A Reason To Be by Theresa Reed

November 25, 2013

Grand Tetons

Grand Tetons

 

The Owl Box came into being during the Great Recession, many people were suffering, financially, physically and mentally.  The Owl Box became a refuge from their troubles, a place where they could see there was hope as they watched a young mother owl struggle to raise her brood. Over 21 million human spirits were connected around the world. They laughed, they cried, and they cheered. The Owl Box had  “A Reason To Be.” Theresa Reed one of the millions of Molly Watchers also had “A Reason To Be.”

When Theresa Reed went to work at a small law office, “organ donation” was not part of the job description. But one day she recognized a client whose husband was ill. As she debated whether to buy flowers, send a card, or pray for the ailing man. God quietly asked. “Would you give him a Kidney?”

“In San Marcos, California there is an owl box in the backyard of Carlos and Donna Royal. I want them to know that, ultimately, it was the story of those famous barn owls, Molly and McGee, that inspired me to make my own story public.  After all, when a pair of barn owls can fund a young man’s college career, the possibilities seem endless. “

UPDATE: Austin Faure will get his BA degree next month, he is in his final classes thanks to those that supported him and the Owl Box.

You can obtain a copy of Theresa Reed’s faith based book, A Reason To Be at  https://www.createspace.com/4306385

I hope you enjoy it, I did.

Carlos Royal

 

32 Responses to “A Reason To Be by Theresa Reed”

  1. Dianne Barber Says:

    >


  2. What a remarkable story by an extremely generous person! I look forward to reading Theresa Reed’s book.

    Congratulations Austin. Happy Thanksgiving to all of the Royal family and our owl box family.

  3. Linda Says:

    Thanks for the book suggestion and early congrats to Austin!!! Where does time go? ldgreene123

  4. Sherry Kelly Says:

    So good to hear from you Carlos! I will definately have to check out this book. Also thanks for the update on Austin. We Mods feel like we played a small part in his education and he is special to us. I want to wish everyone a very happy Thanksgiving. http://sherrykelly.tateauthor.com

  5. Joan from Colorado Says:

    it is always good to hear from you Carlos.. I do agree that the Molly/McGee experience was an inspring time. I will always treasure the times.

  6. monkie Says:

    Thanks Carlos, and was great to hear from you.. We have missed you.. Congratulations Austin!! Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!! (((hugz))

  7. Sally L Dausch Says:

    thank you Carlos, I can use some inspiration just now, hope all is well with you and Donna and your wonderful family; may you have a blessed Holiday Season with many wonderful memories :)

    ________________________________

  8. elsalichman@comcast.net Says:

    thanks! elsalynda

  9. CAequuslvr Says:

    I always believed that M&M were magical, so I am not surprised that they inspired such generosity. I remember that someone said that we are forever changed because we lived with owls. It has been almost 4 years since our journey with M&M began and the spirit of the community it brought together continues to provide a “reason to be”.

    Kudos! to Austin. Our investment in your future was well placed.

    Carlos & Donna, have a Happy Thanksgiving.

  10. Pat Walker (aka Patty Perfect) Says:

    I am so proud that I can claim to have been a part of that wonderful journey. My family still love to tease me but they too are proud I was a MOD. Thank You Carlos for the update. I plan to read this book. Congrats to Austin! Happy I could help. Have a warm holiday.

  11. Donna in Ct. Says:

    So nice to hear from you Carlos. The owl box was a great journey for many people, I will never forget! Thank you for sharing this book with us, I could use some inspiration right now also. Congrats to Austin, he had a great teacher! Hope you all have a wonderful holiday season, and keep in touch!

  12. Couleedam (Nora) Says:

    Tell Austin to feel proud of all that he has achieved thus far. M&M will hold a special place in my heart forever and Carlos, I hope you realize how many people you “connected” even though poor Donna lost her dining room table for quite a long while. I still keep in touch with many good friends that I met at your wonderful site!!!! I love to share my interest in owls with my grandchildren (who are now 8)….how time does fly :-) Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Carlos, Donna & Austin!!!!
    Hugz & Heartz, Couleedam (Nora)

  13. VeeTX Says:

    It is so good to hear from you Carlos; and especially with such a heart warming storyof love and sacrifice; especially during the week of Thanksgiving. Congratulations to Austin. I wonder if he realizes how many “Aunties” he had and has who follow his endeavors. We are so proud of him! I will certainly get Theresa’s book – it sounds like a very special story. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Donna, Austin, and all of your family.

  14. OC / Cheryle Says:

    Hello everyone. Thank you Carlos for telling us about the book, sounds like a great read. Many congratulations to Austin. Wishing you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving and Christmas and the same to everyone reading this.

