The Owl Box: For Rent

June 12, 2010

4D5Q8966 Lets Go

Lets go

4D5Q8977 Wesley

I'm Thinking

4D5Q8972 Austin & Wes

Ok I'm ready

4D5Q8969 This isn't so bad

I kind of like it up here

4D5Q8981 For Rent

For Rent

26 Responses to “The Owl Box: For Rent”

  1. FinnWV Says:

    Love your captions on the pictures Carlos! Wes actually does look comfortable up there! Congratulations and thank you again for this once in a lifetime awesome experience. I will cherish the memories! God bless you all!

  2. nemo52 Says:

    Thanks you again, Donna and Carlos. What a beautiful experience you have shared with us all.


  3. Three months I’ve spent watching and will miss all of the daily activity and communication.

    I’m truly a recent “empty nester” and this has brought a lot of my daily experiences into perspective. Amazing how my feelings are so similar to when my baby son moved out!

    Thanks so much to you Carlos and Donna for bringing a world together. Such a bitter/sweet moment for all the owl watchers.

    toni nicholson – decatur alabama

  4. leslie Says:

    Wonderful! Will the box be re-used next year? By the same pair?

  5. Michaela Quinn Says:

    Dear Carlos and Donna,
    Thank you again for inviting us all into your life and the life of Molly & McGee and there little family… I have grown to love the Owls so much.
    I am Grateful for your kindness to provide them with shelter. Thank you, you are truly Blessed!
    Sincerly,
    Michaela Quinn
    Texas

  6. K. Stevenson OwlyKats Says:

    The Pictures are Fantastic. Nice to see Miss Wesley happy in the palm tree. So glad she fledged out of the box. God Bless You!

  7. JoAnn Reed Says:

    I just love these pictures that you have taken Carlos. Thank you both, Carlos and Donna, for this incredible learning experience. Carlos, I would buy a CD or book if you put your pictures on a CD or had them published in a book. I think a book of your pictures with the captions you have put on them would be a great gift to give. They are beautiful birds with lovely personalities.

  8. Pat Says:

    Thank you, thank you for your generosity of spirit and heart in sharing Molly and McGee’s family with us. It has been a truly amazing experience. My life has been enriched and blessed by these beautiful creatures. Thank you and Donna for making all of this possible.

  9. Irene Hanna Says:

    Thank you Carlos and Donna for the wonderful gift to those owls and all the time you put in. I agree with the previous comment that your pictures are marvelous and a CD or book of them would be great.
    Have a relaxing vacation.

  10. Alessandra Says:

    Carlos, I’ve read about you on the internet and you’ve lead an impressive, full life. In my opinion, this is the most impressive thing that you’ve ever done. You’ve brought literally millions of people an up close and personal encounter with nature in a way that none of us would have ever had. Its been said before and will be said many times again, but bless you and Donna, Austin, and everyone who has helped make this possible. For me personally, its been a way to spend some last precious days with my father, who got such a kick out of these owls. He was raised on a farm and regaled me with family stories that I had never heard before. Our very last conversation was when he asked me if Wesley had left the box yet. I said yes and he smiled. Shortly thereafter, he lapsed into a coma and about 4 hours later, he slipped away. Thank you so much for making these memories possible.

    • springgrl Says:

      This is what made this so special. So many of us have gone through tough times and been able to connect through the owls/owlets. I am sorry for your loss, but glad you had these special memories with your father.

  11. DWD in Atlanta Says:

    I have loved every minute of this experience. From the owls to these wonderful photographs. I will contact Eric about a coffee table book of your photos. I hope you will consider the owl box again, if someone else moves in. It will be a sequel to Molly the Owl, for Eric’s new company.

    Thanks so much for all you have done to bring the owls to us. I will miss all of you!!!

  12. Cathy Says:

    Just beautiful!!! You truly captured each personality of birds with your pics and captians. They look beautiful in the palm trees. The pics alone are breathtaking..and I can only imagine how breath taking they are in person. Thank you for doing such wonderful work. You and your family did a tremndous amount of work to make it wonderful for the birds and not to mention how convenient you made it for the viewers. Thank you so much!!!!!
    Cathy

  13. Angie Says:

    Thank you for all the time you, your wife, and your family dedicated to this so we – the public – could learn a little more about wildlife. We are homeschoolers and we have truly enjoyed this learning experience. Your pictures are beautiful.

    How will we find you next year if another couple “rents” this box?

  14. burnee Says:

    Thank you from the bottom (and top) of my heart Carlos and Donna for putting off your holiday until the owlets/owls have moved out. Its been great coming on here each day catching up with them (and the humans lol). I wish you both well and here’s hoping they will come back and you’ll do all over again.

  15. Pat Says:

    What a once-in-a-lifetime experience this has been. I’m sad to see it at an end, but glad that you were so generous to share it all with millions of people around the world (who now have a much greater appreciation for this wonderful owl species). Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

  16. Leslee Says:

    These photos are utterly fantastic…Carlos, you are one heck of a photographer…among other things…a true man for all seasons…

  17. springgrl Says:

    Carlos, Donna and Austin,

    Thank you for a once in a lifetime experience. It has been an amazing ride, and I am not quite ready to get off! I have traveled by RV several times before and miss it. I hope you get a relaxing vacation – sometimes hard to do when in and RV! And I hope Austin does great with his next round of presentations! As a teacher, I give you all A++++++++++++!!!!!!!!

  18. the_nites_gurl Says:

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience!

  19. Linda Schmitt Says:

    Thanks for this wonderful experience and all the beautiful pictures!! We don’t expect you to continue to let this dominate your lives, but if you all have any come back and nest, I hope we will be in on the news!! Thanks again!

  20. carol Says:

    thank you C&D I’ve really enjoyed watching and learning about these wonderful owls. You have been wonderful host’s.

  21. Denise Says:

    I would like to thank both of you for the time and energy you spent to make this happen. Enjoy your vacation, you definitely deserve it!

  22. Katherine Says:

    Hello Carlos and Donna, I don’t whether to laugh or cry for you with this potential turn of events. I will be watching with baited breath today (and tomorrow?). This whole experience has been the best-of-the-best. The owls, of course, and your fabulous presentation from beginning to end. I will never forget the puppets! Much thanks to you for opening your home to all of us.

  23. Liz Says:

    A huge thanks for giving up so much of your time and letting us share this incredible experience with you. It has been so uplifting – I’ve laughed, I’ve cried and I’ve learnt so much. The photos on here are just beautiful too – thank you so much and hope you have a wonderful and well-deserved holiday.

  24. Kim Says:

    Love the “for rent” sign! It’s very bittersweet. Thank you for everything you’ve done, I’ve really enjoyed my daily following of the McGee family and watching them grow.

  25. Christina Podvin Says:

    Thanks for all the great photos you took! I was always watching late at night and seeing the flash of your camera and knew there’d be something good to see from you the next day. It was so exciting to have Austin come back one more night for Wes. They sure were bosom buddies! Thanks for sharing your lives with us. We sure enjoyed watching you over on SPO. I think you and Donna deserve a wonderful vacay! Have fun!


Leave a Reply

