Molly and McGee

June 14, 2010

4D5Q9018 Molly

Molly

4D5Q9009 McGee B

McGee

84 Responses to “Molly and McGee”

  1. leslie Says:

    What will they do now? Do they mourn the departure of their offspring, or are they glad to not be hunting for 6 any more? ;-)

    Are there ever owl family reunions?

  2. Kate Says:

    Beautiful images! What a wonderful finish to this adventure.

    Oh look! For here we have the fearsome pair
    Known well to us as Molly and McGee. 
    They gave us all a gift so very rare: 
    The chance to watch owls living wild and free. 

  3. Nora Says:

    Molly and McGee – you had me from the start
    You touched my senses & got into my heart
    I watched you hunt, bond, and feed your clutch
    With mice, voles, opossums, rabbits and such

    I enjoyed Carlos and Donna’s fine brood
    Watched daily and saw Carlos’ change in mood
    He built fledge ledge, ladder cam, and other toys
    To entertain the owlet girls and boys

    We laughed, we cried, we made new friends
    and on the last night we saw it never ends
    Molly and McGee back without hesitation
    Thank you Carlos & Donna – have a great vacation!

  4. Birgit Rhoads Says:

    So beautiful this pair. I love it that we know they are still together thinking about a new family. But there will never be another Max, Pattison, Austin and Weslie. Thank you so much Carlos and Donna for sharing your lives with us.

  5. Marie Batten Says:

    I can’t imagine how Molly & McGee have changed Donna and Carlos’ lives. They both are now established icons for the Rules of Nature and what a delightful time we’ve all had thanks to their efforts. I would enjoy seeing them on a major network with their pictures – videos – stories of what happened to them, and to us, during this event.

  6. SusanfromAZ Says:

    How appropriate that our time ends with the two owls that started it all! Full circle indeed! Thanks again to Carlos and Donna for opening their hearts and lives to the world.. Be well owls and owlets. Susan from Arizona

  7. Connie Johnson Says:

    What a wonderful ending. It will be so nice to think about the continuation of this adventure. Molly and McGee with a new family of owlets and us with so many memories and friends. Thank you Carlos and Donna for sharing your lives with us.


  8. Beautiful, majestic, awe-inspiring Molly and McGee and their owlets, nurtured by Carlos and Donna.

    profusive thanks from us all, with love and gratitude always,

    Bette
    xoxoxo

  9. Darlene Salisbury Says:

    Wow. What an encore performance last night. Thank you once again to Carlos and Donna for awesome pictures. Thank you for this absolutely fabulous,wonderful experience of a lifetime. I shall be forever grateful.

  10. Denise Says:

    Carlos and Donna, I have followed the owls since right after Max hatched on Sportsman’s Paradise Online. THANK YOU for allowing me to experience such beauty. Thank you for the countless hours you have spent on providing this for everyone.

  11. JL Gawlik Says:

    WoW! What a NiGHT last night! Can not wait to hear your and Donna’s comments. We suspect Eric, Chris and Robert must be speechless right now.

    Ditto on ALL the comments, this has been an absolutely amazing journey all because of your and Donna’s great hospitality, generosity, sincerity and wonderful out look on LiFE. Gee, that was FuN! And we were ALL a part of iT!

    Thank you again!

    {{{{{{{{DoNNa, CaRLOs & FaMiLY}}}}}}}}}}}


  12. What magnificent creatures they are!! Thanks to Carlos for his photos and to Donna for indulging Carlos with all of his ‘toys’!! It’s been a wonderful journey.

  13. Lynn Says:

    Thanks to all for a very beautiful experience!

  14. Jerri Weed Says:

    Here goes the Tears yet again but Last Night was WONDERFUL!
    Love and Safe Travels to You All and Please Keep us in tune of what is going on inside your Rental!

    GEE THAT WAS FUN AND I WAS PART OF IT!

    Jerri Weed in Phoenix, AZ

  15. Karen Says:

    Awsome photo of McGee just loved it!

  16. Elyse Wright Says:

    Carlos, Maybe you can schedule a few hours a day for the camera when you get back so we can have a peek. Just don’t let it take over your lives again. We all love you and Donna for sharing this experience.

  17. Judith Stewart Says:

    I will miss those beautiful faces! Thank you Carlos and Donna for an unforgettable experience.

