Gender

May 31, 2010

4D5Q8586 All Male Austin

Austin

4D5Q8585 Max and Austin

Female Max and Male Austin

4D5Q8583 Kestrel Box Landing

Austin #1

4D5Q8591 Owlet on Fledge Ledge

Pattison

IMG_0388 McGee Transfer Max

McGee and Max

IMG_0393 Owlet

The Pose

12 Responses to “Gender”

  1. Jeri Lynn Says:

    So beautiful! Thank you for all you and Donna and Austin have done to share these beautiful birds with us.


  2. Beautiful photographs! I have soooo enjoyed watching these babies grow! The photography has been fantastic too! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to witness the birth, growth, and flight of these beautiful birds! What an amazing amount of work that has gone into this project! It has been completely fascinating to watch.


  3. Carlos…Thank you so much!!! I so love these pictures.. And to see them so clearly is wonderful.. Words can not express how truly grateful I am to you for sharing so much with us… I have really enjoyed this site tremendously…
    Jo-Ann

  4. Owlcoholic4life Says:

    Carlos, TYVM for all you have given to the world. These pictures are priceless and I know I will spend many hours looking at them over the rest of my life. Not only will it be hard to let go of our Molly Family, it is going to be hard to let go of you and Donna too. You and Donna are part of my life and I hope that you will stay in touch with all of us. Thanks for capturing these most awesome pictures of Molly and her family. We love you.

    Owlco4

  5. Pied Says:

    Thank you for the IDs. I’ve never been very good at it myself, so this really helps.

  6. Donna Says:

    You have done a magnificent job of capturing these most precious owls. The photography is superb and thank you for the time and patience invested. You and your wife have certainly enlighted us about the life of the beautiful Barn Owl.

  7. Torre Says:

    Great pictures – you have had a wonderful opportunity to use those photography skills. I can really see a difference in their coloring. I think it would be really great if one of these babies came back and raised their own baby owlets!!

  8. Darlene Says:

    Wow, what a difference in coloring. I always suspected that Max might be a female and Austin a male. I think Pattison could be a female, too.

    Also, note the “bars” on Max’s wing. I think those are female-like, too.

  9. susan Says:

    How do you look at these pictures? I click on the image and there’s nothing. Thanks.

  10. Ann Says:

    Carlos,

    These photographs are phenomenal! I do think you should rethinf the notion of a coffee table book of just photos. I know I, for one, would pick one up in a second!

    Thank you and Donna for such a wonderful experience. I will remember it forever and I am walking away from it saying, “This was fun and I am glad I was a part of it!”

  11. Torre Says:

    Carlos and Donna – how long do you plan to keep the P.O. box going? I’m having something made that I was going to send but I’m afraid the box will be closed.

    Torre Taylor

  12. nemo52 Says:

    Carlos and Donna — Many, many thanks for providing this wonderful experience! I have so enjoyed watching this barn owl family grow up and thrive. You two have given so much to so many — thank you.


Leave a Reply

