Hatching observations

March 20, 2010

Help us learn more about barn owls

With tens of thousands of people watching Molly, McGee and their owlets, there’s a great opportunity to capture data about barn owls.

If you see behavior that you think is related to brooding or hatching, just comment below:

  1. Post the time (in Pacific Daylight Time)
  2. Anything behaviors you notice

The more specific you are, the better. Try not to “interpret” what you see, but rather just explain the behaviors you see (frequency, body position, sounds, etc.). Try to explain it in the order of the events.

Need to find this post again quickly? Use the search function or save this link to your Favorites: http://tinyurl.com/hatchingeggs

Thanks for your help!

3 Responses to “Hatching observations”


  1. Hi, I am a librarian by trade and the author of 6 editions of Net-mom’s Internet Kids and Family Yellow Pages (now out of print). You can google me, I’m in wikipedia and loads of other places.

    I LOVE the Mollycam and since I am laid up with a broken leg I have had a LOT of time to admire her! I thought your site needed a few family-friendly links so I put them up on my site, but you are welcome to use them on your site for free. I’d appreciate a link back to my site if you use them.

    Take a look here and if you want the version with the visible links I’ll be happy to send it to you if you give me your email.

    It’s on the front page at http://www.netmom.com or direct link:
    http://netmom.com/component/content/article/44-games-and-fun/238-owl-sites-for-kids.html?directory=65

  2. Lynne M from Rancho Penasquitos Says:

    Since I have MOD I have watched Molly for several hours tonight and noticed that she is unusually quiet….not making ANY of the usual sounds… and not sleeping but getting up frequently (at least a dozen times)to go look out the door of the box as if she’s looking for McGee. Just not a typical night for her. Don’t think she has any food in the pantry either.

  3. Maureen Roberts Says:

    would like to stay in touch with Molly Blog


Leave a Reply

