. I’m glad the owlets fledged and are hopefully starting families of their own, but at the same time had hoped you would always get glimpses of them….

    Enjoy the starry skies at night – one day hopefully soon you will be watching another new feathered brood learn the ways the owl…..

  18. Selena K Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for weaning us away from Molly and her crew. We appreciate all that you’ve done and continue to do for your loving fans! Thank you for the updates and I’m off to order more stuff. You and your family are as famous as the owls that have taken up your lives and our hearts!
    thank you!
    Selena K.

  19. DeeAnn Says:

    Hey Carlos, I thought you would be miles away in your motor home already! I am sure you are glad all this chaos is over, but you have to be missing our wonderful owl family. The video tapes do help with our empty nest sadness. I pray that someday you will give this another whirl, as we cannot get enough of the life of an owl. You did this up right in giving us the best show on earth. My mod heart is breaking for the loss of my owl family and the connection to you and Donna. This experience has made me a better person and I thank you for the education and entertainment that has been a true blessing.
    DeeAnn M


  20. First we had to face tuning in to see an empty owl box. Now comes the shock of an absolutely barren (albeit beautiful) dining room table! What next, pets actually being able to go in and out of the pet door? It’s all too much… :)

    Thanks for the update, Carlos. And thanks for running the “summer reruns”. This morning I was able to watch the first egg being born, and Molly’s wonderful reaction. I’d heard you talk about that moment, but it was great to finally see it.

  21. Mel Penton Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna, I have found this time far harder than I thought I would. I miss Molly, McGee, the little ones and you. It was such an incredible experience and I loved every minute.
    Perhaps there is someway that you can do this all again without having so many cords and wires all over the house. I am going to pray for that!!
    Thanks for the new old video footage!!
    I love the updates and wish I could hear Molly and McGee calling to each other!!!
    Have a happy Father’s Day Carlos! Owl Wing hugs, Melodie P.

  22. Kim Says:

    Carlos, we are hungry little birds, wanting more information on Mrs. Molly and Mr. McGee, as you can offer it. Thank you for continuing to update us. The archived videos are precious, too. The babes got the best possible start to life that any barn owl could want! With much respect and admiration,

    Dr. Kim

  23. Jerri Weed Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    It’s so funny I use to get up early and Rush to my Computer and listen to your morning reports with your cafe mocca and see who’s in the box and dang it now I’m on a schdeule of getting up early. I guess I better learn how to make that cafe mocca huh??
    My life is and has been more enriched by All of you and this Wonderful Experience. I have 2 Bird feeders out in my small backyard here in Phoenix but I guess I’m the only one since there is about 150 birds. Instead of rushing to turn on the computer I open my Blinds and if the Birds are out of food you would think you were in the Hitchcock Movie “The Birds”. Oh, also have a cute family of Bunnies with 2 Baby Bunnies. I didn’t know until I was watering my only tree and out came a baby bunny and I thought too small for Molly and McGee.
    Thank You All Again. I would not have done the above if I hadn’t watched your Family. I still get a tear or two but Happy tears now.

    Love,
    Jerri Weed in Phoenix,AZ

  24. Pat Harris Says:

    Hi Carlos and Donna,
    I want to thank you so much for the updates. I couldn’t watch the videos of Molly, They made me sad that it’s over. And seeing your empty dining table left an empty place in my heart. I know that you and Donna are “fledging” away from us. We will miss you. I think I will go order a calendar and maybe a photo. Then I think I will stop reading your blog as it kind of rips the scab off the wound. We hang on your every word, hoping to get some idea if you will do this again. I wish you all the best and thank you from the bottom of my heart for the experience. We miss you. We miss our Molly and McGee.

  25. Denise Says:

    Hello Carlos and Donna,

    I’d just like to thank you again for hosting a truly beautiful experience. I know it was a lot of work on your parts, and your energy and unfailing good humor are an inspiration.

    I just wanted to add to the comments above that I think you are a really gifted photographer, Carlos. I hope we have the chance to see more of your photography of owls and other things! And… of course, last but not least, I hope the owl box is rented out again next year, and that you decide to do it all again! hehe

    Very best to you both
    and to all the dear owls
    and all the folks who love them!

    Denise

  26. Lou Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for all you did. Thanks for the informative update in the blog. I did get teary eyed when I saw the empty dinning room table. Donna has been a real trooper and very gracious to give up her house for all of us for 4 months. This has been one of most wonderful experiences of my life. Thank you I still have hope that Molly and Mc Gee will come back and use the box again and raise another family. thanks you again. Lou Ann

  27. Roger Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    I have to agree it was startling to see the “naked” dining room table. I lost my breath for a second! That must be what it feels like when a college kid returns home to see his bedroom has been converted into something else, Lol! Not that we are your actual family, of course, but the weird thing is the “Molly experience” made us feel that we were for that perfect moment in time. Of course, you are long past ready for your lives to return to normal and so you should. We’re just having an especially difficult time doing that right now, so thanks so very much for your updates. There are plenty of other wildlife to watch and countless fascinating pursuits to follow, but it’s simply not the same. Those things hold little interest. My favorite memory is waking up to the cold, gray, dreary mornings (I dread mornings) and hearing, “This is Carlos Royal, coming to you from the Owlbox in San Marcos, California.” What a bright spot of sunshine to look forward to each day!! When you would sign off each time, did you ‘hear’ all the many voices yelling, “No, please don’t go yet! Talk just a little longer”? Well, mine might have been one of the loudest. Know that you are.. and will be dearly missed for a long, long time to come. Thank-you both for all you’ve given us.