  18. Susan Belloff Says:

    The perfect ending to a beautiful story. How lucky we have been to experience it! Thank you Carlos, Donna and Austin for sharing your owl box and so much of yourselves with us. Gee, It HAS been fun and I am so GLAD I was a part of it! :)

  19. springgrl Says:

    I couldn’t think of a better ending. We are all so lucky to have experienced this. Thanks Carlos, Donna, and Austin. Gee it was great fun!

  20. Jake Sarzynski Says:

    An amazing experience, proud to have been part of it. Not only will I miss the owls but also Carlos – with all that is wrong in the world, Carlos is all that is right.
    Fledge of allegiance indeed.
    A thousand thanks to the Royals for sharing this most excellent adventure.
    Jake in Michigan

  21. Cinda Browne Says:

    Gee that was fun! And I was part of it! Amazing isn’t it how mother nature and/or God have plans for us that we don’t even know about or understand. And Hollywood couldn’t have written a better ending! Thank you Carlos, Donna & Austin for your dedication and enthusiam in sharing this with all of us.

  22. Betty Mitchell Says:

    (Sing to the Carol Burnette closing theme)

    I’m so glad we had this time together,
    Just to have a laugh,and watch the owls grow strong.
    Seems we just got started and before we Knew it
    Comes the time we have to say, “So long”.

    There’s a time you wanna sigh for dreamin.
    And a time for things you have to do. (Like vacation in the RV)
    The time I love the best is any evening
    I can spend a moment here with all of you.

    When the time comes and I’m feelin’ lonely
    And I’m feelin’ oh so blue.
    I just sit back and think of the owls story
    And the happiness still comes through.

    That’s why I’m glad we had this time together.
    Cause it makes me feel like I’m along.
    Seems we just got started and before we knew it
    Comes the time we have to say, “So Long”

    Thanks Carlos, Donna, Austin and the Owls! It was FUN!

  23. Joan Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna… did you write the script for this spectacular ending? It sure has been fun THANK YOU.. you all will be missed..

  24. Neville Martin Says:

    I have enjoyed this adventure immensely.

    Thank you for sticking with it.

  25. Nancy Says:

    This has been the greatest adventure.

  26. Sandie Says:

    Will miss Carlos and Donna as much as the owls and owlets. Please keep in touch.

  27. Dena Says:

    Carlos and Donna,
    Thank you So much for the experience of a lifetime. I must admit I am sad to see it end, however after last night…..apparently…your tenants are renegotiating? The photos are great…would have recognized those McGee legs anywhere! lol
    Have a peaceful, safe vacation and please keep in touch with us upon your return as to the goings on with your tenants.
    Love and God Bless….

  28. Cheryl Owen Says:

    Carlos and Donna – thank you so much for allowing us to see this amazing story and thank you so much for all the disruption you have endured over the last few months to bring it to us- I’ve been watching from the UK since just before Wes hatched.. and to end this story with a potential new beginning is just incredible! I really hope you have a long, wonderful and relaxing vacation – thank you again!

  29. Karen Says:

    Carlos and Donna I can’t thank you enough for this site! I’m from Bakersfield, CA! We are practically neighbors but I live in Florida Now.Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!

  30. Janet Says:

    Its unbelieveable the ending!!! Wow. And now with them back…you will have your own time with them to yourselves! Life is Sweet! We will really miss you Carlos and Donna!

  31. francie bowers Says:

    Thank you for everything Carlos & Donna…bon voyage on your vacation!! Francie Bowers


  32. Carlos and Donna – Thank you so much for not only your dedication but your exhuberance in following “your” story along with Molly and McGee. They will never be forgotten. I have been watching since 02/15/10 (one day before Max hatched). While I have been a lurker so to speak and not participated in the daily chat, I have followed it in earnest. I will so miss all…Carlos and Donna, Molly and McGee and our four little owlets Max, Pattison, Austin and Wesley…especially Wesley! Wish this could continue forever! Thank you both for your dedication to Molly & McGee. Maybe we’ll see them in the future (with less participation from you so you can have your life). I hope to be able to be updated on Molly and McGee with any future mailings!! Thanks for everything!!

    Charlene Romine
    Syracuse, NY

  33. Barabara Lindsay Says:

    Hi there Donna and Carlo
    It was a wonderful adventure, now it is time for both of you to enjoy your well earned vacation.