  15. Amanda aka Minasparrot Says:

    Sounds like an awesome story! Can’t wait to read it! So good to hear from you Carlos and to see some familiar names! Happy holidays everyone!

  16. Jo-Ann Says:

    Thank you for the update Carlos.. Congratulations to Austin and wish you and your family the most wonderful Thanksgiving and Christmas ever.. any news
    of any owls taking over the owl box…?

  17. Roy A Steacy Sr. Says:

    Everybody seems to have said what I wanted to. I’ll forever remember the times with M&M and………….”Gee, wasn’t that fun?”
    Happy Holidays and thank you once again because, YES, ……that was fun.

    God Bless you and yours,

    Roy A Steacy Sr.

  18. Jan Halstead Says:

    Can’t wait to buy this book and read it.

  19. Virgene Colby Says:

    Carlos be sure and keep us updated on your, Donna’ and Austin’s activities. A Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of you.

    auntie_vee (Virgene Colby)

  20. LuvMolly (Fran) Says:

    thank you for the update Carlos and so great to hear from you and Hello to all my fellows mods and MODS :) Happy Thanksgiving to all and I look forward to reading this book and I cherish the memories and friends we all made because someone put up an owl box and added a simple camera !!

  21. Thresa aka TBYRD Says:

    Congrats to Austin and on your book Theresa. This is such a heart warming story and all because of some beautiful barn owls. Lots of friendships were formed as a result of Carlos’ owl box so for this we MODs are thankful.

  22. zbergie Says:

    Thank you Carlos for all the good times and the new friends that we made on chat. It’s good to hear from you!


  23. Way to go Austin!! You are Owlsome!
    Happy Holidays Carlos, Donna and Austin.

  24. kate Says:

    Carlos, Happy Thanksgiving to you, Donna, and to all of the family. Congratulations to Austin on this huge accomplishment in his life! Any chance you might be videotaping the graduation? We would love to see the moment he receives his hard-earned and very well-deserved diploma. You and Donna must be bursting with pride. I know we all are!

    Looking forward to reading Theresa’s inspirational book. Thanks for the info. on “A Reason To Be”. It’s amazing how many lives the Owl Box affected in the best of ways.

  25. sandy/Racoona Says:

    So many amazing stories, books and memories that have become “famous” from our Royal couple, Molly and McGee.It was a very fun time for me, watching them, 24/7. I sure learned a lot about owls! And i was glad to have helped out with Austin’s college! Congrats! Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas Carlos, Donna and Austin.

  26. LynneMcKay Says:

    It is so nice to hear from you Carlos! The time we “all spent together” while fascinated with Molly and McGee was just the greatest! I still enjoy friendships made at that time. Austin, we are all proud of you-you are a remarkable young man. The book sounds like a must have. Thank you again Carlos, Donna for what you did for so many.
    My best wishes to you all for the upcoming holidays!

    LynneMcKay

  27. Judy Sackson Says:

    So glad to hear about all of Austin’s accomplishments! He really is going to go far. The book looks like a wonderful and amazing story and I have it on my list as books to read during the holidays.
    Hope the Royals and the MODs all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and best wishes for the holiday season!

  28. OUBobcat (barb) Says:

    Happy to hear of Austin’s success..next step enacting his dream. He’s very fortunate to have such a supportive family Good for you Theresa and your inspiration. Love the owls still.

  29. Christy Meredith Says:

    Christy in West Virginia
    It’s always a joy to check Molly’s Blog and see a new message there……..congrats to you Austin! Well done. And thank you Carlos for the story about the book. It will go onto my ‘to read” list this holiday…..

  30. lilbirdz Says:

    Carlos, thanks for posting the info about Austin. He moved quickly, and I’m sure he did well. We are all proud to be part of his success. Thanks again for the extraordinary Molly and McGee experience. I hope you and Donna have a lovely holiday season.

  31. ltldvl Says:

    It is so great to see a posting on this blog. I still get teary-eyed when I think of Molly and McGee. Congratulations to Austin.


  32. Look at us all on here ! I love it! So thankful for a nice update from the Royal family! WE are all connected and even though it was Molly and McGee that started it all, Carlos and Donna sacrificed so much just so we could watch ! Gee “that was fun” and guess what? We were all a part of it ! I have so many special connections that I cherish from this experience. We still laugh, cry, giggle and share recipes! I get teary eyed reading all the comments. I sure hope you have a nice new pair of owls that are happy in your gorgeous yard :) Congratulations to Austin ! I hope everyone is doing well ! ((((((Big hugs to Carlos & our Donna)))))) xoxoxox jodimaher


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,441 other followers