  28. Mary Jo Says:

    I miss the owls too. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

  29. Trisha Says:

    thank you so much for the update! When you said you could still hear them “teet teet teet” of course I now hear your voice doing that too!

    Miss all of you much!

    Lajollaseal

  30. Lisa Says:

    Thank you so much for the update, Carlos. I have to say, it is heartwarming for me to picture you and Donna relaxing on your patio, cups of steaming coffee or tea in a Molly mug in hand, and enjoying the beautiful starry skies of San Marcos. Perhaps you will see an occasional flyover by Molly or McGee, or hear them call in the distance, and know that all is well and as it should be. Molly and McGee may have been the producers of the show, but they had the best crew they could have hoped for in you two.

  31. Beth Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    We miss all of you – with feathers and without! – but know that this had to happen and we knew that, too.

    I would like to lobby for a book of your photographs, please. I love all of the things you and your team have made available, but a book of your photographs of this wonderful experience would be treasured by many, I’m sure.

    Cheers from Oakville, Ontario, Canada
    Beth and Les

  32. Sandi in Seattle Says:

    Carlos, why don’t you and Donna pop up to Seattle next weekend for the zoo picnic? The Pacific Northwest MODs would love to meet you and say ‘thanks’ in person… now THAT would make a great day perfect!

    Gee, we’re going to have a lot of fun, and YOU can be part of it!

  33. nancy Says:

    Carlos,
    First of all, thank you and Donna so much for sharing Molly and her family with us. I know it has turned your lives upside down. I am praying you both have a wonderful, restful vacation. Thank you also for your beautiful photos, and for making them available to us as reminders of this wonderful experience.
    Do you know how long will the videos be available on u stream?
    Thanks again, and hopefully we will get to see Molly and McGee again.

  34. Paula Says:

    Thank you so much for the updates. I’m happy the owlets have grown up healthy and well and have fledged, but saying that I watched your goodbye video with tears running down my face the other day! It has been a joy and a pleasure to watch Molly and her family over these past few months and I’m so grateful to you for letting it happen :-)

  35. donna Says:

    Carlos and Donna, thanks for the updates! When I read them I hear you voice. Hope you go on your vacation soon though, you both need some rest. When and if Molly comes back and lays more eggs, we’ll be able to watch again, I hope! The posters and calendars are beautiful and help keep our memories always. Thank You so much for everything, I check in all the time and will as long as you do your updates. Bless You Both, almost forgot Happy Fathers day!!!! Miss your smiles!

  36. Jennifer Byars Says:

    Thanks so much, Carlos, for keeping us updated on the owls we have come to love. I miss watching them so much! The photo of your nice, cleaned off kitchen table made me sad. I’m sure it makes Donna happy, though! Thanks for all both of you did to share with us the story of Molly and McGee and their owlets! We are a homeschooling family, and it was enjoyable for our whole family. Even our 2 year old sings the Molly Song. We have 3 young boys and they all have Molly shirts. They are so cute when they all wear them at the same time.
    Thanks for everything!
    Jennifer Byars

  37. Marie Says:

    Carlos….I am still wondering how complete strangers like you and Donna have become part of my family in my heart. A million thank yous could not be enough. I also lost my dad may years ago and hearing your voice daily sort of made me remember him and felt comforting. You are one special person. I miss you all and miss my owlets..still hear them calling in my head at night. God bless you and all your family.
    Happy Father’s Day to one of the best ever!

    Marie

  38. Marie Says:

    ;-) P.S. I pray if Molly and McGee decide to have another family in your owlbox you will share this precious gift with us again….just don’t work as hard at it next time.

  39. Patricia Custer Says:

    Carlos & Donna-My sister and I are such serious mods that we made a weekend trip from Antelope Valley, motel, Elephant Bar (they gave me an old flyer of fundraiser!) and the park picnic location where we took in a blues/jazz concert and looked for your new shirt in the crowd. I am raising my 2 preschooler grandaughters since my daughter’s passing and they called “Wesleigh” from the car window as we combed the town listening for Wes’s distinct whine…had a blast just being silly Mods. You’ve brought silly-ness and smiles to me at a time when I need all I can get! Thank you for your efforts, and as you know, you have changed the world for much of the world! I definately want in on Molly’s book and etc. when my finances allow. Love to you both.


  40. Carlos and Donna…have a lovely father’s day weekend! I enjoy your updates and comments.Not much has been said about Molly and McGee bonding together in the owl box on the last night of the camera being on but I found it to be a very spiritual ending to the whole experience. They have not been back in the box since..It was their final good-bye to all of us…but of course after that night Molly may be back to lay more eggs..I know you will let us know if she returns one day…Thank you!!!

  41. Susan Says:

    A big Thank You for the update. I would come home from work every day (yes every day!) and run to my computer for the Owl Box to see “my” owls. What a privilege to share this fun, heartwarming adventure with you and the world. Miss you and the owls. Thank you. I am thinking about the M&M framed photo.

  42. Laurie Bishop Says:

    Dear Donna and Carlos,

    It must be lonely without the owlets, Molly and MacGee, and their nightly activity and the excitement. I know you miss it all, even as you said, it all must come to an end. Still, there are many things to come for you both and so much more to enjoy. And yes, lots of folks hope one thing will be another owlbox, or a bird box of some kind like Donna’s favorite Kestrels, but most of all, whatever it is, just enjoy yourselves completely. Life is short, and joy is what it’s for.

    Thanks again.

    All the best,
    Laurie


Leave a Reply