    I really loved the web cam page, pictures, live broadcast, and appreciated everything that you have put into this story.
    Many thanks,
    Barbara Lindsay from Reading, PA

  34. chana meddin Says:

    Carlos and Donna, I have never experienced anything like being a MOD in my entire life: the beauty, the laughter, the elegance, grace, and warmth of our TWITTER feed, and the unparalleled joy that all four owlets fledged safely has given new depth to my life! From the bottom of my heart, please accept one MOD’s gratitude for your humble generosity of spirit and the sacrifices that all of you at Molly’s Owl Box “Central Control Center” have given so many around the world! No diplomat in the world like pretty Molly Royal! Love you all.

  35. Mary Arneson Says:

    Carlos and Donna…our lives will never be quite the same. From the first moment I began watching (and lurking) I was hooked…and that was when the owlets were just eggs!! Your willingness to have the world drop in on you is quite amazing. That we were privileged enough to witness God’s handiwork is a Blessing. We shall never forget the wonder, the laughter, the tears, the worry, the relief…all over Molly, McGee, and the Owlets! You went the extra mile so we could all be a part of this miracle of life. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    Mary from Colorado

  36. Susan Jeffries Says:

    Thank you for such a wonderful experience. I will never forget Molly & McGee and the owlets. Thanks to Donna & Carlos for taking the time to share this with the world.

  37. Sue Says:

    Donna and Carlos,

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us. It has been a wonderful ride, and I’m so glad that I was able to be a part of it!

  38. Melanie Says:

    Thanks so much Carlos and Donna for giving us this wonderful opportunity to share the lives of Molly, McGee and the owlets. I loved checking in at the owl box every day as well as looking at all your fabulous photos.
    It’s been fun :-)


  39. Dear Carlos and Donna, thank you once again for the wonderful experience you allowed us to share with you. I hope when you return from your vacation you might find a new little family in the owl box to bring you joy. And of course, being avid photographers you will post your new pics on your blog for us to see. Please???

    Have a wonderful vacation, and {{{{hugz}}}} to Austin the greatest grandson!

  40. Ellen Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    Our family truly enjoyed our time with you and all the owls/owlets. We will miss all of you and wish you well in your travels…

  41. Karen Says:

    Beautiful birds, beautiful pictures. Thank you so much for sharing them with us.

  42. Bonnie Says:

    These photographs are extraordinary. I hope that Carlos does a follow-up in a few months when he and Donna recover to let us know whatever he learns about the fate of the babies and M&M.

  43. Dave and Cheryl Says:

    To all our new friends …..
    Thank you Carlos and Donna for a once-in-a-lifetime adventure!! We joined in the Chat room only a couple of times (screen name: retiredMODS)- but we watched and read along with everybody nightly!! As many have said – Molly and McGee returning on the last night to reclaim “Their Box” is the perfect “full circle” ending! For everyone involved – this has been like a perfectly pitched baseball game: no runs, no hits, no errors! We will all understand if Carlos and Donna choose to retire on a high note; after putting together their “perfect game”. We will always enjoy our photobooks and memories. Thanks so much!!
    Dave and Cheryl – Carlsbad, CA

  44. FinnWV Says:

    Thank you so much for these awesome photographs of the two owls who started this wonderful journey – Molly and McGee! What a perfect ending to a beautiful story! Molly & McGee picked the perfect Owl Box – The Royal Owl Box. Thank you Donna for asking Carlos to put an owl box in your garden! An thank you Carlos and Donna with Austin’s help for sharing that Owl Box with all of us! Gee this was fun and I am so glad I was part of it!

  45. Barb Polo Says:

    A special thanks again for all the wonderful memories you have given to all of us at SPO. May I suggest that in your newfound free time, you may want to log onto our chat and get a feel for what we are all about. The nicest things have been said about you and Donna, and we have been loyal and true defenders of the Owl Box. I have been so blessed to have been with you these past few months. Good luck to you and yours, and let us know if your owl family treats you with a new family. Always, Barb

  46. Barb Polo Says:

    Follow-ups apreciated

  47. Heza Lang Says:

    Thank you Carlos, Donna, and Austin, for all the time and effort you’ve put into sharing this experience with the world. I’m sure it got overhwleming at times, but I hope the reward was great as well. It was for me. I hope to see updates here at least, even if you don’t re-broadcast from The Owl BOx. I can’t express my appeciation enough.

  48. Lori Says:

    Donna and Carlos – A beautiful story. And the owls’ story was very special as well.

  49. Lynn Thomas Says:

    Beautiful pictures! Thank you so much!

  50. Diana Schleicher Says:

    Known as YTQ on SPO chat of Molly.

    Carlos and Donna, Thank you from the bottom of my heart! This has been extremely fun and and I’m so glad I got to be a part of it. Til Next time!!

    YTQ

    Diana

  51. Judi Anderson Seal Says:

    In March, a friend sent me the link to the Owl Box; a friend had sent it to her. My friend thought it was a little strange to watch owls so she looked once and that was it. I, however, became immediately and irrevocably hooked. She did not know that the owl was my high school mascot. She did not know that the logo of my favorite potato chip is an owl. She did not know that my mother and I once “chased” an owl for an hour and a half when bird-watcher, only to find out that it was a mourning dove that we were hearing and not an owl. She did not know that I would become a victim of MOD that kept me awake long after a reasonable hour (East Coast), or that I would withstand untold ridicule from my family. She did not know that I would “meet” interesting, caring, funny, and creative people through the experience. She did not know that I would enjoy every minute of it. She gave me a great gift, as did the Royals and everybody else involved in this experience. Thank you.

  52. Kathryn Rocheleau Says:

    I am awestruck at the time and love you put into this. And it never hurts to say:

    Gee, this was fun and I was part of it!

  53. Vicky Says:

    So glad to see that it was indeed Molly and McGee back again, and that the story will still go on even though we won’t be seeing it anymore. I’m glad that we were all able to share this amazing few months, and I know the memories will stick with me for a long time to come.

  54. Marge Says:

    Thank you to Carlos … you have changed all of our lives and so appreciate all of your time and effort in watching this beautiful family of owls grow. Will miss Molly and the owlettes so much.

  55. Joan Schultz Says:

    Thank you Carlos & Donna. What a gift you gave us. The photos are just beautiful!

  56. Kim Says:

    I,m glad I got to see M & M in action on the last night. It was perfect.

  57. Fiveoskid Smith Says:

    Love the last pictures of Molly and McGee.

  58. Michaela Quinn Says:

    Dear Carlos and Family,
    Wow, what an amazing ending to this wonderful story! If only Disney or Pixar could pick up on this! And like you said Carlos tonight, “Every story has a beginning and an end.” The way this story ended was written in Heaven, with the appearance of Molly and McGee…
    Thank you again for inviting all of us into your home, and the life Molly. This has truly touched many… A beautiful Love Story (Nature)…
    Michaela Quinn
    Texas

  59. Mary Carroll Says:

    Dear Carlos, Donna and all,

    Thank you for letting us enjoy the lives of McGee, Molly, Alex, Pat, Austin and Wes. Your photographs are beautiful and you caught the wonder of the little owls.

    I hope you will continue to occasionally take photos of the owls and their offspring.

    Mary Carroll

  60. Trisha Says:

    Dear Royal Family,

    The last night of ‘bonding’ of Molly and McGee was an ending even Disney could not have written. I think the owls found you two because of your warm, gentle and giving souls. Perhaps their love story will live on in all the hearts you have touched.

    Trisha

  61. Donna Simonson Says:

    With a heavy heart and tearful eyes I thank you Royal family and Molly family for giving so much to so many around the world. You are the author of one of the most wonderful experiences of my life at 59 years. May God bless you always as you have blessed the world. I will think of this always and hear your words Carlos, “Gee wasn’t that fun and I was a part of it.” I’m glad to know I share the love of nature along side of you, Donna and the rest of your family.

    May God Bless You Mightily in the days and years to come!

    Donna Simonson
    Murrieta, CA

  62. Kungfukitten Says:

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your owl box with the world. I have learned so much and had so much fun. I will truly miss all my friends from the owl box graveyard shift – insomnia will never be that fun again!
    Much Love,
    Sydney aka Kungfukitten
    Portland, OR

  63. Liz Needham Says:

    What a wonderful ending. Watching Molly and McGee has such a calming effect. Thanks so much Carlos and Donna! Have a great vacation!

    Liz

  64. Christine Says:

    Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. What a blessing.

  65. Christine Says:

    Thank you. WOnderful!

  66. Debbie Says:

    thank you both for an extraordinary experience of watching these beautiful owls over that last 4 months. God’s creation leaves me speechless with the wonder of all He has done. Along with all the work you surely did, I hope these memories will be sweet for you as you now return to some normalcy in your lives! May God richly bless you both.

  67. Trish in NJ Says:

    Carlos and Donna, thank you so much for allowing us all to share in this magnificent experience. I don’t know who I’m going to miss more, the owlets or you! I know it was a lot of work, but I do hope you consider doing it again if Molly has another clutch.
    I knew I was going to be sad when it ended, but I had no idea it would be this much. I hope you both have a wonderful vacation and enjoy sleeping in!
    Love and admiration always,
    Trish in NJ

  68. Susan Pizon Says:

    I am so happy to have been a very small part of this wonderous miracle. Carlos & Donna, you have been tucked in a special “Owl Spot” in my heart for ever more. All of the creative people, the friends (aka MODS) have been a joy, together sharing these past months. I will cherish these photos, and live the experience whenever I choose.

    I now truly understand infeffable, for I can not find the words to express my thanks.

  69. Penelope Says:

    I first started viewing Molly’s cam in early March. Since that time I have thought many, many times “This same incredible story happens all over the world, season after season. Amazing!”
    And, Donna and Carlos, you also are amazing. Your lives were turned upside-down for four months. But, it was for a reason; you made life a little better, a litte happier for thousands of people. Children who watched your cam will always remember the experience and the lessons it taught.
    How does it feel being heroes?

  70. Selena K Says:

    This is so romantic – M&M together again.
    Thank you Donna and Carlos for all the wonderful memories we have because of you!
    All the best!
    Selena

  71. Susan / Suey Pit Says:

    Yes, good concluding photos..(not that I don’t want more! I do!). At any rate..memories…there is McGee…recall his handsome legs when he paid visits to Molly in the early days (oh, how we all waited excitedly for his visits)…and lovely maternal Molly…sigh..what a happy successful story of this family of Molly and McGee. Truly was a special time and now we appreciate the caring familial nature of the wonderful world of owls. An educational yet sentimental journey.

  72. Susan Says:

    Thanks for the memories!

  73. Andromeda Says:

    What a wonderful ending to this story! Thank you Carlos, Donna and Austin for sharing this amazing experience with us. I’m so glad I got to be a part of this adventure.

  74. xx Says:

    Thank you so much for all the time you and your family have spent to bring us such a wonderful experience!

  75. Greg Says:

    Beautiful, hope to see them again next year.

  76. Kim Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna, your photos throughout were spectacular and the night time ones, especially, brought wings to life for us. Thank you from the bottom of my sad little heart for this amazing experience. We wouldn’t have had it if not for you and all your dedication. You made this a first class event for us all to enjoy. Now go and enjoy your time off. We hope for owl sightings and reportings in the future, if you can! Much love, eyedrkim

  77. Maria Martin Says:

    Dear Carlos & Donna,

    Somebody said, “Don’t be sad that this is ending, be happy because it happened.” I am so happy that you shared this with so many people in this world. I will miss the “Molly & McGhee Family” and all who contributed to the telling of the story that I will cherish the rest of my life. Thank you and God Bless you–All of you!!

    Maria Martin

  78. Susan Says:

    Carlos and Donna, Thanks so much for sharing this with us…..I have enjoyed every minute of it and enjoy your vacation…..you deserve it!!!! Thanks from the bottom of my heart!!!!

  79. Francie Yarber Says:

    I have to remind myself that I was so lucky to get a glimpse of nature that I wouldn’t have if not for Donna and Carlos and it just so happened to be like a fairy tale. Nature isn’t always like this and that’s what’s sad; the owls leaving the security of that box that we were lucky enough to view. It was fun and I am part of it!

  80. Nancy Q Says:

    As I was getting ready for bed the other night I heard a familar sound outside…I have owls in my box finally…after 4 yrs. I may not have realized what that sound was if I had not fallen to sleep many nights listening to Molly and her gang! Thanks to Carlos and Donna for everything they have done! None of us will ever forget how wonderful this adventure has been.

  81. Ann Says:

    That’s a cute cartoon, teaching Wesley to hunt. He might have included WHO is teaching Wes, like a hawk in the background! Talk about incentive! :)

  82. Dena Says:

    Nancy Q…..any consideration of a camera? lol


Leave a Reply

